DETAILED ACTION
2. This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-13, filed as preliminary amendment, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huellmandel (DE-102012-007576 A1) in view of Rogers (USP 5,471,871).
As Per Claim 1, Huellmandel discloses, a test stand for testing properties of an electrically drivable axle module or a motor vehicle, (Abstract, Fig.1) the test stand comprising; at least one loading unit;(via receiving unit 2, Abstract); at least one test object support with a mechanical interface for clamping the axle module, ( [0024], 1 in Fig.1); an electric interface for energizing the axle module;([0025] 5 in Fig.4); a sensor interface for contacting sensors of the axle module ;(via computing and control unit 5 in Fig.4, [0025]).
However, Huellmandel does not explicitly teach, wherein the mechanical interface is configured as an interchangeable test object receiving area onto which the axle module can be placed via defined contact points;
However, configuring mechanical interface as an interchangeable test object receiving area, for placing the axle module, would be an obvious matter of design choice, In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
However, Huellmandel does not explicitly teach, a fluid interface for supplying fluid to the axle module.
In an analogous art, Rogers teaches, “a testing apparatus 10 essentially comprised of a support frame 12 having, an instrument panel 14, a forward wheel unit 16, a rearward wheel unit 18, a transmission fluid recovery unit, a control mantel assembly 24, control head assembly 26, a jack lift assembly 28, and power module or rotational source 30”, Col.2, line 25-34) , Figs. 1-3…“A transmission fluid recovery unit is an optional component of apparatus 10. Transmission fluid recover unit 22 consists of a fluid tank for holding transmission fluid, a fluid pump for pumping fluid from the tank to the transmission, a fluid volume meter for measuring the amount of fluid flowing to the transmission, a fluid hose in flow communication between the meter and the transmission, a reservoir fluid tray for receiving fluid from the transmission and directing the fluid to tank, and a fluid filter for filtering from the fluid tank”, Col.4, lines 43-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Huellmandel and Rogers before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Huellmandel, to include the teachings (fluid recovery unit) of Rogers and configure with the system of Huellmandel in order to provide lubricant and coolant to the test objects. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to provide cooling and lubrication to the test object ( i.e., facilitate testing operation).
As per Claim 13, Huellmandel as modified by Rogers teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Huellmandel in view of Rogers teaches, wherein the at least one test object support has at least one centering element, wherein the test stand is designed configured to automatically align the at least one test object support when it reaches the test position by means of the at least one centering element. (Rogers : Col.3, line 45—Col.4, line 17). (See claim 1 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
5. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huellmandel (DE-102012-007576 A1) in view of Rogers (USP 5,471,871) in view of Mitomi (JP-H05231991).
As per Claim 2, Huellmandel as modified by Rogers teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Huellmandel in view of Rogers does not explicitly teach, the test stand comprising a conveyor belt configured to automatically transport the test object support to a test position in the test stand.
In an analogous art, Mitomi discloses, an automatic transmission testing device according to the second invention of this invention comprises a belt conveyor for transporting the machine under test mounted on a machine under test pallet,
([0009]-0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Huellmandel and Rogers and Mitomi before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Huellmandel, to include the teachings (a belt conveyor ) for transporting the machine under test mounted on a machine under test pallet. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to ease the transportation of testing parts from one testing location to next location during conducting testing.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 2-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD SHAFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666C