DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“the ADCS system is configured to change the orientation of the satellite with respect to the sun between a first position in which the radiative surface points away from the sun and a second position in which the radiative surface is exposed to the sun” in claim 1 which corresponds with ¶10 (which repeats the language from the claim), ¶54, and ¶77-¶79.
“the ADCS system is configured to: change the orientation of the satellite by rotating the satellite around an axis of rotation (Z), wherein a vector normal to the radiative surface extends away from the satellite body in a first direction (Y) substantially perpendicular to the axis of rotation (Z); and maintain the satellite in the second position to control a satellite temperature by absorption of incident heat from solar radiation received via the radiative surface.” in claim 1, which corresponds with ¶54 and ¶77-¶79.
“wherein the ADCS system is configured to change the orientation of the satellite in response to a signal from the one or more temperature sensor(s)” in claim 5, which corresponds with ¶14 (which repeats the language from the claim) and ¶79 with the relevant parts reading: “The ADCS controller 341 is further configured to receive information from or more sensors 347. The one or more sensors 347 are configured to measure various quantities during the flight of the satellite, such as sun-sensor, star tracker 170, temperature sensors and/or magnetometer for measuring local magnetic field... The ADCS unit 302 is configured to change the orientation of the satellite with respect to the sun between the first position in which the radiative surface points away from the sun and the second position in which the radiative surface is exposed to the sun for controlling thermal radiation heat transfer of the satellite.”
“wherein the ADCS system is configured to maintain the satellite in the second position for at least 5 minutes, at least 10 minutes, or at least 15 minutes” in claim 7, which corresponds with ¶16 and ¶32 (which repeat the language from the claim), ¶65 which reads “According to an example, the satellite is maintained in the second position for a total of at least 5 minutes, optionally at least 10 minutes, optionally at least 15 minutes to increase the satellite's temperature by several degrees °C”
“wherein the ADCS system is configured to maintain the satellite in the second position until a temperature set point has been reached” in claim 8, which corresponds with ¶17 and ¶33 (which repeat the language from the claim), ¶65 with the relevant parts reading “Instead of using a fixed duration, it is also possible to use a temperature set point. In one example, the temperature set point is determined by the upper temperature limit of the battery and/or other components of the satellite. For example, if the battery temperature reaches an upper temperature limit, for example 18 °C, the satellite is no longer maintained in the second position.”
“wherein the ADCS system is configured to control the orientation of the satellite to alternate between the first and second position to selectively provide for heating and cooling of the satellite” in claim 16, which corresponds with ¶25 (which repeats the language from the claim) and ¶65 with the relevant parts reading “Accordingly, by controlling the orientation of the satellite to alternate between the first and second position, the radiative surface selectively provides for heating and cooling of the satellite.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 27, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith (US 9745083 B2).
Regarding claim 30, Smith (US 9745083 B2) discloses a method of controlling thermal radiation heat transfer of a synthetic aperture radar 'SAR' satellite (Smith, figure 3, item 300), wherein the satellite comprises a satellite body (Smith, figure 3, item 380) including at least one radiative surface configured to emit satellite heat to space (Smith, figure 3, items 391-394), a SAR antenna attached to the satellite body (Smith, figure 3, items 350, 360, and 380-1; antenna can be used as synthetic aperture radar antenna), and an attitude determination and control 'ADCS' system for controlling an orientation of the satellite travelling in orbit around Earth (Smith, col 1 lines 47-50), wherein the method performed by the ADCS system comprises:
changing the orientation of the satellite with respect to the sun between a first position in which the radiative surface points away from the sun and a second position in which the radiative surface is exposed to the sun (Smith, col 8 lines 15-20, satellite rotated so that a radiator is changed from being in shadow to face the sun); and
maintaining the satellite in the second position to control a satellite temperature by absorption of incident heat from solar radiation received via the radiative surface (Smith col 8 lines 11-14).
Regarding claim 21, Smith discloses the method according to claim 30, the axis of rotation (Z) extending substantially perpendicular to a travel direction of the satellite (Smith, figure 4, item 370).
Regarding claim 27, Smith discloses the method according to claims 30, wherein the method is performed between imaging missions (Smith, col 4 lines 57-61 and col 8 lines 44-49; claim 13) and wherein the method is performed at a predetermined position in the orbit, a predetermined point in time and/or in response to a measured temperature (Smith, claim 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-9, 12-13, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 9745083 B2) in view of Judd (US 20150367966 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Smith (US 9745083 B2) discloses a synthetic aperture radar 'SAR' satellite (Smith, figure 3, item 300) comprising:
a satellite body (Smith, figure 3, item 380) including at least one radiative surface configured to emit satellite heat to space (Smith, figure 3, items 391-394);
a SAR antenna attached to the satellite body (Smith, figure 3, items 350, 360, and 380-1; antenna can be used as synthetic aperture radar antenna); and
an attitude determination and control 'ADCS' system for controlling an orientation of the satellite travelling in orbit around Earth (Smith, col 1 lines 47-50, reaction wheels), wherein the ADCS system is configured to change the orientation of the satellite with respect to the sun between a first position in which the radiative surface points away from the sun and a second position in which the radiative surface is exposed to the sun (Smith, col 8 lines 15-20, satellite rotated so that a radiator is changed from being in shadow to face the sun); wherein the ADCS system is configured to:
change the orientation of the satellite by rotating the satellite around an axis of rotation (Z) (Smith, claim 1, satellite rotated around an axis of symmetry of the beam pattern), wherein a vector normal to the radiative surface extends away from the satellite body in a first direction (Y) substantially perpendicular to the axis of rotation (Z) (Smith, claim 1, the normal to a surface of each radiator surface is substantially perpendicular to the axis of rotation); and
maintain the satellite in the second position to control a satellite temperature by absorption of incident heat from solar radiation received via the radiative surface (Smith col 8 lines 11-14), however
Smith fails to explicitly teach a sun sensor, star sensor, magnetometer, or other similar sensor for determining satellite attitude as required in the limitations which invoke 35 USC 112(f).
Judd (US 20150367966 A1) teaches an ADCS system which is configured to change the orientation of the satellite with respect to the sun between a first position in which the radiative surface points away from the sun and a second position in which the radiative surface is exposed to the sun (Judd, abstract and ¶23, ADCS uses sun sensor & star sensor/magnetometer as sensor inputs, calculates changes in orientation, and perform orientation changes via reaction wheels in response).
Smith and Judd are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of spacecraft attitude control. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Smith with the ADCS including attitude sensors used for controlling the attitude control systems of Judd with a reasonable expectation of success in order to detect and control spacecraft attitude.
Regarding claim 4, Smith as modified by Judd teaches the satellite according to claim 1, wherein the axis of rotation (Z) extends substantially perpendicular to a travel direction of the satellite (Smith, figures 3-5, axis of rotation is perpendicular to direction of travel) and wherein, in the second position, an angle between the first direction (Y) and solar radiation incident on the radiative surface is 90° or less (Smith, figures 5-6, item 610, angle of incidence changes by 90 degrees, and thus the surface will have an angle of incidence of 90 degrees or less when rotated).
Regarding claim 7, Smith as modified by Judd teaches the satellite according to claim 1, except:
wherein the ADCS system is configured to maintain the satellite in the second position for at least 15 minutes.
However, Smith also teaches maintaining the satellite in the second position for a time period (Smith, col 9 lines 14-18, satellite rotated one or more times an orbit; note that a low earth orbit has a period of at least 90 minutes with higher orbits having larger orbital periods).
Accordingly it would also have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to maintain the satellite in a second position for at least 15 minutes with a reasonable expectation of success in order to distribute thermal stress/wear across the satellite and to control overall satellite temperature (Smith, col 8 lines 3-20).
Regarding claim 8, Smith as modified by Judd teaches the satellite according to claim 1, wherein the ADCS system is configured to maintain the satellite in the second position until a temperature set point has been reached (Smith, claim 10).
Regarding claim 9, Smith as modified by Judd teaches the satellite according to claim 1, wherein the ADCS system is configured to maintain the satellite in the first position to control the satellite temperature by emission of satellite heat to space via the radiative surface (Smith col 8 lines 11-14).
Regarding claim 12, Smith as modified by Judd teaches the satellite according to claim 1, except:
wherein the radiative surface covers an area of at least 0.15 m2
However, the radiator surfaces of Smith have inherent area.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the radiative surface cover an area of at least 0.15 m2 in order to allow the radiator to radiate a minimum amount of heat/energy away from the satellite, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 13, Smith as modified by Judd teaches the satellite according to claim 1, wherein the radiative surface comprises part of a radiator panel forming part of an existing structure of the satellite body (Smith, figure 3, items 391-394).
Regarding claim 15, Smith as modified by Judd teaches the satellite according to claim 1, wherein the satellite further comprises one or more solar panel(s) attached to the satellite body (Smith, figure 3, items 310 and 320),
wherein a surface normal to a solar surface of the solar panel(s) extends away from the satellite body in a direction substantially opposite to the first direction (Y) (Smith, figure 3, item 340, hinge and associated mechanism shown to rotate the solar panels such that they can be oriented in a direction aligned with or opposite to the radiator surface).
Regarding claim 16, Smith as modified by Judd teaches the satellite according to claim 1, wherein the ADCS system is configured to control the orientation of the satellite to alternate between the first and second position to selectively provide for heating and cooling of the satellite (Smith, col 8 lines 15-20, satellite rotated so that a radiator is changed from being in shadow to face the sun).
Regarding claim 17, Smith as modified by Judd teaches the satellite according to claim 1, further comprising a SAR antenna attached to the satellite body, wherein the SAR antenna faces towards Earth in the first and second position (Smith, figures 3-5, items 370 and 400).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 9745083 B2) in view of Judd (US 20150367966 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gelon (US 6073888 A).
Regarding claim 5, Smith as modified by Judd teaches the satellite according to claim 1, except:
further comprising one or more temperature sensor(s) for determining a satellite temperature and/or a temperature of one or more components of the satellite, wherein the ADCS system is configured to change the orientation of the satellite in response to a signal from the one or more temperature sensor(s).
Gelon (US 6073888 A) teaches one or more temperature sensor(s) for determining a satellite temperature and/or a temperature of one or more components of the satellite (Gelon, figure 3, items 54, 56, 58, and 60).
Smith also teaches wherein the ADCS system is configured to change the orientation of the satellite in response to a temperature (Smith, claim 10).
Smith and Gelon are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of satellite temperature management. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the ADCS of Smith with the temperature sensor of Gelon with a reasonable expectation of success in order to monitor the satellite temperature.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 9745083 B2) in view of Judd (US 20150367966 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hemminger (NPL titled “Solar Absorptance and Thermal Emittance of Some Common Spacecraft Thermal Coatings” by John H. Hemminger).
Regarding claim 10, Smith as modified by Judd teaches the satellite according to claim 1, wherein the radiative surface has a solar absorptivity (Smith, radiative surface have a solar absorptivity), except:
wherein the radiative surface has a solar absorptivity between 10% and 60%.
Hemminger (NPL titled “Solar Absorptance and Thermal Emittance of Some Common Spacecraft Thermal Coatings” by John H. Hemminger) teaches a surface having a solar absorptivity between 10% and 60% (Hemminger, page 8, GSFC White Paint NS-37, as of 0.36).
Smith and Hemminger are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of spacecraft thermal design. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the radiative surface of Smith with the GSFC White Paint NS-37 of Hemminger with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide IR high emissivity for rejecting thermal energy at normal operating temperatures and moderate absorptivity for rejecting solar energy.
Regarding claim 11, Smith as modified by Judd teaches the satellite according to claim 1, wherein the radiative surface provides an infrared 'IR' emissivity and a solar absorptivity (Smith, radiative surface have an inherent IR emissivity and solar absorptivity), except:
wherein the radiative surface provides an infrared 'IR' emissivity of at least 0.85.
Hemminger (NPL titled “Solar Absorptance and Thermal Emittance of Some Common Spacecraft Thermal Coatings” by John H. Hemminger) teaches a surface having an infrared 'IR' emissivity of at least 0.85 (Hemminger, page 8 GSFC White Paint NS-37, as of 0.36 and en of 0.91).
Smith and Hemminger are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of spacecraft thermal design. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the radiative surface of Smith with the GSFC White Paint NS-37 of Hemminger with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide IR high emissivity for rejecting thermal energy at normal operating temperatures and moderate absorptivity for rejecting solar energy.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 9745083 B2) in view of Judd (US 20150367966 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Babilo (US 20190152626 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Smith as modified by Judd teaches the satellite according to claim 1, except:
wherein the radiative surface comprises an adhesive tape comprising a polyvinyl fluoride film.
Babilo (US 20190152626 A1) teaches a radiative surface (Babilo, figure 1, item 22) comprising an adhesive tape comprising a polyvinyl fluoride film (Babilo, figure 2a-b, item 46a-b, ¶60, adhesive tape including a release liner made optionally of polyvinyl fluoride film).
Smith and Babilo are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of spacecraft thermal control. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the radiative surface of Smith with the adhesive tape comprising a polyvinyl fluoride film of Babilo with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide an easy to apply coating for thermal control (Babilo, ¶8).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 9745083 B2) in view of Judd (US 20150367966 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Johnson (US 20110297794 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Smith as modified by Judd teaches the satellite according to claim 1, except:
wherein the satellite is a microsatellite having a mass between 50 kg and 250 kg, or a small satellite having a mass of approximately 500 kg.
Johnson (US 20110297794 A) teaches a satellite which is a microsatellite having a mass between 50 kg and 250 kg (Johnson, page 8, Mass of satellite listed as 50 kg).
Smith and Johnson are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of satellite design. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the satellite of Smith with microsatellite having a mass between 50 kg and 250 kg of Johnson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce launch costs.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 9745083 B2) in view of Judd (US 20150367966 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ejeckam (US 20180269130 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Smith as modified by Judd teaches the satellite according to claim 1, except:
wherein the satellite is a microsatellite having a mass between 50 kg and 250 kg, or a small satellite having a mass of approximately 500 kg.
Ejeckam (US 20180269130 A1) teaches a satellite which is a microsatellite having a mass between 50 kg and 250 kg (Ejeckam, claim 5).
Smith and Ejeckam are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of satellite design. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the satellite of Ejeckam with microsatellite having a mass between of approximately 500 kg of Johnson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce launch costs.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 9745083 B2).
Regarding claim 23, Smith discloses the method according to claim 30, further including:
maintaining the satellite in the first position to control the satellite temperature by emission of satellite heat to space via the radiative surface (Smith col 8 lines 11-14); and
alternating the orientation of the satellite between the first and second position to selectively provide for heating and cooling of the satellite (Smith, col 8 lines 3-20), except:
Smith also teaches maintaining the satellite in the second position for a time period (Smith, col 9 lines 14-18, satellite rotated one or more times an orbit; note that a low earth orbit has a period of at least 90 minutes with higher orbits having larger orbital periods).
Accordingly it would also have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to maintain the satellite in a second position for at least 15 minutes with a reasonable expectation of success in order to distribute thermal stress/wear across the satellite and to control overall satellite temperature (Smith, col 8 lines 3-20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8 of applicant’s reply, filed 08/26/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 USC 112(b) for claims 4, 7, 10-13, 18, 23, and 27-30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. These rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that:
Smith fails to discloses/teaches an ADCS that is configured to maintain its satellite in a second position in which the radiative surface is exposed to the sun to control a satellite temperature by absorption of incident heat from solar radiation received via the radiative surface per claim 1 and similarly with claim 30. Specifically, because the satellite of Smith is designed to operate at fixed orientations with respect to the Earth and not the sun so that it may provide communications.
With respect to claim 1, the relevant limitation reads “wherein the ADCS system is configured to: … maintain the satellite in the second position to control a satellite temperature by absorption of incident heat from solar radiation received via the radiative surface” which only requires that the ADCS is capable of maintaining the satellite in a second position with respect to the sun. Smith teaches a satellite with a system capable of this and thus meets the scope of claim 1.
With respect to claim 30 (and also relevant to claim 1), when placed in specific orbits, (for example a polar orbit along the dawn dusk line of Earth), maintaining a specific orientation with respect to Sun and maintaining a specific orientation with respect to the Earth (eg so that an antenna is pointed at Earth) can be done simultaneously. As such, nothing in Smith precludes it from reading on applicant’s claims.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be deterred from using the ADCS system of Smith for maintaining the satellite in a second position with respect to the sun because the satellite is a communications satellite which is designed to maintain a fixed orientation with respect to the Earth in order to operate which is mutually exclusive with maintaining a fixed orientation with respect to the sun.
While being deterred from maintaining a position does not overcome anticipation or obviousness, applicants supposition that maintaining an orientation relative to the sun and Earth are mutually exclusive is not true. A dusk dawn sun synchronous orbit would have these orientations coincide, hence in such an orbit around the Earth, Smith could and would maintain a satellite in a fixed orientation with respect to the sun. This would also be true for any polar orbit following a path above the dusk/dawn divide on earth. An orbit at one of the Earth-sun Lagrange points would also be able to maintain fixed orientation with respect to both the Earth and the sun. As such, this rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 3473602 A teaches an emissivity ranging between approximately .9 and .1 dependent on temperature and an associated reflectivity
US 7357356 B1 teaches sensor array used to control reaction wheels
US 20250038425 A1 teaches regulating temperature by changing attitude (see ¶70).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN ANDREW YANKEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642