Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/27/2024 was being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0099601 A1) in view of Jiang et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0149769 A1), Liu et al. (CN 110989031 A) and Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0310653 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Chen teaches the primary inspection platform. Chen teaches the claimed autonomous inspection system / inspection device as a radiation inspection apparatus 20 having a radiation inspection device with a ray source, detector, and inspection channel for an object to pass through, with traveling wheels 27 provided at the bottom of the device (Chen [0006]-[0007], [0043]-[0045], Fig. 5).
Chen also teaches a plurality of scanning channels by teaching a row of plural objects, completion of scanning on that row, 90-degree in-situ wheel rotation, lateral movement to another row, and scanning of another row. The claimed “scanning channel” is mapped to Chen’s row/inspection-channel path for a plurality of objects because each row is a defined scan lane through which the inspection channel 24 is aligned and used (Chen [0003], [0016]-[0018], [0026], [0046], [0068]-[0070], Figs. 1-4).
Chen teaches the claimed movable inspection device because the traveling wheels 27 move the radiation inspection apparatus 20 along the extension direction of the inspection channel and in the perpendicular/lateral direction (Chen [0045]-[0046], [0050]-[0057], Figs. 1-10).
Chen fails to expressly disclose the claimed first laser radar device and second laser radar device arranged on the inspection device for the specific region-level and scanning-channel-level object-existence determinations, the staged logic in which a first laser radar determines whether an object exists in the inspection region and a second laser radar determines whether the object exists in the scanning channel and lastly that each first and second end of each scanning channel is provided with a node or that the moving path is guided using the node after determining that the object exists.
Jiang teaches the missing first and second laser radar devices. Jiang teaches a mobile scanning inspection system 10 with vehicle body 102 and inspection arm 104, where first inspection device 108 and second inspection device 110 are provided on cross arm 1042. Jiang states that the first and second inspection devices may be regional laser scanners, such as SICK TiM351 scanners, and may emit laser fans / laser inspection planes S1 and S2 by circular scanning (Jiang [0035]-[0037], Figs. 1-3, 6).
Jiang also teaches detecting an object of preset size in divided inspection regions A1-A3 and issuing alarm signals to controller 112. This teaches laser-based object presence detection around the moving inspection structure and divided-region/channel detection (Jiang [0038]-[0047], Figs. 4-7).
Liu teaches the staged first/second sensing logic not expressly disclosed by Chen. Liu receives first sensor information from a first sensor scanning a work area, determines whether a human body/object exists in the work area, starts a second sensor to scan at least one direction when presence is determined, and uses second sensor information to determine a subregion (Liu claim 1; [0036]-[0042] Figures 1 - 4; machine-EN).
Lee teaches the node/topological guidance missing from Chen. Lee teaches generating a topological map for robot navigation by building node data and edge data, where an edge is a line connecting two nodes, nodes are waypoints, and connected-edge information is used to plan a suitable path for a mobile robot (Lee [0019]-[0021], [0068]-[0070], [0093]-[0107], Figs. 2, 7-9).
In view of the utility of Chen continuous multi-row inspection apparatus, a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to add Jiang’s laser scanners and Liu’s staged first/second sensing so that the moving inspection device can detect a target in the broader inspection region and then confirm the relevant scanning channel before positioning for radiation inspection. The modification predictably improves collision avoidance and positioning in the multi-row inspection site (Chen [0003], [0026], [0046]; Jiang [0037]-[0042]; Liu [0003]-[0005]).
In view of the utility of Lee’s node/edge topological map for safe robot navigation, it would have been obvious to represent the first and second ends of Chen’s row/scan-channel paths as nodes and to guide Chen’s moving inspection device using those nodes after object detection. Chen already requires controlled movement/rotation between scan rows, while Lee supplies the ordinary node/edge path representation for mobile-robot navigation (Chen [0046], [0051]-[0052]; Lee [0019]-[0021], [0093]-[0107]).
With regards to claim 2, refer to the rejection of claim 1. Specifically, see Lee, wherein Lee teaches the claimed topological map server/function by disclosing a topological map generation apparatus 100 and topological map generation unit 120 configured to create a topological map for robot navigation from node data and edge data. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the claimed “topological map server” reads on a computer/service/apparatus configured to create the topological map (Lee [0019]-[0021], [0029]-[0031], [0062]-[0070], Figs. 1-2).
With regards to claim 3, Chen teaches multiple rows of objects arranged as scan rows/channels at intervals and teaches lateral movement from one row to another after completing a scan. The first and second ends of each row/channel are inherent geometric ends of the row path (Chen [0016]-[0018], [0026], [0046], Figs. 1-4).
Lee teaches node/edge topology in which nodes are connected by edges, and node and edge data store route/path information. Applying Lee to Chen makes the nodes at row/channel ends arranged in the first direction and the paired ends of a given channel arranged in a second direction because Chen’s plural scan rows are laterally spaced and each row extends longitudinally (Lee [0096]-[0110], Figs. 7-9; Chen Figs. 1-4).
In view of the utility of converting plural scan lanes into waypoint/edge paths, it would have been obvious to lay out Chen’s row/channel endpoints as Lee nodes in the directions corresponding to the row spacing and row length (Chen [0046]; Lee [0096]-[0107]).
With regard to claim 4, Chen teaches a positioning device by disclosing detection devices including infrared, laser, ultrasound, vision, buried magnetic stripe, or GPS positioning elements to acquire position/posture information of the radiation inspection apparatus 20 (Chen [0052], Figs. 5-10).
Chen teaches a controller electrically connected to the inspection device and configured to control movement/rotation by controlling rotating speeds and steering angles of traveling wheels 27, including receiving status parameters and control instructions (Chen [0050]-[0052], Figs. 5-10).
Lee supplies the processing/map function for acquiring/selecting a node because Lee builds node data and edge data, uses connected-edge data to plan a suitable path, and includes node identifiers and physical locations (Lee [0099]-[0107], Figs. 7-9).
In view of the utility of selecting the next waypoint after object detection, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Chen with the teachings such as that taught by Lee to include the processing device in Chen’s inspections system to acquire the relevant node in the first or second direction and instruct Chen’s controller to move/rotate the inspection apparatus accordingly.
With regard to claim 5, Chen teaches the claimed arm, first vehicle body, second vehicle body, and passage in addition to a first vehicle body 21, second vehicle body 22, arm rack 23, and a door-shaped frame forming inspection channel/passage 24 through which the object passes during scanning (Chen [0049], [0064]-[0065], Figs. 5, 11-13).
Chen teaches the controller controlling movement and rotation of the first and second vehicle bodies because the traveling wheels 27 are provided on the first and second vehicle bodies and the controller controls rotating speeds and steering angles based on status parameters or control instructions (Chen [0050]-[0052], Figs. 5-10).
The claimed positioning device arranged on the arm is at least suggested because Chen teaches positioning elements and detection devices for the radiation inspection apparatus, and placing such positioning hardware on the arm rack 23 of the moving inspection structure would have been a predictable mounting location for determining apparatus location (Chen [0052], Figs. 5-13).
With regard to claim 11, Chen teaches the claimed limitations according to claim 1, but fails to expressly disclose the topological map comprising a parking point for parking the inspection device.
Lee teaches the topological map comprising a parking point by disclosing node properties including StopTime and Service, and a Service value of “Charging_Station.” A charging/station service node is a parking/standby point where the mobile robot may stop or park (Lee [0099]-[0107], Fig. 8).
In view of the utility of parking or holding a mobile inspection device at a known service/standby node, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Chen with the teachings such as that taught by Lee in order to include a parking point in the topological map in Chen’s inspection system.
Claim(s) 6 - 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0099601 A1), Jiang et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0149769 A1), Liu et al. (CN 110989031 A) and Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0310653 A1) in view of Hall (US Pub. No. 2010/0020306 A).
With regard to claim 6, Chen modified teaches opposed first and second vehicle bodies 21 and 22 and inner/outer sides around passage 24 (Chen [0049]-[0052], [0064]-[0065], Figs. 5-13).
Chen does not teach first and second laser radar devices with 360-degree coverage
Jiang teaches first and second laser scanners on the mobile inspection structure (Jiang [0035]-[0037], Figs. 1-3, 6);
Hall teaches 360-degree LiDAR coverage (Hall [0033]-[0037], Figs. 13-15);
Notice that combining all of these teachings renders obvious arranging the first radar on an outer side for surrounding-region detection and arranging the second radar on an inner side for passage/channel detection.
In view of the utility of reducing blind spots around a large moving inspection structure, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made use Hall’s 360-degree LiDAR coverage as the laser radar coverage for the first and second laser radar devices in the Chen / Jiang system.
With regard to claim 7, Chen shows a two-body inspection device with opposed first and second vehicle bodies and a center passage (Chen [0049], Figs. 5-10).
Chen also does not teach the exact claimed placement of first laser radar sub-devices on outer sides of both opposed vehicle bodies and a second laser radar on an inner side.
Jiang teaches that the first and second inspection devices may be laser scanners mounted on both sides of the cross arm for face protection (Jiang [0037], Figs. 1-3).
Hall teaches compact 360-degree LiDAR with multiple beams/pairs (Hall [0033]-[0037], Figs. 13-15).
In view of the utility of balanced outer-side object detection and reduced blind spots on both sides of a two-body inspection passage, it would have been obvious to duplicate the first laser radar device as two outer first laser radar sub-devices, one on each opposed vehicle body, and arrange them symmetrically about the inspection device center point. The duplication/placement is a predictable use of known sensors on a symmetric mobile frame
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0099601 A1), Jiang et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0149769 A1), Liu et al. (CN 110989031 A) and Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0310653 A1) in view of Cai et al. (CN 105403162 A).
With regards to claim 8, Chen teaches the base passage structure for claim 8. Chen teaches first vehicle body 21 and second vehicle body 22 on the sides of inspection channel/passage 24 and arm rack 23 above the passage (Chen [0049], [0064]-[0065], Figs. 5, 11-13).
Chen modified fails to expressly teach two third laser radar devices on the inner sides of the two vehicle bodies for measuring object width, and does not expressly teach a fourth laser radar device on the arm for measuring object height.
Jiang teaches additional laser inspection devices on a mobile inspection arm and a height-protection third inspection device 302 (Jiang [0049]-[0052], Fig. 8).
Cai teaches the missing dimension-measurement laser radars. Cai teaches an automatic vehicle-outline dimension measuring method using laser single-line radars / measuring sensors to measure a semi-trailer vehicle’s length, width, height and axle distance (Cai claim 1; [0005]-[0011], Figs. 1-2; machine-EN).
Cai teaches side/width measurement and height measurement by using measuring sensors/radars arranged at both sides / gantry positions to determine vehicle width and height, with Fig. 4 showing width measurement geometry and Fig. 5 showing height measurement geometry (Cai [0018]-[0025], Figs. 1, 3-5; machine-EN).
In view of the utility of checking whether an object fits through the inspection passage and avoiding collision with the opposed vehicle bodies and arm rack, it would have been obvious to add Cai’s width and height laser-radar dimension measurement to Chen’s passage. The side measurement radars would be placed on the inner sides of vehicle bodies 21 and 22, and the height radar would be placed on arm rack 23, because those locations surround the object and correspond to Cai’s side/upper measurement geometry.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0099601 A1), Jiang et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0149769 A1), Liu et al. (CN 110989031 A), Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0310653 A1) and Cai et al. (CN 105403162 A) in view of Hall (US Pub. No. 2010/0020306 A1).
With regards to claim 9, Chen modified teach the base system and laser-radar locations for claim 9. Chen teaches the inspection device/passage; Jiang teaches first and second regional laser scanners; Cai teaches single-line laser radars for vehicle dimension measurement (Chen [0049]-[0052]; Jiang [0035]-[0037]; Cai claim 1, [0018]-[0025]).
Chen modified fail to expressly teach laser-radar line count, the claimed multi-line first/second laser radar devices or the multi-line first/second detector rationale by itself.
Hall teaches the missing multi-line/multi-beam first and second laser radar configuration. Hall teaches a LiDAR system with multiple vertical beams, 64 emitter/detector pairs, 360-degree field of view, and dense point-cloud measurement (Hall [0013]-[0014], [0033]-[0037], Figs. 13-15).
Cai teaches the claimed single-line configuration for third/fourth laser radar dimension measurement because its dimension measurement sensors are laser single-line radars used for vehicle length, width, height and axle-distance measurement (Cai claim 1; [0018]-[0025], Figs. 1-5; machine-EN).
In view of the utility of richer surrounding/channel detection, it would have been obvious to configure the first and second laser radars as Hall-type multi-line/multi-beam LiDAR devices.
In view of the utility of simple planar width/height measurement, it would have been obvious to configure Cai’s third and fourth dimension-measurement radars as single-line laser transmitters (Hall [0013]-[0014], [0033]-[0037]; Cai [0018]-[0025]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0099601 A1) in view of Jiang et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0149769 A1), Liu et al. (CN 110989031 A) and Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0310653 A1) in view of Chen 2018 (Us Pub. No. 2018/0059036 A1).
With regards to claim 10, Chen modified teaches the claimed limitations according to claim 5 and further discloses the base X-ray/ray inspection structure. Chen teaches a ray source and detector cooperating to scan an object in inspection channel 24; it teaches the ray source in first vehicle body 21 and detector on arm rack 23 and/or first vehicle body 21 (Chen [0044], [0049], [0064]-[0065], Figs. 5, 11-13).
Chen modified does not cleanly teach the exact dependent-claim arrangement in which the ray source is arranged on one of the first and second vehicle bodies and the detector is arranged on the other one of the first and second vehicle bodies, opposite each other, with the object located between the source and detector during detection.
Chen 2018 teaches the missing opposite-body source/detector arrangement. Chen 2018 teaches a movable divided inspection system including first radiation source 4 mounted on first AGV 1 and first detection means / detector arm 5 mounted on second AGV 2; the first and second AGVs form a scanning passage for an article to be scanned between them (Chen 2018 [0009]-[0012], [0024]-[0026], Figs. 1-3).
Chen 2018 further teaches that the divided source/detector arrangement is useful for intelligent ports, unattended operation, and flexible movement where AGV inspection systems are needed (Chen 2018 [0005]-[0008], [0040], [0048]-[0052], Figs. 1-3).
In view of the utility of placing a radiation source and detector on opposite sides of an inspected object in a divided mobile passage, it would have been obvious to apply Chen 2018’s opposite-AGV source/detector arrangement to Chen’s first and second vehicle bodies. The modification predictably positions the object between the ray source and detector during detection, as required for transmissive X-ray inspection.
Conclusion
/DJURA MALEVIC/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884