DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The use of abbreviation “VT” in “a low VT inverter”, “a high VT PMOS” and “a high VT NMOS” in claims 3-6 is unclear and the abbreviation “VT” should be a word.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kumar et al. (US 2020/0327927, hereinafter “Kumar”).
Regarding claim 1, Kumar (Fig. 4) shows an integrated circuit system (memory device 50a) for management of process corners comprising:
an electronic device (71), the electronic device having one or more transistors (Fig. 1); and
a voltage management circuit (60), the voltage management circuit electrically coupled to the electronic device and having one or more transistors (62 and 63) configured to manage a behavior of a voltage of the electronic device (paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 8, Kumar (Fig. 4A) shows the integrated circuit system of claim 1, wherein the electronic device comprises a memory (71).
Regarding claim 9, Kumar (Fig. 4A) shows the integrated circuit system of claim 8, wherein the memory comprises an SRAM memory (71, SRAM core).
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Poon et al. (US 2006/0072258, hereinafter “Poon”).
Regarding claim 1, Poon discloses an integrated circuit system (paragraphs [0001 and [0002]) for management of process corners comprising:
an electronic device (Fig. 1, 18), the electronic device having one or more transistors (paragraphs [0005] and [0006]); and
a voltage management circuit (Figs. 1 and 5, ESD device 100), the voltage management circuit electrically coupled to the electronic device and having one or more transistors (Fig. 5, clamp circuit 100 comprising transistors 130-172) configured to manage a behavior of a voltage of the electronic device (paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 2, Poon discloses the integrated circuit system of claim 1, wherein the voltage management circuit comprises at least one of a clamp high circuit and a clamp low circuit (paragraph [0041])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. in view of Badaroglu et al. (US 2023/0115373, hereinafter “Badaroglu”).
The only difference between claim 10 Kumar is that the electronic device comprises a single ended sense amplifier. However, Badaroglu discloses an SRAM device comprising a single-ended sense amplifier in each column of memory cells to sense data from the memory cell of the SRAM device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an SRAM device comprising a single-ended sense amplifier to sense data from the memory cell of the SRAM device.
.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure does not teach the claimed limitation of “wherein the voltage management circuit comprises a first clamp high circuit electrically coupled to a clamp low circuit and the low clamp circuit being electrically coupled to a second clam high circuit.” in combination with the other limitations thereof as is recited in the claim.
Claims 12-17 are allowed.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure does not teach the claimed limitation of “electrically coupling a port out of the second integrated circuit cell to a port in of a third integrated circuit cell, the first integrated circuit cell being a clamp high circuit, the second integrated circuit cell being a clamp low circuit, and the third integrated circuit cell being a clamp high circuit; and electrically coupling a port out of the third integrated circuit cell to an electronic device.” in combination with the other limitations thereof as is recited in the claim. Claims 13-17 depend on claim 12.
Conclusion
/HUAN HOANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2827