This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 12/16/2024.
Claims 52-59 are pending and rejected. Claims 1-51 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because fails to comply with the above. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Specification in page 2, para. [0008], third bullet, and page 3 fourth bullet read “Error! Reference source not found.”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 52 and 59 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim reads “… signalled reference … “. Appropriate spelling correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 52-59 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 52 recites, “…as a delta configuration to a reference configuration for…”.
The claim recites a reference configuration. The term delta configuration is understood, but the term reference configuration is not. The specification makes mention of reference configuration on paragraph [0049], “…at least one target candidate configuration(s) to be a configuration included in the RRC Reconfiguration message, and indicate to be the reference configuration.”. This is not clearly reflected in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite.
Similar language is found in claim 59.
Claim 52 recites, “… a first target candidate cell configuration (RRCReconfiguration B) for conditional PSCell change (CPC) and a second target candidate cell configuration for CPC, (RRCReconfiguration C) ...”. The specification makes mention of RRCReconfiguration on paragraph [0037], “ …When the target candidate SN of Cell B was requested to configure CPC, it has generated the RRCReconfiguration(B) as a delta signaling having as reference RRCReconfiguration(A) i.e. the parameters which the target candidate SN wanted to remain the same as in RRCReconfiguration(A) were left absent in the generated RRCReconfiguration(B) message.
- When the target candidate SN of Cell C was requested to configure CPC, it has
generated the RRCReconfiguration(A) as a delta signaling having as reference
RRCReconfiguration(A) …”.
This is not clearly reflected in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite.
Similar language is found in claim 59.
Claims 53-58 are rejected as depending from rejected base independent claim
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 52-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awada et al (US 20230308961 A1) (hereinafter ‘Awada”) in view Wang et al (US 20250106726 A1) (hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 52, Awada discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (see para. [0005],[0011],[0016],[0021],[0028],[0034] discloses method for multi connectivity), the method comprising
receiving an RRC reconfiguration message including a first target candidate cell configuration (RRCReconfiguration B) for conditional PSCell change (CPC) PSCell (see Fig. 5 (503-RRC (Connection) Reconfiguration), para. [0098] discloses sending to the UE a RRC reconfiguration message, this comprises sending to the UE one or more CPC execution conditions and the configuration of the prepared candidate PSCell or PSCells)
Awada does not clearly discloses but Wang teaches a second target candidate cell configuration for CPC, (RRCReconfiguration C) (see para. [0070];[0080] discloses after the above CPC change/addition procedure, the terminal device move, and the condition for another candidate cell is fulfilled. Change to target SN, this process is called subsequent CPC; the network device transmits to the terminal device RRC reconfiguration comprising configuration for the PSCells and indication of delta in the CPC);
while operating in a source cell (PSCell A), executing CPC to a first target cell (PSCell B) by applying the first target candidate cell configuration (RRCReconfiguration B) (see para. [0070];[0080] discloses after the above CPC change/addition procedure, the terminal device move, and the condition for another candidate cell is fulfilled. Change to target SN, this process is called subsequent CPC; the network device transmits to the terminal device RRC reconfiguration comprising configuration for the PSCells and indication of delta in the CPC), and keeping the second target candidate cell configuration for CPC, (RRCReconfiguration C) stored (see para. [0081];[0085] discloses terminal device may store reference configuration, RRC configuration corresponding to each candidate cell and reference configuration; terminal may store a set of second configurations); and
while operating in the first target cell (PSCell B), executing CPC to the second target cell (PSCell C) by applying the second target candidate cell configuration for CPC (RRCReconfiguration C) as a delta configuration to a reference configuration for generating a full configuration version for the second target candidate cell (PSCell C) (see para. [0085] discloses terminal device may generate a set of second configurations, for the set of candidate cells. Configuration of candidate cells are delta configuration).
wherein the reference configuration is determined by receiving an explicitly signalled reference configuration from a network node (see para. [0008];[0078] discloses transmission of the network device to terminal device of reference configuration; network device may transmit to the terminal device an indication indicating a configuration of the set of candidate cells as the reference configuration).
Awada and Wang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of systems, devices and techniques for wireless communications and RRC.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Awada to include the delta and reference configuration as described by Wang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving handling of reconfiguration messages in multi-connectivity.
Regarding claim 53, Awada discloses a method (see para. [0005], [0011], [0016], [0021], [0028], [0034] discloses method for multi connectivity), wherein generating the full configuration version comprises applying the delta configuration on top of the reference configuration (see para. [0115] discloses a delta configuration is dependent on a reference configuration stored in the UE. A delta configuration is a delta update that only provides the UE with parts of the configuration that have changes. The UE applies those parts on top of the existing reference configuration).
Regarding claim 54, Awada discloses a method (see para. [0005], [0011], [0016], [0021], [0028], [0034] discloses method for multi connectivity).
Awada does not clearly disclose but Wang teaches wherein different target candidate configurations correspond to different reference configurations (see para [0081] discloses the terminal may store RRC configuration corresponding to each candidate cell, and may store the reference configuration, and replace the reference configuration with the new reference configuration).
Awada and Wang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of systems, devices and techniques for wireless communications and RRC.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Awada to include the reference configuration as described by Wang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling.
Regarding claim 55, Awada discloses a method (see para. [0005], [0011], [0016], [0021], [0028], [0034] discloses method for multi connectivity), wherein the UE is operating in Multi-Radio Dual Connectivity (MR-DC) (see para. [0002] discloses Multi-Radio Dual Connectivity (MR-DC) is an example of multi-connectivity. MR-DC enables a user equipment (UE) with multiple receivers/transmitters to use resources provided by different nodes. During multi-connectivity, the UE stores a configuration).
Regarding claim 56, Awada discloses a method (see para. [0005], [0011], [0016], [0021], [0028], [0034] discloses method for multi connectivity), wherein the network node is a master node (see para. [0011]-[0013], [0016]-[0017] discloses method during multi-connectivity receiving a query form the master node).
Regarding claim 57, Awada discloses a method (see para. [0005], [0011], [0016], [0021], [0028], [0034] discloses method for multi connectivity), wherein determining the reference configuration of the target candidate configuration is performed upon reception of the reconfiguration message (see para. [0170] discloses RRC reconfiguration message comprises a delta configuration, the UE may first revert to its original SN configuration to provide the correct reference configuration for the new delta configuration).
Regarding claim 58, Awada discloses a method (see para. [0005], [0011], [0016], [0021], [0028], [0034] discloses method for multi connectivity).
Awada fails to disclose but Wang teaches, wherein a subset of target candidate configurations has a first reference configuration, and another subset of target candidate configurations has a second reference configuration (see para [0081] discloses the terminal may store RRC configuration corresponding to each candidate cell, and may store the reference configuration, and replace the reference configuration with the new reference configuration).
Awada and Wang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of systems, devices and techniques for wireless communications and RRC.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Awada to include the reference configuration as described by Wang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling.
Regarding claim 59, Awada discloses a user equipment (UE) (see para. [0188] discloses method may be performed by a UE) comprising:
a communication interface (see Fig. 16 (processor 1602), para. [0188];[0194] discloses method may be performed by a UE; processor 1602 may comprise an input and an output interface); and
processing circuitry (see Fig. 16 (processor 1602), para. [0188];[0194] discloses method may be performed by a UE; processor 1602 and memory comprising computer program instructions) configured to:
receive, via the communication interface, an RRC reconfiguration message including a first target candidate cell configuration (RRCReconfiguration B) for conditional PSCell change (CPC) (see Fig. 5 (503-RRC (Connection) Reconfiguration), para. [0098] discloses sending to the UE a RRC reconfiguration message, this comprises sending to the UE one or more CPC execution conditions and the configuration of the prepared candidate PSCell or PSCells)
Awada fails does not clearly disclose but Wang teaches a second target candidate cell configuration for CPC, (RRCReconfiguration C) (see para. [0070];[0080] discloses after the above CPC change/addition procedure, the terminal device move, and the condition for another candidate cell is fulfilled. Change to target SN, this process is called subsequent CPC; the network device transmits to the terminal device RRC reconfiguration comprising configuration for the PSCells and indication of delta in the CPC);
with respect to the UE operating in a source cell (PSCell A), cause the UE to execute CPC to a first target cell (PSCell B), by applying the first target candidate cell configuration (RRCReconfiguration B) (see para. [0070];[0080] discloses after the above CPC change/addition procedure, the terminal device move, and the condition for another candidate cell is fulfilled. Change to target SN, this process is called subsequent CPC; the network device transmits to the terminal device RRC reconfiguration comprising configuration for the PSCells and indication of delta in the CPC), and keep the second target candidate cell configuration for CPC, (RRCReconfiguration C) stored (see para. [0081];[0085] discloses terminal device may store reference configuration, RRC configuration corresponding to each candidate cell and reference configuration; terminal may store a set of second configurations); and
with respect to the UE operating in the first target cell (PSCell B), cause the UE execute CPC to the second target cell (PSCell C), by applying the second target candidate cell configuration for CPC, (RRCReconfiguration C) as a delta configuration to a reference configuration for generating a full configuration version for the second target candidate cell (PSCell C) (see para. [0085] discloses terminal device may generate a set of second configurations, for the set of candidate cells. Configuration of candidate cells are delta configuration),
wherein the reference configuration is determined by receiving an explicitly signalled reference configuration from a network node (see para. [0008];[0078] discloses transmission of the network device to terminal device of reference configuration; network device may transmit to the terminal device an indication indicating a configuration of the set of candidate cells as the reference configuration).
Awada and Wang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of systems, devices and techniques for wireless communications and RRC.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Awada to include the delta and reference configuration as described by Wang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving handling of reconfiguration messages in multi-connectivity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Selvaganapathy et al (US 20220369181 A1) disclose signaling and execution of conditional handover in a dual connectivity system.
Wu et al (WO 2021092102 A1) disclose full and delta configuration in user device.
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419