DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “a attaching mechanism” in line 8 should be written as –an attaching mechanism— for grammatical clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase “the tire” in line 4, “the sidewall” in line 5, “the bead filler” in line 9, and “the carcass” in line 9 lack sufficient antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase “wherein the turn-up mechanism and the attaching mechanism simultaneously roll different positions of the sidewall respectively” in lines 10-11 is unclear. Previously, it was disclosed that the attaching mechanism attaches the bead filler and/or the sidewall, and now there is a specific requirement that the attaching mechanism rolls the sidewall. Thereby, it is unclear if the sidewall is or is not required because it is disclosed that it may be omitted (i.e., “or”) and then subsequently it is required. For the purposes of examination, the examiner assumes that the attaching mechanism attaches the bead filler and/or the sidewall, and in the instance where it does attach the sidewall it rolls different positions of the sidewall simultaneously with the turn-up mechanism.
Claims 9-14 are indefinite by dependence on claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takasuka (US 20060180263) (of record) and any one of Ogawa (US 20050211366) (of record), Li et al. (CN 109572017, see machine translation) (of record), and/or Sumiya et al. (JP H0760867, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 8, Takasuka discloses a mechanical drum (Figs. 1-2: 11) ([0013]), and the mechanical drum comprises: a spindle assembly (Figs. 1-2: 13, 14) rotationally arranged to drive the tire to rotate ([0014]); a turn-up mechanism (Figs. 1-2: 70, 76) arranged on the spindle assembly (Figs. 1-2: 13, 14) to roll the sidewall (Figs. 1-2: N) ([0031]-[0032]); a lead screw assembly (Figs. 1-2: 16, 17) threaded in the spindle assembly (Figs. 1-2: 13, 14) and drivingly connected to the turn-up mechanism (Figs. 1-2: 70, 76) to drive the turn-up mechanism to move ([0014]-[0015], [0024], [0038]).
Takasuka further discloses that the tire components are conveyed and provided on the drum to be loosely fit, and the bead is placed at a particularly position as well ([0039]). However, Takasuka does not expressly recite an attaching mechanism movably arranged relative to the spindle assembly to attach the bead filler and/or the sidewall to the carcass of the tire.
Ogawa discloses a mechanical drum, and the mechanical drum comprises: a spindle assembly (Figs. 1-2, 11-13: 30, 58, 58R) rotationally arranged to drive the tire to rotate ([0069]); a turn-up mechanism (Figs. 11-13: 54, 56) arranged on the spindle assembly (Figs. 1-2, 11-13: 30); a lead screw assembly (Fig. 2: 66) threaded in the spindle assembly (Figs. 1-2, 11-13: 30, 58, 58R) ([0070]); and an attaching mechanism (Fig. 2: 52) movably arranged relative to the spindle assembly to attach the bead filler (Fig. 2: 48) to the carcass (Fig. 2: 46) of the tire ([0090]: wherein the bead filler is press-contacted to the carcass, thereby implying that the mechanism must be moved axially along the spindle shaft axis 58). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify Takasuka with a known attachment mechanism for the bead filler in the tire art in order to provide and attach the bead filler to the tire assembly, as taught by Ogawa, especially because Takasuka discloses generally that the components are conveyed and provided in place without specifying how.
Additionally or alternatively, Li discloses a mechanical drum, and the mechanical drum comprises: a spindle assembly (Fig. 1: 2) rotationally arranged to drive the tire to rotate ([0017], [0039], [0043]); a turn-up mechanism arranged on the spindle assembly to roll the sidewall (Figs. 7-8); and an attaching mechanism (Fig. 1: 8) movably arranged relative to the spindle assembly to attach the bead filler (Fig. 1: 15) to the carcass (Fig. 1: 4) of the tire (Fig. 6) ([0040], [0051]). In this manner, the bead is attached to the carcass and then further work is performed to form the tire, including subsequent use of the turn-up mechanism. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify Takasuka with a known attachment mechanism for the bead filler in the tire art in order to provide and attach the bead filler to the tire assembly, as taught by Li, especially because Takasuka discloses generally that the components are conveyed and provided in place without specifying how.
Additionally or alternatively, Sumiya discloses a method for manufacturing a tire comprising using a stitcher bladder (i.e., turn-up mechanism) (Fig. 1: 7, 14) simultaneously with a stitcher roller (i.e., attaching mechanism) (Fig. 1: 11) for press-molding the sidewall ([0001], [0011]-[0012], [0016]-[0017]). Originally, the function of the stitcher roller is to push out air to eliminate air pockets at the lamination interfaces when laminating and bonding the tire components, thereby achieving a perfect bond and at the same time flattening and shaping the outer surface ([0016]). For this reason, the internal pressure in the air chamber of the first molded body in the direction of the arrow cannot be mechanically increased by the stitcher roller alone, so by applying pressure from the outer surface using the stitcher bladder, air pockets at the pressed points are eliminated and at the same time, pressure balance is achieved, preventing the carcass ply from becoming distorted in a serpentine manner and the outer surface of this area from collapsing due to the stitcher roller, which results from the distorted serpentine arrangement of the carcass ply ([0016]). By operating the stitcher bladder (i.e., turn-up mechanism) in conjunction with the stitcher roller (i.e., attaching mechanism) over at least the sidewall portion of the tire and pressing and pasting it from the outer surface, it is possible to avoid the disturbance of the carcass ply arrangement, the occurrence of depressions on the outer surface of the buttress portion, and the phenomenon of shoulder drop in the shoulder portion ([0021]). Although Sumiya discloses that the turn-up mechanism is a bladder, rather than the roller structure disclosed in Takasuka, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the same advantages of avoiding the disturbance of the carcass ply arrangement, the occurrence of depressions on the outer surface of the buttress portion, and the phenomenon of shoulder drop in the shoulder portion would also be applicable to the turn-up mechanism of the drum of Takasuka, and that the turn-up mechanism of Takasuka would also operate and perform in a manner similar to the bladder of Sumiya to apply pressure to the sidewall and eliminate air pockets to achieve pressure balance with the stitcher roller that is pushing out air from the other direction. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify Takasuka with a known attachment mechanism for the sidewall in the tire art in order to attach and roll the sidewall to the tire assembly simultaneously with the turn-up mechanism at different positions of the sidewall, as taught by Sumiya for the advantages discussed above, especially because Takasuka discloses generally that the components are conveyed and provided in place without specifying how.
The examiner notes that that claim limitations require “[an] attaching mechanism movably arranged relative to the spindle assembly to attach the bead filler and/or the sidewall to the carcass of the tire, wherein the turn-up mechanism and the attaching mechanism simultaneously roll different positions of the sidewall respectively,” and thereby, in the event the attaching mechanism attaches a bead filler and not a sidewall, the simultaneous rolling of different positions of the sidewall with the turn-up mechanism and the attaching mechanism is moot.
Claim(s) 9-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takasuka (US 20060180263) (of record) and any one of Ogawa (US 20050211366) (of record), Li et al. (CN 109572017, see machine translation) (of record), and/or Sumiya et al. (JP H0760867, see machine translation) as applied to claim 8 above, and optionally further in view of any one of Dai et al. (CN 201183320, see machine translation) (of record) and/or Tanaka et al. (JP 2012086488, see machine translation) (of record).
Regarding claim 9, Takasuka further discloses the turn-up mechanism comprises: a plurality of first turn-up structures (Figs. 1-2: 70, 76) arranged circumferentially around the spindle assembly (Figs. 1-2: 13, 14) ([0031]), wherein the lead screw assembly (Figs. 1-2: 16, 17) is drivingly connected to the first turn-up structures (Figs. 1-2: 70, 76) to move each of the first turn-up structures simultaneously in a radial direction of the tire ([0014]-[0015], [0024], [0038]); and a limiting cylinder (Figs 1-2: 42, 56) arranged and connected with the plurality of first turn-up structures (Figs. 1-2: 70, 76) to drive each of the first turn-up structures to press the tire ([0024]-[0026], [0029]-[0031]).
Takasuka does not expressly recite a plurality of limiting cylinders for driving each respective turn-up structure, and instead discloses a single limiting cylinder on each axial side of the drum. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Takasuka’s single limiting cylinder to instead use a plurality of limiting cylinders each driving a respective turn-up structure. Under KSR, mere duplication of parts and design optimization of known, predictable mechanical elements are within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143, 2144.04(VI); KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). A skilled artisan would have recognized that using separate cylinders for each turn-up structure is a simple substitution to provide independent control, uniform force distribution, easier maintenance, and simplification of manufacturing and assembly, with predictable results.
Optionally, Dai discloses a mechanical drum having turn-up structures that are each driven by a sleeve mechanism (Figs. 1-3: 6) and a cylinder (Fig. 2: 20) ([0007], [0018]). In this manner, each cylinder can independently slide axially on the sleeve mechanism and push the respective turn-up structure to press the tire components ([0018]). Additionally or alternatively, Tanaka discloses a mechanical drum having turn-up structures that are each driven by an electric actuator (i.e., limiting cylinder) (Fig. 2: 10a), wherein each actuator moves the respective turn-up structure to any position in the drum axial direction at any speed in the drum axial direction, making it possible to precisely adjust the degree of pressure applied to the turned-up member ([0040]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify Takasuka in order to provide individual limiting cylinders for each turn-up structure so as to independently control each turn-up structure and precisely adjust the degree of pressure applied to the turned-up member as taught by Dai and Tanaka.
Regarding claim 10, Takasuka further discloses the turn-up mechanism further comprises: a sleeve assembly (Figs. 1-2: 20) sleeved on an outside of the spindle assembly (Figs. 1-2: 13, 14) and movably arranged along an axial direction of the spindle assembly ([0015]), wherein the plurality of first turn-up structures (Figs. 1-2: 70, 76) are arranged around the sleeve assembly (Figs. 1-2: 20), and the lead screw assembly (Figs. 1-2: 16, 17) is drivingly connected to the sleeve assembly (Figs. 1-2: 20) through a lead screw nut (Figs. 1-2: 16) threaded in the spindle assembly (Figs. 1-2: 13, 14) to move each of the first turn-up structures ([0114]-[0015], [0024], [0038]).
Regarding claim 11, Takasuka further discloses a first turn-up structure further comprises: a pressure roller assembly (Figs. 1-2: 70) configured to roll the sidewall (Figs. 1-2: N) of the tire ([0032]); and a first drive rod assembly (Figs. 1-2: 72, 41, 20) drivingly connected to the pressure roller assembly (Figs. 1-2: 70), wherein the lead screw assembly (Figs. 1-2: 16, 17) is connected to the first drive rod assembly (Figs. 1-2: 72, 41, 20) to drive the pressure roller assembly (Figs. 1-2: 70) to move in the radial direction of the tire through the first drive rod assembly ([0034]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 12, Takasuka further discloses the first turn-up structure further comprises: a second drive rod assembly (Figs. 1-2: 66) rotationally connected to the first drive rod assembly (Figs. 1-2: 72, see also how there is a hinge portion to allow rotation between 66 and 77 where they are connected), wherein the limiting cylinder (Figs 1-2: 40, 50, 51, 56) is connected to the second drive rod assembly (Figs. 1-2: 66), and the pressure roller assembly (Figs. 1-2: 70) is driven by the first drive rod assembly (Figs. 1-2: 72) to press the tire.
Regarding claim 14, Takasuka further discloses the turn-up mechanism further comprises: a plurality of second turn-up structures configured to correspond to the plurality of first turn-up structures one by one and symmetrically arranged on the spindle assembly, wherein the lead screw assembly is further respectively drivingly connected to the second turn-up structures to simultaneously move each of the second turn-up structures in the radial direction of the tire ([0031]: wherein the turn-up structures are provided on both axial ends of the drum, i.e., the first turn-up structures are duplicated on the opposite side of the drum so as to be second turn-up structures).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takasuka (US 20060180263) (of record), any one of Ogawa (US 20050211366) (of record), Li et al. (CN 109572017, see machine translation) (of record), and/or Sumiya et al. (JP H0760867, see machine translation), and optionally further in view of any one of Dai et al. (CN 201183320, see machine translation) (of record) and/or Tanaka et al. (JP 2012086488, see machine translation) (of record) as applied to claims 8-9 and 11 above, and further in view of Kawaida et al. (US 4484973) (of record).
Regarding claim 13, Takasuka further discloses the turn-up mechanism further comprises: a sleeve assembly (Figs. 1-2: 20) movably arranged along an axial direction of the spindle assembly (Figs. 1-2: 13, 14) ([0015]), and the first turn-up structure further comprises: a support assembly (Figs. 1-2: see surface of 66 upon which sidewall N is placed) connected to the first drive rod assembly (Figs. 1-2: 72) to support the sidewall (Figs. 1-2: N) of an outer side of the turn-up mechanism.
However, modified Takasuka does not expressly recite the first drive rod assembly includes a third drive rod and a fourth drive rod, and the third drive rod and the fourth drive rod are respectively rotationally connected to the sleeve assembly, and the first turn-up structure further comprises: a support assembly connected to the first drive rod assembly to support the sidewall of an outer side of the turn-up mechanism; the third drive rod, the support assembly, the fourth drive rod and the sleeve assembly are in sequence connected to form a four-bar linkage.
Kawaida discloses a mechanical drum, and the mechanical drum comprises: a spindle assembly (Fig. 1: 15, 17) rotationally arranged to drive the tire to rotate; a turn-up mechanism (Figs. 1, 3a-3d: 1, 1a) arranged on the spindle assembly; a lead screw assembly (Fig. 1: 10, 10a-10c) threaded in the spindle assembly and drivingly connected to the turn-up mechanism (Fig. 1: 1, 1a) to drive the turn-up mechanism to move (Figs. 3a-3d). Kawaida further discloses the turn-up mechanism comprises: a plurality of first turn-up structures (Fig. 1: 1, 1a) arranged circumferentially around the spindle assembly (Fig. 1: 15, 17) (Col. 1 lines 55-58; Col. 2 lines 50-57), wherein the lead screw assembly (Fig. 1: 10, 10a-10c) is drivingly connected to the first turn-up structures (Fig. 1: 1, 1a) to move each of the first turn-up structures simultaneously in the radial direction of the tire (Figs. 3a-3d); and the turn-up mechanism further comprises: a sleeve assembly (Fig. 1: 7) movably arranged along an axial direction of the spindle assembly (Fig. 1: 15, 17), wherein a first drive rod assembly includes a third drive rod (Fig. 1: 9) and a fourth drive rod (Fig. 1: 2), and the first turn-up structure further comprises: a support assembly (Fig. 1: 1, 1a) connected to the first drive rod assembly (Fig. 1: 2, 9); the third drive rod, the support assembly, the fourth drive rod and the sleeve assembly are in sequence connected to form a four-bar linkage (Fig. 1). The turn-up structure comprising a four-bar linkage aids in the ply-turning device applying appropriate contact pressure where necessary without applying an excessive external force by the opening movement of all top portions of the ply-turning structures (i.e. the increase of conical angle) through the link means and the retractable movement of the ply-turning structures together with the link means (Col. 1 lines 44-68; Col. 2 lines 1-20). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify Takasuka in order to provide the turn-up structure with a four-bar linkage as taught by Kawaida for the advantages as discussed above. Accordingly, the turn-up structures (Figs. 1-2: 76) of Takasuka would be modified to have a support (Figs. 1-2: 66), a third rod (Figs. 1-2: 72) as part of the first rod assembly, and a fourth rod (Figs. 1-2: see where 66 is connected to a portion extending at a perpendicular angle from 65, 67, wherein modifying Takasuka would form that perpendicular extension as a hinged rod connected to 66 similar to fourth rod 2 and support 1a in Fig. 1 of Kawaida).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 8-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 02/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 6-7 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that amended claim 8 emphasizes the turn-up mechanism and the attaching mechanism simultaneously roll different positions of the sidewall respectively. Applicant further argues: Takasuka fails to disclose the attaching mechanism; Ogawa fails to disclose the turn-up mechanism and the attaching mechanism simultaneously roll different positions of the sidewall respectively; and Li also fails to disclose the turn-up mechanism and the attaching mechanism simultaneously roll different positions of the sidewall respectively.
As discussed in the detailed rejection above, the examiner notes that that claim limitations require “[an] attaching mechanism movably arranged relative to the spindle assembly to attach the bead filler and/or the sidewall to the carcass of the tire, wherein the turn-up mechanism and the attaching mechanism simultaneously roll different positions of the sidewall respectively,” and thereby, in the event the attaching mechanism attaches a bead filler and not a sidewall, the simultaneous rolling of different positions of the sidewall with the turn-up mechanism and the attaching mechanism is not required.
In the event the attaching mechanism requires attaching the sidewall, the examiner refers to the detailed rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/SEDEF E PAQUETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749