DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US 20230379982 A1), hereinafter, Hwang, in view of Park (US 20200313743 A1), hereinafter, Park.
Regarding claim 1:
Hwang discloses a method of a first user equipment (UE) (Fig. 8, transmitter UE), comprising:
transmitting, to a second UE (Fig. 8, receiver UE), a channel state information (CSI) request requesting to report CSI for transmission beam(s) (Fig. 8, S830; paragraph [0150]);
transmitting a pre-configured signal (Fig. 8, CSI-RS in step S830) to the second UE through the transmission beam(s) paragraph [0150]); and
receiving, from the second UE, a CSI report for the transmission beam(s) (Fig. 8. S831; paragraph [0151]. Second UE measures the received pre-configured signal CSI-RS and generates a report which is received by the first UE), wherein the CSI request includes information (Paragraph [0150], 1-bit indicator in the SCI).
However, Hwang fails to explicitly disclose the CSI request includes information on a type of the pre-configured signal for beam management, and the information on the type of the pre-configured signal indicates at least one of a CSI-reference signal (CSI-RS), a synchronization signal (SS), or a demodulation reference signal (DMRS).
However, Park discloses the CSI request includes information on a type of the pre-configured signal for beam management, and the information on the type of the pre-configured signal indicates at least one of a CSI-reference signal (CSI-RS), a synchronization signal (SS), or a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (Paragraphs [0174]- [0176], value for CSI request field in the SCI indicates whether or not CSI-RS will be transmitted, i.e. the type is indicated and the type indicates CSI-RS (other limitations are optional and hence not required)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that Hwang’s CSI request includes information on a type of the pre-configured signal for beam management, and the information on the type of the pre-configured signal indicates at least one of a CSI-reference signal (CSI-RS), a synchronization signal (SS), or a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) as disclosed by Park. It would have been obvious because it allows for dynamically indicating information to the receiving UE so it can respond accordingly.
Regarding claim 8:
Claim 8 is rejected as being obvious over Hwang in view of Park based on a rationale similar to the one used to reject claim 1 above. Claim 1 is disclosed from the point of view of the first UE (transmitter UE in Fig. 8 of Hwang) and claim 8 claims the same method from the point of view of the second UE (receiver UE in Fig. 8 of Hwang).
Regarding claim 15:
Claim 15 is rejected as being obvious over Hwang in view of Park based on a rationale similar to the one used to reject claim 1 above. Hwang also discloses the claimed processor (Fig. 2, paragraphs [0078]-[0083]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shin et al. (US 20210099265 A1) discloses sidelink communications between two UEs CSI-RS and CSI reporting.
/VINEETA S PANWALKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635