Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6,15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Wei ( WO 03/005818.
For claims 1-2, Wei discloses an agent comprising a diester compound having the structural formula as claimed. ( see pages 20-21). For claim 3, Wei discloses the compounds including diethyl malonate, diethyl succinate, diethyl sebacate, dipropyl adipate, dibutyl sebacate, diisobutyl adipate and dimethyl sebacate ( see pages 22, 23). For claim 4, Wei discloses a composition comprising the diester compound. ( see page 4 lines 3-10, pages 20-23. For claims 5,15, Wei discloses food comprising the diester compound. ( see page 7 lines 7-15,8)
The recitation “ carbonation sensation imparting or enhancing agent” is a function that is depended on intended use. The agent by itself is not a carbonation agent. An intended use does not determine the patentability of the product. There is no limitation defining generation of carbonation or enhancing carbonation. Furthermore, Wei discloses the same agent; thus, it’s inherent the agent is capable of the same intended use in absence of evidence showing otherwise.
Claim(s) 1-10, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Ohata ( Jp 2021112144).
For claims 1-4, Ohata discloses an agent which is diethyl succinate and composition comprising the diethyl succinate. Ohata discloses for effervescent beverage, the agent gives a smooth mouthfeel with a carbonic sensation. For claims 5-6,15 Ohata discloses beverages comprising the agent. The amount of diethyl succinate is 15-510ppb ( .015-.51ppm) . For claims 7-10, Ohata discloses a method of producing beverage comprising the step of blending the diester compound in the drink. The amount of diethyl succinate is 15-510ppb ( .015-51ppm) ( see abstract, pages 2-3,5)
Ohata discloses the same compound as claimed; thus, it’s inherent the structure is the same as claimed. The recitation “ carbonation sensation imparting or enhancing agent” is a function that is depended on intended use. The agent by itself is not a carbonation agent. An intended use does not determine the patentability of the product. There is no limitation defining generation of carbonation or enhancing carbonation. In any event, Ohata discloses the beverage has smooth mouthfeel with a carbonic acid sensation. Furthermore, Ohata discloses the same agent; thus, it’s inherent the agent is capable of the same intended use in absence of evidence showing otherwise.
Conclusion
August 31, 2026
/LIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793