Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, the Applicant contends that the cited prior art teaches away from the limitations by utilizing an offline training process to determine parameters. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As noted by the Applicant, Misra includes an offline training process for determining filter parameters (Misra: Fig. 7; paragraphs [0064]-[0065]). However, Misra Figs. 4 (encoding with pre-filtering) and 5 (decoding with post-filtering) disclose predictor mode (Misra: Fig. 4, elements 425 and 450; Fig. 5, elements 525 and 550) and transform size and type (Misra: Fig. 4, elements 430 and 455; Fig. 5, elements 530 and 555) feed into luma (Misra: Fig. 4, element 415; Fig. 5, element 515) and chroma (Misra: Fig. 4, element 440; Fig. 5, element 540) adaptation parameter blocks which feed into luma and chroma pre-filters (Misra: Fig. 4, elements 435 and 460) or luma and chroma post-filters (Misra: Fig. 5, elements 535 and 560).
With respect to Fig. 4, Misra discloses that function block 415 sets the luma adaptation parameter based on encoder settings 420, a predictor mode 425, and a transform size and type 430 (Misra: paragraph [0056]). Function block 440 sets the chroma adaptation parameter based on encoder settings 445, a predictor mode 450, and a transform size and type 455 (Misra: paragraph [0056]).
With respect to Fig. 5, Misra discloses that function block 515 sets the luma adaptation parameter based on encoder settings 520, a predictor mode 525, and a transform size and type 530 (Misra: paragraph [0057]). Function block 540 sets the chroma adaptation parameter based on encoder settings 545, a predictor mode 550, and a transform size and type 555 (Misra: paragraph [0057]).
Thus, while parameters may be determined offline, the adaptive application of the parameters is performed on live data.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, the Applicant contends that the cited prior art fails to teach wherein the selected images are representative of a type of images to be encoded. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
With respect to Fig. 4, Misra discloses that function block 415 sets the luma adaptation parameter based on encoder settings 420, a predictor mode 425, and a transform size and type 430 (Misra: paragraph [0056]). Function block 440 sets the chroma adaptation parameter based on encoder settings 445, a predictor mode 450, and a transform size and type 455 (Misra: paragraph [0056]).
With respect to Fig. 5, Misra discloses that function block 515 sets the luma adaptation parameter based on encoder settings 520, a predictor mode 525, and a transform size and type 530 (Misra: paragraph [0057]). Function block 540 sets the chroma adaptation parameter based on encoder settings 545, a predictor mode 550, and a transform size and type 555 (Misra: paragraph [0057]).
Thus, encoder settings, predictor mode, and transform size and type constitute elements that uniquely identify each input block as a particular type according to the respective values in those categories.
Regarding claim 3, the Applicant contends that the cited prior art fails to teach the selected images are captured in the predetermined wavelength range. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Tu discloses that each sample is a number representing color components at a pixel location in the grid within a color space, such as RGB, or YIQ, among others (Tu: paragraph [0008]). Various image and video systems may use various different color, spatial and time resolutions of sampling (Tu: paragraph [0008]). Each color component in each respective color space corresponds to a particular range of wavelengths.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 12-13, 15, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misra et al. (US 20120281753 A1) in view of Tu et al. (US 20060133682 A1).
Re claim 1, Misra discloses a method for encoding data defining an image, the method comprising the steps of:
- applying a pre-filter, the pre-filter being applied to a group of pixels, and the group of pixels spanning a boundary between two image blocks (Misra: Fig. 2, pre-filter 205;
- applying a frequency-based transform to each of the image blocks, thereby providing transformed image data in which the image data is represented as coefficients defining a linear combination of predetermined basis functions having different spatial frequencies (Misra: Fig. 2, transformer (T) 215);
- quantising the coefficients (Misra: Fig. 2, quantizer (Q) 220); and
- converting the quantised coefficients into binary code (Misra: Fig. 2, entropy coding 225)
wherein the pre-filter is determined at least in part by an adaptation process based on a set of selected images (Misra: paragraph [0033], present principles are directed to methods and apparatus for adaptive coupled pre-processing and post-processing filters for video encoding and decoding; Fig. 7; paragraphs [0064]-[0065]), and
wherein the selected images are representative of a type of images to be encoded (Misra: paragraph [0089], referring to FIGS. 4 and 5, it can be seen that the pre-processing filter and post-processing filters adapt their behavior according to several inputs including encoder settings, prediction mode, transform type/size and the input data; paragraphs [0056]-[0057]).
Misra does not specifically disclose segmenting the image into image blocks, the image blocks having a uniform block size. However, Tu discloses a typical block transform-based codec 100 shown in FIG. 1 divides the uncompressed digital image's pixels into fixed-size two dimensional blocks (X.sub.1, . . . X.sub.n), each block possibly overlapping with other blocks (Tu: paragraph [0010]).
Since Misra and Tu relate to block boundary pre-filtering, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to combine the spatial domain realization of the lapped transform in Tu with the system of Misra in order to retrofit an existing block transform-based codec with a pre- and post-processing stage to derive the benefits of the lapped transform, i.e., reduced block effect and better compression, using an existing codec framework (Tu: paragraph [0023]).
Re claim 3, Misra does not specifically disclose that the method is for encoding images obtained in a predetermined wavelength range, and the selected images are captured in the predetermined wavelength range.
However, Tu discloses uncompressed digital image and video is typically represented or captured as samples of picture elements or colors at locations in an image or video frame arranged in a two-dimensional (2D) grid (Tu: paragraph [0008]). For example, a typical format for images consists of a stream of 24-bit color picture element samples arranged as a grid (Tu: paragraph [0008]). Each sample is a number representing color components at a pixel location in the grid within a color space, such as RGB, or YIQ, among others (Tu: paragraph [0008]).
Since Misra and Tu relate to block boundary pre-filtering, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to combine the spatial domain realization of the lapped transform in Tu with the system of Misra in order to retrofit an existing block transform-based codec with a pre- and post-processing stage to derive the benefits of the lapped transform, i.e., reduced block effect and better compression, using an existing codec framework (Tu: paragraph [0023]).
Re claim 5, Misra does not specifically disclose that the method is for encoding images to be communicated via a transmission channel, and wherein the adaptation process adapts the pre-filter so as to reduce a number of errors detectable when communicating the selected images via the transmission channel.
However, Tu discloses communication connection(s) (1570) enable communication over a communication medium to another computing entity (Tu: paragraph [0093]). The communication medium conveys information such as computer-executable instructions, compressed audio or video information, or other data in a modulated data signal (Tu: paragraph [0093]). A modulated data signal is a signal that has one or more of its characteristics set or changed in such a manner as to encode information in the signal (Tu: paragraph [0093]). By way of example, and not limitation, communication media include wired or wireless techniques implemented with an electrical, optical, RF, infrared, acoustic, or other carrier (Tu: paragraph [0093]).
Since Misra and Tu relate to block boundary pre-filtering, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to combine the spatial domain realization of the lapped transform in Tu with the system of Misra in order to retrofit an existing block transform-based codec with a pre- and post-processing stage to derive the benefits of the lapped transform, i.e., reduced block effect and better compression, using an existing codec framework (Tu: paragraph [0023]).
Re claim 6, Misra does not specifically disclose that the transmission channel is a wireless transmission channel.
However, Tu discloses communication connection(s) (1570) enable communication over a communication medium to another computing entity (Tu: paragraph [0093]). The communication medium conveys information such as computer-executable instructions, compressed audio or video information, or other data in a modulated data signal (Tu: paragraph [0093]). A modulated data signal is a signal that has one or more of its characteristics set or changed in such a manner as to encode information in the signal (Tu: paragraph [0093]). By way of example, and not limitation, communication media include wired or wireless techniques implemented with an electrical, optical, RF, infrared, acoustic, or other carrier (Tu: paragraph [0093]).
Since Misra and Tu relate to block boundary pre-filtering, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to combine the spatial domain realization of the lapped transform in Tu with the system of Misra in order to retrofit an existing block transform-based codec with a pre- and post-processing stage to derive the benefits of the lapped transform, i.e., reduced block effect and better compression, using an existing codec framework (Tu: paragraph [0023]).
Re claim 7, Misra discloses that the group of pixels is the same size as an image block (Misra: paragraph [0132]).
Re claim 12, Misra discloses a method of decoding a bit stream to reconstruct an image, the method comprising the steps of:
(a) converting the bit stream into blocks of data comprising coefficients (Misra: Fig. 3, entropy coding 310);
(b) applying an inverse frequency based transform to the blocks of data to reconstruct image blocks (Misra: Fig. 3, inverse quantizer (IQ) 315);
(c) applying a post-filter, the post-filter being applied to a group of pixels, and the group of pixels spanning a boundary between two image blocks (Misra: Fig. 3, post-filter 330); and
(d) combining the image blocks to reconstruct each image portion (Misra: Fig. 3, combiner 325);
wherein the post-filter is determined at least in part by an adaptation process based on a set of selected images (Misra: paragraph [0033], present principles are directed to methods and apparatus for adaptive coupled pre-processing and post-processing filters for video encoding and decoding; Fig. 7; paragraphs [0064]-[0065]), and
wherein the selected images are representative of a type of images to be reconstructed (Misra: paragraph [0089], referring to FIGS. 4 and 5, it can be seen that the pre-processing filter and post-processing filters adapt their behavior according to several inputs including encoder settings, prediction mode, transform type/size and the input data; paragraphs [0056]-[0057]).
Misra does not specifically disclose that the coefficients define a linear combination of predetermined basis functions having differing spatial frequencies. However, Tu discloses a typical block transform-based codec 100 shown in FIG. 1 divides the uncompressed digital image's pixels into fixed-size two dimensional blocks (X.sub.1, . . . X.sub.n), each block possibly overlapping with other blocks (Tu: paragraph [0010]). A linear transform 120-121 that does spatial-frequency analysis is applied to each block, which converts the spaced samples within the block to a set of frequency (or transform) coefficients generally representing the strength of the digital signal in corresponding frequency bands over the block interval (Tu: paragraph [0010]).
Since Misra and Tu relate to block boundary pre-filtering, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to combine the spatial domain realization of the lapped transform in Tu with the system of Misra in order to retrofit an existing block transform-based codec with a pre- and post-processing stage to derive the benefits of the lapped transform, i.e., reduced block effect and better compression, using an existing codec framework (Tu: paragraph [0023]).
Claim 13 recites wherein the image is part of a series of image frames, each of the frames being encoded according to the method of claim 1. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 13. Accordingly, claim 13 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1 above.
Re claim 15, Misra discloses, at the processor, encoding the image according to the method of claim 1 to generate an encoded image (see claim 1).
Misra does not specifically disclose a method for a user terminal to obtain an image from a remote platform, the remote platform comprising an image sensor, a processor, and a dedicated transmission apparatus, and the method comprising the steps of:
- capturing the image using the image sensor;
- transmitting the encoded image to the user terminal; and
- decoding the encoding image at the user terminal.
However, Tu discloses uncompressed digital image and video is typically represented or captured as samples of picture elements or colors at locations in an image or video frame arranged in a two-dimensional (2D) grid (Tu: paragraph [0010]). Tu discloses communication connection(s) (1570) enable communication over a communication medium to another computing entity (Tu: paragraph [0093]). The communication medium conveys information such as computer-executable instructions, compressed audio or video information, or other data in a modulated data signal (Tu: paragraph [0093]). A modulated data signal is a signal that has one or more of its characteristics set or changed in such a manner as to encode information in the signal (Tu: paragraph [0093]). By way of example, and not limitation, communication media include wired or wireless techniques implemented with an electrical, optical, RF, infrared, acoustic, or other carrier (Tu: paragraph [0093]). At decoding, the transform coefficients will inversely transform 170-171 to nearly reconstruct the original color/spatial sampled image/video signal (Tu: paragraph [0010]).
Since Misra and Tu relate to block boundary pre-filtering, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to combine the spatial domain realization of the lapped transform in Tu with the system of Misra in order to retrofit an existing block transform-based codec with a pre- and post-processing stage to derive the benefits of the lapped transform, i.e., reduced block effect and better compression, using an existing codec framework (Tu: paragraph [0023]).
Claim 18 recites the corresponding one or more non-transitory computer- readable medium comprising instructions which, when the instructions are executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method of claim 1. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 18. Additionally, Misra discloses the machine is implemented on a computer platform having hardware such as one or more central processing units ("CPU"), a random access memory ("RAM"), and input/output ("I/O") interfaces (Misra: paragraph [0138]). The computer platform may also include an operating system and microinstruction code (Misra: paragraph [0138]). The various processes and functions described herein may be either part of the microinstruction code or part of the application program, or any combination thereof, which may be executed by a CPU (Misra: paragraph [0138]). Accordingly, claim 18 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1 above.
Claim 19 recites the corresponding processor configured to perform the method of claim 1. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 19. Additionally, Misra discloses the machine is implemented on a computer platform having hardware such as one or more central processing units ("CPU"), a random access memory ("RAM"), and input/output ("I/O") interfaces (Misra: paragraph [0138]). The computer platform may also include an operating system and microinstruction code (Misra: paragraph [0138]). The various processes and functions described herein may be either part of the microinstruction code or part of the application program, or any combination thereof, which may be executed by a CPU (Misra: paragraph [0138]). Accordingly, claim 19 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1 above.
Claim 20 recites the corresponding non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions which, when the instructions are executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method of claim 12. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 12 are applicable to claim 20. Additionally, Misra discloses the machine is implemented on a computer platform having hardware such as one or more central processing units ("CPU"), a random access memory ("RAM"), and input/output ("I/O") interfaces (Misra: paragraph [0138]). The computer platform may also include an operating system and microinstruction code (Misra: paragraph [0138]). The various processes and functions described herein may be either part of the microinstruction code or part of the application program, or any combination thereof, which may be executed by a CPU (Misra: paragraph [0138]). Accordingly, claim 20 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 12 above.
Claim 21 recites the corresponding processor configured to perform the method of claim 12. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 12 are applicable to claim 21. Additionally, Misra discloses the machine is implemented on a computer platform having hardware such as one or more central processing units ("CPU"), a random access memory ("RAM"), and input/output ("I/O") interfaces (Misra: paragraph [0138]). The computer platform may also include an operating system and microinstruction code (Misra: paragraph [0138]). The various processes and functions described herein may be either part of the microinstruction code or part of the application program, or any combination thereof, which may be executed by a CPU (Misra: paragraph [0138]). Accordingly, claim 21 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 12 above.
Claim(s) 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misra et al. (US 20120281753 A1) in view of Tu et al. (US 20060133682 A1), and further in view of Xu et al. (US 10,855,939 B1).
Re claim 16, neither Misra nor Tu specifically discloses that the remote platform is an unmanned air system. However, Xu discloses an image sensor system, wherein the sensing system may utilize an image feature edge or boundary detecting filter block (Xu: column 5, lines 52-55). Example applications include autonomous vehicles, fast robots, and unmanned aerial vehicles (Xu: column 8, lines 5-9). Since Misra, Tu, and Xu relate to image systems using filtering operations, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the applications of Xu with the system of Misra and Tu in order to increase the high frame rate capability of stacked image sensors to improve real time image processing when certain novel circuit elements are employed along with edge recognition filters that may be optimized by on-chip programmability (Xu: column 4, lines 14-20).
Re claim 17, neither Misra nor Tu specifically discloses that the remote platform is a missile. However, Xu discloses an image sensor system, wherein the sensing system may utilize an image feature edge or boundary detecting filter block (Xu: column 5, lines 52-55). Example applications include autonomous vehicles, fast robots, and unmanned aerial vehicles (Xu: column 8, lines 5-9). Since Misra, Tu, and Xu relate to image systems using filtering operations, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the applications of Xu with the system of Misra and Tu in order to increase the high frame rate capability of stacked image sensors to improve real time image processing when certain novel circuit elements are employed along with edge recognition filters that may be optimized by on-chip programmability (Xu: column 4, lines 14-20).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8-10, and 22-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/CHRISTOPHER G FINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482