DETAILED ACTION
Non-final communication in response to communication filed 12/23/24
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-22, 24, and 25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ABB SCHWEIZ AG, SE 1851656.
With respect to claim 16, figures 1-3 of ABB SCHWEIZ AG disclose an electrical assembly comprising:
a voltage source converter [fig. 1, 10 or 12] including at least one energy storage device [page 11, line 27, page 12, line 6; page 11, line 33];
an energy storage system electrically coupled to the voltage source converter, [figs. 1-3; page 12, line 27-33; energy storage 16, 18] the energy storage system controllable to release and absorb energy; [page 2, line 11-14, page 3, lines 14-18, page 28, lines 24-32] and
a controller programmed to selectively trigger a control of the energy storage system to
release energy or absorb energy responsive to a measurement of stored energy in the voltage source converter. [page 1, line 27-31 together with page 2, line 2-4, 23-26, 28-31; page 13, line 5-7; page 16, line 18-19]
With respect to claim 17, figures 1-3 of ABB SCHWEIZ AG disclose an electrical assembly according to claim 16, wherein the voltage source converter includes at least one module, the or each module including at least one switching element and at least one energy storage device, the or each switching element and the or each energy storage device in the or each module arranged to be combinable to selectively provide a voltage source. [page 11, line 22 and page 12, line 6.]
With respect to claim 18, figures 1-3 of ABB SCHWEIZ AG disclose an electrical assembly according to claim 16, wherein the controller is programmed to selectively trigger the control of the energy storage system to release energy to or absorb energy from the voltage source converter responsive to the measurement of stored energy in the voltage source converter.
With respect to claim 19, figures 1-3 of ABB SCHWEIZ AG disclose an electrical assembly according to claim 16, wherein the controller is programmed to selectively trigger the control of the energy storage system to release energy to or absorb energy from an AC or DC system or network connected to the voltage source converter responsive to the measurement of stored energy in the voltage source converter.
With respect to claim 20, figures 1-3 of ABB SCHWEIZ AG disclose an electrical assembly according to claim 16, wherein the controller is programmed to selectively trigger the control of the energy storage system to release energy or absorb energy responsive to a measurement of AC frequency of an AC system or network connected to the voltage source converter in the event of non-availability of the voltage source converter. See D1, page 7, 1ine 10-18; page 29, line 13-25. Black start follows a network outage which is indicated by a zero frequency and/or zero voltage.
With respect to claim 21, figures 1-3 of ABB SCHWEIZ AG disclose an electrical assembly according to claim 20, wherein the controller is programmed to selectively trigger the control of the energy storage system to release energy or absorb energy responsive to a rate of change in AC frequency of an AC system or network connected to the voltage source converter in the event of non-availability of the voltage source converter. [ page 5, line 1-13; Fig. 4-6; page 16, line 18 to page 21, line 16.]
With respect to claim 22, figures 1-3 of ABB SCHWEIZ AG disclose an electrical assembly according to claim 16, wherein the controller is programmed to selectively trigger the control of the energy storage system to release energy or absorb energy responsive to a measurement of DC voltage of a DC system or network connected to the voltage source converter in the event of non-availability of the voltage source converter.
p. 29, I. 13-25: The expression
"The first energy storage system 16 can thereafter be used to energize the first VSC 10
and possibly also the second VSC 12. It can be seen that it is in this way possible to use
the first energy storage system 16 for black start of both the AC networks and the DC
system."
With respect to claim 24, figures 1-3 of ABB SCHWEIZ AG disclose an electrical assembly according to claim 16, wherein the controller is programmed to selectively modify a voltage and/or an impedance of the voltage source converter so as to modify the release or absorption of energy by the energy storage system. page3, lines 20-27
With respect to claim 25, figures 1-3 of ABB SCHWEIZ AG disclose n electrical assembly according to claim 16, wherein the controller is programmed to selectively trigger the control of the energy storage system to release energy or absorb energy responsive to a measurement of stored energy in the voltage source converter deviating from a reference value or range. [See remarks to claim 1 in conjunction with page 3, line 29 to page 4, line 6.]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23, 26-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RYAN JAGER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836
9/21/26