DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the rotational speed reference is set such that a stator current and/or a rotor current of the asynchronous generator system is maintained substantially constant upon change, decrease, of the utility grid voltage of claim 5 and the rotational speed reference is set such that a product of the utility grid voltage and the rotational speed reference is maintained substantially constant upon change, decrease, of the utility grid voltage of claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5-6, 8, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2: The last two lines recite “below a nominal grid voltage, below by between 0.1% and 10% of a nominal grid voltage.” First, this somewhat awkward English. Regardless, “a nominal grid voltage” is repeated twice. It is unclear if they are the same or different nominal grid voltages.
Regarding claim 5: The last two lines recite “…constant upon change, decrease, of the utility grid voltage.” This is unclear, or possibly a typographical error.
Regarding claim 6: The last two lines recite “…constant upon change, decrease, of the utility grid voltage.” This is unclear, or possibly a typographical error.
Regarding claim 8: The last two lines recite “a width between 1 min and 20 minutes, further between 3 min and 10 minutes.” It is unclear if “further between 3 min and 10 minutes” is required by the claim.
Regarding claim 10: Line 2 recites “a wind turbine”, this has already been introduced in claim 1. It is unclear if it is the same or different wind turbine.
Regarding claim 13: Line 2 recites “a wind turbine” and “a utility grid”, line 4 recites “a rotational speed reference”, and line 5 recites “a utility grid voltage”. All these limitations have been introduced in claim 1. It is unclear if they are the same or different limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-10, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Letas (US 2019/0214927).
Regarding claim 1: Letas discloses a method of controlling an asynchronous generator system (Fig. 1, paragraph 0039) of a wind turbine (Fig. 1), connected to a utility grid (8), the method comprising:
setting a rotational speed reference (n, Fig. 3) of the asynchronous generator system in dependence of a utility grid voltage (U_rotor of Fig. 3 is implicitly correlated to the grid voltage since the rotor voltage is provided to the grid, regardless, claim 1 of Letas states that the rotation rate parameter is associated with the grid parameters, and claim 3 states that a grid parameter is grid voltage).
Regarding claim 2: Letas discloses the method performed in an undervoltage situation, where the utility grid voltage decreases below or is below a nominal grid voltage (as Fig. 3 shows the left side of the Voltage decreasing to 0, which implies it will fall below a nominal grid voltage), below by between 0.1 % and 10% of a nominal grid voltage (as the slope goes all the way to 0, it will inherently go through this range).
Regarding claim 3: Letas discloses wherein setting the rotational speed reference (n) comprises:
increasing the rotational speed reference (n), if the utility grid voltage decreases, by at least a threshold over at least a minimum time interval (Fig. 3 shows the rotational speed reference increasing from n = 500-900, while the grid voltage decreases).
Regarding claim 4: Letas discloses wherein the rotational speed reference (n) is set in dependence of a ratio between the nominal grid voltage and the utility grid voltage (as Fig. 3 depicts the voltage from a max to 0, which inherently includes a ratio between a nominal grid voltage and the utility grid voltage).
Regarding claim 5: Letas discloses wherein the rotational speed reference is set such that a stator current and/or a rotor current of the asynchronous generator system is maintained substantially constant upon change, decrease, of the utility grid voltage (paragraph 0066: the frequency or speed is set so the stator and rotor current remains constant during grid transients).
Regarding claim 6: Letas discloses wherein the rotational speed reference is set such that a product of the utility grid voltage and the rotational speed reference is maintained substantially constant upon change, decrease, of the utility grid voltage (in other words the rotation speed is proportional to the grid voltage decrease, this is inherent because the output voltage must match the grid voltage).
Regarding claim 9: Letas discloses:
controlling the generator system according to the rotational speed reference (paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 10: Letas discloses wherein the asynchronous generator system (Fig. 1) is driven by a rotor (2) of a wind turbine at which plural rotor blades (unlabeled, but clear in Fig. 1) are mounted, the wind turbine comprising a blade pitch adjustment system (paragraph 0050) for adapting at least one blade pitch angle, wherein controlling the generator according to the rotational speed reference comprises:
determining, based on the rotational speed reference (n), a blade pitch adjustment system reference , comprising at least one of:
blade pitch angle reference (such as the “nominal speed” or the “maximum speed”, paragraph 0050); and/or
a mechanical power reference; and/or
a mechanical torque reference (such as the torque reaching its highest value, paragraph 0050);
supplying the blade pitch adjustment system reference to the blade pitch adjustment system (inherent as the control is carried out).
Regarding claim 13: Letas discloses a controller (inherent) for controlling an asynchronous generator system (1), in particular of a wind turbine (Fig. 1), connected to a utility grid (8), the controller being configured:
to set a rotational speed reference (n) of the asynchronous generator system in dependence of a utility grid voltage (U_rotor of Fig. 3 is implicitly correlated to the grid voltage since the rotor voltage is provided to the grid, regardless, claim 1 of Letas states that the rotation rate parameter is associated with the grid parameters, and claim 3 states that a grid parameter is grid voltage), the controller being configured to control or carry out a method according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 14: Letas discloses the wind turbine (Fig. 1), comprising:
an asynchronous generator system (1, paragraph 0002); and
a controller according to claim 13 (see rejection of claim 13, above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Letas, in view of Brombach et al. (“Brombach”; US 2021/0265841).
Regarding claim 7: Letas discloses the method further comprising:
measuring the utility grid voltage, but does not explicitly disclose measuring the utility grid voltage at a point of common coupling to which plural wind turbines are connected or directly at the generator terminals.
However, Brombach discloses measuring the utility grid voltage (paragraph 0115, there is a controller present at the PCC) at a point of common coupling (‘PCC’, 118, Fig. 2) to which plural wind turbines are connected or directly at the generator terminals (100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the generator system of Letas to include the plural turbines and PCC of Brombach in order to provide additional power.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Letas and Brombach, as applied to claim 7 above, further in view of Dong et al. (“Dong”; US 2023/0031139).
Regarding claim 8: Letas discloses the generator system, but does not explicitly disclose the method further comprising at least one of:
low pass filtering the measured grid voltage;
averaging the measured grid voltage over a moving time window, the time window having a width of between 1 min and 20 minutes, further between 3 min and 10 minutes.
However, Dong discloses the method further comprising at least one of:
low pass filtering the measured grid voltage (paragraph 0010);
averaging the measured grid voltage over a moving time window (also paragraph 0010), the time window having a width of between 1 min and 20 minutes, further between 3 min and 10 minutes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the generator system of Letas to low pass filter the grid voltage, as disclosed by Dong, in order to make the control more robust.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Letas, in view of Mikhail et al. (“Mikhail”; US 6,137,187).
Regarding claim 11: Letas discloses the asynchronous generator system (Fig. 1) comprising:
an asynchronous generator (1) having multiple phase stator windings (within 7) and having multiple phase rotor windings (within 3);
a converter (4) connected to the rotor windings and configured to convert a variable frequency rotor power stream to fixed frequency rotor power stream at converter output terminals connected to the utility grid (this is the purpose of a converter);
the stator windings being connected to the utility grid (8),
Letas does not explicitly disclose wherein controlling the generator according to the rotational speed reference comprises: determining, based on the rotational speed reference, a converter reference, comprising at least one of: a converter power reference; a converter torque reference. supplying the converter reference to the converter.
However, Mikhail discloses wherein controlling the generator according to the rotational speed reference comprises:
determining, based on the rotational speed reference (column 12, line 10, the controller maintains the speed), a converter reference, comprising at least one of:
a converter power reference;
a converter torque reference (column 12, lines 29-38: during gusts, based on the generator speed, the converter maintains the correct output to the grid).
supplying the converter reference to the converter (inherent).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the generator system of Letas to include the converter control of Mikhail in order to ensure the output voltage matches the grid voltage.
Regarding claim 12: Letas discloses wherein the asynchronous generator comprises at least one of:
a doubly fed induction generator (paragraph 0002).
Conclusion
/SEAN GUGGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834