Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the thermal insulation means, the dispenser means and the condensation and recovery means must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
The term “substantially hermetic” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially hermetic” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what level of sealing is being claimed.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "said first and second flow control elements" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “associated with said body substantially” in claim 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “associated with said body substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what level or type of structural association is being claimed.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "said first flow control element" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "said first flow control element" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "said first actuation means" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "said second flow control element" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "said second flow control element" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "said second actuation means" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “wherein treatment chamber” in line 1. It is unclear whether or not this is in reference to the “treatment chamber” of claim 13 on which claim 20 depends. For examination purposes it has been assumed that the limitation reads: “wherein the treatment chamber”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-15, 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scheper et al. (US20050183208).
Regarding claims 13, 22-24, Scheper et al. teaches a fabric processing machine (see abstract) comprising a body 2 delimiting at least one treatment chamber (see space inside body 2, as shown in figures 1-2) (see figure 1, paragraphs [0059]-[0063]); said treatment chamber being accessible from the outside environment through at least one loading/unloading opening 58 (see figure 2, paragraphs [0061]-[0064]); said opening 58 having a door 59 (see figure 2, paragraph [0062]); said machine wherein said treatment chamber forms a controlled-atmosphere environment containing items to be treated (see paragraphs [0103], [0105], [0106], [0111], [0124]); said treatment chamber being insulated from the outside environment (see figure 2, paragraph [0062], see gas-tight sealing from external environment) (reads on claim 13); a dispenser means 26 capable of dosing water and/or chemical products inside said treatment chamber (reads on claim 22) (see paragraphs [0067], [0069], figures 1-2); a condensation and recovery means 36 capable of condensing and recovering the vapors that are released in said treatment chamber (reads on claim 23) (see figure 1, paragraph [0097]); a rotating drum 1 arranged inside said treatment chamber (reads on claim 24) (see figures 1-2, paragraphs [0061]-[0065]).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Scheper et al. teaches the limitations of claim 13. Scheper et al. also teaches in figures 1-2, paragraphs [0069], [0070], [0080], [0082], [0084], [0085], [0090], [0101], [0104], [0111] said treatment chamber comprises at least one air intake opening (see e.g. openings in 2 associated with pipes 25, 34, 7, 35, as shown in figure 1, which are all capable of permitting inward flow of air) and at least one air discharge opening (see e.g. openings in associated with pipes 25, 34, 7, 35, as shown in figure 1, which are all capable of permitting outward flow of air); said air intake and discharge openings respectively having a first flow control element 23/17/12/5/40 and a second flow control element 23/17/12/5/40 that are movable on command (see paragraphs [0090], [0104]) between at least one open position and at least one closed position, wherein they respectively allow or prevent a flow of air through said treatment chamber (reads on claim 14); the treatment chamber being hermetic with respect to the outside environment when said first and second flow control elements 23/17/12/5/40 are in the closed position and said loading/unloading opening 58 is closed by said door 59 (see figures 1-2, paragraph [0062]) (reads on claim 15).
Regarding claim 20, Scheper et al. teaches the limitations of claim 13. Scheper et al. also teaches in figure 2, paragraph [0062] that the treatment chamber comprises a thermal insulation means 55 capable of thermally insulating said controlled-atmosphere environment from the outside environment.
Regarding claim 21, Scheper et al. teaches the limitations of claim 13. Scheper et al. also teaches in figures 1-2, paragraphs [0103], [0105], [0106], [0111], [0124], [0149] a temperature and humidity control means 81 controlling the internal temperature of said treatment chamber and the internal humidity of said treatment chamber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheper et al. (US20050183208) as applied to claim 13 and further in view of Bobed et al. (ES2378921A1).
Regarding claims 17 and 19, Scheper et al. teaches the limitations of claim 13. Scheper et al. teaches in paragraph [0090] that closure elements of the first and second flow control elements 23/17/12/5/40 may be movable between open and closed positions by means of first and second actuation means. Scheper et al. does not teach that the first and second flow control elements comprise first and second closure doors hinged at one end of said body, at air intake and discharge openings, respectively. Bobed et al. teaches a fabric treating apparatus (see abstract) and that a closure door 62, 64, 68 may be hinged at one end of body 30 at an opening thereof, thereby allowing for an effective air-tight seal (see abstract, page 5 of the translation, figures 1-5, 7). Since both Scheper et al. and Bobed et al. teach fabric treating apparatuses it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the first and second flow control elements in the system by Scheper et al. may comprise first and second closure doors hinged at one end of said body, at air intake and discharge openings, respectively, so as to allow for effective air-tight seals, as shown to be known and conventional by Bobed et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is Scheper et al. (US20050183208). Scheper et al. fails to teach/disclose all of the limitations of claims 16 and 18. Furthermore, no other prior art was located that fairly suggested the claimed invention in whole or in part along with the requisite motivation to anticipate or render the claimed invention obvious.
Conclusion
/TINSAE B AYALEW/EXAMINER, Art Unit 1711