Detailed Action
2. This office action is in response to the filing with the office dated 12/31/2024.
Application Priority
3. This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2023/024264 filed on 06/29/2023 and also claims priority to Japanese patent application JP-2022-109689 filed on 07/07/2022 as per the application data sheet filed with office on 12/31/2024 and filing receipt dated 10/06/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/31/2024, 06/10/2025, 08/27/2025, 06/17/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112
5. Claims 2 -4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2 and 3 recite a sensor driver and a controller that controls the voltage source and the sensor driver. However the instant specification does not mention or provide guidance about this sensor driver and controller. Appropriate correction to the claim language is required.
For examination purposes examiner interprets this controller as Energy storage control circuit 11 ([0075] Energy storage control circuit 11 is a circuit that applies voltage and current to the storage battery) as taught by Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) due to its dependency on claim 2.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claims 2 and 3 recite a sensor driver and a controller that controls the voltage source and the sensor driver. However the instant specification does not mention or provide guidance about this sensor driver and controller. Appropriate correction to the claim language is required.
For examination purposes examiner interprets this controller as Energy storage control circuit 11 ([0075] Energy storage control circuit 11 is a circuit that applies voltage and current to the storage battery) as taught by Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
6. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1) and in view of Jerschow et al (US 2022/0229119 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1) teaches, A measurement apparatus that measures a secondary battery (paragraph [0030], figure 1, paragraph [0074]), comprising: a voltage source that applies a predetermined voltage that is determined based on an open circuit
voltage of the secondary battery, to the secondary battery (paragraph [0075], [0129], [0140] The direct voltage is a voltage for balancing the output voltage of storage battery 31 (also referred to as a release voltage), and is an offset voltage to maintain the charge state of storage battery 31. More specifically, the magnitude of the direct voltage is the same as the magnitude of the output voltage of
storage battery 31. This inhibits the charging/discharging of storage battery 31); a switch that switches between a first state in which the predetermined voltage is applied to the secondary battery and a second state in which the secondary battery is open (figure 6, paragraphs [0133], [0139]); a sensor that measures a transient response of an external magnetic field of the secondary battery when switching from the first state to the second state (paragraphs [0140], [0141]); and a processor that generates information on
an inside of the secondary battery by using a measurement result of the measurement unit sensor (paragraphs [0141], [0142]).
Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1) teaches switching between charging and measurement states but does not explicitly teach a switch.
Jerschow et al (US 2022/0229119 A1) teaches, [0048] FIG. 1D illustrates a circuit diagram for charging and discharging. The computer-controlled relay disconnects the battery cell from the charging/discharging circuits during measurements. However, the data acquisition (DAQ) unit 154 remained connected throughout the measurement. In the example of FIG. 1D, a diagram of a circuit 150 for charging and discharging is shown. The charging circuits 164 and discharging circuits 162 are independently wired. Induced magnetic field measurements of the battery 102 were taken in 30 second cycles while a computer-controlled relay disconnected the circuit. A voltmeter (V) 152 is connected to a computer for data acquisition (e.g., data acquisition unit 154). CC stands for constant current. The battery 102 is connected to the circuit 150).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Mima et al by providing a relay as part of the circuit for charging and discharging as taught by Jerschow et al (paragraph [0048]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the relay disconnects the battery cell from the charging/discharging circuits during measurements, as taught by Jerschow et al (US 2022/0229119 A1) (paragraph [0048]).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1) and Jerschow et al (US 2022/0229119 A1) teach, the measurement apparatus according to Claim 1.
Regarding the limitations, sensor driver and controller, please see the 112 rejection above.
Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1) further teaches, a sensor driver (figures 8, 9 and paragraphs [0144] – [0149]); and a controller that controls the voltage source and the sensor driver (figures 8, 9 and paragraphs [0144] – [0149]), wherein the controller controls the voltage source and the sensor driver such that determination step of determining a fixed input value to the sensor unit which is used for canceling at least a part of a noise magnetic field and measurement step of measuring the transient response in a state where the fixed input value is input to the sensor unit are performed in this order ([0144] In view of this, canceling coil 13 generates a magnetic field component based on the input current to cancel out the magnetic field component generated by the residual magnetization. Here, the input current is the current applied to canceling coil 13 by feedback circuit 14. This input current is also referred to as a feedback current. [0145] Feedback circuit 14 includes signal processing circuit 51 and current amplifying circuit 52. Signal processing circuit 51 obtains the magnetic sensor signal that is output from magnetic sensor 12 and amplified by preamplifier 18, and outputs a control signal to current amplifying circuit 52. For example, signal processing circuit 51 obtains, from the magnetic sensor signal, a low-frequency signal indicating a magnetic field component having a frequency lower than the frequency of the alternating current. Signal processing circuit 51 then outputs a control signal indicating the magnitude of the feedback current to be applied to canceling coil 13, based on the low-frequency signal.[0146] More specifically, signal processing circuit 51 outputs a control signal indicating, as the magnitude of the feedback current, a value that increases with an increase in the magnetic field component that the low-frequency signal indicates as a magnetic field component having a frequency lower than the frequency of the alternating current.[0147] Current amplifying circuit 52 applies, to canceling coil 13, the feedback current of the magnitude indicated by the control signal output from signal processing circuit 51. This generates, based on a magnetic field component having a frequency lower than the frequency of the alternating current, a magnetic field component to cancel out the magnetic field component generated by the residual magnetization.[0148] The magnetic field component generated by the residual magnetization is assumed to consist of a magnetic field component having a frequency lower than the frequency of the alternating current. Storage battery inspection device 10 can therefore generate a magnetic field component equivalent to the magnetic field component generated by the residual magnetization by generating a magnetic field component based on the magnetic field component having a frequency lower than the frequency of the alternating current. Storage battery inspection device 10 can therefore properly cancel out the magnetic field component generated by the residual magnetization. [0149] Detection circuit 15 obtains a magnetic sensor signal from magnetic sensor 12. For example, detection circuit 15 obtains, from magnetic sensor 12, a magnetic sensor signal which is amplified and from which low-frequency components have been removed by preamplifier 18 and high-pass filter 19. Detection circuit 15 obtains a reference signal from energy storage control circuit 11. Here, the reference signal indicates the voltage or current applied to storage battery 31).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1) and Jerschow et al (US 2022/0229119 A1) teach, the measurement apparatus according to Claim 2.
Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1) further teaches, wherein, in the determination step, the determination of the fixed input value comprises, by the controller, controlling the voltage source and the sensor driver such that the sensor driver performs feedback control of an input value to the sensor so that an output of the sensor approaches a reference level in a state where a voltage corresponding to the open circuit voltage is applied to the secondary battery, thereby determining the fixed input value ([0140] FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram illustrating the overall configuration of storage battery inspection device 10 illustrated in FIG. 1. Energy storage control circuit 11 applies a superimposed voltage of an alternating voltage and a direct voltage to storage battery 31. The direct voltage is a voltage for balancing the output voltage of storage battery 31 (also referred to as a release voltage), and is an offset voltage to maintain the charge state of storage battery 31. More specifically, the magnitude of the direct voltage is the same as the magnitude of the output voltage of storage battery 31. This inhibits the charging/discharging of storage battery 31).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1) and Jerschow et al (US 2022/0229119 A1) teach, the measurement apparatus according to Claim 2.
Mima et al further teaches, wherein the secondary battery includes a magnetic material (paragraph [0069], [0070], [0072], [0079]).
Jerschow et al (US 2022/0229119 A1) also teaches, wherein the secondary battery includes a ferromagnetic material (paragraph [0095]- [0098]).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1) and Jerschow et al (US 20220229119 A1) teach, the measurement apparatus according to Claim 1.
Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1) further teaches, wherein the sensor measures the transient response at a plurality of positions in one or more planes outside the secondary battery, and the processor generates a map indicating internal information of the secondary battery ([0142] Magnetic sensor 12 senses the magnetic field component generated outside of storage battery 31. Magnetic sensor 12 scans on a two-dimensional plane perpendicular to the direction toward storage battery 31).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1) and Jerschow et al (US 2022/0229119 A1) teach, the measurement apparatus according to Claim 1.
Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1) further teaches, wherein the sensor measurement unit includes a plurality of sensor elements arranged in a matrix (figure 18 and 19; paragraphs [0221], [0225]).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1) and Jerschow et al (US 20220229119 A1) teach, the measurement apparatus according to Claim 1.
Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1) further teaches, wherein the processor determines whether or not the measured secondary battery has an abnormality by using the measurement result of the sensor, and outputs a notification in a case where it is determined that the secondary battery has an abnormality ([0089] Imaging circuit 16 is a circuit that generates images. More specifically, imaging circuit 16 generates an image showing the state of the storage battery based on the detection signal obtained by detection circuit 15. As used herein, an image can also be a video. [0090] Display 17 is a device (information display circuit) that displays images. More specifically, display 17 includes a screen and displays an image generated by imaging circuit 16 on the screen).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1) and Jerschow et al (US 2022/0229119 A1) teach, the measurement apparatus according to Claim 1.
Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1) further teaches, wherein the voltage source application unit applies the predetermined voltage to the secondary battery by using a periodic signal (paragraphs [0130]–[0132]), and the switch switches between the first state and the second state by using a periodic signal having a frequency that is an integral multiple of a frequency of the periodic signal used by the voltage source (paragraphs [0130]–[0132]).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1) and Jerschow et al (US 2022/0229119 A1) teach, the measurement apparatus according to Claim 1.
Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1) further teaches, wherein the sensor measurement unit measures magnetic field components in two directions orthogonal to each other as the transient response (figure 18 and 19) [0221] [0225]), and the processor processing unit generates a conductivity distribution inside the secondary battery by using the magnetic field components in the two directions (figure 18 and 19) [0221], [0225]).
Regarding independent claim 10, Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1) teaches, a measurement method of measuring a secondary battery (paragraphs [0060], [0233]), comprising: switching between a first state in which a predetermined voltage that is determined based on an open circuit voltage of the secondary battery is applied to the secondary battery and a second state in which the secondary battery is open ((figure 6, paragraphs [0133], [0139], (paragraph [0075], [0129], [0140] The direct voltage is a voltage for balancing the output voltage of storage battery 31 (also referred to as a release voltage), and is an offset voltage to maintain the charge
state of storage battery 31. More specifically, the magnitude of the direct voltage is the same as the magnitude of the output voltage of storage battery 31. This
inhibits the charging/discharging of storage battery 31); measuring a transient response of an external magnetic field of the secondary battery when switching from the first state to the second state
(paragraphs [0140], [0141]); and generating information on an inside of the secondary battery by using a measurement result of the transient response (paragraphs [0141], [0142]).
Mima et al (US 2022/0349943 A1) teaches switching between charging and measurement states but does not explicitly teach a switch.
Jerschow et al (US 2022/0229119 A1) teaches, ([0048] FIG. 1D illustrates a circuit diagram for charging and discharging. The computer-controlled relay disconnects the battery cell from the charging/discharging circuits during measurements. However, the data acquisition (DAQ) unit 154 remained connected throughout the measurement. In the example of FIG. 1D, a diagram of
a circuit 150 for charging and discharging is shown. The charging circuits 164 and discharging circuits 162 are independently wired. Induced magnetic field measurements of the battery 102 were taken in 30 second cycles while a computer-controlled relay disconnected the circuit. A voltmeter (V) 152 is connected to a computer for data acquisition (e.g., data acquisition unit 154). CC stands for constant current. The battery 102 is connected to the circuit 150).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Mima et al by providing a relay as part of the circuit for charging and discharging as taught by Jerschow et al (paragraph [0048]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the relay disconnects the battery cell from the charging/discharging circuits during measurements, as taught by Jerschow et al (US 2022/0229119 A1) (paragraph [0048]).
Closest Prior art
7. The following relevant prior art of record is not cited in the office action.
Lee et al (US 2018/0180679 A1) teaches, a non-contact intelligent battery sensing system showing the advantages of simple circuit framework and low manufacturing cost. Since the non-contact intelligent battery sensing system only comprises a magnetic field sensor and a sensor controlling module, it is very easy for the drivers to equip their vehicles with this non-contact intelligent battery sensing system by themselves. To apply the non-contact intelligent battery sensing system, the driver just needs to firstly dispose the magnetic field sensor at one position near to a power line of a battery to be sensed, and then install a sensor controlling application program in his smart phones. Apparently, the non-contact intelligent battery sensing system further shows the advantage of easy to be installed.
Kimura et al (US 2017/0016963 A1) teaches, A conductivity distribution derivation method for deriving a conductivity distribution within a battery having an electrode plate that is flat includes: obtaining magnetic field information indicating a magnetic field; and deriving, based on a plurality of relational expressions which (i) an x component of a magnetic field vector in an x direction parallel to the electrode plate, (ii) a y component of the magnetic field vector in a y direction parallel to the electrode plate and perpendicular to the x direction, (iii) the conductivity distribution on a two-dimensional plane parallel to the electrode plate, and (iv) an electric potential distribution on a two-dimensional plane parallel to the electrode plate satisfy, the conductivity distribution that satisfies the plurality of relational expressions with respect to the magnetic field information.
Biller (US 2023/0358821 A1) teaches, A method for non-invasive characterization of an electrical charge storage device such as a lithium battery, containing lithium ions or lithium metal, the method comprising. The method includes the steps of a) providing at least one electric charge storage device; b) measuring a magnetic field generated by the at least one electrical charge storage device using at least one magnetic field sensor positioned in electromagnetic communication_to the electrical charge storage device; c) acquiring magnetic field data; and, d) determining the condition of the at least one electrical charge storage device using the magnetic field data. The method is operable and effective without magnetic shielding from external magnetic fields, including Earth's magnetic field.
Kimura et al (US 2019/0120796 A1) teaches, A measurement device applies a pulse current or a current of a plurality of frequencies to a laminated body having a plurality of layers having different electrical conductivities. The device acquires in-plane distribution information indicating distribution of a magnetic field of a first plane outside the laminated body. A processor generates three-dimensional magnetic field distribution information indicating a three-dimensional distribution of magnetic field on an outside of the laminated body based on the in-plane distribution information, and generates information on an inside of the laminated body by processing the three-dimensional magnetic field distribution information on the outside of the laminated body. The in-plane distribution information includes information indicating response characteristics to a change in the current applied by the current applying unit. In addition, the three-dimensional magnetic field distribution information on the outside of the laminated body includes frequency characteristics of the magnetic field.
Jerschow et al (US 2019/0310211 A1) teaches, A method of diagnosing a conducting structure includes providing the conducting structure in a magnetic field, immersing the conducting structure in a detection medium, or placing a detection medium in the vicinity of the conducting structure, exciting nuclear or electronic spins within the detection medium using a broad-band excitation pulse, receiving an NMR or ESR spectrum from the detection medium, obtaining a frequency distribution of the detection medium, and indirectly measuring internal characteristics of the conducting structure by characterizing frequency changes in the frequency distribution. Conducting structures are analyzed on the basis of changes in magnetic susceptibilities and internal electric current distributions, which may change over the course of a charging/discharging cycle, and a result of degradation and failure of the conducting structure. The conducting structure may be, for example, a battery, a capacitor, a supercapacitor, a fuel cell, or a catalyst material.
Okano et al (US 2023/0120475 A1) teaches, a battery type determining device including: an output controller configured to instruct a current application circuit to apply a specific current to a battery having a current collector and a wound body or laminate; a magnetic field characteristic measurer configured to measure a magnetic field characteristic generated in the battery when the current is applied from the output controller; a storage unit configured to store a specified value of the magnetic field characteristic in accordance with a type of the battery; and a determiner configured to compare the specified value with a measured value of the magnetic field characteristic measurer to determine the type of the battery, wherein the magnetic field characteristic measurer measures a magnetic field generated by an electric current flowing through the current collector of the battery.
Ogata et al (US 2013/0057288 A1) teaches, a magnetic measurement system for a battery, a magnetic signal generated by electric currents in the battery for charging and discharging can be accurately measured without saturating the output of a magnetic sensor even in an environment having strong magnetic noise, and electric current distribution in the lithium-ion battery is visualized. Generating a antiphase magnetic field having an antiphase magnetic field to a magnetic field measured by each magnetic sensor into the cancel coil disposed around each the magnetic sensor before charging and discharging; thereafter, reducing magnetic noise by subtracting the magnetic data recorded before charging and discharging (the correction-magnetic field data) from the magnetic data for charging and discharging; and accurately measuring the magnetic signal generated from the lithium-ion battery for charging and discharging are included.
Conclusion
/SURESH K RAJAPUTRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/RISHI R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858