DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Claims 11-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-23 of copending Application No. 18/878986 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The current claims require a motor vehicle that comprises an arrangement for unlocking a lock of a bonnet.
The arrangement comprises a gripping means and a cable connecting the lock of the bonnet to the gripping means.
Wherein, the gripping means is accessible to a user from outside a passenger compartment of the motor vehicle and the cable is positioned entirely outside the passenger compartment of the motor vehicle.
These and other limitations are presented int eh ‘986 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 12, 15, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Pat No 10,941,593 to Krishnan et al (Krishnan).
Regarding claim 11, Krishnan discloses a motor vehicle (10) that comprises an arrangement for unlocking a lock (24) of a bonnet (14).
The arrangement comprises a gripping means (32) and a cable (34) connecting the lock of the bonnet to the gripping means.
Wherein, the gripping means is accessible to a user from outside a passenger compartment of the motor vehicle and the cable is positioned entirely outside the passenger compartment of the motor vehicle.
As to claim 12, Krishnan discloses that the gripping means (32) is located on the front or rear bonnet, or on a front or rear wing, or a front or rear bumper, or a front grille (front wing).
As to claim 15 Krishnan discloses that the motor vehicle is an electric vehicle and the gripping means is located on a charging port of the electric vehicle.
As to claim 18, Krishnan discloses that the vehicle further comprises a charging cable (not shown) for charging the battery of the electric motor vehicle positioned in a housing (battery housing) located under the bonnet of the vehicle.
As to claim 20, Krishnan discloses a method for unlocking the front hood of the motor vehicle that comprises pulling on the grip means of the arrangement, the grip means being outside the passenger compartment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 14, 16, 17, 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 10,941,593 to Krishnan et al (Krishnan) in view of US Pat No 4,102,164 to Barbush.
As to claim 13, Krishnan fails to disclose that the motor vehicle further comprises a security device configured to prevent use of the gripping means to unlock the lock of the bonnet by an unauthorized person.
Barbush teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a security device configured to prevent use of a gripping means (63) to unlock the lock (35) of the bonnet by an unauthorized person.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the vehicle described by Krishnan with a security device, as taught by Barbush, in order to prevent the use of the gripping means.
As to claims 14 and 16, Barbush teaches that the arrangement comprises an authentication means (63, 64) which interacts with the security device such that the gripping means is configured to be used only when an identification object identifying a user is authenticated by the authentication means (only the user with the key).
As to claim 17, Barbush teaches an identification object (ignition key) configured to interact with a locking/unlocking device of the motor vehicle to allow or prevent access to the passenger compartment of the motor vehicle, and the identification object is configured to interact with the authentication means of the arrangement to make it possible to unlock the lock of the bonnet by pivoting a flap and/or said locking device of a charging port of the motor vehicle (the ignition key will operate the latch 77, allowing the authentication means to unlock the hood lock).
As to claim 19, Krishnan discloses that the vehicle further comprises a charging cable (not shown) for charging the battery of the electric motor vehicle positioned in a housing (battery housing) located under the bonnet of the vehicle.
As to claim 21, Krishnan, as modified by Barbush, teaches a method for charging the motor vehicle that comprises opening the charging port of the vehicle; pulling the grip means of the arrangement to unlock the front hood of the vehicle, the grip means being positioned inside the charging port; grasping a charging cable in a recess which is underneath the front hood of the vehicle; connecting an electric vehicle charging terminal to a charging interface of the port via the charging cable; and locking the grip means while the vehicle is charging, wherein all steps of the method are executed outside the passenger compartment of the motor vehicle.
Conclusion
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
June 1, 2026