DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on 12/12/2024.
Claims 1-23 are cancelled. Claims 24-41 are pending and being considered.
Priority
The instant application is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/067133 filed on 06/23/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2024, has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, initialed and dated copy of Applicant’s IDS form 1449 filed as stated above is attached to the instant Office Action.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Abstract. The Abstract should not include reference numerals.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26-29, 34, 37-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 lines 5 recites, “the information related to the tenant container”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Similarly, claim 37 lines 4-5.
Claim 27 line 1 recites, “the step of extracting …”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 line 1 recites, “the step of identifying …”, line 2, “the filtering rules”, “the obtained attributes”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 29 line 2 recites, “the filtering rules”, “the obtained attributes”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Similarly, claim 40 line 2.
Claim 34 line 1 recites, “the step of encrypting …”, line 8, “the filtering rules”, “the state of attributes”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 37 line 2 recites “the tenant”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 38 line 1-2, “wherein, to extract the filtering rules” suggests the extracting has been recited in claim 35 that claim 38 depends upon. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 39 line 1-2, “wherein, to identify at least a part of the collected information …” suggests the identifying has been recited in claim 35 that claim 39 depends upon. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Line 4 recites “the information related to the tenant container”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 41 line 1-2, “wherein, to encrypt at least some of the filtered information …” suggests the encrypting has been recited in claim 35 that claim 41 depends upon. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Line 8, “the filtering rules”, “the state of attributes”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24-25, 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gehani et al (US20230289460A1, hereinafter, "Gehani").
Regarding claim 24, similarly claim 35, Gehani teaches:
A method/A computing device for securing a tenant container executed by a computing device, the method being performed by the computing device (Gehani, discloses systems and methods for providing sensitive dataflow tracking for containerized applications), the method comprising:
filtering information collected by a probe enabled within one or more processes being executed on the computing device to secure the tenant container (e.g., [0024] Embodiments consistent with the present disclosure advantageously accomplish this by doing application level process monitoring in a containerized environment using much more performance efficient techniques like eBPF (extended Berkley Packet Filter) or kernel extensions that augment the kernel with hooks to capture data and to do so more efficiently than what could be achieved using typical audit streams in the host. And [0031] The SDTS 120 performs application level process monitoring in a containerized environment using performance efficient techniques like eBPF (extended Berkley Packet Filter) or kernel extensions that sit in the kernel space and augment the kernel 142 with hooks to capture data and to do so more efficiently… And [0039] The taint storage 228 stores the provenance graph sent by the taint tracking kernel 226. The taint tracking kernel 226 uses one or more tools to prune/filter the provenance graph (i.e., OPM records 224) stored in the taint storage 228).
Regarding claim 25, similarly claim 36, Gehani teaches the method according to claim 24, the computing device according to claim 35,
Gehani further teaches: further comprising: encrypting at least some of the filtered information (e.g., [0024] When certain types of sensitive data is processed in computing environments, there may be stringent compliance requirements that specify what minimum security features need to be associated with interaction, storage and tracking of such sensitive data. Most of those compliance requirements require or request some type of tracking and protection to encrypt and control access to that sensitive data).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26, 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gehani as applied above to claim 24, 35 respectively, in view of Ouyang (US20200274812A1, hereinafter, “Ouyang”), further in view of Banerjee et al (US20190104158A1, hereinafter, “Banerjee”).
Regarding claim 26, similarly claim 37, Gehani teaches the method according to claim 24, the computing device according to claim 35,
Gehani does not specifically teach, in the same field of endeavor Ouyang teaches:
wherein the step of filtering the collected information comprises: extracting filtering rules to be applied on the collected information (Ouyang, discloses system and methods for a traffic analysis, [Abstract]. And [0097] S503. The traffic filtering module 440 receives the traffic from the traffic parsing apparatus 300, obtains the application-service rule from the feature learning module 410);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the teachings of Ouyang in the sensitive dataflow tracking for containerized applications of Gehani by obtaining application-service rule. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to identify service or application to which traffic belongs for filtering the received traffic packet according to the application-service rule (Ouyang, [Abstract], [0097]).
The combination of Gehani and Ouyang does not specifically teach, in the same field of endeavor Banerjee teaches:
obtaining attributes related to one or more of: the computing device, the tenant container, the information related to the tenant container, and the probe (Banerjee, discloses system and method of networking flow logs for filtering network traffics, [Abstract]. And [0021] a customer may cause the logging entity or other component of the server computer system 108 to filter the log information based at least in part on one or more attributes of the log information. And [Claim 32] … cause the system to filter the obtained log information based at least in part on one or more attributes of the log information as a result of receiving, from the customer associated with the virtual computer system instance, a request to filter the obtained log information);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the teachings of Banerjee in the sensitive dataflow tracking for containerized applications of Gehani-Ouyang by filtering received log information based on attributes of the log information. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide computing resources to customers in a multi-tenant environment (Banerjee, [Abstract]).
The combination of Ouyang and Banerjee further teaches: identifying at least a part of the collected information to be filtered using the filtering rules and based on the obtained attributes; and filtering the identified information in accordance with the filtering rules and the attributes (Ouyang, [0097] S503. The traffic filtering module 440 receives the traffic from the traffic parsing apparatus 300, obtains the application-service rule from the feature learning module 410, filters a received packet according to the application-service rule, and sends, to a service identification module 420, a packet obtained through filtering. And Banerjee, [0021] a customer may cause the logging entity or other component of the server computer system 108 to filter the log information based at least in part on one or more attributes of the log information).
Claims 27-29, 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gehani as applied above to claim 24, 35 respectively, in view of Ouyang (US20200274812A1, hereinafter, “Ouyang”).
Regarding claim 27, similarly claim 38, Gehani teaches the method according to claim 24, the computing device according to claim 35,
Gehani does not specifically teach, in the same field of endeavor Ouyang teaches:
wherein the step of extracting the filtering rules comprises receiving the filtering rules from one or more of: the tenant container; data sources residing within the computing device; and external data sources in communication with the computing device (Ouyang, discloses system and methods for a traffic analysis, [Abstract]. And [0097] S503. The traffic filtering module 440 receives the traffic from the traffic parsing apparatus 300, obtains the application-service rule from the feature learning module 410).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the teachings of Ouyang in the sensitive dataflow tracking for containerized applications of Gehani by obtaining application-service rule. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to identify service or application to which traffic belongs for filtering the received traffic packet according to the application-service rule (Ouyang, [Abstract], [0097]).
Regarding claim 28, similarly claim 39, Gehani teaches the method according to claim 24, the computing device according to claim 35,
Gehani does not specifically teach, in the same field of endeavor Ouyang teaches:
wherein the step of identifying at least a part of the collected information using the filtering rules and based on the obtained attributes is based on one or more of: tags defined for at least some pieces of the information related to the tenant container; information related to the computing device; at least one functionality implemented by the tenant container; information related to one or more functions and/or libraries of the tenant container monitored by the probe; an identity, ID, of the probe; a recipient of the monitored information transmitted with transport layer security, TLS; and parsing of protocol headers and/or data encoding schemes associated with the information related to the tenant container that is to be secured (Ouyang, discloses system and methods for a traffic analysis, [Abstract]. And [0145] The method is performed by a service identification module 720. Input is a result of filtering current network traffic by a domain filtering module 741 and an application-service rule that is output by a feature learning module 710; and output is a service classification identification result. First, a single-user identification module 721 distinguishes between application traffic of a single user based on an IP, a session ID, a device ID, a user ID, or other identity identification information in the traffic obtained through filtering,…).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the teachings of Ouyang in the sensitive dataflow tracking for containerized applications of Gehani by obtaining application-service rule. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to identify service or application to which traffic belongs for filtering the received traffic packet according to the application-service rule (Ouyang, [Abstract], [0097]).
Regarding claim 29, similarly claim 40, Gehani teaches the method according to claim 24, the computing device according to claim 35,
Gehani does not specifically teach, in the same field of endeavor Ouyang teaches:
wherein the step of filtering the collected information in accordance with the filtering rules and based on the attributes comprises: identifying a state of attributes of one or more of: the computing device, the probe enabled on the tenant container, at least one functionality of the tenant container that is being monitored by the probe, the tenant container, and the information related to the tenant container; evaluating the filtering rules with respect to the identifying state of attributes; activating, based on the evaluation, at least one filtering rule; and filtering at least some of the collected information of the tenant container in accordance with the activated at least one filtering rule (Ouyang, discloses system and methods for a traffic analysis, [Abstract]. And [0145] The method is performed by a service identification module 720. Input is a result of filtering current network traffic by a domain filtering module 741 and an application-service rule that is output by a feature learning module 710; and output is a service classification identification result. First, a single-user identification module 721 distinguishes between application traffic of a single user based on an IP, a session ID, a device ID, a user ID, or other identity identification information in the traffic obtained through filtering, and inputs the application traffic of the single user to a service classification module 722 (S1101). The service classification module 722 identifies a start service, an exclusive service, and a common service of each application in the traffic of the single user according to the application-service rule (S1102), and sends an identification result to a traffic attribution module 730. In the identification process, a packet feature in the traffic of the single user may be extracted for performing matching with an application-service rule one by one. If the matching succeeds, a matching process ends, and a service type and an application that correspond to a rule with which the matching succeeds are output).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the teachings of Ouyang in the sensitive dataflow tracking for containerized applications of Gehani by obtaining application-service rule. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to identify service or application to which traffic belongs for filtering the received traffic packet according to the application-service rule (Ouyang, [Abstract], [0097]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 30-34, 41 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim(s), but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as resolving of any outstanding informalities and concerns under 35 USC 112(b) presented in this office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 30 depends on claim 29 which depends on claim 24, further recites, “wherein the state of attributes of the computing device comprises one or more of: an identity of the computing device; a geographical location of the computing device; and a provider identity of the computing device”.
Claim 31 depends on claim 29 which depends on claim 24, further recites, “wherein the state of attributes of the probe enabled on the tenant container comprises one or more of: a provider identity associated with the probe; and one or more functionalities of the probe”.
Claim 32 depends on claim 29 which depends on claim 24, further recites, “wherein the state of attributes of the at least one functionality of the tenant container that is being monitored by the probe comprises one or more of: one or more functions and/or libraries being monitored by the probe; a functionality to which the monitored one or more functions and/or libraries belong to; a recipient of messages being transmitted from the at least one functionality; and service based architecture, SBA, services associated with the at least one functionality”.
Claim 33 depends on claim 29 which depends on claim 24, further recites, “wherein the state of attributes of the information related to the tenant container comprises one or more of: one or more tags, protocol specific fields, byte sequences, and data patterns associated with the information related to the tenant container”.
Claim 34 (similarly claim 41) depends on claim 24 (claim 35), further recites, “wherein the step of encrypting at least some of the filtered information collected by the probe comprises: extracting a plurality of cryptographic key materials from one or more of: the tenant container, data sources residing within the computing device, and external data sources in communication with the computing device; generating a plurality of encryption keys based on extraction of the plurality of cryptographic key materials; evaluating the filtering rules with respect to the state of attributes of at least one of: the computing device, the probe enabled on the tenant container, the at least one functionality of the tenant container that is being monitored by the probe enabled on the tenant container, the tenant container, and the information related to the tenant container; selecting, based on the evaluation, an encryption key from the plurality of encryption keys; and encrypting at least some of the filtered information related to the tenant container using the selected encryption key”.
The prior arts identified, either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations of claims shown above.
Citation of References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are cited but not been replied upon for this office action:
Moore et al (US20220360598A1) discloses methods for efficient threat context aware packet filtering for network protection.
Rajagopal et al (US20150058923A1) discloses systems and methods of secure web container for secure online user environment.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 8:30AM - 5:30PM.
/MICHAEL M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436