DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 07 January 2025. Claims 2-12 are presently pending and are presented for examination. Claim 1 was previously cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) was/were submitted on 07 January 2025. The submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statement(s) is/are being considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application, PCT/JP2022/027273 (2022-07-11), under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 2, 4, 11, and 12 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, 4, 11, and 12: “in a case where when” should be “in a case .
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “31” (in FIG. 2A). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US-20100321211-A1, hereinafter “Ko”.
Regarding claim 2, and analogous claim 11: Ko discloses A parking assistance method (Ko, FIG. 5; para. 0037: “Refer to FIG. 5 a flowchart of the operating process [i.e., A parking assistance method] of the parking-assistant system according to the present invention.”) comprising:
setting a target parking position at which an own vehicle is to be parked (Ko, para. 0009: “Another objective of the present invention is to provide a composite-image parking-assistant system, which provides a select frame for the driver, wherein the driver designates the intended parking space with the select frame [i.e., setting a target parking position at which an own vehicle is to be parked], and the select frame will persistently appear on the display device and encircle the parking space during parking, whereby the driver can easily park his vehicle into a parking space whose boundary is not clearly delineated.”);
generating an overhead view image of surroundings of the own vehicle from a captured image obtained by capturing surroundings of the own vehicle (Ko, para. 0010: “A further objective of the present invention is to provide a composite-image parking-assistant system, which provides a preset local imaging area containing several bird's eye view images [i.e., generating an overhead view image of surroundings of the own vehicle from a captured image obtained by capturing surroundings of the own vehicle], including images of a parking space, and which integrates the bird's eye view images into a surrounding map when the vehicle does not exceeds the preset local imaging area and the driver designates the parking space with a select frame, whereby is reduced the memory space occupied by the surrounding map.”); and
displaying the overhead view image and a guide figure representing an area of a predetermined size surrounding the target parking position in a display region on a display screen visually recognizable by a passenger of the own vehicle (Ko, para. 0009: “Another objective of the present invention is to provide a composite-image parking-assistant system, which provides a select frame for the driver, wherein the driver designates the intended parking space with the select frame [i.e., a guide figure representing an area of a predetermined size surrounding the target parking position], and the select frame will persistently appear on the display device and encircle the parking space during parking [i.e., a guide figure representing an area of a predetermined size surrounding the target parking position in a display region on a display screen visually recognizable by a passenger of the own vehicle], whereby the driver can easily park his vehicle into a parking space whose boundary is not clearly delineated.”; para. 0010: “A further objective of the present invention is to provide a composite-image parking-assistant system, which provides a preset local imaging area containing several bird's eye view images, including images of a parking space, and which integrates the bird's eye view images into a surrounding map when the vehicle does not exceeds the preset local imaging area and the driver designates the parking space with a select frame [i.e., a guide figure representing an area of a predetermined size surrounding the target parking position], whereby is reduced the memory space occupied by the surrounding map.”; para. 0042: “…integrating the bird's eye view images into a surrounding map, and presenting the surrounding map on a display device 13 (Step S55) [i.e., displaying the overhead view image]…”),
wherein in a case where when an overhead view image is displayed at a first display position on the display screen, a predetermined area or more in the guide figure can be displayed within the display region, the parking assistance method displays an overhead view image at the first display position on the display screen (Ko, FIG. 8B; para. 0050: “The vehicle-positioning unit 122 determines the relative position of the vehicle and the parking space according to the values of m and n. When the values of m and n are greater, the magnification of the surrounding map is reduced. In other words, the value of ZBV in the bird's eye view transformation equation (3) is decreased to contract the coverage of the vision field and make the display device 13 present the surrounding map of the entire environment. Refer to FIG. 8A a diagram schematically showing that the vision field of the surrounding map includes the entire environment of the vehicle and the parking space. When the values of m and n are smaller, the magnification of the surrounding map is raised [i.e., a predetermined area or more in the guide figure can be displayed within the display region]. In other words, the value of ZBV in the bird's eye view transformation equation (3) is increased to enlarge the coverage of the vision field and make the display device 13 present the surrounding map of the local environment [i.e., an overhead view image is displayed at a first display position on the display screen…the parking assistance method displays an overhead view image at the first display position on the display screen].”), and
in a case where when an overhead view image is displayed at the first display position on the display screen, the predetermined area or more in the guide figure cannot be displayed within the display region, the parking assistance method displays an overhead view image at a second display position on the display screen, the second display position being different from the first display position (Ko, FIG. 8A; para. 0050: “The vehicle-positioning unit 122 determines the relative position of the vehicle and the parking space according to the values of m and n. When the values of m and n are greater, the magnification of the surrounding map is reduced [i.e., the predetermined area or more in the guide figure cannot be displayed within the display region, the parking assistance method displays an overhead view image at a second display position on the display screen, the second display position being different from the first display position]. In other words, the value of ZBV in the bird's eye view transformation equation (3) is decreased to contract the coverage of the vision field and make the display device 13 present the surrounding map of the entire environment [i.e., the predetermined area or more in the guide figure cannot be displayed within the display region, the parking assistance method displays an overhead view image at a second display position on the display screen, the second display position being different from the first display position]. Refer to FIG. 8A a diagram schematically showing that the vision field of the surrounding map includes the entire environment of the vehicle and the parking space.”),
wherein when an overhead view image is displayed at the second display position, the parking assistance method reduces the overhead view image to be displayed in the display region (Ko, FIG. 8A; para. 0050: “The vehicle-positioning unit 122 determines the relative position of the vehicle and the parking space according to the values of m and n. When the values of m and n are greater, the magnification of the surrounding map is reduced [i.e., when an overhead view image is displayed at the second display position, the parking assistance method reduces the overhead view image to be displayed in the display region]. In other words, the value of ZBV in the bird's eye view transformation equation (3) is decreased to contract the coverage of the vision field and make the display device 13 present the surrounding map of the entire environment. Refer to FIG. 8A a diagram schematically showing that the vision field of the surrounding map includes the entire environment of the vehicle and the parking space.”).
Regarding claim 3: Ko discloses The parking assistance method according to claim 2,
wherein by reducing the overhead view image to be displayed in the display region, the parking assistance method displays the overhead view image including all of an area displayable in the display region when a display position of the overhead view image is set to the first display position, at the second display position (Ko, FIG. 8B; para. 0050: “The vehicle-positioning unit 122 determines the relative position of the vehicle and the parking space according to the values of m and n. When the values of m and n are greater, the magnification of the surrounding map is reduced [i.e., by reducing the overhead view image to be displayed in the display region, the parking assistance method displays the overhead view image including all of an area displayable in the display region when a display position of the overhead view image is set to the first display position, at the second display position]. In other words, the value of ZBV in the bird's eye view transformation equation (3) is decreased to contract the coverage of the vision field and make the display device 13 present the surrounding map of the entire environment [i.e., by reducing the overhead view image to be displayed in the display region, the parking assistance method displays the overhead view image including all of an area displayable in the display region when a display position of the overhead view image is set to the first display position, at the second display position].”).
Regarding claim 5: Ko discloses The parking assistance method according to claim 2,
wherein the predetermined area in the guide figure is an area including a portion of each of at least two sides of the guide figure, the guide figure being a rectangular shape (Ko, FIG. 8A, see annotated figure, below; para. 0009: “Another objective of the present invention is to provide a composite-image parking-assistant system, which provides a select frame for the driver, wherein the driver designates the intended parking space with the select frame, and the select frame [i.e., guide figure] will persistently appear on the display device and encircle the parking space during parking, whereby the driver can easily park his vehicle into a parking space whose boundary is not clearly delineated.”).
Ko, annotated FIG. 8A
Regarding claim 6: Ko discloses The parking assistance method according to claim 2,
wherein the predetermined area in the guide figure is an area including an entire length of each of at least two sides of the guide figure, the guide figure being a rectangular shape (Ko, FIG. 8A, see annotated figure, below; para. 0009: “Another objective of the present invention is to provide a composite-image parking-assistant system, which provides a select frame for the driver, wherein the driver designates the intended parking space with the select frame, and the select frame [i.e., guide figure] will persistently appear on the display device and encircle the parking space during parking, whereby the driver can easily park his vehicle into a parking space whose boundary is not clearly delineated.”).
Ko, annotated FIG. 8A
Regarding claim 7: Ko discloses The parking assistance method according to claim 2,
wherein the predetermined area in the guide figure is an area including an entire length of at least one short side of the guide figure, the guide figure being a rectangular shape (Ko, FIG. 8A, see annotated figure, below; para. 0009: “Another objective of the present invention is to provide a composite-image parking-assistant system, which provides a select frame for the driver, wherein the driver designates the intended parking space with the select frame, and the select frame [i.e., guide figure] will persistently appear on the display device and encircle the parking space during parking, whereby the driver can easily park his vehicle into a parking space whose boundary is not clearly delineated.”).
Ko, annotated FIG. 8A
Regarding claim 8: Ko discloses The parking assistance method according to claim 2,
wherein the predetermined area in the guide figure is an area including all of four sides of the guide figure, the guide figure being a rectangular shape (Ko, FIG. 8A, see annotated figure, below; para. 0009: “Another objective of the present invention is to provide a composite-image parking-assistant system, which provides a select frame for the driver, wherein the driver designates the intended parking space with the select frame, and the select frame [i.e., guide figure] will persistently appear on the display device and encircle the parking space during parking, whereby the driver can easily park his vehicle into a parking space whose boundary is not clearly delineated.”).
Ko, annotated FIG. 8A
Regarding claim 9: Ko discloses The parking assistance method according to claim 2,
wherein the predetermined area in the guide figure is an area including a center point of the guide figure (Ko, FIG. 6, see annotated figure, below; para. 0045: “Then, the image processing unit 121 calculates a start point to park and obtains a longitudinal distance n and a transverse distance m between the center of the vehicle and the center of the parking space [i.e., an area including a center point of the guide figure], as shown in FIG. 6.”).
Ko, annotated FIG. 6
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko, in view of US-20220161723-A1, hereinafter “Eich”.
Regarding claim 4, and analogous claim 12: Ko discloses A parking assistance method comprising:
setting a target parking position at which an own vehicle is to be parked (Ko, para. 0009: “Another objective of the present invention is to provide a composite-image parking-assistant system, which provides a select frame for the driver, wherein the driver designates the intended parking space with the select frame [i.e., setting a target parking position at which an own vehicle is to be parked], and the select frame will persistently appear on the display device and encircle the parking space during parking, whereby the driver can easily park his vehicle into a parking space whose boundary is not clearly delineated.”);
generating an overhead view image of surroundings of the own vehicle from a captured image obtained by capturing surroundings of the own vehicle (Ko, para. 0010: “A further objective of the present invention is to provide a composite-image parking-assistant system, which provides a preset local imaging area containing several bird's eye view images [i.e., generating an overhead view image of surroundings of the own vehicle from a captured image obtained by capturing surroundings of the own vehicle], including images of a parking space, and which integrates the bird's eye view images into a surrounding map when the vehicle does not exceeds the preset local imaging area and the driver designates the parking space with a select frame, whereby is reduced the memory space occupied by the surrounding map.”); and
displaying the overhead view image and a guide figure representing an area of a predetermined size surrounding the target parking position in a display region on a display screen visually recognizable by a passenger of the own vehicle (Ko, para. 0009: “Another objective of the present invention is to provide a composite-image parking-assistant system, which provides a select frame for the driver, wherein the driver designates the intended parking space with the select frame [i.e., a guide figure representing an area of a predetermined size surrounding the target parking position], and the select frame will persistently appear on the display device and encircle the parking space during parking [i.e., a guide figure representing an area of a predetermined size surrounding the target parking position in a display region on a display screen visually recognizable by a passenger of the own vehicle], whereby the driver can easily park his vehicle into a parking space whose boundary is not clearly delineated.”; para. 0010: “A further objective of the present invention is to provide a composite-image parking-assistant system, which provides a preset local imaging area containing several bird's eye view images, including images of a parking space, and which integrates the bird's eye view images into a surrounding map when the vehicle does not exceeds the preset local imaging area and the driver designates the parking space with a select frame [i.e., a guide figure representing an area of a predetermined size surrounding the target parking position], whereby is reduced the memory space occupied by the surrounding map.”; para. 0042: “…integrating the bird's eye view images into a surrounding map, and presenting the surrounding map on a display device 13 (Step S55) [i.e., displaying the overhead view image]…”),
wherein in a case where when an overhead view image is displayed at a first display position on the display screen, a predetermined area or more in the guide figure can be displayed within the display region, the parking assistance method displays an overhead view image at the first display position on the display screen (Ko, FIG. 8B; para. 0050: “The vehicle-positioning unit 122 determines the relative position of the vehicle and the parking space according to the values of m and n. When the values of m and n are greater, the magnification of the surrounding map is reduced. In other words, the value of ZBV in the bird's eye view transformation equation (3) is decreased to contract the coverage of the vision field and make the display device 13 present the surrounding map of the entire environment. Refer to FIG. 8A a diagram schematically showing that the vision field of the surrounding map includes the entire environment of the vehicle and the parking space. When the values of m and n are smaller, the magnification of the surrounding map is raised [i.e., a predetermined area or more in the guide figure can be displayed within the display region]. In other words, the value of ZBV in the bird's eye view transformation equation (3) is increased to enlarge the coverage of the vision field and make the display device 13 present the surrounding map of the local environment [i.e., an overhead view image is displayed at a first display position on the display screen…the parking assistance method displays an overhead view image at the first display position on the display screen].”), and
in a case where when an overhead view image is displayed at the first display position on the display screen, the predetermined area or more in the guide figure cannot be displayed within the display region, the parking assistance method displays an overhead view image at a second display position on the display screen, the second display position being different from the first display position (Ko, FIG. 8A; para. 0050: “The vehicle-positioning unit 122 determines the relative position of the vehicle and the parking space according to the values of m and n. When the values of m and n are greater, the magnification of the surrounding map is reduced [i.e., the predetermined area or more in the guide figure cannot be displayed within the display region, the parking assistance method displays an overhead view image at a second display position on the display screen, the second display position being different from the first display position]. In other words, the value of ZBV in the bird's eye view transformation equation (3) is decreased to contract the coverage of the vision field and make the display device 13 present the surrounding map of the entire environment [i.e., the predetermined area or more in the guide figure cannot be displayed within the display region, the parking assistance method displays an overhead view image at a second display position on the display screen, the second display position being different from the first display position]. Refer to FIG. 8A a diagram schematically showing that the vision field of the surrounding map includes the entire environment of the vehicle and the parking space.”)…
…displays the overhead view image in the display region (Ko, FIG. 8A; FIG. 8B; para. 0050: “…make the display device 13 present the surrounding map of the entire environment.”).
Ko does not appear to explicitly disclose the following:
…wherein the parking assistance method adds a background image in which a grid is drawn to the overhead view image and…
However, in the same field of endeavor, Eich teaches:
…wherein the parking assistance method adds a background image in which a grid is drawn to the overhead view image (Eich, para. 0002: “The invention relates to a parking assistance system for a vehicle, designed to present surroundings of the vehicle. In addition, the invention relates to a method [i.e., the parking assistance method] for presenting the surroundings of a vehicle as well as a program unit and a computer-readable medium.”; para. 0007: “An aspect of the invention relates to a parking assistance system for a vehicle, designed to present surroundings of the vehicle. The parking assistance system can include at least one camera designed to record at least one image. The parking assistance system can use a grid structure to present the surroundings of the vehicle for a user. Additionally, the parking assistance system can have an image evaluation unit designed to determine an orientation of another vehicle depicted in the image. Additionally, the image evaluation unit can be designed to adapt a grid structure on the basis of the determined orientation of the other vehicle, with the image being projected onto the adapted grid structure [i.e., adds a background image in which a grid is drawn to the overhead view image].”) and…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Ko, with the concept of including a background grid visualization to an image of the surroundings of a vehicle, taught by Eich, in order to improve the spatial perception of a vehicle during a parking assist event (Eich, para. 0008: “The advantage of this embodiment can be that, due to the adaptation of the grid structure to another vehicle, the maneuvering of a car during the process of pulling into or out of a parking space or similar is simplified for the user. In addition, it can be an advantage that other expensive sensor devices can be dispensed with and, simultaneously, the maneuverability of the vehicle can be improved. Additionally, the perception for a user of the parking assistance system can be improved since optical artifacts no longer appear in the displayed image.”).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko, as applied to claim 2, above, and further in view of JP-2005075015-A, hereinafter “Satonaka”.
Regarding claim 10: Ko discloses The parking assistance method according to claim 2 comprising:
detecting the target parking position, based on a captured image obtained by capturing surroundings of the own vehicle (Ko, para. 0047: “The parking space can be automatically or manual designated with the select frame [i.e., detecting the target parking position]. The image processing unit [i.e., based on a captured image obtained by capturing surroundings of the own vehicle] detects parking spaces and then automatically selects and designates a parking space with the select frame. Alternatively, the driver uses an input interface to manually select and designate a parking space with the select frame.”)…
Ko does not appear to explicitly disclose the following:
…calculating a target travel trajectory starting from a current position of the own vehicle and reaching the target parking position; and controlling the own vehicle in such a way that the own vehicle travels along the target travel trajectory.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Satonaka teaches:
…calculating a target travel trajectory starting from a current position of the own vehicle and reaching the target parking position (translated document of Satonaka, para. 8: “According to a first aspect of the present invention, there is provided a position and orientation detection means for detecting a position and orientation of a vehicle [i.e., starting from a current position of the own vehicle] with respect to a road surface, and the position and orientation by the position and orientation detection means. And an automatic guidance device that automatically guides the vehicle in correspondence with a target parking position [i.e., reaching the target parking position] or a target guidance route [i.e., calculating a target travel trajectory] using a control parameter that is corrected accordingly, and the position/orientation detection device has an abnormality.”); and
controlling the own vehicle in such a way that the own vehicle travels along the target travel trajectory (translated document of Satonaka, para. 15: “FIG. 1 is a system configuration diagram of a guidance support apparatus 10 mounted on a vehicle according to an embodiment of the present invention. The guidance support device 10 of this embodiment performs vehicle steering so that the vehicle moves along a guidance route to a target parking position [i.e., controlling the own vehicle in such a way that the own vehicle travels along the target travel trajectory] on the road surface on which the vehicle is to be parked when parking the vehicle such as garage parking or parallel parking.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Ko, with the concept of calculating a target travel trajectory to a target parking position and controlling a vehicle to travel along the target travel trajectory, taught by Satonaka, in order to provide a driver assistance system for challenging parking scenarios, like garages and parallel parking (translated document of Satonaka, para. 17: “Parking assist ECU12 detects the touch operation of the vehicle driver to a touch operation part, and performs the process according to the content of this touch operation part. The touch operation unit includes a switch for starting the garage parking mode as a parking assist control, a switch for starting the parallel parking mode, and an arrow button for designating a target parking position where the driver parks the vehicle.”).
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20120287279-A1 (2012-11-15) | ” A parking support apparatus includes: a vehicle position locating control unit for locating a present position; a parking support database in which a guideline to be displayed at parking is registered for each parking space; cameras for shooting surroundings; a parking support screen generating unit for acquiring, when parking in a parking space placed at the position located by the vehicle position locating control unit, the guideline corresponding to the parking space from the parking support database, and for generating a parking support screen by superposing the guideline upon an image or images taken with the cameras; and a display unit for displaying the parking support screen created by the parking support screen generating unit. Accordingly, it can offer a parking support apparatus capable of displaying the optimum parking support image corresponding to a parking space and improving convenience.” Relevant to claims 2 and 11.
Conclusion
/Leah N Miller/Examiner, Art Unit 3663 /JAMES M MCPHERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3663