DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 13-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pandey et al (U.S.Pat.10,983,445 B2).
With respect to claims 1, 18-20, Pandey discloses an optical system for measuring properties of a sample (W) and comprising all features of the instant claim such as: an optical head (see figure 2A) having at least a polarizing beam splitter (PBS; 15; 17) and an illumination subsystem (200) having a light source (11); a light splitting element (see figure 2A) configured to separate an initial optical beam emanating from the light source into at least two spatially separated non-polarized input optical beams; a first optical setup (12; 13, 30) having one or more optical elements configured at least to direct each said input optical beams into the PBS, wherein the PBS (15; 17) is located and configured to polarize the input optical system to produce at least two polarized intermediate optical beams (CP) having different polarization properties (see col.14, lines 1-5), wherein the intermediate optical are directed to illuminate substantially the same area of a sample (W) to be measured (see figure 2B), wherein the PBS is further used to split light returned from the sample, to form at least two polarized output beams having different polarization properties, and a detection subsystem (19; 23) having at least one optical detector, configured to separately detect each of the output optical beams, returned from the sample (W).
As to claim 2, wherein the polarized at least two intermediate optical beams and/or at least two output optical beams formed by the PBS have orthogonal polarization (see figures 2A, 2B and col.14, lines 43-49).
As to claim 3, the first optical setup is configured to direct each of the input optical beams onto different input surfaces of the PBS that are angular or perpendicular to one another (see figures 2A-B).
As to claim 6, it appears that the sample (W) is simultaneously illuminated by the intermediate optical beams, for simultaneous measuring of the respective sample (W) at two or more different polarizations (S and P polarizations).
(
As to claim 13, wherein the detection subsystem has at least two optical detectors (19; 23), each configured and/or positioned to detect light of a different polarization properties (first and second polarizations) and a second optical setup (21; 22) , wherein the second optical setup is configured and arranged to direct each output optical beam to a different optical detector.
As to claim 14, it appears that the at least one of the at least two optical detectors have a collection optical fiber (see figure 2A).
As to claim 15, Pande discloses an objective (16) located between a sample handler/wafer stage and the PBS (15; 17).
As to claim 16, wherein the optical head (see figures 2A-2B), the objective (16) and/or the sample (W) is locatable such that intermediate object beams are combined and conjugated by the PBS (15; 17) and the objective to conjugate to a plane of the objective pupil that corresponds to a specific test area or central test area of the sample.
As to claim 22, a processing unit (PU) configured to receive and process data outputted from the at least one optical detector (19; 23), to determine one or more physic properties of each sample being measured.
As to claim 24, Pande discloses the illumination subsystem has a single optical fiber (11a) for outputting the initial light source to be split by the light splitting element.
As to claim 26, wherein the first optical setup has two more shutters (12a-12c) each positioned and configured to limit passage of a corresponding input optical beam.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10-11, 27-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8, 10-11 and 27-29 have been found allowable since the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, neither discloses nor makes obvious a combination of an optical system for measuring properties of a sample comprising among other features, a first optical setup/or a third optical system having specified optical elements and specific functions as recited in the instant claims.
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ishigaki et al (U.S.Pat. 11,054,241); Aiyer (U.S.Pat. 6,768,543) and Van Dam et al (U.S.Pat. 10,809,193) disclose optical systems for measuring properties of samples and have been cited for technical background.
HUNG HENRY NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2882
Hvn
6/5/26
/HUNG V NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882