DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: at line 2, the statement non comprising is unclear and is interpreted as “and” comprising. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh et al. (U.S. Pub No. 20210387539).
Regarding claim 1, Oh et al. disclose a control method for an electric road vehicle comprising an electric power train system and comprising a mechanical gear/speed change mechanism along the transmission (Se paragraph 0034, 0035) and configured to deliver, by means of at least one electric motor (5), drive torque to at least two wheels (2) of the road vehicle (1);the method comprising the steps of:- defining a plurality of virtual gears (8), each of which determines a respective limit profile (A, B, C, D, E) of drive torque (T) deliverable by the power train system (4) to the wheels (2) as the velocity varies (See steps s12 and s13 of Fig.3 for determining virtual gears; see virtual gears along paragraphs 0057-0060; see detection of torque limits according to virtual gears in step s14 of Fig.3; see details of torque limits along paragraphs 0104-0114 and in Fig.6);
detecting, upon actuation of an interface system by the driver , while driving, a selection for one of the virtual gears currently set by the driver (See consideration of paddle shifter information at S13 in paragraph 0060; see driving information detector 12 in Fig.1; see paragraphs 0052-0055 describing the driving information detector comprising paddle shifts); and
delivering a drive torque to at least two wheels according to the selection (See detection of torque limits according to virtual gears in step s14 of Fig.3; see details of torque limits along paragraphs 0104-0114 and in Fig.6);
the method being characterized in that at least one limit profile of the plurality of virtual gear profiles comprises an angular point at which, as the velocity of the road vehicle increases, the drive torque delivered to the wheels is at least partially cut off (See virtual red zone in step S15 leading to fuel-cut control at S16 of Fig.3 and see paragraph 0046; see details of virtual red zones and fuel-cut control along paragraphs 0123-0126; see also stepped torque limits for each gear in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Oh et al. disclose a road vehicle (See paragraph 0034-0035) comprising:
four wheels, of which at least two are drive wheels (See paragraphs 0003, 0004) ;
an electric power train system (See paragraph 0003, 0004) configured to provide drive torque to at least two drive wheels;
an interface system configured to allow the driver to select a virtual gear from a plurality of virtual gears (See paragraphs 0079-0081) in which the virtual gears each determine a torque limit profile that can be delivered by the power train system to the wheels as the velocity varies;
a control unit (See Fig.1), configured to detect an actuation of the interface system by the driver , while driving, the virtual gear selection and to control the delivery of the drive torque to the at least two drive wheels as a function of said selection; the control unit (See Fig.1) being configured to command, as the velocity of the road vehicle increases, at least one angular point of one of the profile profiles of the plurality of virtual gears, a cut in the torque delivered to the wheels.
Regarding claim 2, Oh et al. disclose wherein each respective angular point is arranged, on the respective said profile, at predefined values of a speed metric of the at least one electric motor, in particular at predefined values (PV) of revolutions per minute; in particular, each angular point determines a virtual torque limiter per RPM of the electric motor; in particular, the method comprises the further step of generating a sound audible by the driver as a function of at least one limit profile, more in particular at each angular point. (torque limitation at angular points and generation of sound according to limit profiles) (See paragraph 0193 regarding virtual engine sound).
Regarding claim 3, Oh et al. disclose wherein the distance between at least two successive predefined values increases as the virtual gears increase (See paragraph 0087 wherein one would inherently use the distance between two successive predefined values to evaluate an increase).
Regarding claim 4, Oh et al. disclose the further step of defining a virtual metric, in particular virtual revolutions per minute, of the speed of the at least one electric motor; wherein the position of each angular point on the respective profile depends on the value of the virtual metric (VM) (definition of virtual motor speed ; See virtual engine speed in Fig. 2 and paragraphs 0061-0066, 0089-0094).
Regarding claim 5, Oh et al. disclose wherein the virtual metric (VM) corresponds to a respective real metric (RM) of the at least one electric motor (5); in particular wherein virtual revolutions per minute correspond to real revolutions per minute of the at least one electric motor (5); wherein in order to reach a higher real number of 27 revolutions, the driver is forced to change virtual gears ((need for virtually up-shifting for enabling higher real motor speeds); see virtual red zone along paragraphs 0123-0126; Fig.6)
Regarding claim 6, Oh et al. disclose wherein the virtual metric (VM) differs at least in part from a respective real metric of the at least one electric motor ; in particular wherein virtual revolutions per minute differ at least in part from real revolutions per minute of the at least one electric motor (virtual and real motor speeds being different (See virtual engine speed in Fig.2 and paragraphs 0061-0066, 0089-0094).
Regarding claim 7, Oh et al. disclose a step of projecting on a vehicular screen the virtual metric and not the respective real metric (considered as displaying virtual motor speed) (See paragraph 0198-0200).
Regarding claims 8-9, Oh et al. disclose wherein the virtual metric varies in concordance with the respective real metric apart a predefined offset for each virtual gear; and wherein the predefined offset changes between virtual gears , in particular wherein the predefined offset respectively increases or decreases as the virtual gears increase (considered as offset between virtual and real motor speeds) (See paragraph 0089-0094).
Regarding claims 10, 11, Oh et al. disclose wherein the difference between the real metric and the respective virtual metric , in particular the predefined offset, changes, in particular respectively increases or decreases, in steps as the virtual gears increase, wherein the amplitude of the steps increases as the virtual gears increase; and wherein, at each angular point, the value of the virtual metric decreases by the additional value of the respective offset of the next virtual gear, relative to that of the current virtual gear (considered as details about calculation of virtual motor speeds; see also paragraph 0087-0089).
Regarding claim 13, Oh et al. disclose wherein the control unit is configured to perform the method (See paragraph 0034-0035).
Regarding claim 14, Oh et al. disclose wherein the interface system comprises at least one first device operable by the driver with the right hand and at least one second device operable by the driver with the left hand; wherein one between the first drive device and the second drive device is configured to allow the driver to shift to the higher virtual gear and the other between the first drive device and the second drive device is configured to allow the driver to shift to the lower virtual gear (See the paddle are considered as interface system with device as the paddle arrangement for shifting comprising two pedals, one for up-shifting and one for down-shifting (See paragraph 0052, 0054, 0055).
Regarding claim 15, Oh et al. disclose comprising a steering, wherein the steering is rotatable about a central steering axis, wherein the first device and the second device are paddles arranged respectively to the right and to the left of the central steering axis, preferably symmetrically, in particular so as to face each other and extend radially from said central steering axis (See paragraph 0003, 0052; it is well known to have paddles arranged around the steering and for shifting).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Janson (U.S. Patent No. 7,424,924) a torque transfer case for a hybrid electric vehicle powertrain with engine and electric power sources is described, the electric power source comprising an electric motor and a battery. It distributes driving power to front and rear traction wheel and axle assemblies to effect all-wheel drive or four-wheel drive as well as regenerative power recovery. The electric power source can be used for engine cranking and the engine can be used for battery charging.
/GERTRUDE ARTHUR JEANGLAUDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661