DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 1a, 1b and 4 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following:
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “cleaning elements” in lines 5-6 should apparently be replaced with “at least one cleaning element”.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “the first and second cleaning element groups” in line 22 should apparently be replaced with “first and second cleaning element groups of the at least two groups of cleaning elements”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: actuation means in claim 10.
Based on a review of the specification, an actuation means is interpreted to include a motor, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "and preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). It appears the intended meaning may be that the limitations following are not required features of the claimed apparatus, and this meaning will be used for purposes of examination.
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 2 requires that cleaning element unit comprises two groups of cleaning element, which feature is already required by claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2008/0083075 to Dickie (“Dickie”).
Regarding claim 1, Dickie teaches an oral cleaning arrangement (abstract, note Figs. 12 – 17 and para [0042]), comprising: a main body (ref. 220); at least one cleaning element unit (ref. 256, 258, 260 and 264), the cleaning element unit comprising a base (ref. 260 and 264, para [0041]) and further comprising at least two groups of cleaning elements upstanding from the base (bristle tufts of ref. 256 and 258), the groups defining different spatial layouts, height profiles and/or angular profiles of the cleaning elements with respect to the base, compared to one another (note Figs. 16 and 17, ref. 256 and 258 bristles tufts with different heights), and the two groups being spaced from one another by a gap (gaps between bristle tufts of ref. 256 and 258); wherein the cleaning element unit is linked to the main body by a coupling which permits pivotal or angular motion of the cleaning element unit base relative to the main body (para [0042], note Figs. 16 and 17, changing angles of ref. 256 and 258 relative to ref. 220); wherein the oral cleaning arrangement is arranged for engaging teeth of a user with cleaning elements of the at least one cleaning element unit during use, and wherein said coupling is such as to permit changing of an angle of the base with respect to teeth to which the device is being engaged (para [0042], note Figs. 16 and 17, changing angles of ref. 256 and 258 relative to ref. 220); wherein the oral cleaning arrangement is for use as part of a brushing mouthpiece device, wherein the oral cleaning arrangement comprises a mouthpiece portion for at least partial receipt in the mouth during use, wherein the body of the mouthpiece portion defines a tooth receiving channel defining an arcuate contour shaped for approximately following a contour of at least a portion of a user's dental arch to permit receipt of a row of teeth into the channel (note Figs. 16 and 17, ref. 220 is arcuate and forms a channel); wherein the at least one cleaning element unit is arranged such that the cleaning elements of the first and second cleaning element groups extend into the channel from a side face for engagement with teeth surfaces during use (note Figs. 16 and 17); and wherein the oral cleaning arrangement comprises multiple of the cleaning element units (ref. 256 and 258) at a series of positions along the arcuate contour defined by the mouthpiece portion, for cleaning teeth at different locations along the dental arch.
Regarding claim 2, Dickie discloses an arrangement wherein the cleaning element unit comprises two groups of cleaning elements (bristle tufts of ref. 256 and 258).
Regarding claim 3, Dickie discloses an arrangement wherein said coupling is such as to permit varying of an angle between the main body and a directional axis of the cleaning element unit extending from the first cleaning element group to the second cleaning element group (para [0042], note Figs. 12-17, changing angles of ref. 256 and 258 relative to ref. 220).
Regarding claim 4, Dickie discloses an arrangement wherein the coupling is such as to restrict linear motion of the base relative to the main body along a direction defined by an axis extending from the first cleaning element group to the second cleaning element group (para [0042], note Figs. 12-17).
Regarding claim 6, Dickie discloses an arrangement wherein the coupling permits rotational motion of the base relative to the main body in at least a first plane of rotation which is orientated substantially normal to a surface of the base from which the cleaning elements extend, and extends along a direction from the first group of cleaning elements to the second group of cleaning elements (para [0042], note Figs. 12-17, changing angles of ref. 256 and 258 relative to ref. 220).
Regarding claim 7, Dickie discloses an arrangement wherein the coupling further permits rotational motion relative to the main body in a second plane of rotation which is orientated substantially normal to a surface of the base from which the cleaning elements extend, and extends along a direction perpendicular to a line from the first group of cleaning elements to the second group of cleaning elements (para [0042], note Figs. 12-17, changing angles of ref. 256 and 258 relative to ref. 220).
Regarding claim 9, Dickie discloses an arrangement wherein the device includes a pair of cleaning element units facing one another from opposite positions across the channel, for respectively cleaning different sides of teeth received in the channel, and connected to said same connection point by respectively oppositely extending arms, wherein the pivotal motion of the pair of cleaning element units is coupled such that the two pivotally swing together about the connection point (para [0042], note Figs. 12-17, note ref. 256, 258, 260 and 264).
Regarding claim 10, Dickie teaches an oral care device (abstract, note Figs. 12 – 17 and para [0042]) comprising: an oral cleaning arrangement as claimed in any preceding claim (see, e.g., the analysis for claim 1); and an actuation means (Fig. 16, ref. 234, para [0042]) for inducing, in operation, a periodic motion of cleaning elements.
Regarding claim 11, Dickie discloses an arrangement wherein the periodic motion is linear cyclical motion along a linear directional axis; and wherein the coupling is such that the cleaning element unit base is pivotable relative to the main body of the oral cleaning arrangement about a rotational axis which is substantially parallel with said linear directional axis of the motion (para [0042], note Figs. 12-17, changing angles of ref. 256 and 258 relative to ref. 220).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0083075 to Dickie (“Dickie”).
Regarding claim 5, Dickie does not explicitly teach the arrangement wherein each group of cleaning elements defines an elongate shaped footprint on the base. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to rearrange the cleaning elements, including wherein each group of cleaning elements defines an elongate shaped footprint on the base, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance cleaning. Note that rearrangement of parts is prima facie obvious, as are changes in shape. MPEP 2144.04(III)(B) and(VI)(C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art reference is Dickie. The prior art references of record, taken alone or in combination, do not anticipate or suggest fairly the limitations of: wherein the coupling comprises a connection point displaced from the cleaning element unit at a location in-between sides of the channel, and integrated in a floor of the channel, and the coupling further comprising an arm extending from the connection point to the cleaning element unit base; and wherein the connection point permits an angular motion of the arm for permitting swinging of the cleaning element unit along an arc relative to the connection point to thereby change an angle of the cleaning element unit relative to tooth surfaces of teeth received in the channel, in combination with the other structural elements as instantly recited. Upon further search no other prior art has been located at the date of this Office action.
Conclusion
/ERIC W GOLIGHTLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714