Notice of Final Rejection
Response to Arguments
Drawing Objections: Applicant's arguments filed on 06/12/2026 have been fully considered. Based on the applicant’s explanation, examiner has withdrawn the drawing objections of previous office action.
Specification Objections: Applicant's arguments filed on 06/12/2026 have been fully considered. Based on the applicant’s explanation, examiner has withdrawn the specification objections of previous office action. Based on the explanation of the applicants, current rejection is updated accordingly while discussing the Radio Frequency Generator in particular for a plasma application.
Claim Objections: Applicant's arguments filed on 06/12/2026 have been fully considered. Based on the amendments to claims, examiner has withdrawn the Claim objections of previous office action.
35 USC 112b Rejections: Applicant's arguments filed on 06/12/2026 have been fully considered. Based on the amendments to claims, examiner has withdrawn the Claim objections of previous office action.
35 USC 103 Rejections: Applicant's arguments filed on 06/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Detailed explanation given below.
Issues raised/submitted by applicant: a) Prior Art by “DuBose” does not disclose RF combining network. The multi stage RF power amplifier of DuBose may have several stages of amplifiers, but does not inherently require an RF combining network combining the output signal of a first RF power stage and an output signal of a second RF power stage. B) DuBose does not teach or suggest at least the features of where in the PCB of the RF distribution element is arranged perpendicularly to the surface of the cooling element.
For the above reasons applicant argues that DuBose does not disclose or suggest the features of claim 1 and hence dependent claims 2-14 which depend on claim 1 also not taught. Hence, claims 1-14 are allowable.. However, examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
Rule: In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Explanation: In this case, Examiner teaches RF amplification or combining network circuit as claimed in the prior art by DeBose Fig 1. The power amplification components contains the stages of combined stages of inputs signals and amplified outputs. (See paragraphs [0030]-[0036], claim 2 and abstract). Hence, prior art by DeBose reads on claim 1 limitations and DeBose teaches and/or suggests claims 1-14. Based on the explanation of the applicants, current rejection is updated accordingly while discussing the Radio Frequency Generator in particular for a plasma application. Accordingly, DeBose Fig 1-6 teaches all the required components and/or suggests obviously in several embodiments. Hence, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Based on the explanations given by applicant for drawing and claim objections/rejections, current rejection has been updated accordingly to explain the rejection with more clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0395901 A1 by DuBose et al (DuBose).
Referring to claim 1, DuBose Fig. 1-6 teaches: A Radio Frequency, (RF) generator (See Fig 1 item 100 and abstract) in particular for a plasma application (See Fig 6), comprising:
a cooling element (Fig 1 item 110 paragraph [0031];
at least a first RF power stage ( item 106 Fig 1 and 106APCB or item 412 Fig 4 paragraph [0046]) having a first output (via item 108 for details Fig 4 and paragraph [0046]) and a second RF power stage (Fig 1 item 106, or Fig 4 item 106BPCB or item 414 paragraph [0046]) having a second output (item 416), both being mounted onto a surface of the cooling element (See Fig 1, 4 item 110 paragraphs [0031]- [0033] where in Fig 4 DuBose specifically teaches multiple output stages and Power amplifier input output signals and they are being mounted on a cooling plate 110);
DeBose I teaches an RF combining network (Fig 4 item in put 410 + first power stage 412 + second power stage 414 + final output stage 418/404) mounted onto the surface of the cooling element comprising at least a first input (See Fig 1 item 108) and a second input and second RF power stage with the second input of the RF combining network, respectively (See Fig 3, 4 and paragraphs [0045]-[0056] in the abstract, Fig 1 and in claim 15 discloses a multi stage power amplifier RF system. (See abstract and claim 15),
an RF distribution element (item 104 RF circuit components includes an RF distribution and power amplifier circuitry paragraph [0032]), wherein the RF distribution element (item 104) comprises a printed circuit board (PCB) { item 114 see paragraph [0044] where DuBose discloses 114 as a PCB} , having a plurality of conductors (see paragraph [0031] where PCB (item 106/114) has plurality of conductor elements comprises copper material or other conductors and also [0063] where DuBose discloses PCB is of made up of several conductors at different stages of amplification or RF combined stages of network), wherein the conductors of the RF distribution elements (Fig 4 and paragraph [0046]) are arranged such that the first output (item 108) of the first RF power stage (item 412) is connected to the first input (item 410) of the RF combining network (Fig 4 paragraph [0046])
wherein the PCB (item 106) of the RF distribution element (item 104) is arranged perpendicularly to the surface of the cooling element (See item 104 RF distribution element is connected on cooling element 110 perpendicularly in Fig 1, 4, to the ground plane and 104) see paragraphs [0034] -[0038]).
Hence, it is within the scope of a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of instant application to incorporate several embodiments (Fig 1, 2 4, of DuBose in to a single embodiment and fabricate two stage RF power system for the plasma application.
Referring to claim 2 DuBose modified reference teaches the RF-generator according to claim 1, but Dubose is silent on wherein the length of each of the plurality of conductors is 10 cm or more. However, it is within the scope of an ordinary skill to determine the size based on the power output requirements.
Referring to claim 3 DuBose modified reference teaches the RF Generator according to claim 1 but silent on wherein-the conductors have the same length. However, it is within the scope of a person with ordinary skill to try this for uniform distribution.
Referring to claim 4 DuBose modified reference teaches the RF-generator according to claim 1 wherein the first RF power stage and the second RF power stage provide in-phase RF signals at their outputs. (See abstract and paragraph [0046]).
Referring to claim 5 DuBose modified reference teaches the RF generator according to claim 1 arranged inside a housing (See Fig 1 -4 item 102 housing paragraph [0031]), wherein the housing (item 102) has preferably a standardized 19/2- inch format or a 19-inch format. (See paragraphs [0011] and paragraph [0036]). Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill to try a standardized 19/2 inch format or 19 inch format.
Referring to claim 6 DuBose modified reference teaches the RF-generator according to claim 5, Fig 1, 4 of DuBose teaches wherein the RF distribution element is arranged in parallel to a long side of the housing and preferably directly next to the long side of the housing. (see paragraphs [0011] [0036] and [0046]).
Referring to claim 7 DuBose modified reference teaches the RF generator according to claim 1 but silent on wherein-the conductors are built as microstrips or striplines. However, it would be obvious to try by a person with ordinary skill in the art from Dubose teaches in paragraph [0031] [0032] about conductive lines in side PCB.
Referring to claim 8 DuBose modified reference teaches the RF generator according to claim 1 wherein the conductors are formed on a surface of the PCB and/or internally. (See paragraphs [0031] [0032]).
Referring to claim 9 DuBose modified reference teaches the RF generator according to claim 1, wherein-the PCB of the RF distribution element comprises a metallic layer on one surface of the PCB or on both surfaces of the PCB. (See Fig 2A paragraph [0037] and Fig 3 and paragraph [0045]).
Referring to claim 10 DuBose modified reference teaches the RF generator according to claim 9, Dubose is silent on wherein -the width of the conductors is smaller or equal to the distance between the conductors and the metallic layer. But it is within the scope of ordinary skill in the art to try conductor widths as required by the uniform power distributions and less power losses and better conduction for heat removal purposes.
Referring to claim 11 DuBose modified reference teaches the RF generator according to claim 1 wherein the RF distribution element comprises a heat spreader connected to the PCB, wherein the heat spreader of the RF distribution element is in contact with the cooling element to transfer heat from the conductors to the cooling element. (See Fig 1 and paragraph [0018] claim 15). Also, it is within the scope of the art and ordinary skill of the art.
Referring to claim 12 DuBose modified reference teaches the RF generator according to claim 1 wherein-the RF distribution element is connected to the cooling element by one or more of an adhesive, clamping screws, conductive thermal interface material, solder bond or bonding sheet. (See Fig 3 and paragraph [0045]). Also, it is within the scope of the art and ordinary skill of the art.
Referring to claim 13 DuBose modified reference teaches the RF generator according to claim 1 wherein -the RF distribution element is connected to the first output, the second output of the power stages, the first input and the second input of the RF combining network by brackets or screws. (Inherent teachings of the RF power supply). Also, it is within the scope of the art and ordinary skill of the art).
Referring to claim 14 DuBose modified reference teaches the RF generator according to-claim1, Dubose is silent on wherein an even mode impedance and an odd mode impedance of the conductors-is 50 Ohm +/-10%. However, it is known skill of the RF impedance matching and for maximum power transfer in the RF power distribution art, to keep the RF power source impedance to 50 ohms.
Conclusion
Claims 1-14 are rejected over prior art.
The prior of art made of record and not relied upon is considered to pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the notice of references cited PTOL 892 attached here with. The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SRINIVAS SATHIRAJU/08/08/2026
SRINIVAS . SATHIRAJU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845