DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 04/14/2025 and 03/27/2026 comply with all application rules and regulations. Therefore, the information referred to therein have been considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 30, 33, 34, 35, 37, 41, 43, 46 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 30 and 41, lines 2 and 3: “operation” should be “an operation”.
Claims 33, 34, 37, 43, 46 : “and/or” interpreted as “or” since no definition for it in the specification.
Claim 35, line 2: “release” should be “released”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested:
“SIB-FREE SYSTEM INFORMATION PROVIDING FOR CELLEULAR NETWORK ACCESS”.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the
disclosure. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in
the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 29-32, 34, 36-38, 40-43, 45-46, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Puddle et al. (EP-2943015-A1) , as field on May. 09, 2014 and published on Nov. 11, 2015.
Regarding claim 29 (New) Puddle teaches an apparatus, comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to ( Figs 1-5 illustrate the apparatus/UE communicate with the network node through the cell in wireless telecommunication networks. [0077] illustrate the hardware of the device, which included at least one processor/controller, and the network processor, application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), ROM for storing software/programs/instructions, RAM, and non-volatile storage, their function carried out through the operation of program/instructions through dedicated logic to perform the functions of the method): receive from a network system information enabling access to a cell ([0004], [0027]-[0028] provide a user equipment receiving a common system information block from a network node will apply that system information block within the radio cell of the network node. [0004] state MIBs and SIBs are broadcast by network nodes and received by UE within the radio cell of the network node, where these blocks contain information that is required in order for UE to connect to available cell and communicate with the network node), store the system information in the at least one memory for use in performing operations for access to the cell when system information is not transmitted in the cell (Fig. 3 provides a flowchart to illustrates the process of receiving, saving, validating the system information. [0060] also depicts that the UE receives the common SIB and stores and applies the information regarding the common SIB. [0028] states “the network node of the new radio cell may be configured not to broadcast this common system information block and yet the user equipment can continue to use the information.” see also [0056] and [0021]. That confirms the UE can store the system information for use in performing operations for access to the cell when system information is not transmitted by the network node), receive an indication that system information enabling access to the cell is not
transmitted in the cell ([0021] clearly describes this scenario by stating “ a notification is included in the master information block MIB that the common system information block is not broadcast in that particular cell. A user equipment receiving such an indication will recognize that a previously acquired common SIB should be used. This is just one way of indicating to a user equipment that a previously acquired common SIB is valid for another cell. In other cases, the user equipment will simply determine that a previously acquired common SIB is applicable to particular network nodes and will continue to apply this SIB when within their cells without waiting to receive it again” see also [0061] and claim 5. That means the notification via MIB to inform the UE that the SIB is not being broadcasting in that cell and the UE can recognize that it should use previously acquired common SIB for operation in the current cell without waiting to receive a new one), and perform operations for access to the cell based on the system information stored in the at least one memory ([0028] provides that the UE proceed/operate with the cell access procedure without waiting to reacquire the system information to reduce the delay of acquisition. [0057] further describes if the user equipment determines that the common SIB is valid for the new radio cell, then it will maintain and apply this common SIB. Thus, the common SIB can be applied on entry to the new cell and the UE does not need to wait to receive it from the network node of the new radio cell before applying it. That confirms of performing the operations for access to the cell based on the stored system information).
Regarding claim 30 (New), Puddle teaches the apparatus according to claim 29, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to
Puddle further teaches transfer between operation where system information is broadcast in the cell and operation where system information is not broadcast in the cell ([0055]-[0056] provides that the UE within a radio cell receives a common SIB will store the information and apply it. Upon moving to a new radio cell, and the common system information (SIB) is not broadcasting, then the UE can check for the validity of the current stored SIB to reuse/operate it again with the new cell. [0057], [0060] also confirm this procedure, as states if the user equipment determines that the common SIB is valid for the new radio cell, then it will maintain and apply the stored common SIB as long as it remains valid, see also [0044]).
Regarding claim 31 (New), Puddle teaches the apparatus according to claim 29,
Puddle further teaches wherein an indication that system information block (SIB) information enabling access to the cell is not broadcast in the cell is provided in a master information block (MIB), ([0021] provides that the notification is included in the MIB that the common system information block SIB is not broadcast in that particular cell, where Master information blocks MIBs and system information blocks SIBs are broadcast by network nodes and can be received by any user equipment within the radio cell of the network node, [0004] and [0061])
or a radio resource control (RRC) release message.
Regarding claim 32 (New), Puddle teaches the apparatus according to claim 29, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to
Puddle further teaches acquire system information from the network in response to one of a notification by the network ([0004] and [0021] provide that the notification is included in the MIB, that can be transmitted by the network node (thus, by the network) to acquire the UE with the necessary information for cell access and operation, where [0004] confirms that as states “Master information blocks MIBs and system information blocks SIBs are broadcast by network nodes and can be received by any user equipment within the radio cell of the network node. These blocks contain information that is required by user equipment in order for them to connect to and communicate with the network node. the ), a handover ([0067] also describes that upon handover to other cells, in UMTS, the UE has no knowledge of the cell ID of the new serving cell. Therefore, an additional part of the proposed solution provides a mechanism to allow the network to cancel/invalidate the common SIB stored information in a UE. Such a method may comprise dedicated signaling to a UE, providing the UE with a new set of common SIB information), a cell reselection, and an expiry of a timer ([0068] provides upon timeout or on reselection to a new cell (i.e. different to that stored in the UE for the existing common SIB). If the UE indicates to the network that it doesn't have valid common SIB information, then the network can provide the information via dedicated signaling (even for the cells which do not broadcast the common SIB), see also [0008] [0023] and [0030]).
Regarding claim 34 (New), Puddle and Lee teach the apparatus according to claim 29,
Puddle further teaches wherein system information is comprised in a system information block (SIB) ([0004], [0009]-[0008] provides that the system information includes SIBs), master information block (MIB) ([0021] confirms that the MIB is a part of the system information), synchronization signal block (SSB) and/or a radio resource control (RRC) message.
Regarding claim 36 (New), Puddle teaches the apparatus according to claim 29, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to
Puddle further teaches set a timer for validity of the system information stored in the at least one memory ([0030] provides that a timer will be set on acquiring the common system information block and the information acquired with this common system information block will remain valid until the timer expires. [0060] and Fig. 3 show that the UE receives the common SIB and stores and applies the information regarding the common SIB, and upon entering a new cell, it determines whether the stored common SIB is applicable to the new cell and is still valid using the timer expiry).
Regarding claim 37 (New), Puddle teaches the apparatus according to claim 36, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to,
Puddle further teaches upon expiry of the timer, send a request for system information for the cell and/or perform cell reselection ([0030 and [0060] illustrate that when the stored common SIB is not valid (which is based on the timer expiry) it will be deleted and in response to which the common SIB information is deleted, then the UE will acquire new SIB information from the network node of the radio cell it is in. [0068] also confirms that upon expiry of the timer, send a request for system information for the cell).
Regarding claim 38 (New), Puddle teaches the apparatus according to claim 29, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to,
Puddle teaches in response to receiving the indication that the network does not provide system information for the cell, use the stored system information for access to the cell instead of considering the cell as barred ([0021] states “A user equipment receiving such an indication will recognize that a previously acquired common SIB should be used. This is just one way of indicating to a user equipment that a previously acquired common SIB is valid for another cell. In other cases, the user equipment will simply determine that a previously acquired common SIB is applicable to particular network nodes and will continue to apply this SIB when within their cells without waiting to receive it again. [0028] also provides that if the network node of the new radio cell may be configured not to broadcast this common system information block then the user equipment can continue to use the information to access the cell instead of barred it).
Regarding claim 40 (New), Puddle teaches an apparatus, comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (Figs 1-5 illustrate the apparatus/UE communicate with the network node through the cell in wireless telecommunication networks. [0077] illustrate the hardware of each device, which included at least one processor/controller, and the network processor, application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), ROM for storing software/programs/instructions, RAM, and non-volatile storage, their function carried out through the operation of program/instructions through dedicated logic to perform the functions of the method): transmit system information enabling a device to access a cell for storage in a memory of the device ([0004], [0027]-[0028] provide a user equipment receiving a common system information block, from a network node, will apply that system information block within the radio cell of the network node. [0004] state MIBs and SIBs are broadcast by network nodes and received by UE within the radio cell of the network node, where these blocks contain information that is required in order for UE to connect to available cell and communicate with the network node. Fig. 3 provides a flowchart to illustrates the process of receiving, saving, validating the system information. [0060] also depicts that the UE receives the common SIB and stores and applies the information regarding the common SIB. [0028] states “the network node of the new radio cell may be configured not to broadcast this common system information block and yet the user equipment can continue to use the information.” see also [0056] and [0021]. That confirms the UE can store the system information for use in performing operations for access to the cell when system information is not transmitted by the network node), indicate to the device that the cell is operated in a mode of operation where system information is not transmitted in the cell ([0021] clearly describes this scenario by stating “ a notification is included in the master information block MIB that the common system information block is not broadcast in that particular cell. A user equipment receiving such an indication will recognize that a previously acquired common SIB should be used. This is just one way of indicating to a user equipment that a previously acquired common SIB is valid for another cell. In other cases, the user equipment will simply determine that a previously acquired common SIB is applicable to particular network nodes and will continue to apply this SIB when within their cells without waiting to receive it again” see also [0061] and claim 5. That means the BS can send the notification via MIB to inform the UE that the SIB is not being broadcasting in that cell and the UE can recognize that it should use previously acquired common SIB for operation in the current cell without waiting to receive a new one), and allow the device to access the cell based on the system information stored in the memory of the device ([0028] provides that the UE proceed/operate with the cell access procedure without waiting to reacquire the system information to reduce the delay of acquisition. [0057] further describes if the user equipment determines that the common SIB is valid for the new radio cell, then it will maintain and apply this common SIB. Thus, the common SIB can be applied on entry to the new cell and the UE does not need to wait to receive it from the network node of the new radio cell before applying it. That confirms of performing the operations for access to the cell based on the stored system information).
Regarding claim 41 (New), Puddle teaches the apparatus according to claim 40, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to
Puddle further teaches transfer between operation where system information is broadcast in the cell and operation where system information is not broadcast in the cell ([0055]-[0056] provides that the UE within a radio cell receives a common SIB will store the information and apply it. Upon moving to a new radio cell, and the common system information (SIB) is not broadcasting, then the UE can check for the validity of the current stored SIB to reuse/operate it again with the new cell. [0057], [0060] also confirm this procedure, as states if the user equipment determines that the common SIB is valid for the new radio cell, then it will maintain and apply the stored common SIB as long as it remains valid, see also [0044]).
Regarding claim 42 (New), Puddle teaches the apparatus according to claim 40,
Puddle further teaches wherein an indication that system information block (SIB) information enabling access to the cell is not broadcast in the cell is provided in a master information block (MIB) ([0021] provides that the notification is included in the MIB that the common system information block SIB is not broadcast in that particular cell, where Master information blocks MIBs and system information blocks SIBs are broadcast by network nodes and can be received by any user equipment within the radio cell of the network node, [0004] and [0061]), or a radio resource control (RRC) release message.
Regarding claim 43 (New), Puddle teaches the apparatus according to claim 40,
Puddle further teaches wherein system information is comprised in a system information block (SIB) ([0004], [0009]-[0008] provides that the system information includes SIBs), master information block (MIB) ([0021] confirms that the MIB is a part of the system information), synchronization signal block (SSB) and/or a radio resource control (RRC) message.
Regarding claim 45 (New), Puddle teaches the apparatus according to claim 40, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to
Puddle further teaches set a timer for validity of the system information stored in the at least one memory ([0030] provides that a timer will be set on acquiring the common system information block and the information acquired with this common system information block will remain valid until the timer expires. [0060] and Fig. 3 show that the UE receives the common SIB and stores and applies the information regarding the common SIB, and upon entering a new cell, it determines whether the stored common SIB is applicable to the new cell and is still valid using the timer expiry).
Regarding claim 46 (New), Puddle teaches the apparatus according to claim 40, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to,
Puddle further teaches in response to determination that sending of system information in the cell is unnecessary, signal an indication that system information will not be transmitted in the cell and/or refrain from broadcasting the system information in the cell ([0021] states “A user equipment receiving such an indication will recognize that a previously acquired common SIB should be used. This is just one way of indicating to a user equipment that a previously acquired common SIB is valid for another cell. In other cases, the user equipment will simply determine that a previously acquired common SIB is applicable to particular network nodes and will continue to apply this SIB when within their cells without waiting to receive it again.” That implies the network node determined that sending of system information in the cell is unnecessary, thus inform the UE that a previously acquired common SIB is valid for another cell [0028] also provides that if the network node of the new radio cell may be configured not to broadcast this common system information block then the user equipment can continue to use the information to access the cell instead of barred it).
As to claim 48, see similar rejection to claim 29, the apparatus teaches the method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33, 35, 39, 44, and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puddle et al. (EP-2943015-A1) , as field on May. 09, 2014 and published on Nov. 11, 2015, in view of Lee et al. (US-20190150071-A1), as field on May. 10, 2017 and published on May. 16, 2019.
Regarding claim 33 (New), Puddle teaches the apparatus according to claim 29,
Puddle fails to teach wherein the system information comprises information of at least one of paging configurations, random access channel configurations, cell reselection configurations, small data transmission configurations, and/or unified access control configurations.
However, Lee teaches wherein the system information comprises information of at least one of paging configurations ( [0077] states “When an update of system information is scheduled, the BS includes a system information modification indicator in a paging message. Generally, a paging message is a message received by an idle-mode UE. However, since an update of system information is notified through a paging message, a connected-mode UE also needs to receive a paging message at times and to identify an update of system information.” That implies the paging information/configuration is included in the system information), random access channel configurations ([0071] provides that SIB2 includes necessary information for a UE to access a cell. SIB2 includes information on an uplink cell bandwidth, a random access parameter, and an uplink power control parameter, which covers the configurations of the RACH), cell reselection configurations ([0072] describes that SIB3 includes cell reselection information. SIB4 includes frequency information on a serving cell and intra-frequency information on a neighboring cell for cell reselection. SIBS includes frequency information on a different E-UTRA and inter-frequency information on a neighboring cell for cell reselection. SIB6 includes frequency information on a UTRA and information on a UTRA neighboring cell for cell reselection. SIB7 includes the frequency information on a GERAN for cell reselection. SIB8 includes information on a neighboring cell. That confirms that the system information can includes cell reselection parameters/configurations), small data transmission configurations, and/or unified access control configurations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Puddle to incorporate the teachings of Lee (in analogous art) by adding paging and cell reselection configurations That’s would help to maintain up-to-date system information to perform an appropriate operation. (Lee, [0075]).
Regarding claim 35 (New), Puddle teaches the apparatus according to claim 34,
Puddle fails to teach wherein the system information is comprised in a system information block 1 (SIB 1 ), or a radio resource control (RRC) release message transmitted in a last cell used by the apparatus.
However, Lee teaches wherein the system information is comprised in a system information block 1 (SIB 1) ( [0070] clearly states that SIB1 includes pieces of information associated with cell access, and particularly includes scheduling information on other SIB s (SIB2 to SIBn) than SIB1. SIBs having the same transmission periodicity among the SIBs other than SIB1 are transferred via the same system information (SI) message.), or a radio resource control (RRC) release message transmitted in a last cell used by the apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Puddle to incorporate the teachings of Lee (in analogous art) by adding paging and cell reselection configurations That’s would help to maintain up-to-date system information to perform an appropriate operation. (Lee, [0075]).
Regarding claim 39 (New), Puddle teaches the apparatus according to claim 29, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to
Puddle fails to teach perform an on-demand system information block (SIB) procedure when a system information block enabling access to the cell is not broadcast in the cell
However, Lee teaches perform an on-demand system information block (SIB) procedure when a system information block enabling access to the cell is not broadcast in the cell (Step 1020, Figs. 10 and Step 1520, [0120] and [0159] illustrate that the UE may determine whether an essential SIB is missing from the cell, the UE may request the missing essential SIB from an RAN/network. For example, the UE may determine whether one or more essential SIBs are not broadcast in a cell, where [0100]-[0101] provide the reason of why this type of system information may referred to on-demand system information (OSI) or minimum system information (MSI)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Puddle to incorporate the teachings of Lee (in analogous art) by adding paging and cell reselection configurations That’s would help to maintain up-to-date system information to perform an appropriate operation. (Lee, [0075]).
Regarding claim 44 (New), Puddle teaches the apparatus according to claim 43,
Puddle fails to teach wherein the system information is comprised in a system information block 1 (SIB 1), or a radio resource control (RRC) release message transmitted in a last cell used by the apparatus.
However, Lee teaches wherein the system information is comprised in a system information block 1 (SIB 1) ( [0070] clearly states that SIB1 includes pieces of information associated with cell access, and particularly includes scheduling information on other SIBs (SIB2 to SIBn) than SIB1. SIBs having the same transmission periodicity among the SIBs other than SIB1 are transferred via the same system information (SI) message.), or a radio resource control (RRC) release message transmitted in a last cell used by the apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Puddle to incorporate the teachings of Lee (in analogous art) by adding paging and cell reselection configurations That’s would help to maintain up-to-date system information to perform an appropriate operation. (Lee, [0075]).
Regarding claim 47 (New), Puddle teaches the apparatus according to claim 40, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to
Puddle fails to teach perform an on-demand system information block (SIB) procedure when a system information block enabling access to the cell is not broadcast in the cell
However, Lee teaches perform an on-demand system information block (SIB) procedure when a system information block enabling access to the cell is not broadcast in the cell (Step 1020, Figs. 10 and Step 1520, [0120] and [0159] illustrate that the UE may determine whether an essential SIB is missing from the cell, the UE may request the missing essential SIB from an RAN/network. For example, the UE may determine whether one or more essential SIBs are not broadcast in a cell, where [0100]-[0101] provide the reason of why this type of system information may referred to on-demand system information (OSI) or minimum system information (MSI)).Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Puddle to incorporate the teachings of Lee (in analogous art) by adding paging and cell reselection configurations That’s would help to maintain up-to-date system information to perform an appropriate operation. (Lee, [0075]).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Shimoda et al. (US-20240260110-A1), McGilly et al. (US-20110269466-A1), Fan et al. (US-20180302841-A1), Yan et al. (US-20190090177-A1), and Joseph et al. (US-20210153108-A1) teach methods involved different possibilities to reduce network power use and signaling overhead in broadcasting system information while the wireless devices able to access the cell safely.
Conclusion
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463