DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed on 8/17/2026, which amended claims 17, 29, 31-33, and added new claim 35. Claims 16-35 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 20, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Verweij et al. (US PGPub 2005/0012913, Verweij hereinafter).
Regarding claim 16, Verweij discloses an illumination adjustment apparatus (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0039]-[0044], [0050]-[0051], [0056], [0065]-[0072], [0075]-[0076], [0081], [003]-[0088], the lithographic apparatus includes a radiation system EX, IL, masking device MD, and relay optics RL) comprising:
a plate (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0020], [0050]-[0051], [0056], [0061]-[0063], [0065]-[0067], [0083], [0088]-[0091], [0093], [0108], the masking device MD includes blades with magnets 2 and corresponding coils 1 of the motor arranged on a fixed frame of the blade support surrounding intermediate portion 19);
actuators comprising coils disposed on the plate (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0020], [0050]-[0051], [0056], [0061]-[0063], [0065]-[0067], [0083], [0088]-[0091], [0093], [0108], the motor includes coils 1 arranged on the fixed frame);
finger structures comprising beryllium alloy material, wherein ones of the finger structures are coupled to corresponding ones of the actuators via magnets (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0062], [0064], [0086], [0091], the blades 4a-b, 6a-b are made of a beryllium alloy and are coupled to magnets 2 of the motors), and wherein the finger structures are configured to:
be moved independently using the actuators (the limitation “and wherein the finger structures are configured to: be moved independently using the actuators” recites functional language that describes the manner of operating the device in an apparatus claim that does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the structure taught by Verweij. See MPEP 2114. Figs. 1-8, paras. [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0062], [0064], [0067], [0071], [0075], [0086], [0091], the blades 4a-b, 6a-b are controlled by software and electronics to be moved according a scanning profile);
be disposed at least partially in a path of a beam of radiation to intercept at least a portion of the beam (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0062], [0064], [0067], [0071], [0075], [0086], [0091], the blades 4a-b, 6a-b of masking device MD are arranged in a path of projection beam PB to obscure a portion of the projection beam PB); and
adjust an intensity cross-section of the beam (the limitation “and wherein the finger structures are configured to: adjust an intensity cross-section of the beam” recites functional language that describes the manner of operating the device that does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the structure taught by Verweij. See MPEP 2114. Figs. 1-8, paras. [0047], [0056]-[0062], [0064], [0067]-[0068], [0071], [0075], [0086], [0091], [0103], the blades 4a-b, 6a-b of the masking device MD are moved to obscure parts of the projection beam PB to prevent radiation from reaching the patterning device, thereby adjusting the intensity of the beam).
Regarding claim 20, Verweij discloses a lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0039]-[0044], [0050]-[0051], [0056], [0065]-[0072], [0075]-[0076], [0081], [003]-[0088], the lithographic apparatus) comprising:
an illumination system configured to illuminate a pattern of a patterning device (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0039]-[0044], [0050]-[0051], [0056], [0065]-[0072], [0075]-[0076], [0081], [003]-[0088], the lithographic apparatus includes a radiation system EX, IL, masking device MD, and relay optics RL to illuminate a mask MA); and
an illumination adjustment apparatus (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0039]-[0044], [0050]-[0051], [0056], [0065]-[0072], [0075]-[0076], [0081], [003]-[0088], the masking device MD) comprising:
a plate (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0020], [0050]-[0051], [0056], [0061]-[0063], [0065]-[0067], [0083], [0088]-[0091], [0093], [0108], the masking device MD includes blades with magnets 2 and corresponding coils 1 of the motor arranged on a fixed frame of the blade support surrounding intermediate portion 19);
actuators comprising coils disposed on the plate (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0020], [0050]-[0051], [0056], [0061]-[0063], [0065]-[0067], [0083], [0088]-[0091], [0093], [0108], the motor includes coils 1 arranged on the fixed frame);
finger structures comprising beryllium alloy material, wherein ones of the finger structures are coupled to corresponding ones of the actuators via magnets (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0062], [0064], [0086], [0091], the blades 4a-b, 6a-b are made of a beryllium alloy and are coupled to magnets 2 of the motors), and wherein the finger structures are configured to:
be moved independently using the actuators (the limitation “and wherein the finger structures are configured to: be moved independently using the actuators” recites functional language that describes the manner of operating the device in an apparatus claim that does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the structure taught by Verweij. See MPEP 2114. Figs. 1-9, paras. [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0062], [0064], [0067], [0071], [0075], [0086], [0091], the blades 4a-b, 6a-b are controlled by software and electronics to be moved according a scanning profile);
be disposed at least partially in a path of a beam of radiation to intercept at least a portion of the beam (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0062], [0064], [0067], [0071], [0075], [0086], [0091], the blades 4a-b, 6a-b of masking device MD are arranged in a path of projection beam PB to obscure a portion of the projection beam PB); and
adjust an intensity cross-section of the beam (the limitation “and wherein the finger structures are configured to: adjust an intensity cross-section of the beam” recites functional language that describes the manner of operating the device that does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the structure taught by Verweij. See MPEP 2114. Figs. 1-9, paras. [0047], [0056]-[0062], [0064], [0067]-[0068], [0071], [0075], [0086], [0091], [0103], the blades 4a-b, 6a-b of the masking device MD are moved to obscure parts of the projection beam PB to prevent radiation from reaching the patterning device, thereby adjusting the intensity of the beam).
Regarding claim 35, Verweij discloses wherein each of the finger structures are configured to be moved independently of each other using the actuators (the limitation “wherein each of the finger structures are configured to be moved independently of each other using the actuators” recites functional language that describes the manner of operating the device in an apparatus claim that does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the structure taught by Verweij. See MPEP 2114. Figs. 1-8, paras. [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0062], [0064], [0067], [0070]-[0071], [0075], [0086], [0091], the blades 4a-b, 6a-b are controlled by software and electronics to be moved according a scanning profile).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verweij as applied to claims 16 and 20 above, and further in view of Inoue (WO 2005/010961, English translation included with this Office Action).
Regarding claim 17, Verweij does not appear to explicitly describe flexures attached to the finger structures, wherein the flexures are configured to reduce vibrations of the finger structures.
Inoue discloses flexures attached to the finger structures (Figs. 2-3, air pads 21 of anti-vibration device 20 are attached to movable blades 52, 54, and the air pads 21 are formed from an elastic body), wherein the flexures are configured to reduce vibrations of the finger structures (the limitation “wherein the flexures are configured to reduce vibrations of the finger structures” recites functional language that describes the manner of operating the device that does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the structure taught by Verweij as modified by Inoue. See MPEP 2114. Figs. 2-3, the air pads 21 of the vibration isolator 20 suppress transmission of vibrations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included flexures attached to the finger structures, wherein the flexures are configured to reduce vibrations of the finger structures as taught by Inoue in the illumination adjustment apparatus as taught by Verweij since including flexures attached to the finger structures, wherein the flexures are configured to reduce vibrations of the finger structures is commonly used to suppress vibration transmission to avoid deleterious impacts to exposure accuracy (Inoue, page 2).
Regarding claim 21, Verweij does not appear to explicitly describe flexures attached to the finger structures, wherein the flexures are configured to reduce vibrations of the finger structures.
Inoue discloses flexures attached to the finger structures (Figs. 2-3, pages 5-6 of the English translation, air pads 21 of anti-vibration device 20 are attached to movable blades 52, 54, and the air pads 21 are formed from an elastic body), wherein the flexures are configured to reduce vibrations of the finger structures (the limitation “wherein the flexures are configured to reduce vibrations of the finger structures” recites functional language that describes the manner of operating the device that does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the structure taught by Verweij as modified by Inoue. See MPEP 2114. Figs. 2-3, pages 5-6, the air pads 21 of the vibration isolator 20 suppress transmission of vibrations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included flexures attached to the finger structures, wherein the flexures are configured to reduce vibrations of the finger structures as taught by Inoue in the illumination adjustment apparatus in the lithographic apparatus as taught by Verweij since including flexures attached to the finger structures, wherein the flexures are configured to reduce vibrations of the finger structures is commonly used to suppress vibration transmission to avoid deleterious impacts to exposure accuracy (Inoue, page 2).
Claims 19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verweij as applied to claims 16 and 20 above, and further in view of Binnard et al. (US PGPub 2012/0062866, Binnard hereinafter)
Regarding claim 19, Verweij does not appear to explicitly describe the plate comprises a fluid channel distributed throughout the plate; and the fluid channel is configured to circulate a cooling fluid throughout the plate and to introduce the cooling fluid at a center region of the plate before sending the cooling fluid to a peripheral region of the plate.
Binnard discloses the plate comprises a fluid channel distributed throughout the plate (Figs. 12-13, para. [0116], cooling plates 306, 308 includes serpentine microchannels 310, 312); and the fluid channel is configured to circulate a cooling fluid throughout the plate and to introduce the cooling fluid at a center region of the plate before sending the cooling fluid to a peripheral region of the plate (Figs. 12-13, para. [0116], in coil unit 300, coolant inlet fittings 314, 316 are centrally located and supply coolant to microchannels 310, 312 from a source, and coolant outlet fittings 318, 320 are arranged at the ends of the microchannels to return coolant to the source).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a fluid channel distributed throughout the plate; and the fluid channel is configured to circulate a cooling fluid throughout the plate and to introduce the cooling fluid at a center region of the plate before sending the cooling fluid to a peripheral region of the plate as taught by Binnard in the plate in the illumination adjustment apparatus as taught by Verweij since including the plate comprising a fluid channel distributed throughout the plate; and the fluid channel is configured to circulate a cooling fluid throughout the plate and to introduce the cooling fluid at a center region of the plate before sending the cooling fluid to a peripheral region of the plate is commonly used to provide improved and efficient temperature control for a coil unit as desired (Binnard, paras. [0116], [0119], [0124]).
Regarding claim 23, Verweij does not appear to explicitly describe the plate comprises a fluid channel distributed throughout the plate; and the fluid channel is configured to circulate a cooling fluid throughout the plate and to introduce the cooling fluid at a center region of the plate before sending the cooling fluid to a peripheral region of the plate.
Binnard discloses the plate comprises a fluid channel distributed throughout the plate (Figs. 12-13, para. [0116], cooling plates 306, 308 includes serpentine microchannels 310, 312); and the fluid channel is configured to circulate a cooling fluid throughout the plate and to introduce the cooling fluid at a center region of the plate before sending the cooling fluid to a peripheral region of the plate (Figs. 12-13, para. [0116], in coil unit 300, coolant inlet fittings 314, 316 are centrally located and supply coolant to microchannels 310, 312 from a source, and coolant outlet fittings 318, 320 are arranged at the ends of the microchannels to return coolant to the source).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a fluid channel distributed throughout the plate; and the fluid channel is configured to circulate a cooling fluid throughout the plate and to introduce the cooling fluid at a center region of the plate before sending the cooling fluid to a peripheral region of the plate as taught by Binnard in the plate in the illumination adjustment apparatus of the lithographic apparatus as taught by Verweij since including the plate comprising a fluid channel distributed throughout the plate; and the fluid channel is configured to circulate a cooling fluid throughout the plate and to introduce the cooling fluid at a center region of the plate before sending the cooling fluid to a peripheral region of the plate is commonly used to provide improved and efficient temperature control for a coil unit as desired (Binnard, paras. [0116], [0119], [0124]).
Claims 24-30 and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verweij in view of Binnard et al. (US PGPub 2012/0062866, Binnard hereinafter) in view of Kubo (US PGPub 2003/0141769).
Regarding claim 24, Verweij discloses an illumination adjustment apparatus (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0039]-[0044], [0050]-[0051], [0056], [0065]-[0072], [0075]-[0076], [0081], [003]-[0088], the lithographic apparatus) comprising:
a plate (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0020], [0050]-[0051], [0056], [0061]-[0063], [0065]-[0067], [0083], [0088]-[0091], [0093], [0108], the masking device MD includes blades with magnets 2 and corresponding coils 1 of the motor arranged on a fixed frame of the blade support surrounding intermediate portion 19);
actuators comprising coils disposed on the plate (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0020], [0050]-[0051], [0056], [0061]-[0063], [0065]-[0067], [0083], [0088]-[0091], [0093], [0108], the motor includes coils 1 arranged on the fixed frame);
finger structures, wherein ones of the finger structures are coupled to corresponding ones of the actuators via magnets (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0062], [0064], [0086], [0091], the blades 4a-b, 6a-b are made of a beryllium alloy and are coupled to magnets 2 of the motors), and wherein the finger structures are configured to:
be moved independently using the actuators (the limitation “and wherein the finger structures are configured to: be moved independently using the actuators” recites functional language that describes the manner of operating the device in an apparatus claim that does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the structure taught by Verweij. See MPEP 2114. Figs. 1-9, paras. [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0062], [0064], [0067], [0071], [0075], [0086], [0091], the blades 4a-b, 6a-b are controlled by software and electronics to be moved according a scanning profile);
be disposed at least partially in a path of a beam of radiation to intercept at least a portion of the beam (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0062], [0064], [0067], [0071], [0075], [0086], [0091], the blades 4a-b, 6a-b of masking device MD are arranged in a path of projection beam PB to obscure a portion of the projection beam PB); and
adjust an intensity cross-section of the beam (the limitation “and wherein the finger structures are configured to: adjust an intensity cross-section of the beam” recites functional language that describes the manner of operating the device that does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the structure taught by Verweij. See MPEP 2114. Figs. 1-9, paras. [0047], [0056]-[0062], [0064], [0067]-[0068], [0071], [0075], [0086], [0091], [0103], the blades 4a-b, 6a-b of the masking device MD are moved to obscure parts of the projection beam PB to prevent radiation from reaching the patterning device, thereby adjusting the intensity of the beam). Verweij does not appear to explicitly describe the plate comprising a fluid channel distributed throughout the plate, wherein the fluid channel is configured to circulate a cooling fluid throughout the plate and to introduce the cooling fluid at a center region of the plate before sending the cooling fluid to a peripheral region of the plate; and wherein at least a portion of the fluid channel is disposed between at least two of the coils.
Binnard discloses the plate comprising a fluid channel distributed throughout the plate, wherein the fluid channel is configured to circulate a cooling fluid throughout the plate and to introduce the cooling fluid at a center region of the plate before sending the cooling fluid to a peripheral region of the plate (Figs. 12-13, para. [0116], in coil unit 300, coolant inlet fittings 314, 316 are centrally located and supply coolant to microchannels 310, 312 from a source, and coolant outlet fittings 318, 320 are arranged at the ends of the microchannels to return coolant to the source).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a fluid channel distributed throughout the plate, wherein the fluid channel is configured to circulate a cooling fluid throughout the plate and to introduce the cooling fluid at a center region of the plate before sending the cooling fluid to a peripheral region of the plate as taught by Binnard in the plate in the illumination adjustment apparatus as taught by Verweij since including the plate comprising a fluid channel distributed throughout the plate, wherein the fluid channel is configured to circulate a cooling fluid throughout the plate and to introduce the cooling fluid at a center region of the plate before sending the cooling fluid to a peripheral region of the plate is commonly used to provide improved and efficient temperature control for a coil unit as desired (Binnard, paras. [0116], [0119], [0124]).
Verweij as modified by Binnard does not appear to explicitly describe wherein at least a portion of the fluid channel is disposed between at least two of the coils.
Kubo discloses wherein at least a portion of the fluid channel is disposed between at least two of the coils (Figs. 3-8, abstract, paras. [0066], [0068], [0071]-[0076], [0079], [0085]-[0090], [0093]-[0095], [0096], cooling pipe 153 is between coils 161 and 162).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein at least a portion of the fluid channel is disposed between at least two of the coils as taught by Kubo as the arrangement of the fluid channel in the plate in the illumination adjustment apparatus as taught by Verweij as taught by Binnard since including wherein at least a portion of the fluid channel is disposed between at least two of the coils is commonly used to effectively and efficiently cool the interior of the coil structure (Kubo, paras. [0068], [0071], [0096]).
Regarding claim 25, Verweij as taught by Binnard in view of Kubo discloses wherein: the fluid channel comprises an inlet and an outlet (Binnard, Figs. 12-13, para. [0116], in coil unit 300, coolant inlet fittings 314, 316 are centrally located and supply coolant to microchannels 310, 312 from a source, and coolant outlet fittings 318, 320 are arranged at the ends of the microchannels to return coolant to the source); and
the inlet and the outlet are disposed on a same side of the plate (Binnard, Figs. 12-13, paras. [0116]-[0117], coolant inlet fittings 314, 316 and coolant outlet fittings 318, 320 are arranged on a same side of cooling plate 306, 308).
Regarding claim 26, Verweij as taught by Binnard in view of Kubo discloses wherein: the fluid channel comprises an inlet and an outlet (Binnard, Figs. 12-13, paras. [0116]-[0117], coolant inlet fittings 314, 316 and coolant outlet fittings 318, 320, and as modified by Kubo, Figs. 3, 5, 7-8, paras. [0085], [0096], cooling pipe inlet 171a and cooling pipe outlet 171b, and the cooling pipe 153 has cooling pipe inlets and outlets); and
the inlet and the outlet are disposed on different sides of the plate (Kubo, Figs. 3, 5, 7-8, paras. [0085], [0096], cooling pipe inlet 171a and cooling pipe outlet 171b are arranged on different sides of stator base 170a, and the cooling pipe 153 has cooling pipe inlets and outlets on different sides of the stator (see Figs. 7 and 8)).
Regarding claim 27, Verweij as taught by Binnard in view of Kubo discloses wherein:
the fluid channel comprises an inlet and an outlet (Binnard, Figs. 12-13, paras. [0116]-[0117], coolant inlet fittings 314, 316 and coolant outlet fittings 318, 320, and as modified by Kubo, Figs. 3, 5, 7-8, paras. [0085], [0096], cooling pipe inlet 171a and cooling pipe outlet 171b, and the cooling pipe 153 has cooling pipe inlets and outlets); and
the inlet and the outlet are disposed on a same quadrant of the plate (Kubo, Figs. 3, 7-8, para. [0096], the cooling pipe 153 has cooling pipe inlets and outlets on a same quadrant).
Regarding claim 28, Verweij as taught by Binnard in view of Kubo discloses wherein:
the fluid channel comprises an inlet and an outlet (Binnard, Figs. 12-13, paras. [0116]-[0117], coolant inlet fittings 314, 316 and coolant outlet fittings 318, 320, and as modified by Kubo, Figs. 3, 5, 7-8, paras. [0085], [0096], cooling pipe inlet 171a and cooling pipe outlet 171b, and the cooling pipe 153 has cooling pipe inlets and outlets); and
the inlet and the outlet are disposed on different quadrants of the plate (Kubo, Figs. 3, 5, 7-8, paras. [0085], [0096], cooling pipe inlet 171a and cooling pipe outlet 171b are arranged in different quadrants, and the cooling pipe 153 has cooling pipe inlets and outlets arranged in different quadrants).
Regarding claim 29, Verweij as taught by Binnard in view of Kubo discloses wherein the fluid channel defines a plane (Binnard, Figs. 12-13, paras. [0116], the cooling plates 306, 308 include microchannels 310, 312 arranged in a plane); and
an inlet and/or outlet is disposed offset from the plane (Binnard, Figs. 12-13, para. [0116], coolant inlet fittings 314, 316 and coolant outlet fittings 318, 320 are arranged extending out of the plane formed by the microchannels).
Regarding claim 30, Verweij does not appear to explicitly describe thermal sensors.
Binnard discloses thermal sensors (Figs. 12-13, paras. [0121], the coil unit 300 includes thermal sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included thermal sensors as taught by Binnard in the illumination adjustment apparatus as taught by Verweij since including thermal sensors is commonly used to monitor coil temperature (Binnard, para. [0121]).
Regarding claim 32, Verweij as taught by Binnard in view of Kubo discloses wherein at least a portion of the fluid channel is structured according to a serpentine structure (Binnard, Figs. 12-13, paras. [0116]-[0117], microchannels 310, 312 are serpentine microchannels, and as modified by Kubo, Figs. 3, 7-8, para. [0096], the cooling pipe has a serpentine arrangement).
Regarding claim 33, Verweij as taught by Binnard in view of Kubo discloses wherein the fluid channel is structured such that every one of the coils is adjacent to a portion of the fluid channel (Kubo, Figs. 3-8, abstract, paras. [0066], [0068], [0071]-[0076], [0079], [0086]-[0090], [0093]-[0095], [0096], cooling pipe 153 is between coils 161 and 162).
Regarding claim 34, Verweij as taught by Binnard in view of Kubo discloses wherein the finger structures comprise beryllium alloy material (Verweij, Figs. 1-9, paras. [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0062], [0064], [0086], [0091], the blades 4a-b, 6a-b are made of a beryllium alloy).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verweij as modified by Binnard in view of Kubo applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Ota (US Patent No. 6,359,678).
Regarding claim 31, Verweij as modified by Binnard in view of Kubo does not appear to explicitly describe wherein at least one of the thermal sensors is disposed proximal to the center region and another one of the thermal sensors is disposed proximal to the peripheral region.
Ota discloses wherein at least one of the thermal sensors is disposed proximal to the center region and another one of the thermal sensors is disposed proximal to the peripheral region (Fig. 4, col. 23, lines 64-67, col. 24, lines 1-10, temperature sensors 38 are arranged predetermined intervals, including at the center and peripheral regions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein at least one of the thermal sensors is disposed proximal to the center region and another one of the thermal sensors is disposed proximal to the peripheral region as taught by Ota as the arrangement of thermal sensors in the illumination adjustment apparatus as taught by Verweij as modified by Binnard in view of Kubo since including wherein at least one of the thermal sensors is disposed proximal to the center region and another one of the thermal sensors is disposed proximal to the peripheral region is commonly used to correctly measure a temperature distribution for providing accurate information for a temperature control system (Ota, col. 24, lines 1-9).
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verweij as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Tanaka (US PGPub 2010/0002220).
Regarding claim 35, in a further interpretation, Verweij does not appear to explicitly describe wherein each of the finger structures are configured to be moved independently of each other using the actuators.
Tanaka discloses wherein each of the finger structures are configured to be moved independently of each other using the actuators (Figs. 2-7, paras. [0050]-[0051], [0055], [0059]-[0061], [0080]-[0081], each blade 39 is controlled to move independently from each other using rotary motor 49 and rotary motor 44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein each of the finger structures are configured to be moved independently of each other using the actuators as taught by Tanaka in the illumination adjustment apparatus as taught by Verweij since including wherein each of the finger structures are configured to be moved independently of each other using the actuators is commonly used to control the illumination area shape to adjust the illumination light in the edge portion of the illumination area for improved exposure accuracy (Tanaka, paras. [0011], [0014], [0022], [0049]-[0050], [0055]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious wherein: the finger structures have a width and a length; the width is shorter than, and perpendicular to, the length; the finger structures have lateral vibrational modes along the width; and a minimum frequency for the lateral vibrational modes is approximately 130 Hz or higher. These limitations in combination with all of the other limitations of the parent claim would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten.
Regarding claim 22, the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious wherein: the finger structures have a width and a length; the width is shorter than, and perpendicular to, the length; the finger structures have lateral vibrational modes along the width; and a minimum frequency for the lateral vibrational modes is approximately 130 Hz or higher. These limitations in combination with all of the other limitations of the parent claim would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten.
Verweij discloses wherein: the finger structures have a width and a length (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0062], [0064], [0086], [0091], the blades 4a-b, 6a-b have widths and lengths). Verweij does not describe or suggest the width is shorter than, and perpendicular to, the length; the finger structures have lateral vibrational modes along the width; and a minimum frequency for the lateral vibrational modes is approximately 130 Hz or higher.
Inoue discloses the width is shorter than, and perpendicular to, the length (Figs. 1-3, 11-12, movable blades 52, 54 have rectangular shapes with a width shorter than a perpendicular length); the finger structures have lateral vibrational modes along the width (Figs. 1-3, 11-12, pg. 8, vibrations are generated as the blades are moved 52, 54). Inoue does not describe or suggest a minimum frequency for the lateral vibrational modes is approximately 130 Hz or higher.
Loopstra (US PGPub 2008/0316460) discloses a frequency for lateral vibrational modes of grid plates is approximately 130 Hz or higher (para. [0084], horizontal vibrations of grid plates are between 160-180 Hz), but Loopstra does not suggest or render obvious lateral vibrational modes along the width of finger structures, and it would not have been obvious to have combined the vibrational frequency as taught by Loopstra with the teachings of Verweij or Inoue.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 8/17/2026, with respect to the objections to claims 17 and 31 have been fully considered and are persuasive owing to the amendments to the claims. The objections to claims 17 and 31 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 8/17/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 29, 31, and 32 have been fully considered and are persuasive owing to the amendments to the claims. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 29, 31, and 32 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues on pages 9-13 that Verweij fails to disclose “the finger structures are configured to: be moved independently using the actuators” as recited in claim 16 and as similarly recited in claims 20 and 24. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 16 recites “an illumination adjustment apparatus comprising: a plate; actuators comprising coils disposed on the plate; finger structures comprising beryllium alloy material, wherein ones of the finger structures are coupled to corresponding ones of the actuators via magnets, and wherein the finger structures are configured to: be moved independently using the actuators; be disposed at least partially in a path of a beam of radiation to intercept at least a portion of the beam; and adjust an intensity cross-section of the beam.” The claim is an apparatus claim that recites the functional language “wherein the finger structures are configured to: be moved independently using the actuators; be disposed at least partially in a path of a beam of radiation to intercept at least a portion of the beam; and adjust an intensity cross-section of the beam.” Verweij discloses the recited structural limitations an illumination adjustment apparatus (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0039]-[0044], [0050]-[0051], [0056], [0065]-[0072], [0075]-[0076], [0081], [003]-[0088], the lithographic apparatus includes a radiation system EX, IL, masking device MD, and relay optics RL) comprising: a plate (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0020], [0050]-[0051], [0056], [0061]-[0063], [0065]-[0067], [0083], [0088]-[0091], [0093], [0108], the masking device MD includes blades with magnets 2 and corresponding coils 1 of the motor arranged on a fixed frame of the blade support surrounding intermediate portion 19); actuators comprising coils disposed on the plate (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0020], [0050]-[0051], [0056], [0061]-[0063], [0065]-[0067], [0083], [0088]-[0091], [0093], [0108], the motor includes coils 1 arranged on the fixed frame); finger structures comprising beryllium alloy material, wherein ones of the finger structures are coupled to corresponding ones of the actuators via magnets (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0062], [0064], [0086], [0091], the blades 4a-b, 6a-b are made of a beryllium alloy and are coupled to magnets 2 of the motors). Verweij also describes wherein the finger structures are configured to: be moved independently using the actuators (the limitation “and wherein the finger structures are configured to: be moved independently using the actuators” recites functional language that describes the manner of operating the device in an apparatus claim that does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the structure taught by Verweij. See MPEP 2114. Figs. 1-8, paras. [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0062], [0064], [0067], [0071], [0075], [0086], [0091], the blades 4a-b, 6a-b are controlled by software and electronics to be moved according a scanning profile); be disposed at least partially in a path of a beam of radiation to intercept at least a portion of the beam (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0056]-[0057], [0060]-[0062], [0064], [0067], [0071], [0075], [0086], [0091], the blades 4a-b, 6a-b of masking device MD are arranged in a path of projection beam PB to obscure a portion of the projection beam PB); and adjust an intensity cross-section of the beam (the limitation “and wherein the finger structures are configured to: adjust an intensity cross-section of the beam” recites functional language that describes the manner of operating the device that does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the structure taught by Verweij. See MPEP 2114. Figs. 1-8, paras. [0047], [0056]-[0062], [0064], [0067]-[0068], [0071], [0075], [0086], [0091], [0103], the blades 4a-b, 6a-b of the masking device MD are moved to obscure parts of the projection beam PB to prevent radiation from reaching the patterning device, thereby adjusting the intensity of the beam). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the illumination adjustment apparatus, the limitation “and wherein the finger structures are configured to: be moved independently using the actuators” recites functional language that describes the manner of operating the illumination adjustment apparatus that does not differentiate claimed apparatus from the plate, actuators, and finger structures in the illumination adjustment apparatus taught by Verweij. “‘[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.’ Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a ‘recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus’ if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)”. See MPEP 2114. The Applicant has not identified structural differences between the claim language and Verweij. Additionally, Verweij states “the Y blades 4a and 4b are driven, while the X-blades 6a and 6b are stationary during exposure. However, the invention is not limited in this respect and the Y-blades may be stationary, or the X-blades may be moveable while the Y-blades are stationary” in para. [0057], “[m]otors are provided in order to move the X-blades with respect to one another” in para. [0070], and “the X-blades 6 may be moved with respect to each other if required by the scan profile, as determined by the width of the image on the mask” in para. [0075]. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Verweij discloses the claim language as drafted. Applicant’s arguments on this point have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882