DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claims 11-18 are newly added.
Claims 1-18 are currently under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Westerveld et al (2021)(IDS Reference).
Westerveld exemplifies application to glyphosate-resistant horseweed a combination of 25 or 50 g ai/ha tiafenacil with 400 g ai/ha metribuzin (see entire document, for instance, Table 4). Thes amounts result in a ratio of either 1:16 or 1:8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westerveld et al (2021)(IDS Reference) and Soltani et al (2020).
Westerveld exemplifies application to glyphosate-resistant horseweed (Conyza canadensis L. Cronquist) a combination of 25 or 50 g ai/ha tiafenacil with 400 g ai/ha metribuzin (see entire document, for instance, Table 4). Thes amounts result in a ratio of either 1:16 or 1:8. Westerveld further teaches that metribuzin in combination with S-metolachlor improved the control of horseweed (see entire document, for instance, page 818, left column, first full paragraph).
Westerveld, while teaching the instantly claimed components, amounts, and ratios for tiafenacil and metribuzin, does not expressly teach the amount of S-metolachlor.
Soltani teaches the advantageous combination of 1680 g ai/ha S-metolachlor and 400 g ai/ha metribuzin for the treatment of Conyza canadensis L. Cronquist (see entire document, for instance, Table 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to utilize 1680 g ai/ha of S-metolachlor in combination with the 400 g ai/ha metribuzin and 25 or 50 g ai/ha tiafenacil. One would have been motivated to do so since Westerveld teaches the advantageous combination of the metribuzin and tiafenacil for treating Conyza canadensis L. Cronquist, wherein Soltani teaches the advantageous combination of metribuzin and S-metolachlor for treating Conyza canadensis L. Cronquist. There would be a reasonable expectation of success since both references are directed toward control of Conyza canadensis L. Cronquist, and both references utilize 400 g ai/ha metribuzin.
Conclusion
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611