DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talley US 2,414,345A) in view of Kim et al. (KR-10-0695610B1) (hereafter Kim).
With respect to claim 1, Talley teaches an oxy-fuel system (title) for supplying a torch (D) with a fuel gas stored under pressure in a container (cylinder A), said system comprising the following components: (a) an upstream fuel gas supply line between the container and the torch (figure 1; and column 1, line 28-column 3, line 32); (b) a demand (sensitive demand regulator F) valve arranged in the upstream fuel gas supply line (column 2, lines 27-29); (c) the torch connected to an oxygen supply line (figure 1; and column 1, line 28-column 3, line 32), wherein the torch comprises a venturi nozzle adapted to generate in the upstream fuel gas supply line a negative pressure relative to atmospheric pressure in operating condition (column 1, lines 36-54; column 2, lines 36-55; and column 3, lines 13-32), and wherein the demand valve is vacuum-controlled and configured to have a pressure setpoint to open the demand valve, said pressure setpoint being negative relative to atmospheric pressure and equal or less negative than Pnegative (column 1, line 55-column 2, line 26; and column 2, lines 42-55; and column 3, lines 1-32).
With respect to claim 1, Talley does not explicitly teach that Pnegative is of at least
-0.3bar; and wherein the container has a regulator, the demand valve is directly connected to the regulator, and the demand valve is connected via a hose to the torch. However, since the flow of oxygen and acetylene controls the negative pressure, it is the examiner’s position that at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the apparatus of Talley to utilize a Pnegative that is of at least -0.3bar in order to achieve the desired oxyfuel flow for welding or cutting. Where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955)).
While, Kim teaches wherein the container has a regulator (600), the demand valve (200) is directly connected to the regulator, and the demand valve is connected via a hose (40) to the torch (60) (figure 1; and the machine translation).
At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the regulator and valve combination in the apparatus of Talley in order to form a compact and easy to install gas controller that discharges the gas at the storage tank side at a constant pressure.
With respect to claim 2, Talley is silent with respect to the pressure setpoint of the demand valve; however, it is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a setpoint of at least -2.5 bar to generate enough resistance to properly control the movement of the diaphragm regulator.
With respect to claim 3, Talley teaches wherein the demand valve is a diaphragm valve (or membrane valve) comprising (a) a valve body with a first port connected to the container, and a second port connected to the upstream fuel gas supply line, (b) diaphragm clamped in the valve body, (c) a closure member coupled to the first side of the diaphragm and cooperating with a valve seat located between a valve inlet and a valve outlet, said closure member being adapted to open a passage between the valve inlet and the valve outlet when the pressure on the second side of the diaphragm is equal or higher (more negative relative to atmospheric pressure) than the pressure setpoint (figure 1; and column 3, lines 1-32).
With respect to claim 4, Talley is silent with respect to the diameter of the diaphragm; however, it is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a diaphragm with a diameter greater than 50mm in order to aid in coverage and form a better seal. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that,
where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative
dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions
would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not
patentably distinct from the prior art device.
With respect to claim 5, Talley teaches a valve seat and a valve opening (figure 1; and column 1, line 55-column 2, line 26), but is silent with respect to the diameter of the valve opening and the ratio of the diaphragm with respect to the valve opening. However, it is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a diameter ratio of greater than 8.5 in order to provide an adequate amount of overlap to generate the desired seal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The examiner agrees that Talley does not teach that the container has a regulator, the demand valve is directly connected to the regulator, and the demand valve is connected via a hose to the torch. However, newly cited Kim teaches the newly added limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KILEY S STONER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735