DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/5/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 8/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the working stroke" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the punching press" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the working stroke" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the punching press" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the punching process" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the punching process" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the distributor" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the punching stamp" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the punching tool" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeda [WO2022/009878, machine translation provided].
Takeda discloses a method of producing laminated cores (21) from laminations (40), in which an adhesive medium (90) is applied as at least one adhesive point (c) to the upper side of the surface of a sheet metal insulation (insulation film) of a sheet metal strip (M) guided horizontally with respect to the direction of gravity by means of an application unit (250) via an application head (253),characterized in that the adhesive medium is transferred as at least one adhesive point (C) to the surface of the sheet metal insulation (insulation film) of the sheet metal strip (M) or a lamination (40) cut from the strip without movable components in the application head (253), the application head (253) being moved perpendicularly relative to the surface of the sheet metal strip (M) in order to transfer the adhesive medium in the form of the at least one adhesive point (C) (Figures 5 and 6; paragraphs 0090-94).
With respect to claim 2, Takeda discloses the application head is moved synchronously with the working stroke of the punching press (paragraph 0094).
With respect to claim 6, Takeda discloses the surface of the sheet metal insulation of the lamination is only partially wetted during the application of the adhesive points (paragraph 0081).
With respect to claim 10, Takeda discloses the application of several adhesive points to the surface of the sheet metal strip or the lamination takes place via at least one distributor with at least one supply for the adhesive medium and via the at least one application head connected to the at least one distributor (Figure 5).
With respect to claim 13, Takeda discloses that the adhesive medium is applied by means of an embodiment in which the distributor and the application head are located inside the punching stamp of the punching tool (Figure 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Kim [KR10-2016-0145289, machine translation provided].
Takeda discloses a method of producing laminated cores. Applicant is referred to paragraph 7 for a detailed discussion of Takeda.
With respect to claim 3, Takeda does not disclose the application head is not moved synchronously with the working stroke of the punching press. Kim discloses the application head is not moved synchronously with the working stroke of the punching press (application head is moved independently of the punching press, paragraph 0045). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Takeda by not moving the application head synchronously with the punching press as taught by Kim in order to prevent the application of adhesive between certain laminations.
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Takagi [JP2015-76970, machine translation provided].
Takeda discloses a method of producing laminated cores. Applicant is referred to paragraph 7 for a detailed discussion of Takeda.
With respect to claim 4, Takeda does not disclose the features of claim 4. Takagi discloses a method of producing a laminated core including applying an adhesive (X) to a component (8) of a laminated core (paragraphs 0024-25, 0046). Takagi discloses the transfer of the adhesive medium as an adhesive point (X) to the lamination (80) is supported by the kinetic energy of a distributor (21) of the application unit (2C) and the application head (21), and the gravitational force of the adhesive medium with or without using the adhesive force of the adhesive point (X) on the sheet metal strip (80) (paragraphs 0029, 0030, 0046). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Takeda by utilizing both kinetic energy and gravitational force to apply the adhesive medium as taught by Takagi in order to improve the efficiency of the adhesive transfer.
With respect to claim 11, Takagai the application unit for applying the adhesive point is located within the punching process (paragraph 0046).
Claims 5, 8, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Okudaira et al. [US2021/0057969].
Takeda discloses a method of producing laminated cores. Applicant is referred to paragraph 7 for a detailed discussion of Takeda. Takeda discloses an application head but does not disclose the application head does not touch the surface of the sheet metal insulation of the heat metal strip or lamination when dispensing the adhesive.
Okudaira discloses a method of forming a laminated core. Okudaira discloses an adhesive bulge (N) protrudes from an application table (62) and the application table forms a gap (α) with the strip (F) so that the strip does not contact the application table (paragraph 0086-92). Okudaira discloses transfer amount of adhesive is controlled in accordance to the size of the gap (α), and suggests the transfer amount of adhesive can be set to an optimal amount by optimizing the variables (paragraph 0092).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Takeda by forming a gap between the application head and the sheet metal as taught by Okudaira in order to provide greater control over the adhesive amount, and the claimed distance of at most 5mm would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill performing routine experimentation to optimize the distance and resulting adhesive amount.
With respect to claim 8, Okudaira discloses the volume of the respective adhesive point is adjusted (paragraph 0092).
With respect to claim 11, Okudaira discloses the application unit for applying the adhesive point is located within the punching process (Figure 7).
With respect to claim 12, Okudaira discloses the application unit for applying the adhesive medium is located outside the punching process (60 outside of punching process 34; Figure 2).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Jeon [KR102279897, machine translation provided].
Takeda discloses a method of producing laminated cores. Applicant is referred to paragraph 7 for a detailed discussion of Takeda. Takeda discloses applying adhesive but does not disclose monitoring the application of adhesive by sensors for the presence and size of the partial wetting.
Jeon discloses a method of applying an adhesive and discloses monitoring the application of adhesive with an image sensor (40) that acquires an image of the applied adhesive and controls the volume of the applied adhesive based on the acquired image (paragraph 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Takeda by monitoring the applied adhesive with an image sensor as taught by Jeon in order to improve the quality of the adhesive bond and laminated core by ensuring the quantity of adhesive applied provides an adequate bond while not squeezing out between layers of the laminated core.
With respect to claim 8, Jeon discloses measuring and controlling the volume of applied adhesive (pages 3-4 of machine translation).
With respect to claim 9, Jeon discloses the volume of the respective adhesive point is regulated independently by a control circuit (pages 3-4 of machine translation).
Conclusion
/DANIEL MCNALLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746
DPM
September 28, 2026