DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Office Action is in response to the Applicant's amendments and remarks filed12/26/2026. Claims 4-7, 9, 12 were amended. Claims 1-18 are presently pending and presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites method for processing package pick up on behalf of recipient.
Step 2A – Prong 1
Independent Claims 1 and 16-18 as a whole recite a method of organizing human activity. The limitations from exemplary Claim 1 reciting “sets a candidate for a proxy who is able to pick up a package on behalf of a recipient designated in an address of the package, as the proxy; and notifies the proxy or the candidate for the proxy of information about the package.” is a method of managing interactions between people, which falls into the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping. The mere recitation of a generic computer (processing system, control unit and communication unit in claim 1; device, and unit in claim 16; computer in claim 17; program, computer and unit in claim 18) does not take the claim out of the methods of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Claims 1-18 and their underlining limitations, steps, features and terms, are further inspected by the Examiner under the current examining guidelines, and found, both individually and as a whole, not to include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The limitations are directed to limitations referenced in MPEP 2106.05 that are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Limitations that are not enough include, as a non-limiting or non-exclusive examples, such as: (i) adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions, (ii) insignificant extra solution activity, and/or (iii) generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim recites the additional elements of (processing system, control unit and communication unit in claim 1; device, and unit in claim 16; computer in claim 17; program, computer and unit in claim 18). The processing system, control unit and communication unit in claim 1; device, and unit in claim 16; computer in claim 17; program, computer and unit in claim 18, are recited at a high level of generality and are generically recited computer elements. The generically recited computer elements amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The combination of these additional elements are additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as discussed above, the additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Thus, even when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claims add significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claims are ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-15 are also directed to same grouping of methods of organizing human activity. The additional elements of the processing system in claims 2-15; communication unit in claim 2-7, 9-15; terminal in claims 4 and 12-13; unmanned vehicle in claims 11, are additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hasse et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 20230245048 - hereinafter Hasse).
Re. claim 1 and 16-18, Hasse discloses:
An information processing system comprising:
a control unit that sets a candidate for a proxy who is able to pick up a package on behalf of a recipient designated in an address of the package, as the proxy; and [Hasse; para 0004 shows locker accepting package on behalf of recipient and then provides code to recipient to later obtain package such as “provide parcel locker devices and systems that can automatically obtain information from property management systems, for example including one or more lockers configured to store a parcel received from a carrier on behalf of a recipient; a computerized network interface; and a processor configured to, via the computerized network interface: generate and provide a registration code to the recipient; receive the registration code from the recipient; responsive to receiving the registration code, receive data from a property management system based on the registration code, the data including delivery information for the recipient; and provide notifications of parcel delivery to the recipient”].
a communication unit that notifies the proxy or the candidate for the proxy of information about the package. [Hasse; para 0004 shows notification communicated to recipient with respect to package].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 2-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasse in view of Parnpuu et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 20220180306 - hereinafter Parnpuu).
Re. claim 2, Hasse teaches the information processing system according to claim 1.
Hasse doesn’t teach, Parnpuu teaches:
wherein the communication unit notifies the proxy or the candidate for the proxy of an expected arrival time of the package. [Parnpuu; para 0201 and Fig. 5b].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Parnpuu in the system of Hasse, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Re. claim 3, Hasse in view of Parnpuu teaches the information processing system according to claim 2.
Hasse doesn’t teach, Parnpuu teaches:
wherein the communication unit notifies the proxy or the candidate for the proxy of the expected arrival time of the package according to a time slot of delivery of the package. [Parnpuu; para 0201 and Fig. 5b].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Parnpuu in the system of Hasse, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Re. claim 5, Hasse teaches the information processing system according to claim 1.
Hasse doesn’t teach, Parnpuu teaches:
wherein in a case where the package picked up by the proxy is delivered to the recipient by a delivery person, the communication unit notifies the proxy or the candidate for the proxy of an expected arrival time of the delivery person. [Parnpuu; para 0201 and Fig. 5b].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Parnpuu in the system of Hasse, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasse in view of Nandan et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 20150330798 - hereinafter Nandan).
Re. claim 4, Hasse teaches the information processing system according to claim 1.
Hasse doesn’t teach, Nandan teaches:
wherein the communication unit receives an expected arrival time of the recipient from an information processing terminal used by the recipient, and notifies the proxy of the expected arrival time. [Nandan; para 0016].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Nandan in the system of Hasse, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasse in view of Green et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 20210217261 - hereinafter Green).
Re. claim 6, Hasse teaches the information processing system according to claim 1.
Hasse doesn’t teach, Green teaches:
wherein the communication unit notifies the proxy or the candidate for the proxy whether the package is a frozen commodity. [Green; para 0037].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Green in the system of Hasse, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasse in view of Araki et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 20220188766 - hereinafter Araki).
Re. claim 7, Hasse teaches the information processing system according to claim 1.
Hasse doesn’t teach, Araki teaches:
wherein the communication unit notifies the proxy or the candidate for the proxy of whether the package is a commodity that needs to be handled with care. [Araki; para 0198].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Araki in the system of Hasse, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Re. claim 8, Hasse in view of Araki teaches the information processing system according to claim 7.
Hasse doesn’t teach, Araki teaches:
wherein the commodity that needs to be handled with care is at least any of "this side up", "do not stack", "perishable item", or "fragile". [Araki; para 0198].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Araki in the system of Hasse, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Re. claim 9, Hasse teaches the information processing system according to claim 1.
Hasse doesn’t teach, Araki teaches:
wherein the communication unit notifies the proxy of a delivery means of the package. [Araki; para 0198].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Araki in the system of Hasse, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Re. claim 10, Hasse in view of Araki teaches the information processing system according to claim 9.
Hasse doesn’t teach, Araki teaches:
wherein the communication unit notifies the proxy of an instruction of preparation in accordance with the delivery means of the package. [Araki; para 0198].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Araki in the system of Hasse, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasse in view of Araki in view of Ali et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 20210280074 - hereinafter Ali).
Re. claim 11, Hasse in view of Araki teaches the information processing system according to claim 10.
Hasse doesn’t teach, Ali teaches:
wherein in a case where the delivery means of the package is an unmanned vehicle, the communication unit notifies the proxy to perform landing preparation of the unmanned vehicle. [Ali; para 0070 and 0113].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Ali in the system of Hasse, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasse in view of Mishra et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 20220309450 - hereinafter Mishra).
Re. claim 12, Hasse teaches the information processing system according to claim 1.
Hasse doesn’t teach, Mishra teaches:
wherein the communication unit receives a notification as to whether pick-up of the package is possible, from an information processing terminal used by the candidate for the proxy. [Mishra; 0059 shows a scoring system that identifies best fit recipient to obtain package].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Mishra in the system of Hasse, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Re. claim 13, Hasse in view of Mishra teaches the information processing system according to claim 12.
Hasse doesn’t teach, Mishra teaches:
wherein when the communication unit receives a notification that the pick-up of the package is impossible from the information processing terminal used by the candidate for the proxy, the communication unit transmits a proxy recruitment for package pick-up to a candidate for the proxy who is different from the candidate for the proxy. [Mishra; 0059-0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Mishra in the system of Hasse, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Re. claim 14, Hasse in view of Mishra teaches the information processing system according to claim 13.
Hasse doesn’t teach, Mishra teaches:
wherein in a case where setting of the proxy who is able to pick up the package is impossible, the communication unit notifies the recipient that the delivery of the package is impossible. [Mishra; 0059-0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Mishra in the system of Hasse, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Re. claim 15, Hasse in view of Mishra teaches the information processing system according to claim 13.
Hasse doesn’t teach, Mishra teaches:
wherein in a case where setting of the proxy who is able to pick up the package is impossible, the communication unit notifies the recipient to reset the time slot of the delivery of the package. [Mishra; 0059-0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Mishra in the system of Hasse, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM N EL-BATHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626