DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on December 24, 2024.
Inventorship
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 24, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were filed on December 24, 2024. These drawings are accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because it claims “computer program comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out an operation [….]”, failing to claim a non-transitory computer readable medium or signals, therefore failing to comply with 35 U.S.C. 101 requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LETAS (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0097520 A1, reference provided as part of the Information Disclosure Statement “IDS”).
In re claim 1, LETAS discloses (Figs. 1-2 and 4-5) a method for controlling at least first and second PWM inverters (Para. 0045-0047), the method comprises:
determining first and second periods of the first PWM inverter for operating the first PWM inverter with respective first and second switching patterns wherein the first and second switching patterns have different harmonic spectrums (Para. 0045-0047), and
operating the first PWM inverter with the first and second switching patterns applied successively during the respective first and second periods determining first and second periods of the second PWM inverter for operating the second PWM inverter with the respective first and second switching patterns (Para. 0045-0047), and
operating the second PWM inverter with the first and second switching patterns applied successively during the respective first and second periods of the second PWM inverter (Para. 0045-0047),
wherein the first period of the first PWM inverter and the first period of the second PWM inverter are started at different start times (Para. 0045-0047).
In re claim 2, LETAS discloses wherein the start times of the first periods of the first and second PWM inverters are predetermined or determined based on an externally generated trigger signal (Para. 0046).
In re claim 3, LETAS discloses wherein the start time of the first period of the second PWM inverter is delayed relative to the start time of the first period of the first PWM inverter by the time length of the first period of the first PWM inverter (Para. 0055).
In re claim 4, LETAS discloses wherein the different start times of the first periods of the first and second PWM inverters are determined from a random process (Para. 0045-0047).
In re claim 5, LETAS discloses (Fig. 5) wherein at least the first periods of the first and second PWM inverters have equal lengths (Para. 0045).
In re claim 6, LETAS discloses wherein in response to a predefined operational condition, such as a grid disturbance event, the method comprises shifting from operating the at least first PWM inverter with the first and second switching patterns, to operating the at least first PWM inverter solely with one of the first and second switching patterns (Para. 0045-0047).
In re claim 7, LETAS discloses wherein in response to another predefined operational condition, such as a grid recovery event, the method comprises: shifting from operating the at least first PWM inverter solely with one of the first and second switching patterns, back to operating the at least first PWM inverter with the first and second switching patterns (Para. 0045-0047).
In re claim 8, LETAS discloses (Fig. 4) wherein the first and second switching patterns are determined based on respective first and second switching frequencies, wherein the first and second switching frequencies are different (Para. 0043).
In re claim 9, LETAS discloses (Figs. 1-2 and 4-5) plurality of PWM controllers configured for controlling at least a first and a second PWM inverter, wherein the PWM controllers comprises a data processor arranged to perform an operation (Para. 0045-0047), comprising:
determining first and second periods of the first PWM inverter for operating the first PWM inverter with respective first and second switching patterns wherein the first and second switching patterns have different harmonic spectrums, and
operating the first PWM inverter with the first and second switching patterns applied successively during the respective first and second periods. (Para. 0045-0047)
determining first and second periods of the second PWM inverter for operating the second PWM inverter with the respective first and second switching patterns (Para. 0045-0047);
operating the second PWM inverter with the first and second switching patterns applied successively during the respective first and second periods of the second PWM inverter (Para. 0045-0047);
wherein the first period of the first PWM inverter and the first period of the second PWM inverter are started at different start times (Para. 0045-0047).
In re claim 13, LETAS discloses (Figs. 1-2 and 3-4) a computer program comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out an operation for controlling at least a first and a second PWM inverter (Para. 0045-0047), comprising:
determining first and second periods of the first PWM inverter for operating the first PWM inverter with respective first and second switching patterns wherein the first and second switching patterns have different harmonic spectrums (Para. 0045-0047), and
operating the first PWM inverter with the first and second switching patterns applied successively during the respective first and second periods (Para. 0045-0047);
determining first and second periods of the second PWM inverter for operating the second PWM inverter with the respective first and second switching patterns (Para. 0045-0047);
operating the second PWM inverter with the first and second switching patterns applied successively during the respective first and second periods of the second PWM inverter (Para. 0045-0047);
wherein the first period of the first PWM inverter and the first period of the second PWM inverter are started at different start times (Para. 0045-0047).
In re claim 14, LETAS discloses a grid filter for smoothening the voltage output from the PWM inverter, wherein the grid filter is configured for operation at an operation frequency located between largest magnitude harmonics of the different harmonics of the different switching patterns (Para. 0045-0047).
Conclusion
/RAFAEL O DE LEON DOMENECH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838