Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 12, 21 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable by Bouazizi et al. (hereinafter “Bou”, US Publication 20240396795 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US Patent Application 20250056387 A1).
As per Claim 1, Bou discloses A method performed by an edge enabler server, EES, comprising:
Receiving a first request from an edge enabler client, EEC, wherein the first request comprises service session context and first information indicating an edge application server, EAS, in use (paragraphs [0005-6, 0059, 0062], Receiving, by and edge enabler client (EEC) of a user equipment, data representing a bundle identifier (ID) for a bundle of EASs from an application service provider (ASP). Sending a service provisioning request including the bundle ID and information representing each EASs in the bundle. Sending, by the EEC, a discovery request to edge enabler servers (EESs) including bundles of EASs);
Creating the service session context based on the application session information (paragraphs [0006, 0019, 0022, 0034]).
Bou does not teach the first information, wherein the application session information for creating the service session context comprises at least one of an identifier of the EAS, endpoint information the EAS, or an identifier of an application client.
However, Zhang teaches deciding to discover a first edge application server (EAS) for a terminal device. The information about the first EAS comprises at least one of an identifier of the first EAS, endpoint information of the first EAS, or an identity of an application client (Absract, paragraphs [0009, 0015, 0018-19])
Therefor one of ordinary skill in the art would have implement or incorporate Zhang’s the first information, wherein the application session information for creating the service session context comprises at least one of an identifier of the EAS, endpoint information the EAS, or an identifier of an application client in Bou’s teaching in order to provide the security credentials to an edge enabler servers.
.
As per claim 3, Bou discloses The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
sending a first response to the EEC (paragraph [0005).
As per claim 4, Bou discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the first request allows the EES to be aware of application session information so that the EES can create the service session context for initial application traffic (paragraphs [0003, 0028, 0030]).
As per claim 5, Bou discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the service session context is used for edge-specific operation or processing (paragraphs [0028-30]).
7. (Currently Amended) A method performed by an edge enabler client, EEC, comprising:
Determining an edge application server, EAS, in use for an application client, AC (paragraphs [0004-6]);
Sending a first request to an edge enabler server, EES, wherein the first request comprises service session context and first information indicating the EAS in use (paragraphs [0005-6, 0059, 0062], Receiving, by and edge enabler client (EEC) of a user equipment, data representing a bundle identifier (ID) for a bundle of EASs from an application service provider (ASP). Sending a service provisioning request including the bundle ID and information representing each EASs in the bundle. Sending, by the EEC, a discovery request to edge enabler servers (EESs) including bundles of EASs).
As per claim 10, Bou discloses The method according to claim 7, further comprising:
receiving a first response from the EES (paragraphs [0005-6]).
As per claim 11, Bou discloses The method according to claim 7, wherein the first request allows the EES to be aware of application session information so that the EES can create the service session context for initial application traffic (paragraphs [0003, 0028, 0030]).
As per claim 12, Bou discloses The method according to, wherein the service session context is used for edge-specific operation or processing (paragraphs [0028-30]).
21. (Currently Amended) An edge enabler server, EES, comprising:
A processor;
A memory coupled to the processor, said memory containing instructions executable by said processor, whereby the EES is operative to:
receive a first request from an edge enabler client, EEC, wherein the first request comprises service session context and first information indicating an edge application server, EAS, in use; and store the service session context based on the first information (paragraphs [0005-6, 0019, 0022, 0034, 0059, 0062], Receiving, by and edge enabler client (EEC) of a user equipment, data representing a bundle identifier (ID) for a bundle of EASs from an application service provider (ASP). Sending a service provisioning request including the bundle ID and information representing each EASs in the bundle. Sending, by the EEC, a discovery request to edge enabler servers (EESs) including bundles of EASs).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
May 14, 2026
/BARBARA B Anyan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457