DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-19 and 21-24 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/10/26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 3/10/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2019/0225827).
Claims 1-3 and 9-10: Li teaches a composition comprising copper nanoparticles having a surfactant coating thereon (Abst.; ¶ 0032), wherein the copper nanoparticles are nanoplates (¶ 0036) and the surfactant is at least two amine surfactants (¶¶ 0032, 0063).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12 and 44-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2019/0225827).
Claim 1-3, 7 and 47: Li teaches a composition comprising copper nanoparticles having a surfactant coating thereon (Abst.; ¶ 0032), wherein the copper nanoparticles are a mixture of particles and nanoplates (¶ 0036). While Li does not expressly teach the percentage of particles which are nanoplates, Li teaches that the mixture can be adjusted to achieve the desired ink properties (¶ 0036). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a mixture of at least 80% nanoplatelets with the remainder spherical nanoparticles depending on the desired properties with the predictable expectation of success.
Claims 4-6, 44, 45 and 48: Li teaches sizes on the order of 5-200 nm (¶ 0037), but fails to expressly teach the claimed thickness and aspect ratio. However, Li explains that the shape and size of the nanoparticles can be selected based on the desired ink properties (¶ 0036) and desired melting point of the particles (¶ 0058). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have arrived at the claimed size and aspect ratio with the predictable expectation of success.
Claims 9 and 10: Li teaches that the surfactant is at least two amine surfactants (¶¶ 0032, 0063).
Claim 12: Li teaches a fusion temperature of 100-200˚C (¶ 0105). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05(I). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a temperature of 180-200˚C with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 46: Li fails to teach the circularity of the particles, but explains that the shape of the particles can be selected depending on the desired properties of the ink (¶ 0036). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a circularity of 0.8 or less depending on the desired properties.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in light of Zinn (US 2010/0065616).
Claim 11: Li fails to teach that the amine is branched. Like Li, Zinn teaches a composition comprising amine coated copper nanoparticles for forming conductive traces (Abst.) and explains that a suitable amine for use as the surfactant is a branched amine like tripentylamine (¶¶ 0029, 0047). The simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a branched amine as the surfactant in Li with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 13: Li is silent regarding a paste. However, Zinn teaches that the composition can be formed into a paste to make it more convenient for use as a solder (¶ 0048). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have made the composition of Li into a paste for more convenient use as a solder.
Claims 49-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in light of Hanni et al. (US 2017/025804).
Claims 49-51: Li teaches the inclusion of an organic matrix (¶ 0034), but fails to teach including micron sized metal particles. Hanni teaches a copper nanoparticle composition for forming metal traces (Abst.) and explains that the composition should include metal nanowires having a size of 5-10 µm (¶ 0062) to reduce the incidence of cracking during consolidation of the metal nanoparticles (¶ 0062). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have included metal nanowires in the composition of Li in order to have reduced cracking during consolidation of the copper nanoparticles with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 52: Hanni teaches 0.01-15% micro-sized particles, but Hanni does not clearly state the length and diameter of the wires, but teaches that each dimension of the wires is between 100 nm and 10 microns (¶ 0062). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05(I). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a length of 5-10 microns and a diameter of 100-200 nm and a ratio of 10:1-40:1 with the predictable expectation of success.
Prior Art
US2020/0279792 is also cited for teaching a composition which is substantially the same as the one disclosed by Li.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712