DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase " QCL type ("Quantum Cascade Laser") or ICL type ("Interband Cascade Laser")" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. The addition of the word "type" to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite. Ex parte Copenhaver, 109 USPQ 118 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1955). See MPEP § 2173.05b III. E.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase " the fibre being of monomode and/or microstructured or hollow-core fibre type" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. The addition of the word "type" to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite. Ex parte Copenhaver, 109 USPQ 118 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1955). See MPEP § 2173.05b III. E.
Regarding claim 13, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11- 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolan (“Extreme measurements with Photonic Doppler Velocimetry”) in view of Huffaker (“Laser Doppler Detection Systems for Gas Velocity Measurement”).
Regarding claim 1, Dolan teaches a device for measuring velocity (discloses a fiber based Doppler velocimetry device capable of measuring both individual velocities and velocity distributions, section V. CHARACTERISTIC APPLICATIONS OF PDV and VII. CHALLENGES), or a distribution of velocities, comprising:
at least one optical fibre for directing a radiation produced by the at least one first laser radiation source(teaches the path of the PDV system, the laser light travels through the fiber to the target, and returning target light travels through the fiber system toward the detection system, section I. BACKGROUND), from a first end of the fibre to a second end thereof (discloses a fiber optical path connecting the laser to the probe and target, conventional optical fiber inherently has two ends, figure 2);
detection means (optical receiver), for detecting an interference signal between at least one beam emitted by the at least one first laser radiation source (“PDV is distinguished by interference of target light with light that has never touched the target, section I. BACKGROUND) and a beam reflected or diffused by a sample or object (discloses specular reflection and diffuse/retroreflective return, section II. MEASUREMENT CONFIGURATIONS); and
processing means (digitizer, PDV analysis/FFT/STFT processing, discloses digitizes processes the interference signal and performs mathematical frequency analysis, section VIII. SUMMARY), for processing the interference signal and to calculating a propagation velocity (“PDV can track motion from 0.01 mm/s to >10 km/s”, section V. CHARACTERISTIC APPLICATIONS OF PDV), or a distribution of propagation velocities, of a sample or object on which an incident beam was reflected or diffused.
Dolan fails to disclose at least one first laser radiation source that emits a laser beam with a wavelength of between 3 and 14 μm (discloses shorter wavelengths than 1550 nm and possible alternate wavelengths, section E. Alternate wavelengths ).
Huffaker teaches at least one first laser radiation source that emits a laser beam with a wavelength of between 3 and 14 μm (discloses the CO2 laser with a wavelength of 10.6 μm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to incorporate the CO2 laser of Huffaker to Dolan to improve signal-to-noise ratio and sensitivity of the coherent Doppler/interference velocity measurement.
Regarding claim 2, Dolan teaches comprising the detection means (optical receiver) being configured to detect an interference signal (discloses the optical receiver detects the optical interference beat signal, section C. Signal variations) between at least one beam emitted by the at least one first laser radiation source (reference laser, “mixing of unshifted target light with the reference laser”, section D. Multiple velocities) and the beam reflected or diffused by the sample or object (discloses target light and diffuse reflection, section A. Directional effects).
Regarding claim 3, Dolan teaches comprising the detection means (optical receiver) being configured to detect an interference signal (discloses the optical receiver detects the optical interference beat signal, section C. Signal variations) between at least one beam emitted by a second laser radiation source (“each target laser is paired with its own reference laser”, section B. Scaling) and the beam reflected or diffused by the sample or object (discloses target light and diffuse reflection, section A. Directional effects).
Regarding claim 4, Dolan fails to disclose wherein at least one of the first and the second laser radiation source is of a QCL type (“Quantum Cascade Laser”) or ICL type (“Interband Cascade Laser”) or a continuous source.
Huffaker teaches wherein at least one of the first and the second laser radiation source (discloses an argon ion laser and a CO2 laser, section II. General Considerations) is of a QCL type (“Quantum Cascade Laser”) or ICL type (“Interband Cascade Laser”) or a continuous source (discloses lasers are continuous-wave lasers, section F. Application to Jet Flows).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to incorporate the CO2 laser of Huffaker to Dolan to improve signal-to-noise ratio and sensitivity of the coherent Doppler/interference velocity measurement.
Regarding claim 5, Dolan teaches comprising the fibre being of monomode (discloses low-loss, single-mode fiber, section I. BACKGROUND) and/or microstructured or hollow-core fibre type.
Regarding claim 6, Dolan fails to disclose comprising a bandwidth of the detection means being between approximately 20 MHz and 2 GHz.
Huffaker teaches comprising a bandwidth of the detection means (photomultiplier detector) being between approximately 20 MHz and 2 GHz (discloses the photomultiplier detector has good frequency response up to 300 MHz, section Ill. Instrumentation, Development, and Application).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to incorporate photomultiplier detector of Huffaker to Dolan to improve high speed signal detection and more reliable measurement of rapidly varying velocities.
Regarding claim 7, Dolan fails to disclose comprising at least one of the first laser radiation source and the second laser radiation source producing a beam a diameter of which is less than 3 mm.
Huffaker teaches comprising at least one of the first laser radiation source and the second laser radiation source(discloses an argon ion laser and a CO2 laser, section II. General Considerations) producing a beam a diameter of which is less than 3 mm (discloses a laser transmitter having a 1-mm transmitter beam/lens radius, section F. Application to Jet Flows).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to incorporate the CO2 laser of Huffaker to Dolan to improve signal-to-noise ratio and sensitivity of the coherent Doppler/interference velocity measurement.
Regarding claim 8, Dolan fails to disclose further comprising collimation means.
Huffaker teaches further comprising collimation means (discloses a beam expander, mirror, and lens for conditioning and directing the laser beam, section A. Wind Tunnel and section F. Application to Jet Flows).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to incorporate beam expander of Huffaker to Dolan to improve beam collimation and beam quality.
Regarding claim 9, Dolan teaches comprising the interference-signal processing means (digitizer, PDV analysis/FFT/STFT processing, discloses digitizes processes the interference signal and performs mathematical frequency analysis, section VIII. SUMMARY) being configured to produce at least one sliding Fourier transform (discloses repeated FFT processing of separate temporal portions of the signal, section E. Extreme acceleration) of the interference signals (discloses PDV best frequencies and interference, section C. Uncertainty limits) or a wavelet transform.
Regarding claim 11, Dolan teaches a method for measuring velocity (discloses a fiber based Doppler velocimetry device capable of measuring both individual velocities and velocity distributions, section V. CHARACTERISTIC APPLICATIONS OF PDV and VII. CHALLENGES), or a distribution of velocities, using the device according to claim 1, wherein:
the second end of the optical fibre is directed towards a sample (discloses fiber based PDV probes and target measurement, the optical path beam directed toward the measurement target, the measurement detects velocity along the optical path, section A. Directional effects) or an object inside which a velocity of a movement, or a distribution of velocities of movements, is to be detected,
the incident beam of the at least one first laser source penetrates the sample or the object and is reflected or diffused on an interior part of the sample or the object, which moves at a first velocity (discloses velocity measurement associated with a moving shock front within the sample, section C. Magnetically launched flyers) or in accordance with a distribution of velocities;
the reflected or diffused beam and a part of the beam emitted by the at least one first laser radiation source or a second laser radiation source form interferences detected by the detection means (discloses target laser and reference laser arrangement produces the interference current, section II. MEASUREMENT CONFIGURATIONS); and
the first velocity, or the distribution of velocities, is calculated from the interferences (discloses extracting velocity from the interference beat signal, section E. Extreme acceleration).
Regarding claim 12, Dolan teaches wherein a shock is produced inside the sample (discloses a reverberating shock wave in the sample, section A. Plate impact) or object, the incident laser beam being reflected or diffused (discloses diffuse reflection and target light, section A. Directional effects) on a wavefront produced by the shock (discloses motion of the shock front, section C. Magnetically launched flyers).
Regarding claim 13, Dolan teaches wherein the sample or the object includes an explosive material (discloses the use of PDV for explosive experiments , section V. CHARACTERISTIC APPLICATIONS OF PDV) such as TNT (or trinitrotoluene, C7H5N3O6), or RDX (or cyclo-trimethylene-trinitramine, C3H6N6O6), or HMX (or cyclo-tetramethylene-tetranitramine, C4H8N8O8), or an inert material.
Regarding claim 14, Dolan teaches the incident laser beam (discloses a laser beam directed toward a moving target and receives returned optical radiation, section C. Signal variations) being reflected or diffused (section C. Signal variations) on moving particles (section D. Multiple velocities).
Dolan fails to disclose wherein the object is or includes a channel or a pipe or a tube inside which or from which a fluid moves.
Huffaker teaches wherein the object is or includes a channel or a pipe or a tube (figure10) inside which or from which a fluid moves (discloses measures a moving gas flow/jet, section F. Application to Jet Flows).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to incorporate LDV flow scattering configuration of Huffaker to Dolan to improve velocity measurement of moving tracer particles within a flowing fluid.
Regarding claim 15, Dolan teaches wherein the velocity is calculated by Fourier transform of the interference signal (discloses repeated FFT processing of separate temporal portions of the signal, extracting velocity from the interference beat signal, section E. Extreme acceleration) or by wavelets or by two-phase processing.
Regarding claim 16, Dolan fails to disclose wherein a plurality of laser beams are directed towards the sample or the object.
Huffaker teaches wherein a plurality of laser beams are directed towards the sample or the object (discloses multiple focused laser/optical paths directed toward a common scattering volume, section B. Instrument Spatial Resolution).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to incorporate the multi-beam, multi-component LDV optical arrangement of Huffaker to Dolan to improve multi-directional and spatially resolved velocity measurements of the sample.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolan (“Extreme measurements with Photonic Doppler Velocimetry”) in view of Huffaker (“Laser Doppler Detection Systems for Gas Velocity Measurement”), further in view of Kinrot et al. (US 2003/0142288 A1)(hereinafter, “Kinrot”).
Regarding claim 10, Dolan teaches further comprising sample (discloses specular reflection and diffuse/retroreflective return, section II. MEASUREMENT CONFIGURATIONS), and means for detecting (optical receiver) an interference signal (discloses the optical receiver detects the optical interference beat signal, section C. Signal variations) between the emitted and reflected beams (discloses reference light and Doppler-shifted reflections, section A. Conventional PDV).
Dolan fails to disclose means for phase shifting part of the beam and the interference-signal processing means being configured to implement at least one two-phase processing.
Kinrot teaches means for phase shifting (birefringent plate placed in the optical path to/from the surface, [0560]) part of the beam emitted by the at least one first laser radiation source (discloses local oscillator light experiences double phase shift, [0562]) and the interference-signal processing means(signal processing electronics, [0549]) being configured to implement at least one two-phase processing(discloses producing two detector signals having a 90° temporal phase difference, [0604]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to incorporate phase shifting method of Kinrot to Dolan in view of Huffaker to obtain two phase related interference signals, thereby improving phase discrimination and enabling more reliable determination of the direction and velocity of sample motion.
Conclusion
/C.X./ Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Michael A Lyons/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877