Claim(s) 1, 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by either of Takada et al 2021/0038481 (see paragraphs 0006, 0007, 0035 and 0037) or Lee 2018/0049954 (see paragraphs 0002, 0016, 0044 and 0057).
Takada et al and Lee both disclose the instant three dimensional printing composition comprising a polymerizable monomer, a photopolymerization initiator and inorganic particles which have been surface treated with 8-methacryloyloxyoctyltrimethoxysilane, the composition being used to print dental products in a three dimensional printing method that would inherently involve a laminating of the composition as the product is built up. See the above-noted paragraphs for each reference. At least the aforementioned silane is known to have the structure set forth in instant Formula 1.
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either of Takada et al 2021/0038481 (see paragraph 0032) or Lee 2018/0049954 (see paragraphs 0016 and 0017).
Takada et al and Lee disclose the basic claimed three dimensional printing composition as set forth in paragraph 1, supra, the references essentially lacking an exact teaching of the instant volume median particle diameter and viscosity. However, Takada et al discloses a median diameter of I nm to 10 microns, which is .001 to 10 microns, while instant claim 2 sets forth .1 to 2.0 microns. Since the claimed range lies within the range of Takada et al, it is prima facie obvious in that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to readily pick and choose the instant diameter. It is further submitted that the instant viscosity would have been obvious over Takada et al to facilitate printing fluid flow, an aspect conventional in the art. Lee discloses a particle diameter of less than .2 microns and a viscosity of 1,000-5,200 cps—ie, mPa-sec—and these ranges constitute overlapping ranges with the instant. It is conventional practice to find overlapping ranges as prima facie obvious since one of ordinary skill in the art would have been readily able to pick and choose suitable values certainly within the overlap if desired.
3.The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kitada et al 2021/0205181 (see paragraph 0052) teaches surface treating a filler with trimethoxysilanes as taught in the instant specification. Kajikawa et al 12,465,559 (see col. 11, line 36 through col. 12) discloses the instantly claimed and disclosed surface treatment compound applied to fillers used in a dental composition that is not three dimensionally printed. Okada et al 5,192,815 is cited for the same reason—see the entire document for the silane treating agents.
/MATHIEU D VARGOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742