DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a drive device, a sensing device, an operator, and a control device in claims 1-12.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A drive device is interpreted as a device for causing the mobile object to move on a road in view of Paragraph 0040 of the published application (i.e. wheels, motor, battery, engine, etc.). A sensing device is interpreted as devices for acquiring a situation in at least a traveling direction of the mobile object in view of Paragraph 0035 of the published application (i.e. camera, radar, lidar, etc.). An operator is interpreted as a joystick, a cross key, or the like in view of Paragraph 0044 of the published application. A control device is interpreted as the hardware in view of Paragraph 0049 of the published application (i.e. a central processing unit (CPU) to execute the program (software), etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otaka JP 2020192877 A (provided in IDS on 12/23/2024, the examiner is providing an English translation and relying upon, hence Otaka) in view of Ide et al US 2020/0406930 A1 (hence Ide).
In re claims 1, 11, and 12, Otaka discloses a control device is mounted on a vehicle, and the determination unit is arranged on a steering operator of the vehicle (Paragraph 0009) and teaches the following:
A mobile object which an occupant is able to get in (Paragraph 0025 “own vehicle M”), the mobile object comprising:
a drive device configured to move the mobile object (Paragraph 0027 “an internal combustion engine”);
sensing device configured to sense a situation in at least a traveling direction of the mobile object (Paragraph 0028 “camera 10, a radar device 12, a finder 14, an object recognition device 16”);
an operator used for the occupant to indicate the traveling direction of the mobile object (Paragraph 0049 “driving operator 70 includes, for example, a steering wheel 303, an accelerator pedal, a brake pedal, a shift lever, a turn signal, a joystick, an operating lever, and other controls”);
and a control device configured to cause the mobile object to travel in a mode in which acceleration/deceleration and steering are automatically performed (Paragraph 0049 “the automatic operation control device 100, or the traveling driving force output device 200, the brake device 210, and the steering device”), the control device automatically generating a target trajectory for changing the traveling direction of the mobile object on the basis of the sensed situation in the traveling direction in accordance with an operation of indicating the traveling direction performed on the operator (Paragraph 0059 “a target trajectory generation unit 144”, Paragraph 0063 “change lanes may be given by operating the steering wheel”, and Paragraphs 0064-0066 “target track”)
and controlling the drive device such that the mobile object moves along the target trajectory (Paragraph 0067 “second control unit 160 sets the traveling driving force output device 200, the braking device 210, and the steering device 220 so that the own vehicle M passes the target track generated by the target track generating unit 144 at the scheduled time”)
However, Otaka discloses an operator being a joystick (Paragraph 0049) but doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
an operator provided in an armrest of the mobile object, capable of being operated at least to right and left
Nevertheless, Ide discloses an autonomous vehicle is provided with a touch panel that enables an operator to input vehicle speed control instructions during an automatic driving mode and a mechanical operation unit for inputting driving control instructions (Abstract), and teaches the following:
an operator provided in an armrest of the mobile object, capable of being operated at least to right and left (Fig.6, and Paragraph 0055 “the mechanical operation unit 70 is configured to be tiltable in the front, rear, left, and right directions”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Otaka reference to include the mechanical operation unit operable by hand, as taught by Ide, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to control the vehicle in a plurality of modes (Ide, Paragraph 0010).
In re claim 2, Ide teaches the following:
wherein the control device generates the target trajectory with a first direction as the traveling direction to which a change is to be made when an operating direction of the operator is the first direction which is one of right and left (Paragraph 0055 “when the mechanical operation unit 70 is tilted leftward, a left-turn control instruction can be input to the autonomous vehicle 10”), and wherein the control device cancels change of the traveling direction when the operator is operated in a direction different from the first direction after the first direction has been determined as the traveling direction to which a change is to be made (Paragraph 0055 “When the mechanical operation unit 70 is tilted rightward, a right-turn control instruction can be input to the autonomous vehicle 10”, i.e. left cancels right and right cancels left)
In re claim 5, Ide teaches the following:
wherein the mobile object includes a notification device configured to notify the occupant, and wherein the control device causes the notification device to output a notification indicating that an operation on the operator has been received when the operation has been received (Paragraph 0045 “The information displayed on the display device 36 includes, for example, vehicle speed of the autonomous vehicle 10”)
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otaka and Ide, and further in view of Aoki US 2017/0225685 A1 (hence Aoki).
In re claim 6, the combination of Otaka and Ide discloses the claimed inventin as recited above but doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
wherein the control device maintains an instruction to change the traveling direction when the mobile object is stopped or a speed of the mobile object becomes equal to or lower than a predetermined value with interruption of the occupant while the mobile object is moving along the target trajectory
Nevertheless, Aoki discloses a vehicle control system that performs lane change control (Abstract) and teaches the following:
wherein the control device maintains an instruction to change the traveling direction when the mobile object is stopped or a speed of the mobile object becomes equal to or lower than a predetermined value with interruption of the occupant while the mobile object is moving along the target trajectory (Paragraph 0050, all conditions to cancel lane change have to be equal or above than a predetermined value, therefore any steering, braking, accelerating less than the predetermined value maintains the lane change)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Otaka reference to include the predetermined value to decide whether to maintain or cancel a lane change, as taught by Aoki, in order to control the lane change on the basis of at least one of an operation of the driver (Aoki, Paragraph 0049).
In re claim 7, the combination of Otaka and Ide discloses the claimed inventin as recited above but doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
wherein the mobile object includes a notification device configured to notify the occupant, and wherein the control device causes the notification device to notify the occupant that an operation of cancelling an instruction to change the traveling direction is to be performed when the mobile object stops due to interruption of the occupant while the mobile object is moving along the target trajectory
Nevertheless, Aoki discloses a vehicle control system that performs lane change control (Abstract) and teaches the following:
wherein the mobile object includes a notification device configured to notify the occupant, and wherein the control device causes the notification device to notify the occupant that an operation of cancelling an instruction to change the traveling direction is to be performed when the mobile object stops due to interruption of the occupant while the mobile object is moving along the target trajectory (Paragraphs 0049-0050 “the lane change control unit 14 cancels the lane change control on the basis of at least one of an operation of the driver”, Fig.4, S20, S26, S28 and Paragraphs 0072-0073)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Otaka reference to include notifying the driver that the lane change control has been cancelled through the HMI, as taught by Aoki, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improve the convenience of the driver (Aoki, Paragraph 0008).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Son et al US 2021/0145666 A1 discloses a robot including a seating body provided with a seat and an armrest body and a steering, the steering housing has an opening in an upper portion thereof and an inner space therein is disposed on the armrest body.
Nageshkar et al US 2021/0039494 A1 discloses a joystick includes a joystick body, a cover hingedly coupled to the joystick body and movable between an open position and a closed position, and an input located on the joystick body.
/RAMI KHATIB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669