DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al (WO 2020/255921 A1).
For purposes of the rejection, reference is made to the English language equivalent document, US 2022/0243093 A1.
Ito discloses an abrasive slurry (polishing composition, abstract) comprising:
manganese oxide abrasive grains containing manganese oxide particles [0024];
permanganate ions [0067], [0069]; and
phosphates [0081].
As to claim 2, Ito discloses hydrogen phosphates [0081], which are inorganic phosphorus compounds.
As to claim 8, Ito discloses polishing [0111] an object to be polished [0111] using the abrasive slurry according to any one of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al (WO 2020/255921 A1), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Morinaga et al (US 2019/0153263 A1).
For purposes of the rejection, reference is made to the English language equivalent document of Ito et al, US 2022/0243093 A1.
As to claim 3, Ito fails to explicitly disclose pyrophosphate and discloses only a general class of “phosphates” [0081].
Morinaga teaches that in abrasive slurries, phosphates may include pyrophosphate compounds. More specifically, Morinaga teaches an abrasive slurry [0001] comprising manganese oxide abrasive grains [0038], a liquid medium such as water [0052], a pH adjustment agent [0055], and other additives [0060] that are known in the patent literature (“PTLs” [0061]) and ordinary to include in polishing compositions [0061]. Among the additives are pyrophosphates salts [0067] as dispersing agents [0067], [0060].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include pyrophosphates in the abrasive slurry of Ito because Morinaga teaches that they are useful to include in such slurries as dispersing agents.
As to claims 4-5, Morinaga also teaches that carboxymethyl cellulose is a useful water-soluble polymer to include in an abrasive slurry [0066] to act on the surface of the polishing object or the surface of the abrasive [0060]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include carboxymethyl cellulose in the abrasive slurry of Ito because Morinaga teaches that they are useful to include in slurries to act on either the polishing object or the surface of the abrasive. Because the carboxymethyl cellulose is the same composition as cited, it is also expected to act as a surfactant. MPEP 2112.01, II (If the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties).
As to claim 6, Ito fails to disclose the content of the manganese oxide abrasive grains. However, Ito teaches that other metal oxide abrasive grains may be contained at 1% by weight or more from the viewpoint of polishing removal rate, or 50% by weight or less from the viewpoint of dispersibility, polishing stability and the like [0028]. Ito thus teaches to vary the percentage of the abrasive in order to optimize abrasive slurry for best results of polishing removal rate, dispersibility and polishing stability. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cited amount of manganese oxide particles in the abrasive slurry of Ito in order to optimize the slurry for best properties of polishing removal rate, dispersibility and polishing stability.
Ito teaches that the permanganate ions serve as an oxidant [0066] with a content of 0.005 mol/L or more from the viewpoint of polishing removal rate or 0.5 mol/L or less from the viewpoint of surface quality after polishing [0073]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cited about of permanganate ions in the slurry of Ito in order to optimize the slurry for best results of polishing removal rate and surface quality after polishing.
Ito fails to disclose the amount of phosphates, but teaches to vary the amount to vary the pH [0081]. Morinaga teaches that the additives are not limited, but preferably present in an amount of less than 1 mass%, or less than 0.5 mass% [0061]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cited content of phosphates in order to optimize the pH and dispersing ability of the abrasive slurry for best results.
As to claim 7, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the cited ranges for the reasons cited with respect to claim 6.
Further as to content of the cellulose-based surfactant of 1.0 mass% or less, Morinaga teaches the additives are not limited, but preferably present in an amount of less than 1 mass%, or less than 0.5 mass% [0061], which is within the cited range. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cited amounts of cellulose-based surfactant in the abrasive slurry of Ito because Morinaga teaches similar ranges are useful, and because the content can be optimized for best results of surface chemistry of polishing objects or polishing abrasive.
As to claims 9-10, both Ito [0111] and Morinaga [0074] teach that the abrasive slurry is used for polishing . It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to polish as cited using the modified abrasive slurry of Ito because the compositions are taught to be used for polishing.
As to claims 11-13, the content is obvious for the same reasons cited with respect to claims 6-7.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/874,919 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are fully encompassed by those of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2024/004752 A1 is cited to show a method of polishing SiC with manganese oxide abrasive grains, permanganate ions and phosphoric acids. Choi et al (US 2026/0258281 A1) is cited to show a polishing composition with mangania/manganese oxide [0013], permanganate [0016+] and phosphate surfactant [0026].
/ANITA K ALANKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713