DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 were previously pending and subject to a restriction requirement dated October 23, 2025. In the Response, submitted on December 18, 2025, Group I, claims 1-12 were elected. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending, claims 13-20 are withdrawn, and claims 1-12 rejected in the non-final rejection below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group 1, Claims 1-12 in the reply filed on December 18, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-12 are directed to a method (i.e., a process), and therefore the claims all fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong One
Claim 1 recites a method comprising: receiving input data associated with a request; generating a first value prediction associated with the request; determining at least one of a first conversion rate or a first average ticket value for at least one resource associated with a tenant to perform a service job associated with the request for a customer; generating a second value prediction associated with the request for at least one different service job, wherein the at least one different service job is predicted to be performed for the customer by the at least one resource subsequent to the at least one resource performing the service job for the customer; determining at least one of a second conversion rate or a second average ticket value for the at least one resource to perform the at least one different service job; and generating, based at least on the first value prediction, at least one of the first conversion rate or the first average ticket value, the second value prediction, and at least one of the second conversion rate or the second average ticket value, a comprehensive value prediction associated with the requests.
The limitations recited above recite the abstract idea of a certain method of organizing human activity (e.g., commercial interactions, following rules or instructions; and fundamental economic principles or practices). Therefore, the claim recites an abstract idea.
The mere recitation of using a first trained machine learning model and using a second trained learning machine model, and do not take the claims out of the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 as a whole: generally links the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
The claim recites the additional elements of: using a first trained machine learning model, and using a second trained machine learning model, which are recited at a high-level of generality such that, when viewed as whole/ordered combination, it amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., machine learning) (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, these additional elements, when viewed as a whole/ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
As discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements amount to no more than: generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., machine learning) (See MPEP 2106.05(h)) does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B.
Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. Thus, even when viewed as a whole/ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 9-10 merely recites details that narrow the previously recited abstract idea limitations. For these reasons, as described above with respect to claim 8, these judicial exceptions are not meaningfully integrated into a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea. Thus, claims 9-10 are also ineligible.
Step 2A, Prong One
Claim 11 recites wherein receiving the data associated with the service job comprises receiving the data, from the tenant, in response to the tenant receiving the request to perform the service job for the customer -which further narrows the previously recited abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two
Claim 11 recites the additional element of receiving the data in real-time, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that, when viewed as a whole/ordered combination, amounts to no more than: reciting the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely include instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, the additional element, when viewed as a whole/ordered combination, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., reciting the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)) does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B.
Therefore, the additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. Thus, even when viewed as a whole/ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Step 2A, Prong One
Claim 12 recites causing display of the comprehensive value prediction associated with the service job- which further narrows the previously recited abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two
Claim 12 recites the additional element of causing the display, via an interface of at least one computing device (associated with the tenant), which is recited at a high-level of generality such that, when viewed as a whole/ordered combination, amounts to no more than: reciting the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely include instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, the additional element, when viewed as a whole/ordered combination, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., reciting the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)) does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B.
Therefore, the additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. Thus, even when viewed as a whole/ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “wherein receiving the data associated with the service job comprises receiving the data…from the tenant, in response to the tenant receiving the request to perform the service job for the customer.” It is unclear whether “receiving the data” refers to “receiving input data associated with a request”; or if “the data” lacks antecedent basis. For examination purpose, the claim will be interpreted as reciting “comprising receiving data associated with the service job, wherein receiving the data comprises receiving the data, in real-time and from the tenant….”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0334616 to Qui et al. (hereinafter “Qiu”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0292011 to Colson et al. (hereinafter “Colson”) and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0019690 to Gordenker et al. (hereinafter “Gordenker”).
In regard to claim 1, Qui discloses receiving input data associated with a request (Para. 36) (JVP system 100 may obtain real time information or live data from a job request…. )
Qui discloses generating, using a first trained machine learning model, a first value prediction associated with the request (Abst.; Paras. 36, 49) (…a job value prediction (JVP) system 100 for generating a value prediction for a job (i.e., a first value prediction associated with the request) based on live data… The trained model may then be used to generate a predicted job value or JVP…. In some examples, training the model can include training a machine learning model (i.e., using a first trained machine learning model) to generate the trained model)
Qui discloses determining at least one of …a first average ticket value for at least one resource associated with a tenant to perform a service job associated with the request for a customer (Paras.27, 36, 42 and 47) (FIG. 1 depicts a job value prediction (JVP) system 100 for generating a value prediction for a job… perform scheduling and assignment tasks for technician (i.e., a first… ticket value for at least one resource) …The JVP may be substantially similar to a respective direct or indirect job valuation value such as job revenue or profits…. a JVP may be generated instead by a substitute process, such as an aggregating and averaging process (not depicted) which generates a JVP (i.e., average ticket value)… The job request can be received by the tenant …from a customer about a job request (i.e., associated with a tenant to perform a service job associated with the request for a customer).)
Qui discloses generating, using a second trained machine learning model, a second value prediction associated with the request for at least one different service job (Abst.; Paras. 33, 36, 49) (…a job value prediction (JVP) system 100 for generating a value prediction for a job (i.e., a second value prediction associated with the request) based on live data… The trained model may then be used to generate a predicted job value or JVP…. In some examples, training the model can include training a machine learning model (i.e., using a second trained machine learning model) to generate the trained model…In some examples, the JVP can be provided to downstream services (e.g., for use in scheduling processes for future services provided by the same service provider or other service providers) (i.e., second value predication associated with the request for at least one different service job).)
Qui discloses determining at least one of …a second average ticket value for the at least one resource to perform the at least one different service job (Paras. 27, 33, 36 , 42 and 47) (FIG. 1 depicts a job value prediction (JVP) system 100 for generating a value prediction for a job… perform scheduling and assignment tasks for technician (i.e., for the at least one resource) …The JVP may be substantially similar to a respective direct or indirect job valuation value such as job revenue or profits (i.e., determining at least one of a second ticket value)…. a JVP may be generated instead by a substitute process, such as an aggregating and averaging process (not depicted) which generates a JVP (i.e., average ticket value)… The job request can be received by the tenant …from a customer about a job request… In some examples, the JVP can be provided to downstream services (e.g., for use in scheduling processes for future services provided by the same service provider or other service providers) (i.e., a second ticket value for the at least one resource to perform the at least one different service job.)
Qui does not explicitly disclose or teach, however, Colson teaches wherein the at least one different service job is predicted to be performed for the customer by the at least one resource subsequent to the at least one resource performing the service job for the customer (Para. 16) (Where a particular worker resource 106 (i.e., the at least one resource) previously performed multiple tasks for a particular client 104 (i.e., subsequent to the at least one resource performing the service job for the customer), the relationship information can indicate how often and/or to what extent the multiple tasks were successfully performed by the particular worker resource 106 for the particular client 104…. The task assignment server 122 may take into account such relationship information to assign further tasks, received from that particular client 104, to the same worker resource 106 that has had an excellent track record for successfully performing tasks for that particular client 104 (i.e., the at least one different service job is predicted to be performed for the customer by the at least one resource).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include taking into account the track record of a particular worker resource for a particular client as taught in Colson with the model for predicting a job value of Qui in order to provide a more accurate metric for assigning resources to a job.
As discussed above, Qui discloses the first value prediction and the first average ticket value, and the second value prediction and the second average ticket value. Qui in view of Colson does not explicitly disclose or teach, however, Gordenker teaches generating, based at least on the first value prediction, at least one of the first conversion rate or the first average ticket value, the second value prediction, and at least one of the second conversion rate or the second average ticket value, a comprehensive value prediction associated with the request (Paras. 21-23) (Edges of the bipartite graph may interconnect job nodes to timeslot nodes and each associated with a cost based on a calculated value of the job (i.e., first/second value prediction). In some examples, the edge costs may additionally be modified by a multiplier associated with the particular technician (associated with the particular timeslot) (i.e., first average ticket value for at least one resource/second average ticket value for the at least one resource)…. the solved bipartite graph provides a technician dispatching schedule…optimized for increased revenue realization (i.e., generating a comprehensive value predication associated with the request) because the lowest cost edges correlate to the highest value job assignments (e.g., job value multiplied by a technician multiplier).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the costs and edge costs of the bipartite graph of Gordenker with the model for predicting a job value of Qui in view of Colson in order to calculate a more accurate job value.
Examiner notes that as claim 1 only recites “determining at least one of a first conversion rate or a first average ticket value”, in lines 5-6 and “determining at least one of a second conversion rate or a second average ticket value” in line 12, then under broadest reasonable interpretation the determining of a first conversion rate, and determining a second conversion rate is not required. Therefore, the limitations of dependent claim 5 (reciting “wherein determining the first conversion rate comprises”) and dependent claim 6 (reciting “wherein determining the second conversion rate comprises) are not required.
In regard to claim 3, Qui discloses wherein the first value prediction associated with the request comprises an expected value associated with the at least one resource performing the service job for the customer, and wherein the second value prediction associated with the at least one different service job comprises an expected value associated with the at least one resource performing the at least one different service job for the customer (Paras. 36 and 42) (FIG. 1 depicts a job value prediction (JVP) system 100 for generating a value prediction (i.e., expected value) for a job based on live data… The trained model may then be used to generate a predicted job value or JVP. The JVP can be used by the tenant to provide an estimate to the customer or requester who originated the job request (i.e., associated with the at least one resource performing the service job/different service job for the customer).)
In regard to claim 4, Qui discloses wherein the first machine learning model is trained to generate the first value prediction associated with the service job using at least one of: historical data associated with a type of the service job…wherein the second machine learning model is trained to generate the second value prediction associated with the at least one different service job using at least one of: historical data associated with a type of the at least one different service job… (Para. 49) (…training the model can include training a machine learning model to generate the trained model, where training the machine learning model comprises receiving a historical dataset a…comprising a historical record of features associated with the job).
In regard to claim 7, Qui discloses further comprising preprocessing the input data to obtain a set of features associated with the service job, the set of features consumable by the first machine learning model and the second machine learning model (Abst.) (A trained model associated with the tenant is retrieved, where the trained model is configured to generate a job value prediction for the job to be performed. The live data is preprocessed to obtain a set of features associated with the job, the set of features consumable by the trained model, and the trained model is applied to the set of features to generate the job value prediction for the job to be performed by the tenant.)
In regard to claim 8, Qui discloses wherein generating, using the first machine learning model, the first value prediction associated with the service job comprises inputting the set of features into the first machine learning model, and wherein generating, using the second machine learning model, the second value prediction associated with the at least one different service job, comprises inputting the set of features into the second machine learning model (Abst.) (A trained model associated with the tenant is retrieved, where the trained model is configured to generate a job value prediction for the job to be performed. The live data is preprocessed to obtain a set of features associated with the job, the set of features consumable by the trained model, and the trained model is applied to the set of features to generate the job value prediction for the job to be performed by the tenant.)
In regard to claim 10, Qui discloses sending, to the tenant, the comprehensive value prediction associated with the service job (Para. 33) (The JVP can be provided to the service provider or tenant.)
In regard to claim 11, While Qui discloses that the JVP system 100 may obtain real time information or live data from a job request, Qui in view of Colson does not explicitly disclose or teach, however Gordenker teaches receiving data associated with the service job, wherein receiving the data comprises receiving the data, in real-time and from the tenant, in response to the tenant receiving the request to perform the service job for the customer (Paras. 25-28) (Each of the different scheduling solutions may include steps that identify…, traffic data collected in real-time (e.g. current accidents or current average vehicle speed), estimated time a particular technician could likely perform a service, or other factors.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the real-time conditions of a technician of Gordenker with the model for predicting a job value of Qui in view of Colson in order to calculate a more accurate job value.
In regard to claim 12, Qui discloses causing, via an interface of at least one computing device associated with the tenant, display of the comprehensive value prediction associated with the service job (Paras. 36 and 47) (At step 208, the JVP is output to a downstream service….In some examples, the JVP is provided downstream to task scheduling and assignment services (i.e., associated with the tenant). Further, in some examples, the JVP and/or the inputs may be stored in a repository for later retrieval, such as during a training phase…. The job request can be received by the tenant in the form of a phone call, electronic communication (e.g., instant or text message, electronic mail, via an application programming interface (API)) (i.e., via an interface of at least one computing device associated with the tenant).)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qui in view of Colson and further in view of Gordenker, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0209943 to Ballow et al. (hereinafter “Ballow”).
In regard to claim 2, as discussed above, Gordenker teaches the comprehensive value prediction associated with the request. Qui in view of Colson does not explicitly disclose or teach, however Gordenker teaches that the comprehensive value prediction indicates expected current value associated with the at least one resource performing the service job for the customer (Paras. 21-23) (Edges of the bipartite graph may interconnect job nodes to timeslot nodes and each associated with a cost based on a calculated value of the job [assigned to a technician] (i.e., indicates expected current value associated with the at least one resource performing the service job for the customer)…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the costs and edge costs of the bipartite graph of Gordenker with the model for predicting a job value of Qui in view of Colson in order to calculate a more accurate job value.
Qui in view of Colson and further in view of Godenker does not explicitly disclose or teach, however Ballow teaches that the comprehensive value predication indicates future value associated with the at least one resource (Abst; Paras. 63-64) (…calculating a Total Economic Profit (TEP) value based in part on the financial data, the TEP value including a current value component and a future value component).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the total economic profit of Ballow with the optimized revenue of Qui in view of Colson and further in view of Gordenker in order to calculate a more accurate revenue.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qui in view of Colson and further in view of Gordenker, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of “Why are Dealerships so Reluctant to do Warranty Repairs” by Magliozzi et al., dated June 12, 2021 (hereinafter “Magliozzi”).
In regard to claim 9, as discussed above in regard to claim 1, Qui discloses generating the first value prediction. Qui in view of Colson and further in view of Gordenker, does not explicitly disclose or teach, however, Magliozzi teaches before generating the first value prediction, determining that the service job is not associated with a value of zero, wherein determining that the service job is not associated with a value of zero comprises one or more of: determining that the service job is not a warranty service job (Pages 1-2) (Why are Dealerships so Reluctant to do Warranty Repairs…But until warranty repairs generate income equivalent to nonwarranty repairs, there will always be dealers out there who will shirk the warranty work -- assuming they've got enough work that they can pick and choose….)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include excluding warranty repair work from Magliozzi with the job value of Qui in view of Colson and further in view of Gordenker in order to provide more lucrative repair jobs for the tenant (See Pages 1-2 of Magliozzi).
Prior Art
The following prior art, made of record and not relied upon, is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/00184405 to Mappus et al. (hereinafter “Mappus”). Mappus disclose a likelihood score for each pending installation job comprising a prediction of how likely it is that the installation job will require network-based technician work.
Conclusion
/RUPANGINI SINGH/
Examiner, Art Unit 3628