DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-22 and 24-25 remain pending.
The rejections of claims 1, 9 and 22 (and their dependents) are withdrawn in response to Applicant’s persuasive arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (7128525) in view of Chou (US6295639).
Regarding claim 9, Tsai teaches air pump comprising: a pump housing (80) comprising an inlet (811) and an outlet (51), a pump body (30, 40) extending from an interior of the pump housing and in a fixed spatial relationship relative to the pump housing (the pump housing is considered to be “coupled in a fixed spatial relationship” because it is attached to the pump body and restricted from detaching by the plate 90, thus the spatial relationship is “fixed”. The Applicant appears to be attempting to claim that the pump housing is immovably fixed), the pump body having an inlet end (61) in fluid communication with the inlet and an outlet end (see annotated figure) in fluid communication with the inlet end and the outlet, an air passageway (see annotated figure) extending between the inlet and the inlet end, the air passageway extending adjacent to the pump body, and a nozzle (82).
Tsai fails to explicitly teach the nozzle is removably coupled to the pump housing at the inlet.
In an analogous art, Chou teaches an air compressor. Chou teaches a detachable nozzle (6) for switching between various nozzle shapes for attaching onto various kinds of devices (Col. 3 lines 40-55).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the air pump of Tsai and change it so that the nozzle is removably coupled to the pump housing at the inlet as taught by Chou to allow for attaching onto various kinds of devices.
Regarding claim 10, Tsai as modified teaches the inlet comprises a plate (90) extending along a suction direction of the inlet.
Regarding claims 11-19, Tsai teaches the air pump of claim 10, but fails to teach the nozzle comprises a lock which cooperates with the plate of the air inlet to couple the nozzle to the inlet, wherein the nozzle is rotatable within the inlet to rotate from a first position to a second position, wherein, in the first position, the lock member is spaced apart from the plate such that the nozzle is translatable within the inlet, wherein, in the second position, the lock is positioned behind the connecting plate such that the nozzle is held in place within the inlet, wherein the plate extends from one side of the inlet to a second side of the inlet to define a plurality of openings through the inlet, wherein the nozzle includes an extension portion and a hook, the hook formed on the extension portion and cooperating with the plate to couple the nozzle to the inlet, wherein the nozzle is rotatable within the air inlet to rotate from a first position to a second position, wherein, in the first position, the hook extends through one of the plurality of openings and is spaced apart from the connecting plate such that the nozzle is translatable within the inlet, in the second position, the hook extends through one of the plurality of openings and is positioned behind the connecting plate such that the nozzle is held in place in the inlet.
In an analogous art, Chou teaches an air compressor. Chou teaches a nozzle (6) having an extension portion (see Fig. 4), a hook (61), where the nozzle moves around an axis between a first position and a second position (axis shown in dotted line in Fig. 4), the hook is separated from a plate (5), the air nozzle translatable along an axial direction (the nozzle translates when twisted into the connecting plate), and when the air nozzle is in the second position, the hook is connected to the connecting plate (see Fig. 8), and the air nozzle is held in place within the air inlet.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the structure of Tsai and add a nozzle with the hook arrangement as taught by Chou for the purpose of having an interchangeable nozzle that is securely mounted.
Regarding claim 20, Tsai as modified teaches the pump body comprises an upper cover (30) and a lower cover (40) couplable to the upper cover.
Regarding claim 21, Tsai as modified teaches the inlet end is formed in the lower cover and the outlet end is formed in the upper cover.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8, 22 and 24-25 are allowed.
Conclusion
/CAMERON A CORDAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745