DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 6, the limitation “a plant-base raw material” renders the claim indefinite because Claim 5 already recites “of a plant-base raw material”; therefore it is unclear if “a plant-base raw material” of claim 6 is the same or different element as the plant-base raw material recited in claim 5. This can be overcome by reciting “the plant-base raw material” in claim 6.
Regarding Claim 8, the limitation “act on a plant-base raw material” renders the claim indefinite because Claim 7 already recites “a plant-base raw material”; therefore it is unclear if “a plant-base raw material” of claim 8 is the same or different element as the plant-base raw material recited in claim 7. This can be overcome by reciting “the plant-base raw material” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Triantafyllou (US 6,451,369) in view of Aizawa et al. (JP 2021193992 A- see machine translation).
Regarding Claim 1, Triantafyllou discloses an enzymatic agent for reducing a saccharide in a plant-base food or beverage (maltodextrin, Col. 6, ln. 50-54). The production of maltodextrin is construed to reduce saccharides such as glucose since maltodextrin is made of chains of glucose molecules. Triantafyllou is silent to wherein the enzymatic agent comprises a cyclodextrin-producing enzyme. However, Triantafyllou recognizes that combinations of enzymes and amounts of each specific enzymes results in suspensions that contains different sugars and varying amounts of each sugar (Col. 8, ln. 36-38). Therefore, Aizawa is relied on to teach a taste improver composition comprising a cyclodextrin-producing enzyme which is used to act on starch to produce cyclodextrin (Activity measurement of β-cyclodextrin-producing enzyme, see page 2 of the translations). Food beverages comprising the sugar composition made from the cyclodextrin-producing enzyme were shown to enhance the taste of fruit juice beverages (Example 4, page 5 of the translations) as well as soy milk (Example 5, page 5 of the translation).
Therefore, since Triantafyllou is directed to varying the combinations of enzymes to produce the desired combination of sugars and which enzymes react with starch, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the enzymes of Aizawa for the purpose of imparting the flavor profiles of a cyclodextrin sugar composition. Furthermore, since both Triantafyllou and Aizawa recognizes the use of starch degrading enzymes to produce certain sugars for beverages, it would have been obvious to combine equivalents known for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding Claim 2, Triantafyllou discloses further comprising a maltotriose-producing enzyme (Col. 6, ln. 50-54).
Regarding Claims 3 and 4, Triantafyllou further teaches a plant-based beverage in which the enzymatic agent is used, wherein the plant base beverage is oat milk (Col. 2, ln. 48-56).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, as discussed in the rejection of Claim 1, the combination of Triantafyllou and Aizawa suggest a method for manufacturing a plant-base beverage (oat milk, Col. 2, ln. 48-56 of Triantafyllou), comprising a step of allowing a cyclodextrin-producing enzyme (Activity measurement of β-cyclodextrin-producing enzyme, see page 2 of the translations of Aizawa) and a maltotriose-producing enzyme to act in a liquefaction process of a plant-base raw material (Col. 6, ln. 41-48 of Triantafyllou).
Regarding Claims 7 and 8, the claims are rejected for reasons discussed in the rejection of Claims 5 and 6. The production of maltodextrin and maltotriose is construed to reduce saccharides such as glucose and since cyclodextrin and maltotriose are made of glucose molecules.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3 and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 12 of copending Application No. 18/723,613 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending claim 1 and 12 discloses a food product for use with a plant-based food comprising a cyclodextrin-producing enzyme, and a method of allowing a cyclodextrin-producing enzyme to act on a plant-based raw material.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 2, 4-6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 12 of copending Application No. 18/723,613 in view of Triantafyllou (US 6,451,369).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding Claims 2, 4-6 and 8, the copending claims are silent to comprising and allowing a maltotriose-producing enzyme to act on a plant-base raw material. Triantafyllou is relied on to teach a process of adding a maltotriose-producing enzyme (Col. 6, ln. 50-54) to oat milk (as per claim 4, see abstract) for the purpose of providing particular ratios of various sugars including maltotriose, maltose, and glucose. Therefore, since Triantafyllou is also directed to a sugar-producing enzyme in plant-based food products (oat milk), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine equivalents known for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06). Also, since copending claim 1 is directed to plant-based food, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the starch degrading enzymes in the liquefaction of oat milk as taught by Triantafyllou based on product choice and to produce the desired ratios of cyclodextrin and maltotriose.
Conclusion
/T.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/VIREN A THAKUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792