Claim Objections
Claims 17 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 17 and 18, “plurality passes” Should be “plurality of passes”.
Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 22, “wherein the nonlinear medium is comprised at least partially at the focus plane” should be “wherein the nonlinear medium is located or positioned at least partially at the focus plane”
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: fig. 10 erroneously assigns the reference numeral “CM1” to both reflecting mirrors, where one should be assigned the reference numeral “CM2”. The error is contradicted by the specification at paragraph [0072]: “The multipass radiation device MPC may comprise a first reflecting mirror CM1 and a second reflecting mirror CM2”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a mode-matching arrangement” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the intra-cavity focus plane". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The phrase “the intra-cavity focus plane” appears for the first time in claim 6. However, claim 7 does not depend on claim 6, but depends on claim 1. For examination purposes, claim 7 would be assumed to depend on claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russbueldt (US2017125964A) in view of Liang (Liang, 2015. Three-octave-spanning supercontinuum generation and sub-two-cycle self-compression of mid-infrared filaments in dielectrics. Optics letters, 40(6), pp.1069-1072).
Regarding claim 1, Russbueldt teaches a radiation device (Abstract) comprising: an oscillating cavity comprising a first reflecting surface (mirror element 2) and a second reflecting surface (mirror element 2) (fig. 2, [0069]); and a nonlinear medium (3) located between the first reflecting surface and the second reflecting surface ([0069]), wherein the oscillating cavity is configured to receive and to oscillate therewithin pulsed input radiation ([0001], [0069]) such that the pulsed input radiation undergoes a plurality of passes through the nonlinear medium such that it is spectrally broadened by the nonlinear medium to form broadband output radiation (claim 1, [0024]), but fails to disclose such that the pulsed input radiation undergoes a filamentation process resulting in formation of one or more filaments in the nonlinear.
Liang, from the same field of endeavor (Abstract: spectral broadening of pulses via propagation through a nonlinear optical medium) teaches the pulsed input radiation undergoes a filamentation process resulting in formation of one or more filaments in the nonlinear medium (Page 1069, Abstract: The formation of stable and robust filaments with several microjoules of pulse energy is observed; page 1072: we systematically investigated the mid IR SCG from filaments in bulk dielectrics with normal and anomalous GVD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Russbueldt by incorporating such that the pulsed input radiation undergoes a filamentation process resulting in formation of one or more filaments in the nonlinear in order to increase the efficiency and extent of spectral broadening.
Regarding claim 2, Russbueldt, when modified by Liang, teaches the radiation device as claimed in claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of passes through the nonlinear medium follows a different path (Russbueldt: [0066] multiple reflexes may be arranged on the mirrors in a circle (or an ellipse) about the optical axis, wherein one reflex extends beyond the previous reflex by angle ψ in the circle).
Regarding claim 3, Russbueldt, when modified by Liang, teaches the radiation device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the pulsed input radiation undergoes the filamentation process during two or more of the plurality of passes through the nonlinear medium (Russbueldt: [0088]).
Regarding claim 4, Russbueldt, when modified by Liang, teaches the radiation device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the spectral broadening comprises a self- phase modulation process ([0046]-[0047])
Regarding claim 6, Russbueldt, when modified by Liang, teaches the radiation device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first reflecting surface and the second reflecting surface each define a common intra-cavity focus plane (Russbueld: fig. 3 shows focus in the middle) at which the pulsed input radiation is focused following each pass within the oscillating cavity (Russbueld: fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Russbueldt, when modified by Liang, teaches a method for configuring the radiation device as claimed in claim 1, the method comprising: determining an amount of spectral broadening required for broadening an input spectrum of pulsed input radiation to a target output spectrum via the spectral broadening by the radiation device (Russbueldt: [0020],[0037]) ; determining a total number of passes through the nonlinear medium for achieving the determined amount of spectral broadening (Russbueldt: [0016], [0020]); determining an input direction for the pulsed input radiation to enter into the oscillating cavity so as to achieve the determined total number of passes through the nonlinear medium (Russbueldt: [0066], [0068]).
Regarding claim 16, Russbueldt, when modified by Liang, teaches the method of claim 15, but fails to disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions therein, the instructions, when executed by a computer system, configured to cause the computer system to perform at least the method of claim 15.
However, converting a known method to a computer-implemented version stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium is a routine in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Russbueldt and Liang by incorporating a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions therein, the instructions, when executed by a computer system, configured to cause the computer system to perform at least the method of claim 15 in order to automate the determination steps.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 incorporates all the limitations of claims 1 with minor variations in the claimed language, in method form, rather than apparatus form. The reasons for the rejections of claim 1 apply to claim 17. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 18, Russbueldt, when modified by Liang, teaches the method as claimed in claim 17, wherein each reflection of the repeatedly reflecting comprises compensating a dispersion of the pulsed input radiation during the plurality passes through the nonlinear medium ([0023]).
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 incorporates all the limitations of claims 2 with minor variations in the claimed language, in method form, rather than apparatus form. The reasons for the rejections of claim 2 apply to claim 19. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 20, Russbueldt, when modified by Liang, teaches the method as claimed in claim 17, wherein the pulsed input radiation undergoes the filamentation process during each of the plurality of passes through the nonlinear medium (Russbueldt: [0088],[0016] The pulse power of the laser pulses is selected to be greater than the critical power of the medium with non-linear optical properties; Liang: page 1070 we were still able to maintain a very stable filament with an input energy of 11 μJ, which corresponds to ∼1000 times the critical power for self-focusing.).
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 incorporates all the limitations of claims 4 with minor variations in the claimed language, in method form, rather than apparatus form. The reasons for the rejections of claim 4 apply to claim 21. Therefore, claim 21 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 22, Russbueldt, when modified by Liang, teaches the method as claimed in claim 17, wherein each reflection of the repeatedly reflecting comprises focusing the pulsed input radiation to a focus plane (Russbueld: fig. 3 shows focus in the middle), and wherein the nonlinear medium (3) is comprised at least partially at the focus plane (fig. 4c shows the non-linear medium 3 at the focus plane).
Claims 5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russbueldt (US2017125964A) in view of Liang (Liang, 2015. Three-octave-spanning supercontinuum generation and sub-two-cycle self-compression of mid-infrared filaments in dielectrics. Optics letters, 40(6), pp.1069-1072), further in view of Du (US20230296959A1)
Regarding claim 5, Russbueldt, when modified by Liang, teaches the radiation device as claimed in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the first reflecting surface and the second reflecting surface are both curved concavely.
Du teaches wherein the first reflecting surface (717) and the second reflecting surface (718) are both curved concavely ([0069], fig. 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Russbueldt by incorporating disclose wherein the first reflecting surface and the second reflecting surface are both curved concavely providing predictable results of refocusing onto the nonlinear medium on each pass so the intensity remains sufficient for spectral broadening.
Regarding claim 8, Russbueldt, when modified by Liang, teaches the radiation device as claimed in claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the first reflecting surface has a first radius of curvature and the second reflecting surface has a second radius of curvature, and wherein the first reflecting surface and the second reflecting surface are symmetrical about a common longitudinal axis and are separated along the common longitudinal axis by a distance equal to one half of a sum of the first radius of curvature and the second radius of curvature.
However, Du teaches , wherein the first reflecting surface (717) has a first radius of curvature and the second reflecting surface (718) has a second radius of curvature ([0069], fig. 15), and wherein the first reflecting surface and the second reflecting surface are symmetrical about a common longitudinal axis and are separated along the common longitudinal axis (fig. 14, [0069]) by a distance equal to one half of a sum of the first radius of curvature and the second radius of curvature ([0069] the two mirrors have the same radius of curvature. The mirrors 717 and 718 are advantageously arranged confocally, therefore their separation is equal to the radius).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Russbueldt by incorporating wherein the first reflecting surface has a first radius of curvature and the second reflecting surface has a second radius of curvature, and wherein the first reflecting surface and the second reflecting surface are symmetrical about a common longitudinal axis and are separated along the common longitudinal axis by a distance equal to one half of a sum of the first radius of curvature and the second radius of curvature to provide compact multipass cell (Du: [0011]).
Regarding claim 9, Russbueldt, when modified by Liang and Du, teaches the radiation device as claimed in claim 8, but fails to disclose wherein the first radius of curvature and the second radius of curvature are such that upon being reflected by either of the first reflecting surface and the second reflecting surface, the pulsed input radiation is focused to a spot (Du: [0069]-[0070]) having a sufficient peak intensity (Russbueldt: ) for enabling the filamentation process (Russbueldt: [0016]”The pulse power of the laser pulses is selected to be greater than the critical power of the medium with non-linear optical properties” therefore, there is inherently a filamentation process as evidenced by Bergh (US 20140340730 A1): [0083]-[0084]).
Claims 7 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russbueldt (US2017125964A) in view of Liang (Liang, 2015. Three-octave-spanning supercontinuum generation and sub-two-cycle self-compression of mid-infrared filaments in dielectrics. Optics letters, 40(6), pp.1069-1072), further in view of Pronin ( US20230152663A1)
Regarding claim 7, Russbueldt, when modified by Liang, teaches the radiation device as claimed in claim 6, further comprising a mode-matching arrangement configured to adjust a beam size and/or a divergence of the pulsed input radiation such that a focus position of the pulsed input radiation in the oscillating cavity is substantially at the intra- cavity focus plane.
However, Pronin teaches a mode-matching arrangement (a Galilean beam expander) configured to adjust a beam size and/or a divergence of the pulsed input ([0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Russbueldt by incorporating further comprising a mode-matching arrangement configured to adjust a beam size and/or a divergence of the pulsed input radiation such that a focus position of the pulsed input radiation in the oscillating cavity is substantially at the intra- cavity focus plane to ensure efficient coupling.
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 incorporates all the limitations of claims 7 with minor variations in the claimed language, in method form, rather than apparatus form. The reasons for the rejections of claim 7 apply to claim 23. Therefore, claim 23 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russbueldt (US2017125964A) in view of Liang (Liang, 2015. Three-octave-spanning supercontinuum generation and sub-two-cycle self-compression of mid-infrared filaments in dielectrics. Optics letters, 40(6), pp.1069-1072), further in view of Ravensbergen (US20220187680A1)
Regarding claims 13-14, Russbueldt, when modified by Liang, teaches the radiation device as claimed in claim 1, but fails to disclose a metrology device comprising the radiation source device as claimed in claim 1 and comprising a scatterometer metrology apparatus, a level sensor or an alignment sensor.
However, Ravensbergen teaches a metrology device comprising a radiation source device and comprising a scatterometer metrology apparatus, a level sensor or an alignment sensor ([0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Russbueldt by incorporating a metrology device comprising the radiation source device as claimed in claim 1 and comprising a scatterometer metrology apparatus, a level sensor or an alignment sensor in order to provide the broadband supercontinuum illumination to improve measurement robustness and accuracy (Ravensbergen: [0006]).
Conclusion
/MOHAMED DOUMBIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 /MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877