Detailed Action
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 9 and 11-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0102480) of record, in view of Que (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0250288) of record, in view of Otsuka (JP 5314933) of record, in view of Kadoguchi (WO 2012029165) of record
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 2 of Nakagawa discloses a power semiconductor device comprising: heat sink integrated power modules each including a power module (14) and a heat sink that are integrated with each other, the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (23) provided on a heat sink base (21) thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module [0034]; a holding portion (20) having a box shape including an inlet of air and an outlet of air that are provided facing each other (FIG. 1), the holding portion including one surface interconnecting the inlet and the outlet; and a structural support (22c, FIG. 4) provided inside the holding portion and supporting the one surface by bearing a load directed in a direction from the one surface toward the inside of the holding portion, wherein the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, and the structural support is disposed extending in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet in a region from the inlet to the outlet, at a position corresponding to space between the heat sink bases of the heat sink integrated power modules adjacent to each other in a width direction of the holding portion, the width direction being a direction orthogonal to a direction from the inlet toward the outlet , wherein the holding portion includes: an outer frame having a U shape, the outer frame including a bottom surface portion and two side surface portions rising from a pair of ends of the bottom surface portion, the pair of ends facing each other: and a plate-shaped housing constituting the one surface, the housing being placed on and supported by ends of the two side surface portions of the U-shaped outer frame, the ends of the two side surface portions being free ends of the U shape (FIG. 2a), wherein the housing (22) includes a center region in the width direction of the holding portion, each heat sink base is placed on the adjacent region of the housing and the center region of the housing, and wherein the structural support (22c) continuously extends from the inlet to the outlet in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet.
Nakagawa is silent with respect to “the one surface having a plurality of openings formed thereon”; “the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings”; “the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening”; “the structural support includes an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet” and “the adjacent region of the housing and the outer peripheral edge of the heat sink base are screwed together, wherein the individual heat sink bases are separately screwed to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 2B of Que discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (212) provided on a heat sink base (22) thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module; the one surface having a plurality of openings (223/233) formed thereon; , wherein the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings [0030], and the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening and the adjacent region of the housing and the outer peripheral edge of the heat sink base are screwed together [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Que. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipating performance ([0001] of Que).
Nakagawa as modified by Que is silent with respect to “the structural support includes an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet” and “the individual heat sink bases are separately screwed to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 17 of Otsuka discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the structural support (50) includes an open through hole (51) passing through the structural support, wherein the direction of the open through hole is same as the flow (orthogonal to the paper), thus allow the air to flow from the inlet toward the outlet, also see [0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Otsuka, such that the air is flowable through the open through hole in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet to remove the heat. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipating performance (Abstract of Otsuka).
Nakagawa as modified by Que and Otsuka is silent with respect to “the individual heat sink bases are separately screwed to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 8 of Kadoguchi discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the individual heat sink bases (57) are separately screwed to the center region of the housing (100) and the structural support (middle portion of 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Kadoguchi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving mechanical structure.
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 2 of Nakagawa discloses the structural support is fixed to the outer frame and is in contact with the housing.
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 2 of Nakagawa discloses the structural support is fixed to the housing and is in contact with the outer frame.
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 8 of Kadoguchi discloses the structural support has a width in the direction orthogonal to the direction from the inlet toward the outlet, and the width of the structural support is larger than a gap between the heat sink bases of the heat sink integrated power modules adjacent to each other in the width direction of the holding portion.
Regarding Claim 9
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the structural support having elasticity. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa such that the structural support has elasticity for purpose of improving durability.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 8 of Kadoguchi the structural support (central portion of 100) includes irregularities on a surface thereof.
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 2 of Nakagawa discloses a method of manufacturing a power semiconductor device, the method comprising: fixing a structural support (22c, FIG. 4) to an outer frame having a U shape, the structural support continuously extending from the inlet toward the outlet, the outer frame including a bottom surface portion and two side surface portions rising from a pair of ends of the bottom surface portion, the pair of ends facing each other; placing a plate-shaped housing on ends of the two side surface portions of the U- shaped outer frame, the ends of the two side surface portions being free ends of the U shape, the housing having a plurality of openings formed thereon; inserting a plurality of heat dissipation fins (23) of a heat sink integrated power module into the outer frame, and placing a heat sink base (21) of the heat sink integrated power module on the center region of the housing and an adjacent region of the housing, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening, the heat sink integrated power module including a power module and a heat sink that are integrated with each other, the heat sink including the plurality of the heat dissipation fins provided on the heat sink base (31) and dissipating heat generated in the power module [0034]; the structural support is disposed at a position corresponding to space between the heat sink bases of the heat sink integrated power modules adjacent to each other in the width direction of the outer frame.
Nakagawa is silent with respect to “the structural support including an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet”; “inserting a plurality of heat dissipation fins of a heat sink integrated power module into the outer frame from a corresponding one of the plurality of the openings”; and “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 2 of Que discloses a similar method of manufacturing power semiconductor device, wherein the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (212) provided on a heat sink base (22) thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module; the one surface having a plurality of openings (223/233) formed thereon; , wherein the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings, and the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening and the adjacent region of the housing and the outer peripheral edge of the heat sink base are screwed together [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nakagawa, as taught by Que. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipating performance ([0001] of Que).
Nakagawa as modified by Que is silent with respect to “the structural support including an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet” and “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 17 of Otsuka discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the structural support (50) includes an open through hole (51) passing through the structural support, wherein the direction of the open through hole is same as the flow (orthogonal to the paper), thus allow the air to flow from the inlet toward the outlet, also see [0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Otsuka, such that the air is flowable through the open through hole in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet to remove the heat. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipating performance (Abstract of Otsuka).
Nakagawa as modified by Que and Otsuka is silent with respect to “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 8 of Kadoguchi discloses a similar method of manufacturing power semiconductor device, wherein the individual heat sink bases (57) are separately screwed to the center region of the housing (100) and the structural support (middle portion of 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nakagawa, as taught by Kadoguchi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving mechanical structure.
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 2 of Nakagawa discloses a method of manufacturing a power semiconductor device, the method comprising: fixing a structural support (22c, FIG. 4) to an outer frame having a U shape, placing the housing on ends of two side surface portions of an outer frame having a U shape, the housing including a center region in a width direction of the outer frame, the outer frame including a bottom surface portion and the two side surface portions rising from a pair of ends of the bottom surface portion, the pair of ends facing each other, the ends of the two side surface portions being free ends of the U shape; inserting a plurality of heat dissipation fins (23) of a heat sink integrated power module into the outer frame, and placing a heat sink base (21) of the heat sink integrated power module on the center region of the housing and an adjacent region of the housing and an adjacent region of the housing, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening in the housing, the heat sink integrated power module including a power module (14) and a heat sink that are integrated with each other, the heat sink including the plurality of the heat dissipation fins provided on the heat sink base and dissipating heat generated in the power module; the structural support is disposed at a position corresponding to space between the heat sink bases of the heat sink integrated power modules adjacent to each other in the width direction of the outer frame.
Nakagawa is silent with respect to “the structural support including a through hole passing through the structural support in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet”; “inserting a plurality of heat dissipation fins of a heat sink integrated power module into the outer frame from a corresponding one of the plurality of the openings”; and “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 2 of Que discloses a similar method of manufacturing power semiconductor device, wherein the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (212) provided on a heat sink base (22) thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module; the one surface having a plurality of openings (223/233) formed thereon; , wherein the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings, and the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening and the adjacent region of the housing and the outer peripheral edge of the heat sink base are screwed together [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nakagawa, as taught by Que. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipating performance ([0001] of Que).
Nakagawa as modified by Que is silent with respect to “the structural support including an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet” and “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 17 of Otsuka discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the structural support (50) includes an open through hole (51) passing through the structural support, wherein the direction of the open through hole is same as the flow (orthogonal to the paper), thus allow the air to flow from the inlet toward the outlet, also see [0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Otsuka, such that the air is flowable through the open through hole in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet to remove the heat. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipating performance (Abstract of Otsuka).
Nakagawa as modified by Que and Otsuka is silent with respect to “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 8 of Kadoguchi discloses a similar method of manufacturing power semiconductor device, wherein the individual heat sink bases (57) are separately screwed to the center region of the housing (100) and the structural support (middle portion of 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nakagawa, as taught by Kadoguchi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving mechanical structure.
Claims 1, 12 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa, in view of Que, in view of Obe (JP 2001035981, machine-translation provided), in view of Kadoguchi
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 2 of Nakagawa discloses a power semiconductor device comprising: heat sink integrated power modules each including a power module (14) and a heat sink that are integrated with each other, the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (23) provided on a heat sink base (21) thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module [0034]; a holding portion (20) having a box shape including an inlet of air and an outlet of air that are provided facing each other (FIG. 1), the holding portion including one surface interconnecting the inlet and the outlet; and a structural support (22c, FIG. 4) provided inside the holding portion and supporting the one surface by bearing a load directed in a direction from the one surface toward the inside of the holding portion, wherein the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, and the structural support is disposed extending in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet in a region from the inlet to the outlet, at a position corresponding to space between the heat sink bases of the heat sink integrated power modules adjacent to each other in a width direction of the holding portion, the width direction being a direction orthogonal to a direction from the inlet toward the outlet , wherein the holding portion includes: an outer frame having a U shape, the outer frame including a bottom surface portion and two side surface portions rising from a pair of ends of the bottom surface portion, the pair of ends facing each other: and a plate-shaped housing constituting the one surface, the housing being placed on and supported by ends of the two side surface portions of the U-shaped outer frame, the ends of the two side surface portions being free ends of the U shape (FIG. 2a), wherein the housing (22) includes a center region in the width direction of the holding portion, each heat sink base is placed on the adjacent region of the housing and the center region of the housing, and wherein the structural support (22c) continuously extends from the inlet to the outlet in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet.
Nakagawa is silent with respect to “the one surface having a plurality of openings formed thereon”; “the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings”; “the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening”; “the structural support includes an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet” and “the adjacent region of the housing and the outer peripheral edge of the heat sink base are screwed together, wherein the individual heat sink bases are separately screwed to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 2B of Que discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (212) provided on a heat sink base (22) thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module; the one surface having a plurality of openings (223/233) formed thereon; , wherein the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings [0030], and the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening and the adjacent region of the housing and the outer peripheral edge of the heat sink base are screwed together [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Que. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipating performance ([0001] of Que).
Nakagawa as modified by Que is silent with respect to “the structural support includes an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet” and “the individual heat sink bases are separately screwed to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 2 of Obe discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the structural support (3/5) includes an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in in the direction from the inlet (1) toward the outlet (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Obe. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving cooling capacity (Abstract of Obe).
Nakagawa as modified by Que and Obe is silent with respect to “the individual heat sink bases are separately screwed to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 8 of Kadoguchi discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the individual heat sink bases (57) are separately screwed to the center region of the housing (100) and the structural support (middle portion of 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Kadoguchi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving mechanical structure.
above manner for purpose of improving mechanical structure.
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 2 of Nakagawa discloses a method of manufacturing a power semiconductor device, the method comprising: fixing a structural support (22c, FIG. 4) to an outer frame having a U shape, the structural support continuously extending from the inlet toward the outlet, the outer frame including a bottom surface portion and two side surface portions rising from a pair of ends of the bottom surface portion, the pair of ends facing each other; placing a plate-shaped housing on ends of the two side surface portions of the U- shaped outer frame, the ends of the two side surface portions being free ends of the U shape, the housing having a plurality of openings formed thereon; inserting a plurality of heat dissipation fins (23) of a heat sink integrated power module into the outer frame, and placing a heat sink base (21) of the heat sink integrated power module on the center region of the housing and an adjacent region of the housing, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening, the heat sink integrated power module including a power module and a heat sink that are integrated with each other, the heat sink including the plurality of the heat dissipation fins provided on the heat sink base (31) and dissipating heat generated in the power module [0034]; the structural support is disposed at a position corresponding to space between the heat sink bases of the heat sink integrated power modules adjacent to each other in the width direction of the outer frame.
Nakagawa is silent with respect to “the structural support including an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which air is flowablein the direction from the inlet toward the outlet”; “inserting a plurality of heat dissipation fins of a heat sink integrated power module into the outer frame from a corresponding one of the plurality of the openings”; and “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 2 of Que discloses a similar method of manufacturing power semiconductor device, wherein the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (212) provided on a heat sink base (22) thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module; the one surface having a plurality of openings (223/233) formed thereon; , wherein the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings, and the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening and the adjacent region of the housing and the outer peripheral edge of the heat sink base are screwed together [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nakagawa, as taught by Que. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipating performance ([0001] of Que).
Nakagawa as modified by Que is silent with respect to “the structural support including an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet” and “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 2 of Obe discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the structural support (3/5) includes an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in in the direction from the inlet (1) toward the outlet (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Obe. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving cooling capacity (Abstract of Obe).
Nakagawa as modified by Que and Obe is silent with respect to “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 8 of Kadoguchi discloses a similar method of manufacturing power semiconductor device, wherein the individual heat sink bases (57) are separately screwed to the center region of the housing (100) and the structural support (middle portion of 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nakagawa, as taught by Kadoguchi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving mechanical structure.
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 2 of Nakagawa discloses a method of manufacturing a power semiconductor device, the method comprising: fixing a structural support (22c, FIG. 4) to an outer frame having a U shape, placing the housing on ends of two side surface portions of an outer frame having a U shape, the housing including a center region in a width direction of the outer frame, the outer frame including a bottom surface portion and the two side surface portions rising from a pair of ends of the bottom surface portion, the pair of ends facing each other, the ends of the two side surface portions being free ends of the U shape; inserting a plurality of heat dissipation fins (23) of a heat sink integrated power module into the outer frame, and placing a heat sink base (21) of the heat sink integrated power module on the center region of the housing and an adjacent region of the housing and an adjacent region of the housing, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening in the housing, the heat sink integrated power module including a power module (14) and a heat sink that are integrated with each other, the heat sink including the plurality of the heat dissipation fins provided on the heat sink base and dissipating heat generated in the power module; the structural support is disposed at a position corresponding to space between the heat sink bases of the heat sink integrated power modules adjacent to each other in the width direction of the outer frame.
Nakagawa is silent with respect to “the structural support including a through hole passing through the structural support in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet”; “inserting a plurality of heat dissipation fins of a heat sink integrated power module into the outer frame from a corresponding one of the plurality of the openings”; and “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 2 of Que discloses a similar method of manufacturing power semiconductor device, wherein the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (212) provided on a heat sink base (22) thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module; the one surface having a plurality of openings (223/233) formed thereon; , wherein the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings, and the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening and the adjacent region of the housing and the outer peripheral edge of the heat sink base are screwed together [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nakagawa, as taught by Que. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipating performance ([0001] of Que).
Nakagawa as modified by Que is silent with respect to “the structural support including an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet” and “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 2 of Obe discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the structural support (3/5) includes an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in in the direction from the inlet (1) toward the outlet (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Obe. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving cooling capacity (Abstract of Obe).
Nakagawa as modified by Que and Otsuka is silent with respect to “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 8 of Kadoguchi discloses a similar method of manufacturing power semiconductor device, wherein the individual heat sink bases (57) are separately screwed to the center region of the housing (100) and the structural support (middle portion of 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nakagawa, as taught by Kadoguchi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving mechanical structure.
Claims 1, 12 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa, in view of Que, in view of Gohara (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0139096), in view of Kadoguchi
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 2 of Nakagawa discloses a power semiconductor device comprising: heat sink integrated power modules each including a power module (14) and a heat sink that are integrated with each other, the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (23) provided on a heat sink base (21) thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module [0034]; a holding portion (20) having a box shape including an inlet of air and an outlet of air that are provided facing each other (FIG. 1), the holding portion including one surface interconnecting the inlet and the outlet; and a structural support (22c, FIG. 4) provided inside the holding portion and supporting the one surface by bearing a load directed in a direction from the one surface toward the inside of the holding portion, wherein the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, and the structural support is disposed extending in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet in a region from the inlet to the outlet, at a position corresponding to space between the heat sink bases of the heat sink integrated power modules adjacent to each other in a width direction of the holding portion, the width direction being a direction orthogonal to a direction from the inlet toward the outlet , wherein the holding portion includes: an outer frame having a U shape, the outer frame including a bottom surface portion and two side surface portions rising from a pair of ends of the bottom surface portion, the pair of ends facing each other: and a plate-shaped housing constituting the one surface, the housing being placed on and supported by ends of the two side surface portions of the U-shaped outer frame, the ends of the two side surface portions being free ends of the U shape (FIG. 2a), wherein the housing (22) includes a center region in the width direction of the holding portion, each heat sink base is placed on the adjacent region of the housing and the center region of the housing, and wherein the structural support (22c) continuously extends from the inlet to the outlet in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet.
Nakagawa is silent with respect to “the one surface having a plurality of openings formed thereon”; “the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings”; “the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening”; “the structural support includes an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet” and “the adjacent region of the housing and the outer peripheral edge of the heat sink base are screwed together, wherein the individual heat sink bases are separately screwed to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 2B of Que discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (212) provided on a heat sink base (22) thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module; the one surface having a plurality of openings (223/233) formed thereon; , wherein the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings [0030], and the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening and the adjacent region of the housing and the outer peripheral edge of the heat sink base are screwed together [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Que. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipating performance ([0001] of Que).
Nakagawa as modified by Que is silent with respect to “the structural support includes an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet” and “the individual heat sink bases are separately screwed to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 3 of Gohara discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the structural support (21) includes an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in in the direction from the inlet (24) toward the outlet (25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Gohara. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of providing a cooling unit which can be applied to a semiconductor module ([0013] of Gohara).
Nakagawa as modified by Que and Gohara is silent with respect to “the individual heat sink bases are separately screwed to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 8 of Kadoguchi discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the individual heat sink bases (57) are separately screwed to the center region of the housing (100) and the structural support (middle portion of 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Kadoguchi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving mechanical structure.
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 2 of Nakagawa discloses a method of manufacturing a power semiconductor device, the method comprising: fixing a structural support (22c, FIG. 4) to an outer frame having a U shape, the structural support continuously extending from the inlet toward the outlet, the outer frame including a bottom surface portion and two side surface portions rising from a pair of ends of the bottom surface portion, the pair of ends facing each other; placing a plate-shaped housing on ends of the two side surface portions of the U- shaped outer frame, the ends of the two side surface portions being free ends of the U shape, the housing having a plurality of openings formed thereon; inserting a plurality of heat dissipation fins (23) of a heat sink integrated power module into the outer frame, and placing a heat sink base (21) of the heat sink integrated power module on the center region of the housing and an adjacent region of the housing, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening, the heat sink integrated power module including a power module and a heat sink that are integrated with each other, the heat sink including the plurality of the heat dissipation fins provided on the heat sink base (31) and dissipating heat generated in the power module [0034]; the structural support is disposed at a position corresponding to space between the heat sink bases of the heat sink integrated power modules adjacent to each other in the width direction of the outer frame.
Nakagawa is silent with respect to “the structural support including an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which air is flowablein the direction from the inlet toward the outlet”; “inserting a plurality of heat dissipation fins of a heat sink integrated power module into the outer frame from a corresponding one of the plurality of the openings”; and “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 2 of Que discloses a similar method of manufacturing power semiconductor device, wherein the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (212) provided on a heat sink base (22) thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module; the one surface having a plurality of openings (223/233) formed thereon; , wherein the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings, and the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening and the adjacent region of the housing and the outer peripheral edge of the heat sink base are screwed together [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nakagawa, as taught by Que. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipating performance ([0001] of Que).
Nakagawa as modified by Que is silent with respect to “the structural support including an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet” and “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 3 of Gohara discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the structural support (21) includes an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in in the direction from the inlet (24) toward the outlet (25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Gohara. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of providing a cooling unit which can be applied to a semiconductor module ([0013] of Gohara).
Nakagawa as modified by Que and Gohara is silent with respect to “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 8 of Kadoguchi discloses a similar method of manufacturing power semiconductor device, wherein the individual heat sink bases (57) are separately screwed to the center region of the housing (100) and the structural support (middle portion of 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nakagawa, as taught by Kadoguchi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving mechanical structure.
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 2 of Nakagawa discloses a method of manufacturing a power semiconductor device, the method comprising: fixing a structural support (22c, FIG. 4) to an outer frame having a U shape, placing the housing on ends of two side surface portions of an outer frame having a U shape, the housing including a center region in a width direction of the outer frame, the outer frame including a bottom surface portion and the two side surface portions rising from a pair of ends of the bottom surface portion, the pair of ends facing each other, the ends of the two side surface portions being free ends of the U shape; inserting a plurality of heat dissipation fins (23) of a heat sink integrated power module into the outer frame, and placing a heat sink base (21) of the heat sink integrated power module on the center region of the housing and an adjacent region of the housing and an adjacent region of the housing, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening in the housing, the heat sink integrated power module including a power module (14) and a heat sink that are integrated with each other, the heat sink including the plurality of the heat dissipation fins provided on the heat sink base and dissipating heat generated in the power module; the structural support is disposed at a position corresponding to space between the heat sink bases of the heat sink integrated power modules adjacent to each other in the width direction of the outer frame.
Nakagawa is silent with respect to “the structural support including a through hole passing through the structural support in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet”; “inserting a plurality of heat dissipation fins of a heat sink integrated power module into the outer frame from a corresponding one of the plurality of the openings”; and “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 2 of Que discloses a similar method of manufacturing power semiconductor device, wherein the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (212) provided on a heat sink base (22) thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module; the one surface having a plurality of openings (223/233) formed thereon; , wherein the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings, and the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening and the adjacent region of the housing and the outer peripheral edge of the heat sink base are screwed together [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nakagawa, as taught by Que. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipating performance ([0001] of Que).
Nakagawa as modified by Que is silent with respect to “the structural support including an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet” and “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 3 of Gohara discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the structural support (21) includes an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in in the direction from the inlet (24) toward the outlet (25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Gohara. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of providing a cooling unit which can be applied to a semiconductor module ([0013] of Gohara).
Nakagawa as modified by Que and Gohara is silent with respect to “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 8 of Kadoguchi discloses a similar method of manufacturing power semiconductor device, wherein the individual heat sink bases (57) are separately screwed to the center region of the housing (100) and the structural support (middle portion of 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nakagawa, as taught by Kadoguchi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving mechanical structure.
Claims 1, 12 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa, in view of Que, in view of Lee (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2007/0290023) of record, in view of Kadoguchi
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 2 of Nakagawa discloses a power semiconductor device comprising: heat sink integrated power modules each including a power module (14) and a heat sink that are integrated with each other, the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (23) provided on a heat sink base (21) thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module [0034]; a holding portion (20) having a box shape including an inlet of air and an outlet of air that are provided facing each other (FIG. 1), the holding portion including one surface interconnecting the inlet and the outlet; and a structural support (22c, FIG. 4) provided inside the holding portion and supporting the one surface by bearing a load directed in a direction from the one surface toward the inside of the holding portion, wherein the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, and the structural support is disposed extending in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet in a region from the inlet to the outlet, at a position corresponding to space between the heat sink bases of the heat sink integrated power modules adjacent to each other in a width direction of the holding portion, the width direction being a direction orthogonal to a direction from the inlet toward the outlet , wherein the holding portion includes: an outer frame having a U shape, the outer frame including a bottom surface portion and two side surface portions rising from a pair of ends of the bottom surface portion, the pair of ends facing each other: and a plate-shaped housing constituting the one surface, the housing being placed on and supported by ends of the two side surface portions of the U-shaped outer frame, the ends of the two side surface portions being free ends of the U shape (FIG. 2a), wherein the housing (22) includes a center region in the width direction of the holding portion, each heat sink base is placed on the adjacent region of the housing and the center region of the housing, and wherein the structural support (22c) continuously extends from the inlet to the outlet in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet.
Nakagawa is silent with respect to “the one surface having a plurality of openings formed thereon”; “the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings”; “the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening”; “the structural support includes an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet” and “the adjacent region of the housing and the outer peripheral edge of the heat sink base are screwed together, wherein the individual heat sink bases are separately screwed to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 2B of Que discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (212) provided on a heat sink base (22) thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module; the one surface having a plurality of openings (223/233) formed thereon; , wherein the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings [0030], and the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening and the adjacent region of the housing and the outer peripheral edge of the heat sink base are screwed together [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Que. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipating performance ([0001] of Que).
Nakagawa as modified by Que is silent with respect to “the structural support includes an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet” and “the individual heat sink bases are separately screwed to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 7 of Lee discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the structural support (14) includes a through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Lee. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipation efficiency ([0005] of Lee).
Nakagawa as modified by Que and Lee is silent with respect to “the individual heat sink bases are separately screwed to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 8 of Kadoguchi discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the individual heat sink bases (57) are separately screwed to the center region of the housing (100) and the structural support (middle portion of 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Kadoguchi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving mechanical structure.
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 2 of Nakagawa discloses a method of manufacturing a power semiconductor device, the method comprising: fixing a structural support (22c, FIG. 4) to an outer frame having a U shape, the structural support continuously extending from the inlet toward the outlet, the outer frame including a bottom surface portion and two side surface portions rising from a pair of ends of the bottom surface portion, the pair of ends facing each other; placing a plate-shaped housing on ends of the two side surface portions of the U- shaped outer frame, the ends of the two side surface portions being free ends of the U shape, the housing having a plurality of openings formed thereon; inserting a plurality of heat dissipation fins (23) of a heat sink integrated power module into the outer frame, and placing a heat sink base (21) of the heat sink integrated power module on the center region of the housing and an adjacent region of the housing, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening, the heat sink integrated power module including a power module and a heat sink that are integrated with each other, the heat sink including the plurality of the heat dissipation fins provided on the heat sink base (31) and dissipating heat generated in the power module [0034]; the structural support is disposed at a position corresponding to space between the heat sink bases of the heat sink integrated power modules adjacent to each other in the width direction of the outer frame.
Nakagawa is silent with respect to “the structural support including an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which air is flowablein the direction from the inlet toward the outlet”; “inserting a plurality of heat dissipation fins of a heat sink integrated power module into the outer frame from a corresponding one of the plurality of the openings”; and “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 2 of Que discloses a similar method of manufacturing power semiconductor device, wherein the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (212) provided on a heat sink base (22) thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module; the one surface having a plurality of openings (223/233) formed thereon; , wherein the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings, and the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening and the adjacent region of the housing and the outer peripheral edge of the heat sink base are screwed together [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nakagawa, as taught by Que. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipating performance ([0001] of Que).
Nakagawa as modified by Que is silent with respect to “the structural support including an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet” and “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 7 of Lee discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the structural support (14) includes a through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Lee. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipation efficiency ([0005] of Lee).
Nakagawa as modified by Que and Lee is silent with respect to “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 8 of Kadoguchi discloses a similar method of manufacturing power semiconductor device, wherein the individual heat sink bases (57) are separately screwed to the center region of the housing (100) and the structural support (middle portion of 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nakagawa, as taught by Kadoguchi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving mechanical structure.
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 2 of Nakagawa discloses a method of manufacturing a power semiconductor device, the method comprising: fixing a structural support (22c, FIG. 4) to an outer frame having a U shape, placing the housing on ends of two side surface portions of an outer frame having a U shape, the housing including a center region in a width direction of the outer frame, the outer frame including a bottom surface portion and the two side surface portions rising from a pair of ends of the bottom surface portion, the pair of ends facing each other, the ends of the two side surface portions being free ends of the U shape; inserting a plurality of heat dissipation fins (23) of a heat sink integrated power module into the outer frame, and placing a heat sink base (21) of the heat sink integrated power module on the center region of the housing and an adjacent region of the housing and an adjacent region of the housing, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening in the housing, the heat sink integrated power module including a power module (14) and a heat sink that are integrated with each other, the heat sink including the plurality of the heat dissipation fins provided on the heat sink base and dissipating heat generated in the power module; the structural support is disposed at a position corresponding to space between the heat sink bases of the heat sink integrated power modules adjacent to each other in the width direction of the outer frame.
Nakagawa is silent with respect to “the structural support including a through hole passing through the structural support in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet”; “inserting a plurality of heat dissipation fins of a heat sink integrated power module into the outer frame from a corresponding one of the plurality of the openings”; and “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 2 of Que discloses a similar method of manufacturing power semiconductor device, wherein the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (212) provided on a heat sink base (22) thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module; the one surface having a plurality of openings (223/233) formed thereon; , wherein the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings, and the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening and the adjacent region of the housing and the outer peripheral edge of the heat sink base are screwed together [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nakagawa, as taught by Que. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipating performance ([0001] of Que).
Nakagawa as modified by Que is silent with respect to “the structural support including an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet” and “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 7 of Lee discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the structural support (14) includes a through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Lee. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipation efficiency ([0005] of Lee).
Nakagawa as modified by Que and Lee is silent with respect to “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 8 of Kadoguchi discloses a similar method of manufacturing power semiconductor device, wherein the individual heat sink bases (57) are separately screwed to the center region of the housing (100) and the structural support (middle portion of 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nakagawa, as taught by Kadoguchi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving mechanical structure.
Claims 1, 12 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa, in view of Que, in view of Tamura (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0220587) of record, in view of Kadoguchi
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 2 of Nakagawa discloses a power semiconductor device comprising: heat sink integrated power modules each including a power module (14) and a heat sink that are integrated with each other, the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (23) provided on a heat sink base (21) thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module [0034]; a holding portion (20) having a box shape including an inlet of air and an outlet of air that are provided facing each other (FIG. 1), the holding portion including one surface interconnecting the inlet and the outlet; and a structural support (22c, FIG. 4) provided inside the holding portion and supporting the one surface by bearing a load directed in a direction from the one surface toward the inside of the holding portion, wherein the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, and the structural support is disposed extending in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet in a region from the inlet to the outlet, at a position corresponding to space between the heat sink bases of the heat sink integrated power modules adjacent to each other in a width direction of the holding portion, the width direction being a direction orthogonal to a direction from the inlet toward the outlet , wherein the holding portion includes: an outer frame having a U shape, the outer frame including a bottom surface portion and two side surface portions rising from a pair of ends of the bottom surface portion, the pair of ends facing each other: and a plate-shaped housing constituting the one surface, the housing being placed on and supported by ends of the two side surface portions of the U-shaped outer frame, the ends of the two side surface portions being free ends of the U shape (FIG. 2a), wherein the housing (22) includes a center region in the width direction of the holding portion, each heat sink base is placed on the adjacent region of the housing and the center region of the housing, and wherein the structural support (22c) continuously extends from the inlet to the outlet in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet.
Nakagawa is silent with respect to “the one surface having a plurality of openings formed thereon”; “the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings”; “the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening”; “the structural support includes an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet” and “the adjacent region of the housing and the outer peripheral edge of the heat sink base are screwed together, wherein the individual heat sink bases are separately screwed to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 2B of Que discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (212) provided on a heat sink base (22) thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module; the one surface having a plurality of openings (223/233) formed thereon; , wherein the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings [0030], and the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening and the adjacent region of the housing and the outer peripheral edge of the heat sink base are screwed together [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Que. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipating performance ([0001] of Que).
Nakagawa as modified by Que is silent with respect to “the structural support includes an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet” and “the individual heat sink bases are separately screwed to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 1 of Tamura discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the structural support includes a through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in the direction from the inlet (11) toward the outlet (12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Tamura. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of providing a cooler with high heat exchange efficiency and low cooling water pressure loss ([0005] of Tamura).
Nakagawa as modified by Que and Tamura is silent with respect to “the individual heat sink bases are separately screwed to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 8 of Kadoguchi discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the individual heat sink bases (57) are separately screwed to the center region of the housing (100) and the structural support (middle portion of 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Kadoguchi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving mechanical structure.
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 2 of Nakagawa discloses a method of manufacturing a power semiconductor device, the method comprising: fixing a structural support (22c, FIG. 4) to an outer frame having a U shape, the structural support continuously extending from the inlet toward the outlet, the outer frame including a bottom surface portion and two side surface portions rising from a pair of ends of the bottom surface portion, the pair of ends facing each other; placing a plate-shaped housing on ends of the two side surface portions of the U- shaped outer frame, the ends of the two side surface portions being free ends of the U shape, the housing having a plurality of openings formed thereon; inserting a plurality of heat dissipation fins (23) of a heat sink integrated power module into the outer frame, and placing a heat sink base (21) of the heat sink integrated power module on the center region of the housing and an adjacent region of the housing, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening, the heat sink integrated power module including a power module and a heat sink that are integrated with each other, the heat sink including the plurality of the heat dissipation fins provided on the heat sink base (31) and dissipating heat generated in the power module [0034]; the structural support is disposed at a position corresponding to space between the heat sink bases of the heat sink integrated power modules adjacent to each other in the width direction of the outer frame.
Nakagawa is silent with respect to “the structural support including an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which air is flowablein the direction from the inlet toward the outlet”; “inserting a plurality of heat dissipation fins of a heat sink integrated power module into the outer frame from a corresponding one of the plurality of the openings”; and “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 2 of Que discloses a similar method of manufacturing power semiconductor device, wherein the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (212) provided on a heat sink base (22) thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module; the one surface having a plurality of openings (223/233) formed thereon; , wherein the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings, and the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening and the adjacent region of the housing and the outer peripheral edge of the heat sink base are screwed together [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nakagawa, as taught by Que. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipating performance ([0001] of Que).
Nakagawa as modified by Que is silent with respect to “the structural support including an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet” and “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 1 of Tamura discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the structural support includes a through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in the direction from the inlet (11) toward the outlet (12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Tamura. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of providing a cooler with high heat exchange efficiency and low cooling water pressure loss ([0005] of Tamura).
Nakagawa as modified by Que and Tamura is silent with respect to “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 8 of Kadoguchi discloses a similar method of manufacturing power semiconductor device, wherein the individual heat sink bases (57) are separately screwed to the center region of the housing (100) and the structural support (middle portion of 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nakagawa, as taught by Kadoguchi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving mechanical structure.
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 2 of Nakagawa discloses a method of manufacturing a power semiconductor device, the method comprising: fixing a structural support (22c, FIG. 4) to an outer frame having a U shape, placing the housing on ends of two side surface portions of an outer frame having a U shape, the housing including a center region in a width direction of the outer frame, the outer frame including a bottom surface portion and the two side surface portions rising from a pair of ends of the bottom surface portion, the pair of ends facing each other, the ends of the two side surface portions being free ends of the U shape; inserting a plurality of heat dissipation fins (23) of a heat sink integrated power module into the outer frame, and placing a heat sink base (21) of the heat sink integrated power module on the center region of the housing and an adjacent region of the housing and an adjacent region of the housing, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening in the housing, the heat sink integrated power module including a power module (14) and a heat sink that are integrated with each other, the heat sink including the plurality of the heat dissipation fins provided on the heat sink base and dissipating heat generated in the power module; the structural support is disposed at a position corresponding to space between the heat sink bases of the heat sink integrated power modules adjacent to each other in the width direction of the outer frame.
Nakagawa is silent with respect to “the structural support including a through hole passing through the structural support in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet”; “inserting a plurality of heat dissipation fins of a heat sink integrated power module into the outer frame from a corresponding one of the plurality of the openings”; and “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 2 of Que discloses a similar method of manufacturing power semiconductor device, wherein the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (212) provided on a heat sink base (22) thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module; the one surface having a plurality of openings (223/233) formed thereon; , wherein the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings, and the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening and the adjacent region of the housing and the outer peripheral edge of the heat sink base are screwed together [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nakagawa, as taught by Que. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipating performance ([0001] of Que).
Nakagawa as modified by Que is silent with respect to “the structural support including an open through hole passing through the structural support and through which air is flowable in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet” and “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 1 of Tamura discloses a similar power semiconductor device, wherein the structural support includes a through hole passing through the structural support and through which the air is flowable in the direction from the inlet (11) toward the outlet (12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakagawa, as taught by Tamura. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of providing a cooler with high heat exchange efficiency and low cooling water pressure loss ([0005] of Tamura).
Nakagawa as modified by Que and Tamura is silent with respect to “screwing the individual heat sink bases separately to the center region of the housing and the structural support”.
FIG. 8 of Kadoguchi discloses a similar method of manufacturing power semiconductor device, wherein the individual heat sink bases (57) are separately screwed to the center region of the housing (100) and the structural support (middle portion of 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nakagawa, as taught by Kadoguchi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nakagawa in the above manner for purpose of improving mechanical structure.
Pertinent Art
FIG. 6 of Goto (JP 5089662) discloses a power semiconductor device comprising: heat sink integrated power modules each including a power module (34) and a heat sink that are integrated with each other, the heat sink including a plurality of heat dissipation fins (36) provided on a heat sink base thereof and dissipating heat generated in the power module; a holding portion (21) having a box shape including an inlet of air and an outlet of air that are provided facing each other (FIG. 2), the holding portion including one surface interconnecting the inlet and the outlet, the one surface having a plurality of openings formed thereon; and a structural support provided inside the holding portion and supporting the one surface by bearing a load directed in a direction from the one surface toward the inside of the holding portion (FIG. 5), wherein the plurality of the heat dissipation fins of each of the heat sink integrated power modules is inserted in the holding portion from a corresponding one of the openings, and the heat sink base includes an outer peripheral edge supported on an adjacent region of the one surface in an in-plane direction of the heat sink base, the adjacent region being adjacent to the corresponding opening, and the structural support is disposed extending in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet in a region from the inlet to the outlet, at a position corresponding to space (22) between the heat sink bases of the heat sink integrated power modules adjacent to each other in a width direction of the holding portion, the width direction being a direction orthogonal to a direction from the inlet toward the outlet. Pertinent art also includes US 20130220587, 20150351283, 20200286812, JP 5089662, JP 2009176871 and WO 2012157247.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to Claims 1, 12 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. Applicant's arguments with respect to Otsuka are not persuasive. FIG. 17 of Otsuka discloses the structural support (50) includes an open through hole passing through the structural support, wherein the direction of the open through hole is same as the flow (orthogonal to the paper), thus allow the air to flow from the inlet toward the outlet, i.e., the air is flowable through the open through hole in the direction from the inlet toward the outlet to remove the heat. Also see [0030].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897