DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application, which is a 371 of PCT/JP2023/023750. Amended claims 1, 3-4, 10-11, 14 are noted.
The amendment dated 08/13/2026 has been entered and carefully considered. The examiner appreciates the amendments to the abstract, title, and claims. In view of said amendments, the objection to the abstract, title, the previous 112 rejection, and the previous art rejections have been withdrawn.
Claims 10-13, 20 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a nonelected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1 line 5, from which claims 2-9, 14-19 depend, the phrase “wherein the silicon film is an amorphous silicon film or a polycrystalline silicon film” is confusing as to whether said phrase is further limiting. Aren’t all silicon films either amorphous or polycrystalline? The examiner questions whether any silicon film can be outside of amorphous or polycrystalline.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-9, 15, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisanori (JP 2005050841) (see English translation) in view of Nishimura et al. (WO 2022/054812).
Hisanori teaches a process of forming a silicon film such as an amorphous silicon film or a polysilicon film on a substrate by a thermal CVD method using a cold wall type reaction vessel in which the substrate is heated on a susceptor (0002). The precursor can be silane based gas (0078). However, the reference fails to teach a cyclic silane compound.
Nishimura teaches a method of producing a polysilane compound (title) for producing a silicon film using a CVD method (p.2 first paragraph) wherein the compound can be a cyclic hydride silane compound such as cyclohexane (p.27 last 6 paragraphs). It would have been obvious to use Nishimura’s precursor in the method of Hisanori with the expectation of success because Nishimura teaches of using cyclohexane as a precursor to produce a silicon film.
Regarding claim 2, the applicant requires an inert gas and a specific volume. Hisanori teaches an inert atmosphere (0035). To utilize the inert gas in the claimed volume would have been obvious in the absence of a showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 5, Hisanori teaches a temperature of 400-800oC (0056).
Regarding claim 7, Nishimura teaches decomposition (pp.21-22) and cyclohexane (p.27 last 6 paragraphs).
Regarding claim 8, Nishimura teaches cyclohexane (p.27 last 6 paragraphs).
Regarding claim 9, Hisanori teaches a temperature of 400-800oC (0056).
Regarding claim 15, Hisanori teaches a temperature of 400-800oC (0056).
Regarding claim 17, Nishimura teaches decomposition (pp.21-22) and cyclohexane (p.27 last 6 paragraphs).
Regarding claim 18, Nishimura teaches cyclohexane (p.27 last 6 paragraphs).
Regarding claim 19, Hisanori teaches a temperature of 400-800oC (0056).
Claims 3-4, 6, 14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisanori (JP 2005050841) (see English translation) and Nishimura et al. (WO 2022/054812) and further in view of Raaijmakers et al. (WO 99/457167). The combination of Hisanori/Nishimura fails to teach the claimed distribution. To utilize the claimed distribution would have been obvious in the absence of a showing of unexpected results. In addition, the reference fails to teach a trench.
Raaijmakers teaches of depositing silicon with high step coverage (title) onto a substrate having deep trenches (abstract) by chemical vapor deposition (p.2 lines 30-34). It would have been obvious to utilize trenches in the combination with the expectation of success depending on the desired use of the final product because Raaijmakers teaches of using a substrate with deep trenches to deposit silicon.
With respect to the claimed distribution, it is noted that the reference teaches deep trenches having an aspect ratio as high as 40:1 (abstract). Given such a teaching, it would have been obvious to utilize the claimed distribution in the combination in the absence of a showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 4, Raaijmakers teaches an aspect ratio of greater than about 2:1 (p.3 first paragraph) and as high as 40:1 (abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Raaijmakers teaches a pressure of 100 Torr or greater (p.10 lines 33-34).
Regarding claim 14, the applicant requires a specific distribution. It is noted that Raaijmakers teaches deep trenches having an aspect ratio as high as 40:1 (abstract). Given such a teaching, it would have been obvious to utilize the claimed distribution in the combination in the absence of a showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 16, Raaijmakers teaches a pressure of 100 Torr or greater (p.10 lines 33-34).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that Manasevit teaches a heteroepitaxial silicon film (p.10 2nd full paragraph) and that one would not have been motivated to improve the quality of the epitaxial film (p.10 last paragraph) now that the claim recites an amorphous and polycrystalline film (p.10 4th full paragraph).
The examiner agrees and notes the new ground of rejection.
Applicant next argues that Manasevit fails to teach the claimed distribution and trench (p.11) and that Raaijmakers fails to remedy the issue with claim 1.
The examiner agrees and notes the citation of Raaijmakers. With respect to claim 1, this issue has been addressed above.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not deemed persuasive.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRET P CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718 09/11/2026