DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-29 filed January 2nd 2025 are pending in the current action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claim 14, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 15, 19, 21, 25, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baggett (US2020/0203199)
Consider claim 1, where Baggett discloses an end effector for supporting a wafer, (See Baggett ¶8, 2 where the end effector, for example, comprises three or more support members operably coupled to the end effector, wherein the three or more support members are configured to selectively contact and support the workpiece, wherein the workpiece may be a silicon wafer) the end effector having a temperature sensor that is configured to sense a temperature of a wafer supported by the end effector. (See Baggett ¶7 where one or more temperature sensors, for example, are operably coupled to the end effector, wherein the one or more temperature sensors are configured to contact a backside of the workpiece. The one or more temperature sensors are further configured to respectively measure one or more temperatures of the workpiece, therein respectively defining one or more measured temperatures.)
Consider claim 2, where Baggett discloses the end effector according to claim 1, wherein the temperature sensor is configured to be in thermal contact with a wafer supported by the end effector. (See Baggett ¶7 where one or more temperature sensors, for example, are operably coupled to the end effector, wherein the one or more temperature sensors are configured to contact a backside of the workpiece. The one or more temperature sensors are further configured to respectively measure one or more temperatures of the workpiece, therein respectively defining one or more measured temperatures.)
Consider claim 3, where Baggett discloses the end effector according to claim 1, wherein the temperature sensor comprises a thermocouple. (See Baggett ¶7 where in one example, the one or more temperature sensors comprise one or more of thermocouple and an RTD.)
Consider claim 4, where Baggett discloses the end effector according to claim 1, wherein the temperature sensor is embedded, or partially embedded, in the end effector. (See Baggett ¶51 where the present disclosure overcomes disadvantages associated with such a predetermined soak routine by further providing a temperature sensor 192 that is associated with (e.g., embedded in) the end effector 180, whereby the temperature sensor is configured to make direct contact with the workpiece 118 and provide a signal indicative of the temperature of the workpiece in order to optimize the sequence of events associated with reaching thermal equilibrium with the heated chuck 130.
Consider claim 15, where Baggett discloses the end effector according to claim 1, wherein the end effector comprises a controller that is configured to receive an output of the temperature sensor. (See Baggett ¶51 where the measured temperature(s) 196 may be further fed to a thermal monitoring system 198, as shown in FIG. 1 to provide feedback to the controller 170.)
Consider claim 19, where Baggett discloses an apparatus comprising: a cooling or heating part for cooling or heating a wafer; (See Baggett ¶30, 34-35 where a heating system 134 may be further provided, wherein the heating system is configured to heat the heated chuck 130 and, in turn, the workpiece 118 residing thereon to the desired processing temperature. Chamber 1388 comprises a cooling apparatus 160 (e.g., a thermal apparatus) configured to cool the workpiece when the workpiece 118 is disposed within the chamber 1388 subsequent to being implanted with ions during ion implantation. and the end effector according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus is configured to use the end effector to transport the wafer to the cooling or heating part. (See Baggett ¶56 where the controller 170 of FIG. 1 may be configured to selectively transfer the workpiece 118 from the end effector 180 to the support surface 186 of the heated chuck 130 based, at least in part, on the measured temperature reaching the threshold temperature associated with the predetermined temperature.)
Consider claim 21, where Baggett discloses the apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the apparatus further comprises a controller that is configured to control a duration of cooling or heating of the wafer by the cooling or heating part based on an output of the temperature sensor. (See Baggett ¶50 where whereby the workpiece 118 is soaked about the heated chuck 130 for a predetermined period of time. However, the predetermined period of time in a predetermined soak routine may be greater than the time associated with thermal equilibrium, or the predetermined period of time may not be fully optimized for a particular workpiece)
Consider claim 25, where Baggett discloses a method comprising: supporting a wafer using an end effector; (See Baggett ¶8, 2 where the end effector, for example, comprises three or more support members operably coupled to the end effector, wherein the three or more support members are configured to selectively contact and support the workpiece, wherein the workpiece may be a silicon wafer) and sensing a temperature of the wafer using a temperature sensor of the end effector. (See Baggett ¶7 where one or more temperature sensors, for example, are operably coupled to the end effector, wherein the one or more temperature sensors are configured to contact a backside of the workpiece. The one or more temperature sensors are further configured to respectively measure one or more temperatures of the workpiece, therein respectively defining one or more measured temperatures.)
Consider claim 26, where Baggett discloses the method according to claim 25, wherein the method further comprises controlling a duration of cooling or heating of the wafer based on an output of the temperature sensor. (See Baggett ¶50 where whereby the workpiece 118 is soaked about the heated chuck 130 for a predetermined period of time. However, the predetermined period of time in a predetermined soak routine may be greater than the time associated with thermal equilibrium, or the predetermined period of time may not be fully optimized for a particular workpiece)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baggett in view of Kinnard et al. (US2004/0052632)
Consider claim 5, where Baggett teaches the end effector according to claim 1, where the end effector comprises a thermocouple. However Baggett does not explicitly teach a plurality of pads that are configured to support the wafer, and wherein the temperature sensor is embedded, or partially embedded, in one of the pads. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Kinnard teaches wherein thermocouples comprises pads for a wafer to rest upon. (See Kinnard ¶50 where wafers are placed on a pad of a temperature measuring device, e.g., a thermocouple 193 (see FIG. 6) within the process chamber 104) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the thermocouple of Baggett would comprise a similar structure to the thermocouple of Kinnard such that the thermocouple comprises a pad for a wafer to rest upon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using existing configurations of thermocouples used to support silicon wafers for their intended purpose.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 10, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baggett in view of Aggarwal et al. (US2013/0148693)
Consider claim 6, where Baggett teaches the end effector according to claim 1, wherein the end effector comprises an embedded thermocouple, (See Baggett ¶51) however Baggett does not explicitly teach a main body having a through hole, and wherein the temperature sensor is located, or partially located, in the through hole. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Aggarwal teaches a thermocouple assembly that routes wires using bores. (See Aggarwal’s abstract and ¶27 where The thermocouple assembly 48 includes a first wire 56 and second wire 58, as shown in FIG. 4, wherein the first and second wires 56, 58 are formed of dissimilar metals. The first and second wires 56, 58 are received in corresponding bores 68 formed through the center of the support member 52 along the longitudinal axis of the support member 52.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that embedding the thermocouple of Baggett would involve routing wires through bores as taught by Aggarwal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform they modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known structures of thermocouples used in the semiconductor processing chambers for their intended use in semiconductor processing chambers. (See Aggarwal ¶7)
Consider claim 7, where Baggett in view of Aggarwal teaches the end effector according to claim 6, wherein the end effector comprises a tubular part located in the through hole. (See Aggarwal ¶24 where the substrate support mechanism 18 includes a substrate holder 28, upon which the substrate 24 may be disposed, and a susceptor support member 30, as shown in FIG. 1. The susceptor support member 30 is connected to a shaft 32 that extends downwardly through a tube 34 depending from the lower wall of the reaction chamber 12) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the embedding of Baggett to similarly include the tube to accept the shaft as taught by Aggarwal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform they modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known structures of thermocouples used in the semiconductor processing chambers for their intended use in semiconductor processing chambers. (See Aggarwal ¶7, 26 where It should be understood by one skilled in the art that although the illustrated thermocouple assembly 48 is substantially linear, the thermocouple assembly 48 may be formed of any shape sufficient to allow the measuring tip 66 of the thermocouple assembly 48 to be disposed at a particularly desired location adjacent to the substrate being processed or the substrate support 28 supporting the substrate being processed.)
Consider claim 10, where Baggett in view of Aggarwal teaches the end effector according to claim 7, wherein the end effector comprises a cap or cover on an upper side of the tubular part. (See Aggarwal Figs. 6A-E ¶41 as shown in FIG. 6E, the thermocouple junction 130 is located immediately adjacent to the inner surface of the sheath 102 at the measuring tip 118, thereby providing a minute gap between the thermocouple junction 130 and the sheath 102. It should be understood by one skilled in the art that the thermocouple junction 130 can be in contact with, or spaced apart from, the inner surface of the sheath 102 at the measuring tip 118, wherein the contact between the support member 104 and the sheath 102 is configured to reduce or eliminate the spring force that is typically biases the thermocouple junction 130 against the measuring tip 118 so as to allow the thermocouple junction 130 to remain in a substantially fixed location relative to the measuring tip 118 from thermocouple to thermocouple.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the embedding of Baggett to similarly include the tube to accept the shaft as taught by Aggarwal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform they modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known structures of thermocouples used in the semiconductor processing chambers for their intended use in semiconductor processing chambers. (See Aggarwal ¶7, 26 where It should be understood by one skilled in the art that although the illustrated thermocouple assembly 48 is substantially linear, the thermocouple assembly 48 may be formed of any shape sufficient to allow the measuring tip 66 of the thermocouple assembly 48 to be disposed at a particularly desired location adjacent to the substrate being processed or the substrate support 28 supporting the substrate being processed.)
Consider claim 13, where Baggett in view of Aggarwal teaches the end effector according to claim 10, wherein the temperature sensor is attached to an underside of the cap or cover. (See Aggarwal Figs. 6A-E ¶41 as shown in FIG. 6E, the thermocouple junction 130 is located immediately adjacent to the inner surface of the sheath 102 at the measuring tip 118, thereby providing a minute gap between the thermocouple junction 130 and the sheath 102. It should be understood by one skilled in the art that the thermocouple junction 130 can be in contact with, or spaced apart from, the inner surface of the sheath 102 at the measuring tip 118, wherein the contact between the support member 104 and the sheath 102 is configured to reduce or eliminate the spring force that is typically biases the thermocouple junction 130 against the measuring tip 118 so as to allow the thermocouple junction 130 to remain in a substantially fixed location relative to the measuring tip 118 from thermocouple to thermocouple.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the embedding of Baggett to similarly include the tube to accept the shaft as taught by Aggarwal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform they modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known structures of thermocouples used in the semiconductor processing chambers for their intended use in semiconductor processing chambers. (See Aggarwal ¶7, 26 where It should be understood by one skilled in the art that although the illustrated thermocouple assembly 48 is substantially linear, the thermocouple assembly 48 may be formed of any shape sufficient to allow the measuring tip 66 of the thermocouple assembly 48 to be disposed at a particularly desired location adjacent to the substrate being processed or the substrate support 28 supporting the substrate being processed.)
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baggett in view of Aggarwal as applied to claim 13 above, in further view of Palmer et al. (US2018/0289925)
Consider claim 14, where Baggett in view of Aggarwal teaches the end effector according to claim 13, wherein the temperature sensor is attached to the underside of the cap or cover. (See Aggarwal Figs. 6A-E ¶41 as shown in FIG. 6E, the thermocouple junction 130 is located immediately adjacent to the inner surface of the sheath 102 at the measuring tip 118, thereby providing a minute gap between the thermocouple junction 130 and the sheath 102. It should be understood by one skilled in the art that the thermocouple junction 130 can be in contact with, or spaced apart from, the inner surface of the sheath 102 at the measuring tip 118) However Aggarwal does not explicitly teach using a thermally conductive adhesive, for example thermal epoxy. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Palmer teaches using a thermally conductive adhesive, for example thermal epoxy. (See Palmer ¶182 where a fine-wire thermocouple 160, with an electrically insulated junction and leads, is attached through thermal bonding or adhesives, to an outer surface of a portion of the cover 130 that encapsulates the heated portion of the heater coil 140) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the thermocouple junction 130 could similarly be coupled to the measuring tip 118 using a thermally conductive adhesive as taught by Palmer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of increasing stability by adhering the contacting elements together.
Claim(s) 16-18, 20, 22-24, 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baggett in view of Elliot (WO2019/201603)
Consider claim 16, where Baggett teaches the end effector according to claim 15, wherein the controller is configured to measure a temperature based on the output of the temperature sensor. Baggett teaches measuring, however Baggett does not explicitly teach calculate. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Elliot teaches calculating. (See Elliot page 15 lines 15-19 where the present invention may comprise using a detected change in the sensed temperature of the first temperature changing part to calculate an incoming temperature of a wafer whose temperature was changed by the first temperature changing part) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the measured values from the temperature sensor would be converted to a temperature value via calculation as taught by Elliot. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known methods to yield the desired parameter.
Consider claim 17, where Baggett in view of Elliot teaches the end effector according to claim 16, wherein the controller is configured to calculate the temperature using a calibration algorithm. (See Elliot page 3 line 32- page 4 line 7 where Temperature changes occurring slowly over a relatively long period of time (e.g. of the order of hours) may be essentially accounted for by periodically calibrating the measurement apparatus, or may be essentially subtracted out by performing comparative measurements.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the measured values from the temperature sensor would be converted to a temperature value via calibration as taught by Elliot. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using known methods to yield the desired parameter.
Consider claim 18, where Baggett teaches a robot having the end effector according to claim 1. (See Baggett ¶36 where workpiece transfer apparatus 178A, 1788 (e.g., a robot with an end effector 180 configured to support the workpiece concurrent with transferring the workpiece).) However Baggett does not explicitly teach a robotic arm, However, in an analogous field of endeavor Elliot teaches a robotic arm. (See Elliot Page 26 line 32-34) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the robot of Baggett would have a robotic arm as taught by Elliot. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of allowing for more degrees of freedom of movement for the end effector.
Consider claim 20, where Baggett discloses the apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the apparatus further comprises a robot having the end effector according to claim 1. (See Baggett ¶36 where workpiece transfer apparatus 178A, 1788 (e.g., a robot with an end effector 180 configured to support the workpiece concurrent with transferring the workpiece).) However Baggett does not explicitly teach a robotic arm, However, in an analogous field of endeavor Elliot teaches a robotic arm. (See Elliot Page 26 line 32-34) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that the robot of Baggett would have a robotic arm as taught by Elliot. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of allowing for more degrees of freedom of movement for the end effector.
Consider claim 22, where Baggett discloses the apparatus according to claim 21, however, Baggett does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to control a duration of cooling or heating of the wafer to be zero when a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor is equal to, or within a predetermined range of, a predetermined temperature. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Elliot teaches wherein the controller is configured to control a duration of cooling or heating of the wafer to be zero when a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor is equal to, or within a predetermined range of, a predetermined temperature. (See Elliot page 13, 20 The apparatus may be configured to load the semiconductor wafer on to the thermal transfer plate for a predetermined period of time sufficient to achieve thermal equilibrium between the semiconductor wafer and the thermal transfer plate. Alternatively, the output of the first temperature sensor may be used to determine a time required for achieving thermal equilibrium between the semiconductor wafer and the thermal transfer plate, and the time that the semiconductor wafer is positioned on the thermal transfer plate may be controlled accordingly. For example, the semiconductor wafer may be positioned on the thermal transfer plate for exactly the determined time, or for the determined time plus a predetermined amount. This may reduce the throughput time relative to the semiconductor wafer being positioned on the thermal transfer plate for a predetermined time. Causing the second change in the temperature of the semiconductor wafer may comprise changing the temperature of the semiconductor wafer to be within ±3°C, or within ±2°C, or within ±1°C, or within ±0.1°C of a predetermined measurement temperature (e.g. a temperature of the measurement chamber) . In other words, the second change in the temperature of the semiconductor wafer may bring the temperature of the semiconductor wafer close (i.e. within a few °C) to the predetermined measurement. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when the temperature of the wafer already falls within the predetermined temperature range, the calculated duration for reaching the desired temperature range is 0.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Baggett to do nothing when the wafer temperature falls within operational parameters as taught by Elliot. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do nothing to prevent extraneous actions that interfere with the process.
Consider claim 23, where Baggett discloses the apparatus according to claim 21, however, Baggett does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to skip an available cooling or heating step if a temperature difference between a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor and a predetermined temperature is less than ±2K, or ±1K, or ±0.5K, or ±0.1K. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Elliot teaches wherein the controller is configured to skip an available cooling or heating step if a temperature difference between a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor and a predetermined temperature is less than ±2K, or ±1K, or ±0.5K, or ±0.1K. (See Elliot page 13, 20 The apparatus may be configured to load the semiconductor wafer on to the thermal transfer plate for a predetermined period of time sufficient to achieve thermal equilibrium between the semiconductor wafer and the thermal transfer plate. Alternatively, the output of the first temperature sensor may be used to determine a time required for achieving thermal equilibrium between the semiconductor wafer and the thermal transfer plate, and the time that the semiconductor wafer is positioned on the thermal transfer plate may be controlled accordingly. For example, the semiconductor wafer may be positioned on the thermal transfer plate for exactly the determined time, or for the determined time plus a predetermined amount. This may reduce the throughput time relative to the semiconductor wafer being positioned on the thermal transfer plate for a predetermined time. Causing the second change in the temperature of the semiconductor wafer may comprise changing the temperature of the semiconductor wafer to be within ±3°C, or within ±2°C, or within ±1°C, or within ±0.1°C of a predetermined measurement temperature (e.g. a temperature of the measurement chamber) . In other words, the second change in the temperature of the semiconductor wafer may bring the temperature of the semiconductor wafer close (i.e. within a few °C) to the predetermined measurement. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when the temperature of the wafer already falls within the predetermined temperature range, the calculated duration for reaching the desired temperature range is 0 and skip the step.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Baggett to do nothing when the wafer temperature falls within operational parameters as taught by Elliot. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do nothing to prevent extraneous actions that interfere with the process.
Consider claim 24, where Baggett discloses the apparatus according to claim 19, however Baggett does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus is a wafer mass metrology apparatus that further comprises a measurement area. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Elliot teaches wherein the apparatus is a wafer mass metrology apparatus that further comprises a measurement area. (See Elliot’s field of invention where the present invention relates to a semiconductor wafer mass metrology apparatus and a semiconductor wafer mass metrology method in which a temperature of a temperature changing part that is used to change a temperature of a semiconductor wafer before it is transported into a measurement area, or a temperature of the semiconductor wafer whose temperature is changed by the temperature changing part, is measured.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Baggett by performing routine operations in the field of endeavor.
Consider claim 27, where Baggett discloses the method according to claim 26, however Baggett does not explicitly teach wherein the method comprises controlling a duration of cooling or heating of the wafer to be zero when a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor is equal to, or within a predetermined range of, a predetermined temperature. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Elliot teaches wherein the controller is configured to control a duration of cooling or heating of the wafer to be zero when a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor is equal to, or within a predetermined range of, a predetermined temperature. (See Elliot page 13, 20 The apparatus may be configured to load the semiconductor wafer on to the thermal transfer plate for a predetermined period of time sufficient to achieve thermal equilibrium between the semiconductor wafer and the thermal transfer plate. Alternatively, the output of the first temperature sensor may be used to determine a time required for achieving thermal equilibrium between the semiconductor wafer and the thermal transfer plate, and the time that the semiconductor wafer is positioned on the thermal transfer plate may be controlled accordingly. For example, the semiconductor wafer may be positioned on the thermal transfer plate for exactly the determined time, or for the determined time plus a predetermined amount. This may reduce the throughput time relative to the semiconductor wafer being positioned on the thermal transfer plate for a predetermined time. Causing the second change in the temperature of the semiconductor wafer may comprise changing the temperature of the semiconductor wafer to be within ±3°C, or within ±2°C, or within ±1°C, or within ±0.1°C of a predetermined measurement temperature (e.g. a temperature of the measurement chamber) . In other words, the second change in the temperature of the semiconductor wafer may bring the temperature of the semiconductor wafer close (i.e. within a few °C) to the predetermined measurement. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when the temperature of the wafer already falls within the predetermined temperature range, the calculated duration for reaching the desired temperature range is 0.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Baggett to do nothing when the wafer temperature falls within operational parameters as taught by Elliot. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do nothing to prevent extraneous actions that interfere with the process.
Consider claim 28, where Baggett discloses the method according to claim 25, however Baggett does not explicitly teach wherein the method comprises skipping an available cooling or heating step if a temperature difference between a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor and a predetermined temperature is less than ±2K, or ±1K, or ±0.5K, or ±0.1K. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Elliot teaches wherein the controller is configured to skip an available cooling or heating step if a temperature difference between a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor and a predetermined temperature is less than ±2K, or ±1K, or ±0.5K, or ±0.1K. (See Elliot page 13, 20 The apparatus may be configured to load the semiconductor wafer on to the thermal transfer plate for a predetermined period of time sufficient to achieve thermal equilibrium between the semiconductor wafer and the thermal transfer plate. Alternatively, the output of the first temperature sensor may be used to determine a time required for achieving thermal equilibrium between the semiconductor wafer and the thermal transfer plate, and the time that the semiconductor wafer is positioned on the thermal transfer plate may be controlled accordingly. For example, the semiconductor wafer may be positioned on the thermal transfer plate for exactly the determined time, or for the determined time plus a predetermined amount. This may reduce the throughput time relative to the semiconductor wafer being positioned on the thermal transfer plate for a predetermined time. Causing the second change in the temperature of the semiconductor wafer may comprise changing the temperature of the semiconductor wafer to be within ±3°C, or within ±2°C, or within ±1°C, or within ±0.1°C of a predetermined measurement temperature (e.g. a temperature of the measurement chamber) . In other words, the second change in the temperature of the semiconductor wafer may bring the temperature of the semiconductor wafer close (i.e. within a few °C) to the predetermined measurement. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when the temperature of the wafer already falls within the predetermined temperature range, the calculated duration for reaching the desired temperature range is 0 and skip the step.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Baggett to do nothing when the wafer temperature falls within operational parameters as taught by Elliot. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do nothing to prevent extraneous actions that interfere with the process.
Consider claim 29, where Baggett discloses the method according to claim 25, however Baggett does not explicitly teach wherein the method is a wafer mass metrology method, and wherein the method further comprises subsequently loading the wafer onto a measurement area of a wafer mass metrology apparatus. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Elliot teaches the method further comprises subsequently loading the wafer onto a measurement area of a wafer mass metrology apparatus. (See Elliot’s field of invention where the present invention relates to a semiconductor wafer mass metrology apparatus and a semiconductor wafer mass metrology method in which a temperature of a temperature changing part that is used to change a temperature of a semiconductor wafer before it is transported into a measurement area, or a temperature of the semiconductor wafer whose temperature is changed by the temperature changing part, is measured.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Baggett by performing routine operations in the field of endeavor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 11, 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 8 pertains to the end effector of claim 7, wherein the tubular part comprises a material having a lower thermal conductivity than a material of the main body of the end effector. The closest prior art that the Examiner could find would be Elliot which teaches “The end effector (s) may be configured so that there is a minimal or reduced thermal contact area between the end effector (s) and the semiconductor wafer, in order to minimise heat transfer between the end effector (s) and the semiconductor wafer. For example, the end effector (s) may contact the semiconductor wafer solely at the edge of the semiconductor wafer. Alternatively, or in addition, the end effector (s) may be made out of a material (s) with a poor thermal conductivity, i.e. a thermal insulator, to minimise heat transfer between the end effector (s) and the semiconductor wafer.” While this teaching provides a general sense for placing a thermal insulator, there is insufficient motivation for making the tubular part having a lower thermal conductivity than the main body of the end effector.
The Examiner also finds Kelchner et al. (US3,309,237) relevant as Kelchner teaches a mounting block for a thermocouple that may be made of metal, such as aluminum, steel, or stainless steel, or plastic such as polytetrafluoroethylene, polyoxymeth- ylene, polycarbonate, and polychlorotrifluoroethylene resin. Claim 9 recites that the tubular portion is made of polyoxymethylene. There is no teaching for the material properties relative to the rest of the end effector.
Claim 11 recites. Again, Elliot recites “The first thermal transfer plate may be bolted to an outer surface of the measurement chamber, for example using bolts having a high thermal conductivity.” And “In this embodiment, the thermal transfer plate 7 is made from aluminium, but in other embodiments any other material with a good thermal conductivity may be used.” Additionally Kelchner teaches Both the housing 20 and the cover 3 of the thermal couple may be made of aluminum. While this does provide suggestion for constructing the cover out of aluminum, it would require additional testing to ensure compatibility of the thermocouple integration into the end effector.
Conclusion
WILLIAM LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2624
/WILLIAM LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624