DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 were previously examined.
Claims 1, 2 and 14 have been amended on September 11, 2026.
Claims 1-15 are pending on this examination
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see under “Response to rejection under 35 USC 101” filed September 11, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments:
On page 5-6 of the remark, Applicant argued that the claims are directed to a machine/receiver and hardware components. The claims explicitly recite hardware: a polar decoder, a core block comprising a successive cancellation (SC) decoder and a list decoder, and a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) module in claims 1 and 14, and a method for decoding in a polar decoder and a non-transitory computer readable medium that causes a processor to perform decoder operations in claims 8 and 15. These are concrete physical components and provide implementation contexts (receiver, base station) under the Alice/Mayo framework.
In Responses:
Examiner disagreed because [0032] defines that the generic computer system (600) in which or with which embodiments of the present disclosure is implemented. Therefore, the recited hardware is a just a generic computer for storing data such as “pre-calculated reliability sequences”. There is no evidence in claim 1 for improvement in the data decoding by reducing computation, reducing latency and improve efficiency. Claim 1 is simply to store “pre-calculated reliability sequences” data,
Applicant’s arguments:
The Applicant respectfully submits that the claimed subject matter is not a mere mental process. For example, the Examiner erroneously interprets storing "one or more pre-calculated reliability sequence[s]" and performing CRC could be performed in the human mind under the plain meaning of the claim language and the specification. The recited operations require accessing large pre-calculated reliability sequences (size and organization dictated by code length and code rate) and performing high-rate, bit-level manipulations and parallel list management; and- interaction between hardware blocks (SC/SCL/list decoder, CRC module) operating at system clock rates in a radio receiver. These are physical, high-throughput operations that cannot be performed by human mind, and thus do not fall within the "mental processes" exception.
In Responses:
Applicant’s arguments is not in the recited claims.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., sequences (size and organization dictated by code length and code rate) and performing high-rate, bit-level manipulations and parallel list management; and- interaction between hardware blocks (SC/SCL/list decoder, CRC module) operating at system clock rates in a radio receive) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
As such, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant's arguments, see under “Response to rejection under 35 USC 102” filed September 11, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments:
On pages 9 of remark, Applicant argued that claim 1 recites a core block configured to store one or more pre-calculated reliability sequences used during decoding. The claim term "pre-calculated reliability sequence" denotes reliability values/sequences that are computed prior to or separately from decoding runtime and retained for look-up/select during decoding to reduce resource consumption while decoding.
In Responses:
Examiner disagreed because claim 1 recites a limitation “store one or more pre-calculated reliability sequences”.
Examiner disagreed because claim 1 does not provide a method of computing reliability sequences. It does not mention about how to “computed prior to or separately from decoding runtime and retained for look-up/select during decoding to reduce resource consumption while decoding”
Claim 1 is to store a data that was calculated beforehand.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., sequences (denotes reliability values/sequences that are computed prior to or separately from decoding runtime and retained for look-up/select during decoding to reduce resource consumption while decoding) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s arguments is not in the recited claims.
As such, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments:
Applicant argued that the prior art does not disclose “select the one or more pre-calculated reliability sequences based on an input combination of encoded bits 'E' and actual payload bits 'K' for the decoding” as recited in claim 2.
In Responses:
Examiner disagreed because the recited claim 2 does not provide how to select “pre-calculated reliability sequences based on an input combination of encoded bits 'E' and actual payload bits 'K”. In additional, claim 2 does not receive any input combination of encoded bit ‘and actual payload bits 'K’ . As such, the prior arts of record disclose a method of selecting pre-calculated reliability sequences
Applicant’s arguments:
Applicant argued that the prior art does not disclose “whether the one or more code words pass or fail a CRC test based on a bit position” as recited in claim 5.
In Responses:
Examiner disagreed because the recited claim 5 does not provide a method of determining a bit position for pass or fail the CRC test. As such, the prior arts of record disclose a method of determining pass or fail due to bit data in incorrect in that bit location.
In conclusion:
Applicant’s arguments for other claims are similar to claim 1, 2 and 5. As such, see Examiner explanation from above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In analyzing under step 1, is the claim to a process, machine manufacture or composition of matter? Yes.
In analyzing under step 2A Prong One, Does the claim recite an abstract idea law of nature or natural phenomenon? Yes.
The claim(s) 1, and 14 recite(s) the abstract limitations such as “…to store one or more pre-calculated reliability sequence for decoding received encoded data bits” is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer processor such as “a polar decoder (110), comprising: a core block (204) comprising a successive cancellation (SC) decoder and a list decoder; and a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) module (206), wherein the core block (204) is configured to” (see claim 1) and “a receiver (108) in a base station (BS), comprising: a polar decoder, comprising: a core block (204) comprising a successive cancellation (SCL) decoder and a list decoder; and a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) module (206), wherein the core block (204) is configured to” (see claim 14)
The claim(s) 8 and 15 recite(s) the abstract limitations such as “…to store one or more pre-calculated reliability sequence for decoding received encoded data bits…performing a CRC on the one or more code words” is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer processor such as “a non-transitory computer readable medium that comprises one or more instructions stored thereupon that when executed by a processor causes the processor to perform operations comprising: …”(see claim 15)
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components and software module, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
The mental process can store one or more pre-calculated reliability sequence for decoding received encoded data bits…performing a CRC on the one or more code words”
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract limitation.
In analyzing under step 2A Prong Two, Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? NO.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims recite a generic processor such as “a polar decoder (110), comprising: a core block (204) comprising a successive cancellation (SC) decoder and a list decoder; and a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) module (206), wherein the core block (204) is configured to” (see claim 1) and “a receiver (108) in a base station (BS), comprising: a polar decoder, comprising: a core block (204) comprising a successive cancellation (SCL) decoder and a list decoder; and a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) module (206), wherein the core block (204) is configured to” (see claim 14), “a non-transitory computer readable medium that comprises one or more instructions stored thereupon that when executed by a processor causes the processor to perform operations comprising: …”(see claim 15) for storing data, decoding received data and perform CRC.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because a generic processor and software module which are high level of generality for storing data, decoding received data and perform CRC.
Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
In analyzing under step 2B, does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? NO
Claims 1-15 do not recite any additional elements except a generic processor for storing data, decoding received data and perform CRC.
Accordingly, the additional generic elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because a generic processor and software module which are high level of generality for storing data, decoding received data and perform CRC.
The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rajaei et al. (US 2021/0,351,860)
As per claim 1:
Rajaei discloses:
A polar decoder (110), comprising:
(Rajaei, [0079] As shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include receiving, from a base station, a polar encoded PDCCH payload (block 710).)
a core block (204) comprising a successive cancellation (SC) decoder and a list decoder; and
(Rajaei, [0080] As further shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include decoding, using a successive cancellation list decoding algorithm, the polar encoded PDCCH payload to obtain candidate PDCCH payloads and to generate PMs, wherein each PM of the PMs corresponds to one candidate PDCCH payload of the candidate PDCCH payloads (block 720).
a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) module (206),
(Rajaei, [0081] As further shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include performing a cyclic redundancy check on each of the candidate PDCCH payloads to determine, from the PMs, a passing PM (block 730))
wherein the core block (204) is configured to store one or more pre-calculated reliability sequence
(Rajaei, [0080] As further shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include decoding, using a successive cancellation list decoding algorithm, the polar encoded PDCCH payload to obtain candidate PDCCH payloads and to generate PMs, wherein each PM of the PMs corresponds to one candidate PDCCH payload of the candidate PDCCH payloads (block 720).
for decoding received encoded data bits.
(Rajaei, [0079] As shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include receiving, from a base station, a polar encoded PDCCH payload (block 710).)
(Rajaei, [0080] As further shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include decoding, using a successive cancellation list decoding algorithm, the polar encoded PDCCH payload to obtain candidate PDCCH payloads and to generate PMs, wherein each PM of the PMs corresponds to one candidate PDCCH payload of the candidate PDCCH payloads (block 720).
As per claim 2:
Rajaei further discloses:
wherein the core block (204) is configured to select the one or more pre-calculated reliability sequence based on an input combination of encoded bits ‘E’ and actual payload bits ‘K’ for the decoding.
(Rajaei, [0079] As shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include receiving, from a base station, a polar encoded PDCCH payload (block 710).)
(Rajaei, [0080] As further shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include decoding, using a successive cancellation list decoding algorithm, the polar encoded PDCCH payload to obtain candidate PDCCH payloads and to generate PMs, wherein each PM of the PMs corresponds to one candidate PDCCH payload of the candidate PDCCH payloads (block 720).
As per claim 4:
Rajaei further discloses:
wherein the core block (204) is configured to provide an output of one or more code words to the CRC module (206) based on the decoding.
(Rajaei, [0080] As further shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include decoding, using a successive cancellation list decoding algorithm, the polar encoded PDCCH payload to obtain candidate PDCCH payloads and to generate PMs, wherein each PM of the PMs corresponds to one candidate PDCCH payload of the candidate PDCCH payloads (block 720).
(Rajaei, [0081] As further shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include performing a cyclic redundancy check on each of the candidate PDCCH payloads to determine, from the PMs, a passing PM (block 730))
(Rajaei, [0027] As shown by reference number 171, the network testing device may perform a CRC on the plurality of candidate PDCCH payloads to identify a passing PM (e.g., as described herein in relation to FIG. 1A and reference number 130). When a PM is not a passing PM, the network testing device may discard the output associated with the PM (e.g., discard the candidate PDCCH payload associated with the PM). As shown by reference number 172, when the PM is a passing PM, the network testing device may normalize the PM values of the plurality of PMs and determine a confidence value associated with the passing PM …)
As per claim 5:
Rajaei further discloses:
wherein the CRC module (206) is configured to determine whether the one or more code words pass or fail a CRC test based on a bit position.
(Rajaei, [0027] As shown by reference number 171, the network testing device may perform a CRC on the plurality of candidate PDCCH payloads to identify a passing PM (e.g., as described herein in relation to FIG. 1A and reference number 130). When a PM is not a passing PM, the network testing device may discard the output associated with the PM (e.g., discard the candidate PDCCH payload associated with the PM). As shown by reference number 172, when the PM is a passing PM, the network testing device may normalize the PM values of the plurality of PMs and determine a confidence value associated with the passing PM …)
As per claim 6:
Rajaei further discloses:
wherein the CRC module (206) is configured to generate an output of the one or more code words based on a CRC pass and a lowest path metric.
(Rajaei, [0027] As shown by reference number 171, the network testing device may perform a CRC on the plurality of candidate PDCCH payloads to identify a passing PM (e.g., as described herein in relation to FIG. 1A and reference number 130). When a PM is not a passing PM, the network testing device may discard the output associated with the PM (e.g., discard the candidate PDCCH payload associated with the PM). As shown by reference number 172, when the PM is a passing PM, the network testing device may normalize the PM values of the plurality of PMs and determine a confidence value associated with the passing PM …… When the confidence value satisfies the threshold, the network testing device may output the candidate PDCCH payload corresponding to the passing PM)
As per claim 7:
Rajaei further discloses:
wherein the CRC module (206) is configured to output a first code word of the one or more code words based on a CRC fail obtained for all of the one or more code words.
(Rajaei, [0027] As shown by reference number 171, the network testing device may perform a CRC on the plurality of candidate PDCCH payloads to identify a passing PM (e.g., as described herein in relation to FIG. 1A and reference number 130). When a PM is not a passing PM, the network testing device may discard the output associated with the PM (e.g., discard the candidate PDCCH payload associated with the PM). As shown by reference number 172, when the PM is a passing PM, the network testing device may normalize the PM values of the plurality of PMs and determine a confidence value associated with the passing PM h….may discard the output … and may start the process over again by receiving and decoding a new polar encoded PDCCH payload (e.g., as described herein in relation to reference number 170).
As per claim 8:
A method for decoding in a polar decoder (110), said method comprising:
(Rajaei, [0079] As shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include receiving, from a base station, a polar encoded PDCCH payload (block 710).)
storing, by a core block (204), one or more pre-calculated reliability sequences;
(Rajaei, [0080] As further shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include decoding, using a successive cancellation list decoding algorithm, the polar encoded PDCCH payload to obtain candidate PDCCH payloads and to generate PMs, wherein each PM of the PMs corresponds to one candidate PDCCH payload of the candidate PDCCH payloads (block 720).
decoding, by the core block (204), received encoded data bits based on the one or more pre-calculated reliability sequences to output one or more code words
(Rajaei, [0080] As further shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include decoding, using a successive cancellation list decoding algorithm, the polar encoded PDCCH payload to obtain candidate PDCCH payloads and to generate PMs, wherein each PM of the PMs corresponds to one candidate PDCCH payload of the candidate PDCCH payloads (block 720).
to a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) module (206); and performing, by a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) module (206), a CRC on the one or more code words.
(Rajaei, [0081] As further shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include performing a cyclic redundancy check on each of the candidate PDCCH payloads to determine, from the PMs, a passing PM (block 730))
As per claim 9:
Rajaei further discloses:
selecting, by the core block (204), at least one pre-calculated reliability sequence from the one or more pre-calculated reliability sequences based on an input combination of encoded bits ‘E’ and actual payload bits ‘K’ for the decoding.
(Rajaei, [0079] As shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include receiving, from a base station, a polar encoded PDCCH payload (block 710).)
(Rajaei, [0080] As further shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include decoding, using a successive cancellation list decoding algorithm, the polar encoded PDCCH payload to obtain candidate PDCCH payloads and to generate PMs, wherein each PM of the PMs corresponds to one candidate PDCCH payload of the candidate PDCCH payloads (block 720).
As per claim 14:
Rajaei discloses:
A receiver (108) in a base station (BS), comprising:
(Rajaei, [0079] As shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include receiving, from a base station, a polar encoded PDCCH payload (block 710).)
a polar decoder, comprising: a core block (204) comprising a successive cancellation (SCL) decoder and a list decoder; and
(Rajaei, [0080] As further shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include decoding, using a successive cancellation list decoding algorithm, the polar encoded PDCCH payload to obtain candidate PDCCH payloads and to generate PMs, wherein each PM of the PMs corresponds to one candidate PDCCH payload of the candidate PDCCH payloads (block 720).
a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) module (206),
(Rajaei, [0081] As further shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include performing a cyclic redundancy check on each of the candidate PDCCH payloads to determine, from the PMs, a passing PM (block 730))
wherein the core block (204) is configured to store one or more pre-calculated reliability sequence
(Rajaei, [0080] As further shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include decoding, using a successive cancellation list decoding algorithm, the polar encoded PDCCH payload to obtain candidate PDCCH payloads and to generate PMs, wherein each PM of the PMs corresponds to one candidate PDCCH payload of the candidate PDCCH payloads (block 720).
for decoding received encoded data bits.
(Rajaei, [0079] As shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include receiving, from a base station, a polar encoded PDCCH payload (block 710).)
(Rajaei, [0080] As further shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include decoding, using a successive cancellation list decoding algorithm, the polar encoded PDCCH payload to obtain candidate PDCCH payloads and to generate PMs, wherein each PM of the PMs corresponds to one candidate PDCCH payload of the candidate PDCCH payloads (block 720).
As per claim 15:
Rajaei discloses:
A non-transitory computer readable medium that comprises one or more instructions stored thereupon that when executed by a processor causes the processor to perform operations comprising:
storing one or more pre-calculated reliability sequences;
(Rajaei, [0080] As further shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include decoding, using a successive cancellation list decoding algorithm, the polar encoded PDCCH payload to obtain candidate PDCCH payloads and to generate PMs, wherein each PM of the PMs corresponds to one candidate PDCCH payload of the candidate PDCCH payloads (block 720).
decoding received encoded data bits based on the one or more pre-calculated reliability sequences to output one or more code words to a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) module (206); and
(Rajaei, [0080] As further shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include decoding, using a successive cancellation list decoding algorithm, the polar encoded PDCCH payload to obtain candidate PDCCH payloads and to generate PMs, wherein each PM of the PMs corresponds to one candidate PDCCH payload of the candidate PDCCH payloads (block 720).
to a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) module (206); and performing a CRC on the one or more code words.
(Rajaei, [0081] As further shown in FIG. 7, process 700 may include performing a cyclic redundancy check on each of the candidate PDCCH payloads to determine, from the PMs, a passing PM (block 730))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajaei et al. (US 2021/0,351,860), in view of Luo et al. (US 2020/0,067,536)
As per claim 3:
As per claim 10:
Rajaei does not disclose:
sorting on the received encoded bits to decode one or more code words, wherein the number of steps for sorting to obtain the one or more code words is based on a list size associated with the polar decoder (110).
Luo discloses:
sorting on the received encoded bits to decode one or more code words, wherein the number of steps for sorting to obtain the one or more code words is based on a list size associated with the polar decoder (110).
(Luo, [0081] in an optional implementation, a conventional successive cancellation list (SCL)-x polar decoding manner is used as a polar decoding manner, to obtain x decoded vectors, and the x decoded vectors may be sorted in ascending order of PM absolute values to obtain û.sub.1, û.sub.2, . . . , û.sub.x)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Luo’s optional method of sorting in the SCL of Harrington as an option for performing decoding.
(Luo, [0081] in an optional implementation, a conventional successive cancellation list (SCL)-x polar decoding manner is used as a polar decoding manner, to obtain x decoded vectors, and the x decoded vectors may be sorted in ascending order of PM absolute values to obtain û.sub.1, û.sub.2, . . . , û.sub.x)
As per claim 11:
Rajaei further discloses:
comprising determining, by the CRC module (206), whether the one or more code words pass or fail a CRC test based on a bit position.
(Rajaei, [0027] As shown by reference number 171, the network testing device may perform a CRC on the plurality of candidate PDCCH payloads to identify a passing PM (e.g., as described herein in relation to FIG. 1A and reference number 130). When a PM is not a passing PM, the network testing device may discard the output associated with the PM (e.g., discard the candidate PDCCH payload associated with the PM). As shown by reference number 172, when the PM is a passing PM, the network testing device may normalize the PM values of the plurality of PMs and determine a confidence value associated with the passing PM …)
As per claim 12:
Rajaei further discloses:
generating, by the CRC module (206), an output of the one or more code words based on a CRC pass and a lowest path metric.
(Rajaei, [0027] As shown by reference number 171, the network testing device may perform a CRC on the plurality of candidate PDCCH payloads to identify a passing PM (e.g., as described herein in relation to FIG. 1A and reference number 130). When a PM is not a passing PM, the network testing device may discard the output associated with the PM (e.g., discard the candidate PDCCH payload associated with the PM). As shown by reference number 172, when the PM is a passing PM, the network testing device may normalize the PM values of the plurality of PMs and determine a confidence value associated with the passing PM …… When the confidence value satisfies the threshold, the network testing device may output the candidate PDCCH payload corresponding to the passing PM)
As per claim 13:
Rajaei further discloses:
by the CRC module (206), an output of a first code word of the one or more code words based on a CRC fail for all the one or more code words.
(Rajaei, [0027] As shown by reference number 171, the network testing device may perform a CRC on the plurality of candidate PDCCH payloads to identify a passing PM (e.g., as described herein in relation to FIG. 1A and reference number 130). When a PM is not a passing PM, the network testing device may discard the output associated with the PM (e.g., discard the candidate PDCCH payload associated with the PM). As shown by reference number 172, when the PM is a passing PM, the network testing device may normalize the PM values of the plurality of PMs and determine a confidence value associated with the passing PM …)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Qiao et al. (US 2020/0,145,023) in [0116] discloses a set of … subchannels in the reliability sequence is recorded as a set of information bits (I)+check bits (A), where K is a quantity of information bits, J is a quantity of first CRC bits … and [0112] S401 obtain a reliability sequences of subchannels.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Thien Nguyen/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111