DETAILED ACTION
An amendment, amending claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 11, 13 and 50, cancelling claims 7, 8, 10, 48 and 49, and adding new claim 53, was entered on 7/31/26. Claims 16-19 and 21-24 remain withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Li does not describe or suggest a composition containing the percentages of platelet nanoparticles and spherical nanoparticles. This is not persuasive. ). While Li does not expressly teach the percentage of particles which are nanoplates, Li teaches that the mixture can be adjusted to achieve the desired ink properties (¶ 0036). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, Li teaches that the percentages of spherical particles and nanoplatelets is a result effect variable and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to arrive at the claimed ratio in the absence of unexpected results.
Applicant argues that the amendment to claim 9 distinguishes over Li. This is persuasive. However, a new rejection is presented below in response to this amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 12 and 44-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2019/0225827).
Claim 1-6, 44-45 and 47: Li teaches a composition comprising copper nanoparticles having a surfactant coating thereon (Abst.; ¶ 0032), wherein the copper nanoparticles are a mixture of particles and nanoplates (¶ 0036). While Li does not expressly teach the percentage of particles which are nanoplates, Li teaches that the mixture can be adjusted to achieve the desired ink properties (¶ 0036). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a mixture of at least 80% nanoplatelets with the remainder spherical nanoparticles depending on the desired properties with the predictable expectation of success.
Li teaches sizes on the order of 5-200 nm (¶ 0037), but fails to expressly teach the claimed thickness and aspect ratios. However, Li explains that the shape and size of the nanoparticles can be selected based on the desired ink properties (¶ 0036) and desired melting point of the particles (¶ 0058). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have arrived at the claimed size and aspect ratios with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 12: Li teaches a fusion temperature of 100-200˚C (¶ 0105). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05(I). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a temperature of 180-200˚C with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 46: Li fails to teach the circularity of the particles, but explains that the shape of the particles can be selected depending on the desired properties of the ink (¶ 0036). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a circularity of 0.8 or less depending on the desired properties.
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in light of Zinn (US 2010/0065616).
Claims 9 and 11: Li teaches that the surfactant is a mixture of one or more amines, including primary, secondary and bidentate amines, but fails to teach that the amine is branched or the ratio between primary and bidentate amines. Like Li, Zinn teaches a composition comprising amine coated copper nanoparticles for forming conductive traces (Abst.) and explains that a suitable amine for use as the surfactant is a branched amine like tripentylamine (¶¶ 0029, 0047). Zinn also teaches that the ratio of amines is selected as a balance between fusion temperature and how quickly the formation process needs to be (¶ 0048) The simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a branched amine as one of the surfactants in Li and to have arrived at a ratio of primary amine to bidentate amine of 0.9 to 3.0 with the predictable expectation of success.
Claims 13 and 50-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Zinn in light of Hanni et al. (US 2017/025804).
Claims 13, 50-51 and 53: Li is silent regarding a paste. However, Zinn teaches that the composition can be formed into a paste to make it more convenient for use as a solder (¶ 0048) and that this paste is formed by including an alcohol or paraffin wax (i.e. claimed hydrocarbon with a boiling point over 300˚C) as an organic matrix (¶ 0061). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have made the composition of Li into a paste for more convenient use as a solder.
Li and Zinn fail to teach including micron sized metal particles. Hanni teaches a copper nanoparticle composition for forming metal traces (Abst.) and explains that the composition should include metal nanowires having a size of 5-10 µm (¶ 0062) to reduce the incidence of cracking during consolidation of the metal nanoparticles (¶ 0062). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have included metal nanowires in the composition of Li in order to have reduced cracking during consolidation of the copper nanoparticles with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 52: Hanni teaches 0.01-15% micro-sized particles, but Hanni does not clearly state the length and diameter of the wires, but teaches that each dimension of the wires is between 100 nm and 10 microns (¶ 0062). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05(I). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a length of 5-10 microns and a diameter of 100-200 nm and a ratio of 10:1-40:1 with the predictable expectation of success.
Prior Art
US2020/0279792 is also cited for teaching a composition which is substantially the same as the one disclosed by Li.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712