DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 12, and 14 – 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Price (US 2018/0307005 A1).
With respect to independent claim 1, Price teaches in Figs. 18 and 19 A an optical imaging system having a focal plane and optical elements, for imaging a biological sample, comprising:
a stage 207; see paragraph [0100] holding the sample wherein the stage is configured to continuously move the sample in at least one direction parallel to the focal plane;
at least one non-point-like light source 230; see paragraph [0105] emitting at least one wavelength an IR source 284;
at least one non-point-like light source 240; see paragraph [[0105[ disposed adjacent to a plane conjugate to the focal plane of the microscope as shown in Fig. 19A, and
a detector camera 245; see paragraphs [0119 and 0138] which forms an image of the sample on the moving sample stage, wherein the detector has at least one row of pixels to which the image of the sample moves perpendicular during the imaging process.
With respect to dependent claim 2, Price teaches in paragraph [0183] wherein the detector is a time delayed integration (TDI) detector.
With respect to dependent claim 3, Price teaches in paragraph [0111] wherein the at least one non-point-like light source emits a plurality of wavelengths.
With respect to dependent claim 4, Price teaches wherein the at least one non-point-like light source comprises at least one of a laser, an array of lasers, an optical fiber, an array of optical fibers, a laser diode, an array of laser diodes, an LED, an array of LEDs in paragraph [0111], an incandescent lamp, an array of incandescent lamps, a gas-discharge lamp, and an array of gas-discharge lamps.
With respect to dependent claim 5, Price teaches in paragraph [0111] wherein the at least one non-point-like light source is anamorphotically imaged onto a sample plane containing the biological sample.
With respect to dependent claim 12, Price teaches wherein the optical elements include at least one optical element chosen from the group consisting of a light amplitude modulating element, a light phase modulating element, a light refracting element in paragraph [0107], and wherein at least one optical element 316 and 293 is disposed in an intermediate image plane of the optical imaging system.
With respect to dependent claim 14, Price teaches a DNA in paragraph [0034] sequencing system using the optical imaging system of claim 1.
With respect to dependent claim 15, Price teaches in paragraph [0034] an RNA sequencing system using the optical imaging system of claim 1.
With respect to dependent claim 16, Price teaches in paragraph [0034] system for performing spatial transcriptomics, using the optical imaging system of claim 1.
With respect to dependent claim 17, Price teaches in paragraph [0034] a system for performing spatial genomics, using the optical imaging system of claim 1.
With respect to dependent claim 18, Price teaches in paragraph [0034] a system for performing spatial proteomics, using the optical imaging system of claim 1.
With respect to dependent claim 19, Price teaches in paragraph [0034] a system for imaging of cell monolayer, using the optical imaging system of claim 1.
With respect to dependent claims 20 – 21, Price teaches in paragraph [0034] a system for performing imaging of cell co-cultures, using the optical imaging system of claim 1 and a system for performing imaging of tissue sections, using the optical imaging system of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 – 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price, and further in view of Azimi (US 2011/0312622 A1).
The teaching of Price has been discussed above.
With respect to dependent claim 6, Price is silent with a downstream workflow, wherein the downstream workflow includes at least one of proteomics, genomics, and transcriptomics.
Azimi, a pertinent art, teaches a downstream workflow in paragraph [0016] and in paragraph [0157] transcriptomics. In view of this, it would be obvious at the time of the claimed invention was filed to modify the teaching of Price in order to employ in applications such as genome sequencing. This is in consistency with the Supreme Court Decision of the KSR. V. International Co.: applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to dependent claim 7, Price teaches in paragraph [0096] a wavelength separating element, wherein the wavelength separating element separates wavelengths by diffraction, refraction, transmission or reflection.
With respect to dependent claim 8, Price is silent with a downstream workflow, wherein the downstream workflow includes antigen retrieval of tissue, tissue lysing, padlock probe hybridization and ligation on RNA or reverse transcription of RNA, and circularization of the padlock probe and enzymatic amplification.
Azimi teaches downstream workflow as discussed above in paragraph [0016]. In view of this, it would be obvious at the time of the claimed invention was filed to modify the teaching of Price in order to use for rolling circle amplification. This is in consistency with the Supreme Court Decision of the KSR. V. International Co.: applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to dependent claim 9, Price is silent with wherein the imaging system further includes a methodology which distinguishes genetic base pairs, and therefore forms at least a portion of a DNA sequencing methodology.
In paragraph [0047], Azimi teaches the limitation of claim 9. In view of this, it would be obvious at the time of the claimed invention was filed to modify the teaching of Price in order to use in DNA sequencing. This is in consistency with the Supreme Court Decision of the KSR. V. International Co.: applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to dependent claim 10, Price teaches in paragraph [0096] wherein the wavelength separating element comprises at least one of a prism, a wavelength dependent turning mirror and a diffraction grating.
With respect to dependent claim 11, Price teaches in paragraph [0096] wherein the wavelength separating element comprises an adjacent angled mirror with a plurality of surfaces, wherein at least one surface is dichroic.
With respect to dependent claim 13, Price teaches in paragraphs [0107 – 0110] wherein the intermediate image plane is also in image plane of the detector.
Conclusion
KIHO KIM, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/Kiho Kim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884