DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application, which is a 371 of PCT/JP2023/023750.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-9, 14-19 in the reply filed on 04/07/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 10-13, 20 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a nonelected invention.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
It is noted that the abstract begins with “The object of the present invention is to provide”. The examiner suggests its deletion.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
It is noted that the claimed invention is directed solely to a method. The examiner suggests amending the title to reflect same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1 line 2, from which claims 2-9, 14-19 depend, the term “cold-wall type” is considered indefinite because the addition of the word “type” to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite.
In claim 3 lines 2-3, the terms “trench-shaped” and “hole-shaped” are considered indefinite because the addition of the word “shaped” to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite. The same issue applies to claims 4, 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-9, 15, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manasevit (4,661,176) in view of Nishimura et al. (WO 2022/054812).
Manasevit teaches a method of growing epitaxial silicon film on insulating substrates (title) by chemical vapor deposition using a vertical, cold-wall quartz reactor where the substrates are heated (col.5 line 61 – col.6 line 19). While the reference teaches silane (col.5 line 64), the reference fails to teach a cyclic silane compound.
Nishimura teaches a method of producing a polysilane compound (title) for producing a silicon film using a CVD method (p.2 first paragraph) wherein the compound can be a cyclic hydride silane compound such as cyclohexane (p.27 last 6 paragraphs). It would have been obvious to use Nishimura’s precursor in the method of Manasevit with the expectation of success because Nishimura teaches of using cyclohexane as a precursor to produce a silicon film.
Regarding claim 2, the applicant requires an inert gas and a specific volume. Mannasevit teaches an inert atmosphere (col.4 lines 1-14). To utilize the inert gas in the claimed volume would have been obvious in the absence of a showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 5, Manasevit teaches a temperature of 450oC (col.4 lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 7, Manasevit teaches pyrolysis (col.5 lines 60-68) and Nishimura teaches cyclohexane (p.27 last 6 paragraphs).
Regarding claim 8, Nishimura teaches cyclohexane (p.27 last 6 paragraphs).
Regarding claim 9, Manasevit teaches a temperature of 950-1075oC (col.6 lines 1-19).
Regarding claim 15, Manasevit teaches a temperature of 450oC (col.4 lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 17, Manasevit teaches pyrolysis (col.5 lines 60-68) and Nishimura teaches cyclohexane (p.27 last 6 paragraphs).
Regarding claim 18, Nishimura teaches cyclohexane (p.27 last 6 paragraphs).
Regarding claim 19, Manasevit teaches a temperature of 950-1075oC (col.6 lines 1-19).
Claims 3-4, 6, 14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manasevit (4,661,176) and Nishimura et al. (WO 2022/054812) and further in view of Raaijmakers et al. (WO 99/457167). While Manasevit teaches thickness uniformity (col.6 lines 1019)., the reference fails to teach the claimed distribution. To utilize the claimed distribution would have been obvious in the absence of a showing of unexpected results. In addition, the reference fails to teach a trench.
Raaijmakers teaches of depositing silicon with high step coverage (title) onto a substrate having deep trenches (abstract) by chemical vapor deposition (p.2 lines 30-34). It would have been obvious to utilize trenches in the combination with the expectation of success depending on the desired use of the final product because Raaijmakers teaches of using a substrate with deep trenches to deposit silicon.
With respect to the claimed distribution, it is noted that the reference teaches deep trenches having an aspect ratio as high as 40:1 (abstract). Given such a teaching, it would have been obvious to utilize the claimed distribution in the combination in the absence of a showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 4, Raaijmakers teaches an aspect ratio of greater than about 2:1 (p.3 first paragraph) and as high as 40:1 (abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Raaijmakers teaches a pressure of 100 Torr or greater (p.10 lines 33-34).
Regarding claim 14, the applicant requires a specific distribution. It is noted that Raaijmakers teaches deep trenches having an aspect ratio as high as 40:1 (abstract). Given such a teaching, it would have been obvious to utilize the claimed distribution in the combination in the absence of a showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 16, Raaijmakers teaches a pressure of 100 Torr or greater (p.10 lines 33-34).
JP 2007-284639 teaches a method of forming a silicon film by using a higher-order silane compound (title) and has been cited as relevant art.
/BRET P CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718 05/04/2026