Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/20/24 is noted. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the examiner is considering the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 3-5, 8-13, 17, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Risse (DE 102019114462 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Risse discloses a holding apparatus for holding an object on an assembly, comprising a first closure part (1) which comprises an insertion opening (4) and a displacement portion (see slot in Figures) that adjoins the insertion opening and comprises two edge portions (see Figures) that extend along a displacement direction, and a second closure part (3 alone or 3/60 considered together) which comprises an engagement element (30/31/32) having a head (30) and a shank (31) extending from the head, wherein in order to close the holding apparatus for holding the object on the assembly, the head of the engagement element can be inserted into the insertion opening (see Figure 1) of the first closure part and can be displaced along the displacement direction out of the region of the insertion opening into the displacement portion (see Figure 1), such that in the case of a displacement the engagement element engages behind the edge portions with the head and extends with the shank through between the edge portions and slides along the edge portions until the engagement element reaches a holding position in which the first closure part and the second closure part are held against one another, wherein the first closure part and the second closure part can be separated from one another for removing the object from the assembly, wherein the first closure part comprises a first magnet element (see “second magnet in the connection plate”) and the second closure part comprises a second magnet element (see “first magnet in the clamping section of the camera connection element”), wherein the first magnet element and the second magnet element interact in a magnetically attracting manner for assisting the insertion of the engagement element into the insertion opening, wherein the first closure part comprises a housing which is formed by at least one housing part (see Figures), and a blocking element (12.1) which is arranged displaceably (via 13) on the housing and is intended for blocking the engagement element in the holding position.
Regarding claim 3, Risse discloses the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first magnet element is arranged in the region of the insertion opening (see “in the connection plate”), on the first closure part, and is configured for pulling the head of the engagement element into the insertion opening (see “magnetic forces of attraction”), for closing the holding apparatus.
Regarding claim 4, Risse discloses the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when the engagement element is inserted into the insertion opening the second magnet element is brought closer to the first magnet element, and when the engagement element is displaced into the displacement portion it is moved away from the first magnet element along the displacement direction (see Figures).
Regarding claim 5, Risse discloses the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the head of the engagement element is configured to be rotationally symmetrical with respect to the closure direction (see Figures).
Regarding claim 8, Risse discloses the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the shank of the engagement element engages, in the holding position, through a slot formed between the edge portions (see Figures).
Regarding claim 9, Risse discloses the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second closure part (3/60) comprises a base (60), wherein the shank is arranged on the base and carries the head on an end remote from the base (see Figures).
Regarding claim 10, Risse discloses the holding apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the engagement element is arranged displaceably (via 32) on the base.
Regarding claim 11, Risse discloses the holding apparatus according to claim 9, wherein in a retracted position (32 screwed all the way into 60) the engagement element is received at least in part in a receiving opening of the base, and in an operating position can be moved out of the receiving opening by the head (a user can grab the head and unthread 32 at least a few turns), wherein in the operating position the engagement element can be inserted into the insertion opening and pushed into the displacement portion (even slightly loosened the engagement element can still be push into the displacement portion).
Regarding claim 12, Risse discloses the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the blocking element (12.1) is configured, in a blocking position, to block a movement of the engagement element counter to the displacement direction out of the displacement portion (see Figures).
Regarding claim 13, Risse discloses the holding apparatus according to claim 12, wherein at least one of: the blocking element is preloaded in the direction of the blocking position relative to the housing (via 14); the blocking element comprises a third magnet element which interacts in a magnetically attracting manner with the first magnet element, such that the blocking element is preloaded in the direction of the blocking position (Risse does not show a third magnet element); the blocking element can be moved out of the blocking position, upon displacement of the engagement element in the displacement portion in the displacement direction for moving the engagement element into the holding position, by interaction with the head or another portion of the second closure part (Risse shows this); and the blocking element comprises a blocking portion which projects into the region of the displacement portion, for blocking the engagement element in the blocking position, and thereby blocks a movement of the engagement element out of the holding position counter to the displacement direction in the displacement portion (Risse shows this).
Regarding claim 17, Risse discloses the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the blocking element (12.1) is pivotably mounted (at 13) on the housing of the first closure part.
Regarding claim 21, Risse discloses a carrying apparatus (see Figure 1) comprising a holding apparatus according to claim 1 for carrying a tool (tool not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for carrying” and the camera 60 of Risse can be considered a tool).
Regarding claim 22, Risse discloses a carrying apparatus (see Figure 1) comprising a holding apparatus according to claim 1 for carrying an electrical or electronic appliance (appliance not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for carrying” and the camera 60 of Risse can be considered an electronic appliance).
Regarding claim 23, Risse discloses the carrying apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the electrical or electronic appliance is an electrical tool (appliance still not being claimed in combination and the camera 60 of Risse can be considered an electrical tool).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 17, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US 9,249,814 B2) in view of Sorensen (US 2007/0099469 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses a holding apparatus for holding an object on an assembly, comprising a first closure part (1) which comprises an insertion opening (12) and a displacement portion (13) that adjoins the insertion opening and comprises two edge portions (see Figures) that extend along a displacement direction, and a second closure part (2) which comprises an engagement element having a head (21) and a shank (20) extending from the head, wherein in order to close the holding apparatus for holding the object on the assembly, the head of the engagement element can be inserted into the insertion opening (see col. 3 lines 50-52) of the first closure part and can be displaced along the displacement direction out of the region of the insertion opening into the displacement portion (see col. 3 lines 53-56), such that in the case of a displacement the engagement element engages behind the edge portions with the head and extends with the shank through between the edge portions and slides along the edge portions until the engagement element reaches a holding position in which the first closure part and the second closure part are held against one another, wherein the first closure part and the second closure part can be separated from one another for removing the object from the assembly (see col. 3 lines 56+), wherein the first closure part comprises a first metal element (111) and the second closure part comprises a second magnet element (211), wherein the first magnet element and the second magnet element interact in a magnetically attracting manner for assisting the insertion of the engagement element into the insertion opening (see col. 4 lines 12-18), wherein the first closure part comprises a housing which is formed by at least one housing part (see Figure 1), and a blocking element (14) which is arranged displaceably on the housing and is intended for blocking the engagement element in the holding position. Tsai discloses a first metal element (111) instead of a first magnet element. Sorenson teaches that it was already known for such a magnetic system to include two magnet elements (28 and 40). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have replaced the metal element (111) of Tsai with a magnet element so that it had two magnet elements, where such magnetic system was already known to be suitable for such use, as shown by Sorenson. Predictably, this modified Tsai apparatus would still function as originally taught by Tsai where the two-magnet system would provide alignment aid.
Regarding claim 2, Tsai as modified above would include the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Tsai discloses the engagement element can be inserted into the insertion opening along a closure direction (left to right in Tsai Figure 1), wherein the displacement direction (downward in Tsai Figure 1) is oriented transversely to the closure direction.
Regarding claim 3, Tsai as modified above would include the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Tsai discloses the first magnet element is arranged in the region of the insertion opening (Tsai shows 111 in this region, where 111 has been replaced with a magnet), on the first closure part, and is configured for pulling the head of the engagement element into the insertion opening, for closing the holding apparatus.
Regarding claim 4, Tsai as modified above would include the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Tsai discloses when the engagement element is inserted into the insertion opening the second magnet element is brought closer to the first magnet element, and when the engagement element is displaced into the displacement portion it is moved away from the first magnet element along the displacement direction (see Figures).
Regarding claim 5, Tsai as modified above would include the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Tsai discloses the head of the engagement element is configured to be rotationally symmetrical with respect to the closure direction (see Figures).
Regarding claim 6, Tsai as modified above would include the holding apparatus according to claim 5, wherein Tsai discloses the second magnet element (211) is arranged concentrically with respect to the axis of rotational symmetry of the head of the engagement element (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Tsai as modified above would include the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Tsai discloses the shank of the engagement element engages, in the holding position, through a slot formed between the edge portions (see Figures).
Regarding claim 9, Tsai as modified above would include the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second closure part (2) comprises a base, wherein the shank is arranged on the base and carries the head on an end remote from the base (see Figures).
Regarding claim 12, Tsai as modified above would include the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Tsai discloses the blocking element (14) is configured, in a blocking position, to block a movement of the engagement element counter to the displacement direction out of the displacement portion (see Figures).
Regarding claim 13, Tsai as modified above would include the holding apparatus according to claim 12, wherein at least one of: the blocking element is preloaded in the direction of the blocking position relative to the housing (Tsai shows the blocking element preloaded or already being in the blocking position); the blocking element comprises a third magnet element which interacts in a magnetically attracting manner with the first magnet element, such that the blocking element is preloaded in the direction of the blocking position (Tsai does not show a third magnet element); the blocking element can be moved out of the blocking position, upon displacement of the engagement element in the displacement portion in the displacement direction for moving the engagement element into the holding position, by interaction with the head or another portion of the second closure part (Tsai shows this); and the blocking element comprises a blocking portion which projects into the region of the displacement portion, for blocking the engagement element in the blocking position, and thereby blocks a movement of the engagement element out of the holding position counter to the displacement direction in the displacement portion (Tsai shows this).
Regarding claim 17, Tsai as modified above would include the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Tsai discloses the blocking element (14) is pivotably mounted (by living hinge in that it is shown formed with the housing) on the housing of the first closure part.
Regarding claim 21, Tsai as modified above would include a carrying apparatus (see Figure 3) comprising a holding apparatus according to claim 1 for carrying a tool (tool not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for carrying” and there is no structure in Tsai that would physically prevent a user from choosing to attach a tool to ring 19).
Regarding claim 22, Tsai as modified above would include a carrying apparatus (see Figure 3) comprising a holding apparatus according to claim 1 for carrying an electrical or electronic appliance (appliance not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for carrying” and there is no structure in Tsai that would physically prevent a user from choosing to attach an electrical or electronic appliance to ring 19).
Regarding claim 23, Tsai as modified above would include the carrying apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the electrical or electronic appliance is an electrical tool (appliance still not being claimed in combination and there is no structure in Tsai that would physically prevent a user from choosing to attach an electrical tool to ring 19).
8. Claims 1-5, 7-9, 12, 13, 18, 19, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (US 5,489,051 A) in view of Sorensen (US 2007/0099469 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Robinson discloses a holding apparatus for holding an object on an assembly, comprising a first closure part (11) which comprises an insertion opening (33) and a displacement portion (36) that adjoins the insertion opening and comprises two edge portions (see Figures) that extend along a displacement direction, and a second closure part which comprises an engagement element having a head (32) and a shank (40) extending from the head, wherein in order to close the holding apparatus for holding the object on the assembly, the head of the engagement element can be inserted into the insertion opening (see Figures) of the first closure part and can be displaced along the displacement direction out of the region of the insertion opening into the displacement portion (see Figures), such that in the case of a displacement the engagement element engages behind the edge portions with the head and extends with the shank through between the edge portions and slides along the edge portions until the engagement element reaches a holding position in which the first closure part and the second closure part are held against one another, wherein the first closure part and the second closure part can be separated from one another for removing the object from the assembly (see Figures), wherein the first closure part comprises a housing which is formed by at least one housing part (see Figures), and a blocking element (35/41) which is arranged displaceably on the housing and is intended for blocking the engagement element in the holding position (see col. 5 lines 22-67). Robinson fails to disclose wherein the first closure part comprises a first magnet element and the second closure part comprises a second magnet element, wherein the first magnet element and the second magnet element interact in a magnetically attracting manner for assisting the insertion of the engagement element into the insertion opening. Sorenson teaches that it was already known for a head like that of Robinson to include a first magnet (28) and a receptacle like that of Robinson to include a second magnet (40) to help keep the head in the socket. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the head and receptacle of Robinson with magnets in order to help keep the head in the receptacle, as taught by Sorenson, which would provide an extra degree of security should a user forget to use the blocking element of Robinson.
Regarding claim 2, Robinson as modified above would include the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Robinson discloses the engagement element can be inserted into the insertion opening along a closure direction (left to right in Robinson Figure 4), wherein the displacement direction (downward in Robinson Figure 4) is oriented transversely to the closure direction.
Regarding claim 3, Robinson as modified above would include the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Sorenson teaches the first magnet element is arranged in the region of the insertion opening, on the first closure part, and is configured for pulling the head of the engagement element into the insertion opening, for closing the holding apparatus.
Regarding claim 4, Robinson as modified above would include the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Sorenson teaches when the engagement element is inserted into the insertion opening the second magnet element is brought closer to the first magnet element, and when the engagement element is displaced into the displacement portion it is moved away from the first magnet element along the displacement direction.
Regarding claim 5, Robinson as modified above would include the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Robinson discloses the head of the engagement element is configured to be rotationally symmetrical with respect to the closure direction (see Figures).
Regarding claim 7, Robinson as modified above would include the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Robinson discloses the head of the engagement element is formed by a spherical head (see Figures).
Regarding claim 8, Robinson as modified above would include the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Robinson discloses the shank of the engagement element engages, in the holding position, through a slot formed between the edge portions (see Figures).
Regarding claim 9, Robinson as modified above would include the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Robinson discloses the second closure part comprises a base (see Figures), wherein the shank is arranged on the base and carries the head on an end remote from the base (see Figures).
Regarding claim 12, Robinson as modified above would include the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Robinson discloses the blocking element (35/41) is configured, in a blocking position, to block a movement of the engagement element counter to the displacement direction out of the displacement portion (see Figures).
Regarding claim 13, Robinson as modified above would include the holding apparatus according to claim 12, wherein at least one of: the blocking element is preloaded in the direction of the blocking position relative to the housing (Robinson does not show this); the blocking element comprises a third magnet element which interacts in a magnetically attracting manner with the first magnet element, such that the blocking element is preloaded in the direction of the blocking position (Robinson does not show a third magnet element); the blocking element can be moved out of the blocking position, upon displacement of the engagement element in the displacement portion in the displacement direction for moving the engagement element into the holding position, by interaction with the head or another portion of the second closure part (Robinson does not show this); and the blocking element comprises a blocking portion which projects into the region of the displacement portion, for blocking the engagement element in the blocking position, and thereby blocks a movement of the engagement element out of the holding position counter to the displacement direction in the displacement portion (Robinson does show this).
Regarding claim 18, Robinson discloses the holding apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Robinson discloses the blocking element comprises a handle (41) for actuation by a user for unblocking the engagement element.
Regarding claim 19, Robinson as modified above would include the holding apparatus according to claim 18, wherein Robinson discloses the handle (41) is arranged on a first side (right side, see Figure 4) of the insertion opening with respect to the displacement direction, and the displacement portion is arranged on a second side (bottom side, see Figure 4) of the insertion opening remote (not on the same side as) from the first side.
Regarding claim 21, Robinson as modified above would include a carrying apparatus (see Figures) comprising a holding apparatus according to claim 1 for carrying a tool (tool not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for carrying” and Robinson shows tools attached – see Figures).
Regarding claim 22, Robinson as modified above would include a carrying apparatus (see Figures) comprising a holding apparatus according to claim 1 for carrying an electrical or electronic appliance (appliance not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for carrying” and there is no structure in Robinson that would physically prevent a user from choosing to attach an electrical or electronic appliance).
Regarding claim 23, Robinson as modified above would include the carrying apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the electrical or electronic appliance is an electrical tool (appliance still not being claimed in combination and there is no structure in Robinson that would physically prevent a user from choosing to attach an electrical tool).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Badot (FR 2722959 A1) teaches a spherical head (12) and blocking element with handle (2).
Johnson (US 20050115999) teaches a spherical head (401) and blocking element (330).
11. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN MATTHEW LARSON whose telephone number is (571)272-8649. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7am-3pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Newhouse can be reached at (571)272-4544. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JUSTIN M LARSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734 9/16/26