DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made that the instant application is a national stage entry of application PCT/EP2023/066662, filed on 6/20/2023, which claims priority from DE102022115595, filed on 6/22/2022.
Claim Objections
Claims 33, 34, 41, 43, 48, 49, 51, and 56 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 33, line 1, “the pressing step” should be changed to --the pressing-- to remove the term “step” to improve antecedence language from claim 32.
Claim 33, line 2, “1-5x106 Pa” should be changed to --1-5x10--6 Pa-- to correct the notation of the range.
Claim 34, line 1, “the pressing step” should be changed to --the pressing-- to remove the term “step” to improve antecedence language from claim 32.
Claim 41, line 1, “the exposure step” should be changed to --the exposure-- to remove the term “step” to improve antecedence language.
Claim 43, line 2, “a photosensitive material” should be changed to --the photosensitive material-- to correct antecedence from claim 29.
Claim 48, line 2, “wherein second arrangement and contact body” should be changed to --wherein the second arrangement and the contact body-- to correct the missing articles.
Claim 48, line 4, “1-5x106 Pa” should be changed to --1-5x10--6 Pa-- to correct the notation of the range.
Claim 49, line 1, “wherein the step of pressing on results” should be changed to --wherein the pressing on results-- to remove the term “step” to improve antecedent from claim 48.
Claim 51, line 1, “a first arrangement” should be changed to --the first arrangement-- to correct antecedence from claim 44.
Claim 51, lines 1-2, “a second arrangement” should be changed to --the second arrangement-- to correct antecedence from claim 44.
Claim 51, line 2, “an exposure arrangement” should be changed to --the exposure arrangement-- to correct antecedence from 44.
Claim 51, line 2, “a contact body” should be changed to --the contact body-- to correct antecedence from claim 44.
Claim 56, line 2, “a photosensitive material” should be changed to --the photosensitive material-- to correct antecedence from claim 44.
Appropriate correction is required to place claims in better form.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first arrangement” in line 3 in claim 44.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29, 30, 32-45, and 47-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rewitz et al. (US PGPub 2019/0011880, Rewitz hereinafter) in view of Kobrin et al. (US PGPub 2018/0188690, Kobrin hereinafter).
Regarding claim 29, Rewitz discloses a replication method for producing a hologram copy by simultaneous exposure of a master hologram and a copy carrier, which comprises a photosensitive material (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0026], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0081], [0085]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], a master element 206, 306, 406, 606 and a recording medium 208, 308, 408 on a carrier element 210, 310, 410 are exposed to a light beams 214, 216 simultaneously), the method comprising:
bringing a contact body into contact with the copy carrier during the exposure, wherein, during the exposure, the contact body and the copy carrier are in direct contact in a part through which an exposure light passes, and wherein the contact body is transparent to the exposure light (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0026], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0081], [0084]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], coupling portion 104, 204, 304, 404 of input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 contacts the recording medium 208, 308, 408 comprising a photoresist material on a carrier element 210, 310, 410. The input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 is a transparent material through which the light beams enter and are directed to the recording medium during exposure). Rewitz does not appear to explicitly describe matching the refractive index of the contact body to the refractive index of the copy carrier in order to avoid exposure light reflections
Kobrin discloses matching the refractive index of the contact body to the refractive index of the copy carrier in order to avoid exposure light reflection (Figs. 1-12, paras. [0028]-[0029], the photosensitive layer 103, the cylinder 104, and the sticky polymer 105 have indices of refraction matching sufficiently to reduce unwanted reflections at the interfaces).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included matching the refractive index of the contact body to the refractive index of the copy carrier in order to avoid exposure light reflection as taught by Kobrin as the refractive indices in the method as taught by Rewitz since including matching the refractive index of the contact body to the refractive index of the copy carrier in order to avoid exposure light reflection is commonly used to control the reflections at interfaces as desired while continuously recording holographic images on a photosensitive surface (Kobrin, paras. [0001], [0027]-[0028]).
Regarding claim 30, Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses wherein the contact in regions is assisted by an adhesion between the contact body and the copy carrier (Rewitz, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0026], [0029], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0081], [0085]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], the coupling portion 104, 204, 304, 404 of input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 is adhered to the recording medium 208, 308, 408 during contact, and as modified by Kobrin, paras. [0030], [0032]-[0033], the sticky polymer adheres the photosensitive layer to the cylinder).
Regarding claim 32, Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses wherein the contact body is elastic and/or pliable (Rewitz, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0029], [0075], [0100], the coupling portion is contacted and compressed, and as modified by Kobrin, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0027], the sticky polymer is conformable),
the method further comprising pressing the contact body and the copy carrier against one another during the exposure (Rewitz, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0026], [0030], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0081], [0085]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], the coupling portion 104, 204, 304, 404 of input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 is pressed against the recording medium 208, 308, 408 during exposure, and as modified by Kobrin, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0023], [0026]-[0029], [0033], [0040]-[0046], the cylinder 104, 604 with sticky polymer 105 or rotatable drum 704, 804, 904, 1004, 1104, 1204 presses against the photosensitive layer 103, 603, 703, 803, 903, 1003, 1103, 1203 during exposure).
Regarding claim 33, Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses wherein the pressing step is implemented with a pressure of 1-5x106 Pa (Rewitz, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0026], [0030], the pressure of 2 to 5 bar is exerted (2 to 5x105 Pa)).
Regarding claim 34, Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses wherein the pressing step results in the copy carrier and the master hologram, and the copy carrier and at least one further optical exposure component, being pressed against one another and/or being brought into contact (Rewitz, Figs. 2-6 paras. [0026], [0030], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0080]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], the coupling portion 104, 204, 304, 404 of input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 is pressed against the recording medium 208, 308, 408, and the carrier element 210, 310, 410 with the recording medium is pressed against master element 206, 306, 406, 606 and plate 211, 311, 411 and deflection rollers 212 for transporting the recording medium 208 during exposure), and
wherein the further optical exposure component is selected from the group consisting of: a beam trap, an input coupling prism, an output coupling prism, a deflection hologram, a beam-shaping optical unit, a beam-shaping hologram, a transport roller, a lamination roller and/or filter layer (Rewitz, Figs. 2, paras. [0045]-[0046], [0077], [0083], [0111], deflection rollers 212).
Regarding claim 35, Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses wherein the contact body and a predominant part of the side of the copy carrier facing away from the master hologram are in direct contact during the exposure (Rewitz, Figs. 2-4, abstract, paras. [0026], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0081], [0085]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], the master element 206, 306, 406, 606 contacts one side of the carrier element 210, 310, 410 with the recording medium 208, 308, 408, and the opposite side of the carrier element 210, 310, 410 with the recording medium 208, 308, 408 contacts the coupling portion 104, 204, 304, 404 of input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402).
Regarding claim 36, although Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses the general condition of matching the refractive index of the contact body to the refractive index of the master hologram and/or the refractive index of further optical exposure components (Kobrin, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0028]-[0029], the photosensitive layer 103, the cylinder 104, and the sticky polymer 105 have indices of refraction matching sufficiently to reduce unwanted reflections at the interfaces), Rewitz as modified by Kobrin does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the matched refractive indices differ by less than 0.2. Since Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses the general condition of matching the refractive index (Kobrin, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0028]-[0029]), absent evidence of criticality, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included optimizing the matching refractive indices of the contact body, the master hologram and/or the refractive index of further optical exposure components in the replication method as taught by Rewitz as modified by Kobrin to have obtained wherein the matched refractive indices differ by less than 0.2 since including optimizing the refractive indices to obtain matched refractive indices differing by less than 0.2 would have only required routine skill to determine the optimum range of the refractive indices to improve control of the reflections at interfaces while continuously recording holographic images on a photosensitive surface (Kobrin, paras. [0001], [0027]-[0028]). "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05, subsection II.
Regarding claim 37, Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses wherein the copy carrier is exposed at least in part through the contact body (Rewitz, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0026], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0081], [0084]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], the light beams enter input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 and are directed to the recording medium 208, 308, 408 during exposure).
Regarding claim 38, Rewitz does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the contact body comprises a molded body with a convexly shaped contact face.
Kobrin discloses wherein the contact body comprises a molded body with a convexly shaped contact face (Kobrin, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0023], [0026]-[0029], [0033], [0040]-[0046], the cylinder 104, 604 with sticky polymer 105 or rotatable drum 704, 804, 904, 1004, 1104, 1204 presses against the photosensitive layer 103, 603, 703, 803, 903, 1003, 1103, 1203 during exposure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the contact body comprises a molded body with a convexly shaped contact face as taught by Kobrin as the shape of the contact body in the replication method as taught by Rewitz since including wherein the contact body comprises a molded body with a convexly shaped contact face is commonly used to provide a continuous mode of recording (Kobrin, paras. [0001], [0026]).
Regarding claim 39, Rewitz does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the contact body comprises a transport and/or lamination roller for the copy carrier.
Kobrin discloses wherein the contact body comprises a transport and/or lamination roller for the copy carrier (Figs. 1-12, abstract, paras. [0023], [0026]-[0029], [0033], [0040]-[0046], the cylinder 104, 604 or rotatable drum 704, 804, 904, 1004, 1104, 1204 presses against the photosensitive layer 103, 603, 703, 803, 903, 1003, 1103, 1203 and rotates while the photosensitive layer translates during continuous exposure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the contact body comprises a transport and/or lamination roller for the copy carrier as taught by Kobrin as the contact body in the replication method as taught by Rewitz since including wherein the contact body comprises a transport and/or lamination roller for the copy carrier is commonly used to provide a continuous mode of recording (Kobrin, paras. [0001], [0026]).
Regarding claim 40, Rewitz does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the contact body comprises a film that is adhesive at least on one side.
Kobrin discloses wherein the contact body comprises a film that is adhesive at least on one side (Figs. 1-12, abstract, paras. [0023], [0026]-[0029], [0030], [0032]-[0033], [0038], [0040]-[0046], the cylinder 104, 604 with sticky polymer 105 or rotatable drum with a sticky polymer presses against the photosensitive layer 103, 603, 703, 803, 903, 1003, 1103, 1203 during exposure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the contact body comprises a film that is adhesive at least on one side as taught by Kobrin in the replication method as taught by Rewitz since including wherein the contact body comprises a film that is adhesive at least on one side is commonly used to continuously produce holographic images without slippage, thereby improving image quality (Kobrin, paras. [0006], [0026]-[0027], [0040]).
Regarding claim 41, Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses further comprising bringing the contact body and the copy carrier into contact for the exposure (Rewitz, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0026], [0030], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0081], [0085]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], the coupling portion 104, 204, 304, 404 of input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 is pressed against the recording medium 208, 308, 408 during exposure, and as modified by Kobrin, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0023], [0026]-[0029], [0033], [0040]-[0046], the cylinder 104, 604 with sticky polymer 105 or rotatable drum 704, 804, 904, 1004, 1104, 1204 presses against the photosensitive layer 103, 603, 703, 803, 903, 1003, 1103, 1203 during exposure), and removing the contact body and the copy carrier contacting one another following the exposure step (Rewitz, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0030]-[0031], [0033]-[0034], [0085], [0105]-[0108], after exposure, the input coupling element is decoupled from the holographic recording medium, and as modified by Kobrin, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0023], [0026]-[0029], [0033], [0040]-[0046], after exposure, the cylinder 104, 604 with sticky polymer 105 or rotatable drum 704, 804, 904, 1004, 1104, 1204 is removed from the photosensitive layer 103, 603, 703, 803, 903, 1003, 1103, 1203 as the cylinder/drum rotates and the photosensitive layer is translated).
Regarding claim 42, Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses wherein the contact between the contact body and the copy carrier is interlocking and/or implemented without an intermediate space between the contact body and the copy carrier (Rewitz, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0026], [0030], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0081], [0085]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], the coupling portion 104, 204, 304, 404 of input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 is pressed against the recording medium 208, 308, 408 during exposure, and as modified by Kobrin, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0023], [0026]-[0029], [0033], [0040]-[0046], the cylinder 104, 604 with sticky polymer 105 or rotatable drum 704, 804, 904, 1004, 1104, 1204 presses against the photosensitive layer 103, 603, 703, 803, 903, 1003, 1103, 1203 during exposure).
Regarding claim 43, Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses wherein the copy carrier comprises a carrier material and a photosensitive material applied to the carrier material (Rewitz, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0026], [0030], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0080]-[0083], [0085]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], the recording medium 208, 308, 408 is applied on carrier element 210, 310, 410).
Regarding claim 44, Rewitz discloses an exposure apparatus for a replication method for producing a hologram copy of a master hologram (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0026], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0081], [0085]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], a master element 206, 306, 406, 606 and a recording medium 208, 308, 408 on a carrier element 210, 310, 410 are exposed to a light beams 214, 216 to form holograms), the exposure apparatus comprising:
a first arrangement for providing a master hologram (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0080]-[0082], [0087]-[0089], at least one master element 206, 306, 406, 606 is arranged on a glass plate 211, 311, 411);
a second arrangement for providing a copy carrier, which comprises a photosensitive material (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0026], [0030], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0080]-[0083], [0085]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], the recording medium 208, 308, 408 is applied on carrier element 210, 310, 410);
an exposure arrangement comprising a light source for an exposure light (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0023], [0042], [0054], [0074], [0086]-[0090], [0103]-[0108], the apparatus includes a light source, such as a laser beam, to provide exposure light); and
a contact body (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0026], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0081], [0084]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], [0103]-[0108], input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 with coupling portion 104, 204, 304, 404) that is transparent to the exposure light (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0026], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0081], [0084]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], [0103]-[0108], the light beams enter input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 and are directed to the recording medium 208, 308, 408 during contact exposure),
wherein the first arrangement, second arrangement, exposure arrangement and the contact body are configured for simultaneous exposure of the master hologram and of the copy carrier (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0026], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0080]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], [0103]-[0108], coupling portion 104, 204, 304, 404 of input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 contacts the recording medium 208, 308, 408 comprising a photoresistive material on a carrier element 210, 310, 410. The input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 is a transparent material through which the light beams enter and are directed to the recording medium to expose the master element 206, 306, 406, 606 on the glass plate 211, 311, 411 and the recording medium 208, 308, 408 on the carrier element 210, 310, 410 simultaneously during exposure),
wherein the contact body and the copy carrier are brought into contact and, during the exposure, are in direct contact in a part through which the exposure light passes (Figs. 2-4, abstract, paras. [0026], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0081], [0085]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], the master element 206, 306, 406, 606 contacts one side of the recording medium 208, 308, 408 on the carrier element 210, 310, 410, and the opposite side of the recording medium 208, 308, 408 contacts the coupling portion 104, 204, 304, 404 of input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402). Rewitz does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the refractive index of the contact body is matched to the copy carrier in order to avoid exposure light reflections.
Kobrin discloses wherein the refractive index of the contact body is matched to the copy carrier in order to avoid exposure light reflections (Figs. 1-12, paras. [0023], [0026]-[0029], [0033], [0040]-[0046], the photosensitive layer 103, the cylinder 104, and the sticky polymer 105 have indices of refraction matching sufficiently to reduce unwanted reflections at the interfaces in the contact lithography system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the refractive index of the contact body is matched to the copy carrier in order to avoid exposure light reflections as taught by Kobrin as the refractive indices in the exposure apparatus as taught by Rewitz since including wherein the refractive index of the contact body is matched to the copy carrier in order to avoid exposure light reflections is commonly used to control the reflections at interfaces as desired while continuously recording holographic images on a photosensitive surface (Kobrin, paras. [0001], [0027]-[0028]).
Regarding claim 45, Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses wherein the contact body and copy carrier are configured for adhesive contact between one another (Rewitz, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0026], [0029], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0081], [0085]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], the coupling portion 104, 204, 304, 404 of input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 is adhered to the recording medium 208, 308, 408 during contact, and as modified by Kobrin, paras. [0030], [0032]-[0033], the sticky polymer adheres the photosensitive layer to the cylinder).
Regarding claim 47, Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses wherein the exposure apparatus comprises further optical exposure components (Rewitz, Figs. 2-6 paras. [0026], [0030], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0080]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], the coupling portion 104, 204, 304, 404 of input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 is pressed against the recording medium 208, 308, 408, and the carrier element 210, 310, 410 with the recording medium is pressed against master element 206, 306, 406, 606 and plate 211, 311, 411 and deflection rollers 212 for transporting the recording medium 208 during exposure), and
wherein the further optical exposure components are selected from the group consisting of: a beam trap, an input coupling prism, an output coupling prism, a deflection hologram, a beam-shaping optical unit, a beam-shaping hologram, a transport roller, a lamination roller and/or a filter layer (Rewitz, Figs. 2, paras. [0045]-[0046], [0077], [0083], [0111], deflection rollers 212).
Regarding claim 48, Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses wherein second arrangement and contact body are configured to press on one another during the exposure (Rewitz, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0026], [0030], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0081], [0085]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], the coupling portion 104, 204, 304, 404 of input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 is pressed against the recording medium 208, 308, 408 during exposure, and as modified by Kobrin, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0023], [0026]-[0029], [0033], [0040]-[0046], the cylinder 104, 604 with sticky polymer 105 or rotatable drum 704, 804, 904, 1004, 1104, 1204 presses against the photosensitive layer 103, 603, 703, 803, 903, 1003, 1103, 1203 during exposure), and wherein pressing on is implemented with a pressure of 1-5x106 Pa (Rewitz, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0026], [0030], the pressure of 2 to 5 bar is exerted (2 to 5x105 Pa)).
Regarding claim 49, Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses wherein the step of pressing on results in the copy carrier and the master hologram, or the copy carrier and further optical exposure components being brought into contact (Rewitz, Figs. 2-4, abstract, paras. [0026], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0081], [0085]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], the master element 206, 306, 406, 606 contacts one side of the carrier element 210, 310, 410 with recording medium 208, 308, 408, and the carrier element 210, 310, 410 with the recording medium is pressed against deflection rollers 212 for transporting the recording medium 208 during exposure).
Regarding claim 50, Rewitz does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the contact body comprises a molded body with a convexly shaped contact face.
Kobrin discloses wherein the contact body comprises a molded body with a convexly shaped contact face (Figs. 1-12, paras. [0023], [0026]-[0029], [0033], [0040]-[0046], the cylinder 104, 604 with sticky polymer 105 or rotatable drum 704, 804, 904, 1004, 1104, 1204 presses against the photosensitive layer 103, 603, 703, 803, 903, 1003, 1103, 1203 during exposure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the contact body comprises a molded body with a convexly shaped contact face as taught by Kobrin as the shape of the contact body in the exposure apparatus as taught by Rewitz since including wherein the contact body comprises a molded body with a convexly shaped contact face is commonly used to provide a continuous mode of recording (Kobrin, paras. [0001], [0026]).
Regarding claim 51, Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses wherein a first arrangement, a second arrangement, an exposure arrangement and a contact body are configured for an at least partial exposure of the copy carrier through the contact body (Rewitz, Figs. 2-6, abstract, paras. [0023], [0026], [0042], [0044], [0047], [0054], [0073]-[0074], [0080]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], the at least one master element 206, 306, 406, 606 arranged on the glass plate 211, 311, 411, the recording medium 208, 308, 408 is applied on carrier element 210, 310, 410, the light source, and the input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 are arranged such that the light beams enter input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 and are directed to the recording medium 208, 308, 408 on carrier element 210 during exposure).
Regarding claim 52, Rewitz does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the contact body comprises a transport and/or lamination roller for the copy carrier.
Kobrin discloses wherein the contact body comprises a transport and/or lamination roller for the copy carrier (Figs. 1-12, abstract, paras. [0023], [0026]-[0029], [0033], [0040]-[0046], the cylinder 104, 604 or rotatable drum 704, 804, 904, 1004, 1104, 1204 presses against the photosensitive layer 103, 603, 703, 803, 903, 1003, 1103, 1203 and rotates while the photosensitive layer translates during continuous exposure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the contact body comprises a transport and/or lamination roller for the copy carrier as taught by Kobrin as the contact body in the exposure apparatus as taught by Rewitz since including wherein the contact body comprises a transport and/or lamination roller for the copy carrier is commonly used to provide a continuous mode of recording (Kobrin, paras. [0001], [0026]).
Regarding claim 53, Rewitz does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the contact body comprises a film that is adhesive at least on one side.
Kobrin wherein the contact body comprises a film that is adhesive at least on one side (Figs. 1-12, abstract, paras. [0023], [0026]-[0029], [0030], [0032]-[0033], [0038], [0040]-[0046], the cylinder 104, 604 with sticky polymer 105 or rotatable drum with a sticky polymer presses against the photosensitive layer 103, 603, 703, 803, 903, 1003, 1103, 1203 during exposure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the contact body comprises a film that is adhesive at least on one side as taught by Kobrin in the exposure apparatus as taught by Rewitz since including wherein the contact body comprises a film that is adhesive at least on one side is commonly used to continuously produce holographic images without slippage, thereby improving image quality (Kobrin, paras. [0006], [0026]-[0027], [0040]).
Regarding claim 54, Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses wherein the contact body and the second arrangement are configured for bringing the contact body and the copy carrier into contact for the exposure (Rewitz, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0026], [0030], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0081], [0085]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], the coupling portion 104, 204, 304, 404 of input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 is pressed against the recording medium 208, 308, 408 during exposure, and as modified by Kobrin, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0023], [0026]-[0029], [0033], [0040]-[0046], the cylinder 104, 604 with sticky polymer 105 or rotatable drum 704, 804, 904, 1004, 1104, 1204 presses against the photosensitive layer 103, 603, 703, 803, 903, 1003, 1103, 1203 during exposure) and a removal of said contact body and copy carrier from one another after the exposure process (Rewitz, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0030]-[0031], [0033]-[0034], [0085], [0105]-[0108], after exposure, the input coupling element is decoupled from the holographic recording medium, and as modified by Kobrin, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0023], [0026]-[0029], [0033], [0040]-[0046], after exposure, the cylinder 104, 604 with sticky polymer 105 or rotatable drum 704, 804, 904, 1004, 1104, 1204 is removed from the photosensitive layer 103, 603, 703, 803, 903, 1003, 1103, 1203 as the cylinder/drum rotates and the photosensitive layer is translated).
Regarding claim 55, Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses wherein the contact body and the second arrangement are configured for interlocking contact between the contact body and the copy carrier and/or for contact without an intermediate space between the contact body and the copy carrier (Rewitz, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0026], [0030], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0081], [0085]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], the coupling portion 104, 204, 304, 404 of input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 is pressed against the recording medium 208, 308, 408 during exposure, and as modified by Kobrin, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0023], [0026]-[0029], [0033], [0040]-[0046], the cylinder 104, 604 with sticky polymer 105 or rotatable drum 704, 804, 904, 1004, 1104, 1204 presses against the photosensitive layer 103, 603, 703, 803, 903, 1003, 1103, 1203 during exposure).
Regarding claim 56, Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses wherein the copy carrier comprises a carrier material and a photosensitive material applied to the carrier material (Rewitz, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0026], [0030], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0080]-[0083], [0085]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], the recording medium 208, 308, 408 is applied on carrier element 210, 310, 410).
Claims 31 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rewitz as modified by Kobrin applied to claims 29 and 44 above, and further in view of Rogers et al. (US PGPub 2008/0055581, Rogers hereinafter).
Regarding claim 31, although Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses wherein the contact body is elastic (Rewitz, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0026], [0029], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0075], [0081], [0084]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 is formed of a soft or viscoelastic material, and as modified by Kobrin, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0027]-[0029], the sticky polymer 105 is conformable), but Rewitz as modified by Kobrin does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the contact body has a Young’s modulus of less than 50 MPa.
Rogers discloses wherein the contact body is elastic and has a Young’s modulus of less than 50 MPa (Figs. 1A, paras. [0027]-[0028], [0040], [0136], [0161]-[0162], the first polymer layer has a Young’s modulus from about 1 MPa to 10 MPa).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the contact body has a Young’s modulus of less than 50 MPa as taught by Rogers as the Young’s modulus of the contact body in the method as taught by Rewitz as modified by Kobrin since including wherein the contact body has a Young’s modulus of less than 50 MPa is commonly used to improve conformal contact with large areas having a variety of surface profiles and textures upon application of relatively low pressures and provides improves release characteristics (Rogers, para. [0028]).
Regarding claim 46, although Rewitz as modified by Kobrin discloses wherein the contact body is elastic (Rewitz, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0026], [0029], [0044], [0047], [0073], [0075], [0081], [0084]-[0087], [0091]-[0094], [0096]-[0100], input coupling element 102, 202, 302, 402 is formed of a soft or viscoelastic material, and as modified by Kobrin, Figs. 1-12, paras. [0027]-[0029], the sticky polymer 105 is conformable), but Rewitz as modified by Kobrin does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the contact body has a Young’s modulus of less than 50 MPa.
Rogers discloses wherein the contact body is elastic and has a Young’s modulus of less than 50 MPa (Figs. 1A, paras. [0027]-[0028], [0040], [0136], [0161]-[0162], the first polymer layer has a Young’s modulus from about 1 MPa to 10 MPa).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the contact body has a Young’s modulus of less than 50 MPa as taught by Rogers as the Young’s modulus of the contact body in the exposure apparatus as taught by Rewitz as modified by Kobrin since including wherein the contact body has a Young’s modulus of less than 50 MPa is commonly used to improve conformal contact with large areas having a variety of surface profiles and textures upon application of relatively low pressures and provides improves release characteristics (Rogers, para. [0028]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sugiura (US PGPub 2009/0286165) discloses contacting the recording medium with the hologram master to replicate the hologram.
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882