Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s argument filed March 29, 2026, regarding objections of claims 1 and 2 have been withdrawn due to the amendments made addressing the objections.
Applicant’s argument filed March 29, 2026 regarding rejection of claims 1 and 3 under 35 USC 102 and 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but amended independent claims 1 and 3 require further search and consideration and are moot.
Applicant’s argument filed March 29, 2026 regarding rejection of claim 2 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but are unpersuasive.
3. Applicant argues that the examiner has given conclusory statements and have failed to identify any motivation to have reached a conclusion of obviousness.
However, examiner finds that no conclusory statements were given and detailed motivation for how and why one of ordinary skill in the art would have reached the conclusion of obviousness laid out was previously in previous Office Action and has been again given in the current Office Action as shown below.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of 35 USC 103 for statement of obviousness and motivation are unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that Rush (US 20200218487A1) and Hiramatsu (US 20090146912A1) fails to teach or suggests the amended limitation that “the switching controller is configured to maintain, immediately after switching to the asynchronous mode, the display setting in effect before the switching until the display setting is changed by the occupant of the vehicle,” nor does cited combination of Rush in view of Lee (US 12236156B2) in further view of Jiyama (US 20150211878A1) teach the amended limitation. Applicant also argues that Hiramatsu in combination with Rush, Lee, and/or Jiyama does not teach or suggest the amended limitation as well.
However, examiner argues that claim 3 was rejected through Hiramatsu, not in any combination as well as claim 1 rejected through Rush in view of Lee in further view of Jiyama, not in any other combination with Hiramatsu. In addition, examiner argues that the amendment to claims 1 and 3 requires further search and consideration, and therefore applicant’s argument regarding rejections of amended independent claims 1 and 3 under 35 USC 103 are moot.
Upon further search and consideration, examiner found that Kumon (US 20180095585A1) teaches the amended limitation.
Kumon teaches switching between a mirror display mode and an independent display mode, in which the independent display mode image to be output after switching may be the most recent independent display mode image, i.e. display setting in effect before switching maintained immediately after switching (see [0190] and [0194]-[0197]). Note also in Fig. 16, [0190] and [0204]-[0208] that a display control section determines whether there is an input from an input reception processing section, such as a touch panel, and if there is no input it move to a step in the independent display mode, the display control section outputs the independent display mode image on the basis of the video signal in the last processing cycle where the independent display mode image is maintained without being changed and the mode is changed when there is an input, i.e. the display setting is maintained until changed by the occupant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify a display casting system of Rush by incorporating teaching of Kumon as well as Lee and Jiyama such that the displays include alternative operations in which, during a synchronous mode, all displays are displaying the same information which necessarily includes the same number of facility types, and in an asynchronous mode, in which the central or the passenger display region has more facility information than a driver display region and therefore necessarily a different number of facility types, and in which immediately after switching to the independent mode, or asynchronous mode, if there is no input, the display control section outputs image based on last processing cycle, i.e. the display setting in effect before the switching is maintained, until the display setting is changed by the occupant, as taught by Kumon.
The motivation to maintain and output independent mode based last processing cycle when there is no input is that, as indicated by Kumon, this would allow for improved operability and convenience of two display vehicle interface through having a user operate one display independently while maintaining information on the other display in a visually recognizable state (see [0009]-[0010).
Similarly, for claim 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify vehicle display system with display control device and displays on front and rear of a vehicle to switch to synchronized mode of front and rear or asynchronized mode of Hiramatsu by incorporating teaching of Kumon such that, when switching from the synchronous mode to the asynchronous mode, immediately after switching to the independent mode, or asynchronous mode, if there is no input, the display control section outputs image based on last processing cycle, i.e. the display setting in effect before the switching is maintained, until the display setting is changed by the occupant.
Examiner also notes that the amended claim limitation recites maintaining the display setting in effect before the switching, not maintaining particular mode, such as synchronous mode between the displays. Therefore, the displays may be maintained to the asynchronous mode in effect before the switching until the display setting is changed by the occupant.
The amended independent claims 1 and 3 required further search and consideration that required addition of another prior art. Therefore, applicant’s argument regarding rejections of amended independent claims 1 and 3 under 35 USC 103 are moot.
Applicant also argues that amended claim 3 recites that the back-seat display region is viewable from the back seat of the vehicle, which the back-seat display corresponds to the center information display that is visible by a person sitting in the back seat.
However, examiner argues that “viewable from a back-seat” does not distinguish where the back-seat display region is placed so long as an occupant in the back seat is able to see the back-seat display region. Therefore, Hiramatsu still teaches the amended limitation of “viewable from” the back seat as it teaches a rear-seat display disposed between two rear seats for viewing by an occupant in the rear-seat (see Fig. 2 and [0033]).
4. Applicant argues that the amended independent claim 2 shows features that include having a map in a driver display region that does not increase and decrease the number of facility types to maintain the conventional display, and the applicant further argues that Jiyama shows a state in which the asynchronous mode is always used and does not teach or suggest determining whether the current location of the vehicle is within a predetermined area and when it is determined that the current location is within the predetermined area, switching from synchronous mode to the asynchronous mode.
However, examiner first argues that the claim language does not require the number of facility types on the driver display to remain unchanged under all vehicle conditions, just during the switching from a synchronous mode to an asynchronous mode based on determining that the vehicle is within the predetermined area.
In addition, examiner argues that applicant’s argument considers Jiyama individually rather than considering the combined teaching of Rush in view of Jiyama as shown in the rejection of previous Office Action. Rush teaches a display casting system where control display have a casting mode that when an application is to be launched, a confirmation message is displayed to allow a user to accept or reject application, i.e. switching between synchronous and asynchronous modes, as well as keeping control display, or source, maintains its display while dashboard changes between casting and non-casting mode (see [0075], [0082]-[0084], [0096], [0114], and Fig. 15C). Jiyama further teaches that a displayed information varies based on a current driving condition or area of a vehicle, including entering onto an expressway, in which when the vehicle is traveling through an expressway, the navigation apparatus displays a bird’s-eye map, traffic congestion information, facility information, and expressway facility information, while the heads-up display displays fewer types of information, which does not include facility information and expressway facility information (see Fig. 4 and [0084]-[0088]). Therefore, as stated in previous Office Action and current rejection, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the display casting system of Rush by incorporating teaching of Jiyama such that the displays include an asynchronous mode, which when switched from Rush’s synchronous mode, which mirrors the simplified display in in the heads-up display of Jiyama, to the asynchronous mode, increases the facility information shown in the navigation apparatus on the central or passenger display region, thereby increasing the number of facility types, and further performs such switching based on determining that the vehicle is within a predetermined area, such as traveling in the expressway, while maintaining the fewer facility types shown on the driver display region.
The motivation to incorporate asynchronous displays of a heads-up display and a navigation apparatus where the heads-up display have less facility types than that of the navigation apparatus while in a predetermined area is that, as indicated by Jiyama, this would allow for safe driving through having less information that is relevant to a driver (see Jiyama [0006]-[0010]).
Therefore, applicant’s arguments regarding rejection of amended independent claim 2 under 35 USC 103 are unpersuasive.
5. Applicant argues that newly added claims 4-8 are in condition for allowance.
However, examiner argues that newly added claims are dependent on amended independent claims 1-3, which are fully rejected under 35 USC 103, the newly added claims 4-8 also needs further search and consideration, in which claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 USC 103 through prior art found as shown in the rejection below, and therefore, the newly added claims 4-8 are rejected through their dependence on amended in dependent claims 1-3 and under 35 USC 103.
Thus, applicant’s arguments regarding newly added claims 4-8 are unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 2 is rejected under pre-35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rush et al. (US 20200218487A1) in view of Jiyama et al. (US 20150211878A1).
Regarding claim 2, Rush teaches a vehicle display system comprising:
display regions including
a driver display region provided for a driver of a vehicle and capable of displaying a map (see [0073] and Fig. 8 where system includes a control display that is placed within a driving wheel of a vehicle for use for a driver. Note also from Figs 8-9 and [0073] where cost-to-cost virtual display has a virtual display section in front of the driver and passenger that displays application including map application as shown in [0042] and Fig. 1.), and
a passenger display region provided for a passenger of the vehicle and capable of displaying a map (see [0073]-[0074] and Fig. 8 where there is a control display is operable by a passenger and includes a map application capable of displaying a map. Note also in Fig. 1 and [0042] where map is displayed on passenger side of cost-to-cost virtual display and is indicated to be displayed on other area as well, i.e. capable of displaying a map on a passenger display region and passenger controlled display.);
a display controller configured to control respective displayed contents of the display regions (see Figs 8-9, [0072] and [0087] where both driver and passenger control display has a multi-display controller connected with a display manager to create and control of different virtual displays, including display regions, and control what is being displayed.); and
a switching controller configured to execute switching between a synchronous mode and an asynchronous mode in a case where a displayed content of one of the display regions is set to a preset displayed content (see [0096], [0114] and Fig. 15C where control display devices have a casting mode that when an application is to be launched, a confirmation message is displayed to allow a user to accept or reject application to be launched in casting mode, i.e. switching between synchronous and asynchronous mode. Note also [0075], [0082], [0084] and [0096] where display controller and display manager control enables or disables split-screen mode, which when displayed applications of two different display regions matches each other even though source control displays are from different devices, it would merge two display regions in synchronization to the source control displays or when split-screen is enabled, the display regions will match source control displays.),
the synchronous mode being a mode in which the respective displayed contents of the display regions are synchronized (see [0114] and Fig. 15C where in a casting mode, a control display shows a confirmation message allowing a driver and/or passenger to accept or reject casting to a dashboard screen where accepting will cause same contents to be shown.),
the asynchronous mode being a mode in which the respective displayed contents of the display regions are not synchronized (see [0096], [0114] and Fig. 15C there is a casting mode that when an application is to be launched, a confirmation message is displayed to allow a user to accept or reject application to be launched in casting mode, i.e. switching between synchronous and asynchronous mode. Note also [0072] and Figs 8-9 where each virtual display can have its own display settings that corresponds to each respective control display, which controls the virtual displays even while not casting the same images onto the virtual displays, i.e. having different displayed contents in various displays.), and
execute switching to the synchronous mode while continuing to show a predetermined image in a synchronization source that is one of the display regions by maintaining a display setting of the synchronization source (see [0096] and [0114] where accepting a casting mode will cause contents of a control display be casted on to a dashboard screen, i.e. continuing to show predetermined image of control display to display regions; see further [0082]-[0084] where a control display A will have an infotainment application, including a map application, displayed on a virtual display B and where control display B will have the same application displayed on virtual display C will cause a combining of display and the infotainment information launched maintain its progress state, i.e. continuing to show a predetermined image in a synchronization source. Note also [0075], [0082], [0084] and [0096] where display controller and display manager control enables or disables split-screen mode, which when displayed applications of two different display regions matches each other even though source control displays are from different devices, it would merge two display regions in synchronization to the source control displays or when split-screen is enabled, the display regions will match source control displays.).
Rush does not teach: determine whether a current location of the vehicle is within a predetermined area in which the map displays more facility types than outside the predetermined area, and
increase a number of facility types shown on the map displayed in the passenger display region and maintain a number of facility types shown on the map displayed in the driver display region in response to executing switching from the synchronous mode to the asynchronous mode, based on a condition that the switching controller determines that the current location is within the predetermined area.
However, Jiyama further teaches that a displayed information varies based on a current driving condition or area of a vehicle, including entering onto an expressway, i.e. within a predetermined area, in which when the vehicle is traveling through an expressway, the navigation apparatus displays a bird’s-eye map, traffic congestion information, facility information, and expressway facility information, while the heads-up display displays fewer types of information, which does not include facility information and expressway facility information (see Fig. 4 and [0084]-[0088]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the display casting system of Rush by incorporating teaching of Jiyama such that the displays include an asynchronous mode, which when switched from Rush’s synchronous mode, which mirrors the simplified display in in the heads-up display of Jiyama, to the asynchronous mode, increases the facility information shown in the navigation apparatus on the central or passenger display region, thereby increasing the number of facility types, and further performs such switching based on determining that the vehicle is within a predetermined area, such as traveling in the expressway, while maintaining the fewer facility types shown on the driver display region.
The motivation to incorporate asynchronous displays of a heads-up display and a navigation apparatus where the heads-up display have less facility types than that of the navigation apparatus while in a predetermined area is that, as indicated by Jiyama, this would allow for safe driving through having less information that is relevant to a driver (see Jiyama [0006]-[0010]).
7. Claim 3 is rejected under pre-35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramatsu et al. (US 20090146912A1) in view of Kumon (US 20180095585A1).
Regarding claim 3, Hiramatsu teaches a vehicle display system (see [0031]-[0034] in general of on-vehicle display system with display control device and displays on front and rear of a vehicle.) comprising:
display regions including
a driver-assistant-seat display region being adjacent to a driver assistant seat of the vehicle (see [0033] and Fig. 2 where there is a front-seat input device and front-seat display in between driver seat and passenger seat, i.e. driver assistant seat.), and
a back-seat display region viewable from a back seat of the vehicle (see [0033] and Fig. 2 where there is a rear-seat input and rear-seat display is disposed between two rear seats, or back seats, for viewing by an occupant in the rear-seat);
a display controller configured to control respective displayed contents of the display regions (see Fig. 1 and [0031] where control section includes a central processing unit (CPU) to control front and rear seat display and image source.);
synchronization switches, each of which is configured to be switched at a time where a synchronization instruction is provided by an occupant of a vehicle (see [0037] and Fig. 5 where both front and rear seat input devices have to-be-operated permission switches that permits front seat input device to control rear seat image source and vice versa and the seat input devices also have display/control object selection buttons, i.e. synchronization switches to allow either front or rear seat input devices to control image sources and allow one to view image of another as shown in Fig. 7 and [0041].), the synchronization switches including
an assistant synchronization switch configured to be switched by an occupant sitting on the driver assistant seat (see [0037] and Fig. 5 where front seat input device has a display/control object selection button that allows for front seat display to toggle between synchronizing with rear image source or not, i.e. synchronization switch operable by occupant sitting on a driver assistant seat.), and
a back synchronization switch configured to be switched by an occupant sitting on the back seat (see [0037] and Fig. 5 where rear seat input device has a display/control object selection button that allows for rear seat display to toggle between synchronizing with rear image source or not, i.e. synchronization switch operable by occupant sitting on a back seat.); and
a switching controller configured to execute switching between a synchronous mode and an asynchronous mode (see [0037] and Fig. 5 where both front and rear seat input devices have to-be-operated permission switches that permits front seat input device to control rear seat image source and vice versa and the seat input devices also have display/control object selection buttons, i.e. synchronization switches to allow either front or rear seat input devices to control image sources and allow one to view image of another as shown in Fig. 7 and [0041].),
the synchronous mode being a mode in which the respective displayed contents of the display regions are synchronized (see Figs 7-9 and [0041] where when display/control object selection button is operated, front seat display is changed to display image from rear seat image source, which is synchronized image of rear seat image on both front and rear seat displays.),
the asynchronous mode being a mode in which the respective displayed contents of the display regions are not synchronized (see Fig. 6 and [0040] where display/control object selection button is set to different commands of “Front” and “Rear” and causes each front and rear seat displays to display different images, i.e. asynchronous mode where display regions are nor synchronized.),
execute switching to the synchronous mode while continuing to show a predetermined image in a synchronization source that is one of the display regions by maintaining a display setting of the synchronization source (see Fig. 7 and [0041] where display/control object selection button is used to change “Front” to “Rear” for front input device, which then changes front seat display to display rear seat image that was also displayed to rear seat display, thereby rear seat display with rear seat image continues to show its image while being synchronized to the front seat display.),
execute the switching to the synchronous mode in response to switching one of the synchronization switches (Fig. 7 and [0041] where display/control object selection button is used to change “Front” to “Rear” for front input device, which then changes front seat display to display rear seat image that was also displayed to rear seat display, i.e. synchronous mode active when synchronization switch is used.), and
set one of the display regions as the synchronization source being associated with one of the synchronization switches based on executing the switching to the synchronous mode by the one of the synchronization switches being switched (see Fig. 7 and [0041] where display/control object selection button is used to change “Front” to “Rear” for front input device, which then changes front seat display to display rear seat image that was also displayed to rear seat display, thereby rear seat display with rear seat image continues to show its image while being synchronized to the front seat display.).
Hiramatsu does not teach: maintain, immediately after switching to the asynchronous mode, the display setting in effect before the switching until the display setting is changed by the occupant of the vehicle.
However, Kumon teaches switching between a mirror display mode and an independent display mode, in which the independent display mode image to be output after switching may be the most recent independent display mode image, i.e. display setting in effect before switching maintained immediately after switching (see [0190] and [0194]-[0197]). Note also in Fig. 16, [0190] and [0204]-[0208] that a display control section determines whether there is an input from an input reception processing section, such as a touch panel, and if there is no input it move to a step in the independent display mode, the display control section outputs the independent display mode image on the basis of the video signal in the last processing cycle where the independent display mode image is maintained without being changed and the mode is changed when there is an input, i.e. the display setting is maintained until changed by the occupant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify vehicle display system with display control device and displays on front and rear of a vehicle to switch to synchronized mode of front and rear or asynchronized mode of Hiramatsu by incorporating teaching of Kumon such that, when switching from the synchronous mode to the asynchronous mode, immediately after switching to the independent mode, or asynchronous mode, if there is no input, the display control section outputs image based on last processing cycle, i.e. the display setting in effect before the switching is maintained, until the display setting is changed by the occupant.
The motivation to maintain and output independent mode based last processing cycle when there is no input is that, as indicated by Kumon, this would allow for improved operability and convenience of two display vehicle interface through having a user operate one display independently while maintaining information on the other display in a visually recognizable state (see [0009]-[0010).
8. Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under pre-35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramatsu in view of Kumon in further view of Rush.
Regarding claim 6, modified Hiramatsu in view of Kumon teaches the display system according to claim 3,
Modified Hiramatsu in view of Kumon does not teach: wherein the display regions further include a driver display region provided for a driver of a vehicle,
the back-seat display region is located at a dashboard of the vehicle, and
the back-seat display region is located between the driver display region and the driver-assistant-seat display region.
However, Rush teaches a coast-to-coast dashboard screen that substantially spans the width of the dashboard and having displays A, B, and C, where display area A displays driving-critical information for a driver, i.e. driver display region provided for a driver, display area B is a center display region capable of displaying a map and a display area C that displays non-driving-critical information on a passenger side, which is a center display region located at the dashboard, and a passenger display region, in which the center display region is located between the driver and passenger display regions, i.e. back-seat display region viewable from a back seat that is located between the driver and the driver-assistant-seat display region (see [0041]-[0044] and Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify vehicle display system with display control device and displays to switch to synchronized mode or asynchronized mode of modified Hiramatsu in view of Kumon by incorporating teaching of Rush such that the display system incorporates a coast-to-coast dashboard display arrangement where center display that is the back-seat display region is located between the driver display region and the passenger, or driver-assistant-seat display region.
The motivation to have a coast-to-coast dashboard display with back-seat center display in between driver and driver-assistant-seat display regions is that, as indicated by Rush, this would allow safe operations of a vehicle through multiple graphical user interfaces and applications to be displayed in respective areas where driving critical information and application be displayed in driver display region and non-driving critical information and application be displayed in center or passenger display region (see [0002]-[0005] and [0041]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Hiramatsu in view of Kumon and Rush teaches the vehicle display system according to claim 6, wherein
the back synchronization switch is included in a remote controller that is configured to transmit an operation instruction signal to the back-seat display region remotely (see Rush [0073]-[0074], [0083], [0089], and [0096] where each of the control display is connected wirelessly or by Bluetooth and remotely control virtual displays to launch and control applications, and requests for same application will cause the virtual displays to be combined, i.e. the control display provides a back synchronization command, i.e. a switch, that remotely instructs the virtual displays to synchronize.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify vehicle display system with display control device and displays to switch to synchronized mode or asynchronized mode and have a center back-seat display region in between driver and passenger display region of modified Hiramatsu in view of Kumon and Rush by further incorporating teaching of Rush such that control displays are connected through a wireless or Bluetooth connection and operating in a remote mode where the control display functions as a remote control device for launching and controlling an application on a virtual display of the dashboard screen and combine virtual screens with same applications, i.e. back synchronization switch with a remote controller that transmits operation and instruction signal to the back-seat display region remotely.
The motivation to have a control display that is connected through wireless connection or Bluetooth and have multiple virtual displays combine if the applications are the same is that, as indicated by Rush, this would allow safe operations of a vehicle through multiple graphical user interfaces and applications to be displayed in respective areas where driving critical information and application be displayed in driver display region and non-driving critical information and application be displayed in center or passenger display region (see [0002]-[0005] and [0041]-[0044]).
9. Claim 8 is rejected under pre-35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rush in view of Jiyama in further view of Matsumoto et al. (WO 2012114473A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Rush in view of Jiyama teaches the vehicle display system according to claim 2,
Modified Rush in view of Jiyama does not teach: further comprising:
a storage configured to store map data, wherein
the predetermined area is a tourist spot area defined in the map data.
Matsumoto teaches a storage unit of an in-vehicle terminal that stores map data and facility data, and determines, based on vehicle position, whether a vehicle has entered a sightseeing, or tourist, spot area, in which information representing the sightseeing spot area is included in advance in the map data stored in the storage unit, i.e. a storage configured to store map data of a predetermined sightseeing, or tourist, area (see [pg 16-18]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the display casting system that has an asynchronous mode with displays more facility types on a passenger or central display while maintaining number of facility types on a driver display when entering a predetermined area of modified Rush in view of Jiyama by incorporating teaching of Matsumoto such that a storage unit stores map data including information representing a sightseeing, or tourist, spot are in advance, and based on a detected position of a vehicle, a controller determines whether the vehicle has entered the sightseeing area, i.e. whether the current location is within the predetermined tourist spot area defined in the map data, which would then switch the display mode to asynchronous mode that displays more facility types on passenger display region while maintaining facility types shown on the driver display region.
The motivation to have a storage unit store map data that includes tourist spot area as the predetermined area is that, as indicated by Matsumoto, this would allow reduction of vehicle user cost in sightseeing and travel cost and encourage them to travel within the sightseeing spot area by determining travel distance within the sightseeing spot area and returning replenishment fee of a vehicle associated with such travel (see [pg 2-5] and [pg 16-17]).
10. Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under pre-35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rush in view of Lee et al. (US 12236156B2) in further view of Jiyama in still further view of Kumon.
Regarding claim 1, Rush teaches a vehicle display system comprising (see [0041]-[0047], [0072]-[0074] and Figs 1 and 8-9 multiple displays and controls thereof.):
display regions including
a driver display region provided for a driver of the vehicle and capable of displaying a map (see [0073] and Fig. 8-9 where system includes a control display that is placed within a driving wheel of a vehicle for use for a driver. Coast-to-coast virtual display has a virtual display section in front of the driver and passenger that displays application including map application as shown in [0042] and Fig. 1.), and
a passenger display region provided for a passenger of the vehicle and capable of displaying a map (see [0073]-[0074] and Fig. 8 where there is a control display is operable by a passenger and includes a map application capable of displaying a map. Note also in Fig. 1 and [0042] where map is displayed on passenger side of cost-to-cost virtual display and is indicated to be displayed on other area as well, i.e. capable of displaying a map on a passenger display region and passenger controlled display.);
a display controller configured to control respective displayed contents of the display regions (see Figs 8-9, [0072] and [0087] where both driver and passenger control display has a multi-display controller connected with a display manager to create and control of different virtual displays, including display regions, and control what is being displayed.);
a switching controller configured to execute switching between a synchronous mode and an asynchronous mode (see [0096], [0114] and Fig. 15C there is a casting mode that when an application is to be launched, a confirmation message is displayed to allow a user to accept or reject application to be launched in casting mode, i.e. switching between synchronous and asynchronous mode. Note also [0075], [0082], [0084] and [0096] where display controller and display manager control enables or disables split-screen mode, which when displayed applications of two different display regions matches each other even though source control displays are from different devices, it would merge two display regions in synchronization to the source control displays or when split-screen is enabled, the display regions will match source control displays.), and
execute switching to the synchronous mode while continuing to show a predetermined image in a synchronization source that is one of the display regions by maintaining a display setting of the synchronization source (see [0096] and [0114] where accepting a casting mode will cause contents of a control display be casted on to a dashboard screen, i.e. continuing to show predetermined image of control display to display regions; see further [0082]-[0084] where a control display A will have an infotainment application, including a map application, displayed on a virtual display B and where control display B will have the same application displayed on virtual display C will cause a combining of display and the infotainment information launched maintain its progress state, i.e. continuing to show a predetermined image in a synchronization source. Note also [0075], [0082], [0084] and [0096] where display controller and display manager control enables or disables split-screen mode, which when displayed applications of two different display regions matches each other even though source control displays are from different devices, it would merge two display regions in synchronization to the source control displays or when split-screen is enabled, the display regions will match source control displays.); and
a synchronization switch configured to be switched based on a synchronization instruction provided by an occupant of a vehicle (see [0114] and Fig. 15C where in a casting mode, a control display shows a confirmation message allowing a driver or passenger to accept or reject casting to a dashboard screen where accepting will cause same contents to be shown, i.e. a synchronization switch based on instruction of a user.), wherein:
the switching controller is configured to execute the switching to the synchronous mode in response to switching of the synchronization switch (see [0114] and Fig. 15C where in a casting mode, a control display shows a confirmation message allowing a driver or passenger to accept or reject casting to a dashboard screen where accepting will cause same contents to be shown.).
Rush does not teach: the synchronous mode being a mode in which the respective displayed contents of the display regions are synchronized such that a number of facility types shown on the map displayed in the driver display region and a number of facility types shown on the map displayed in the passenger display region are synchronized,
the asynchronous mode being a mode in which the respective displayed contents of the display regions are not synchronized such that the driver display region is capable of displaying a simplified map showing fewer facility types than the map displayed in the passenger display region; and
the switching controller is configured to maintain, immediately after switching to the asynchronous mode, the display setting in effect before the switching until the display setting changed by the occupant of the vehicle.
However, Lee shows a first display in front of driver seat and a second display at center of driver and passenger seats in front are configured to display same images in a synchronized state (Fig. 9B and [col 18 lns 52-64]). Also note from Fig. 9B and [col 8 lns 49 thru col 9 lns 3] that displays are capable of showing navigation map and from the figure and from the indicated paragraphs that both driver and passenger displays are in synchronization and both are shown to display a map. Synchronized and displayed map information that shows the same images necessarily includes displaying the same number of feature types.
Further, Jiyama teaches a heads-up display, i.e. driver display region, and a central navigation apparatus, i.e. passenger display region, where the two displays are not synchronized such that the navigation apparatus has a bird’s-eye map, traffic congestion information, destination information, SA/PA image, facility information images, and expressway facility images while the heads-up display is missing parts including facility information and expressway facility image, and therefore a different number of facility types (see Fig. 4 and [0084]-[0088]).
Still further, Kumon teaches switching between a mirror display mode and an independent display mode, in which the independent display mode image to be output after switching may be the most recent independent display mode image, i.e. display setting in effect before switching maintained immediately after switching (see [0190] and [0194]-[0197]). Note also in Fig. 16, [0190] and [0204]-[0208] that a display control section determines whether there is an input from an input reception processing section, such as a touch panel, and if there is no input it move to a step in the independent display mode, the display control section outputs the independent display mode image on the basis of the video signal in the last processing cycle where the independent display mode image is maintained without being changed and the mode is changed when there is an input, i.e. the display setting is maintained until changed by the occupant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify a display casting system of Rush by incorporating teaching of Kumon as well as Lee and Jiyama such that the displays include alternative operations in which, during a synchronous mode, all displays are displaying the same information which necessarily includes the same number of facility types, and in an asynchronous mode, in which the central or the passenger display region has more facility information than a driver display region and therefore necessarily a different number of facility types, and in which immediately after switching to the independent mode, or asynchronous mode, if there is no input, the display control section outputs image based on last processing cycle, i.e. the display setting in effect before the switching is maintained, until the display setting is changed by the occupant, as taught by Kumon.
The motivation to incorporate a synchronized mode displaying the same information, i.e. number of facility types, shown on different display regions through instance copying during screen sharing is that, as indicated by Lee, this would allow for rapidly and accurately displaying of objects and speed up screen sharing process (see [col 1 lns 48-58]).
The motivation to incorporate an asynchronous mode asynchronously displaying simplified mode and more detailed mode between multiple displays as indicated by Jiyama, this would allow for safe driving through having fewer information that is relevant to a driver (see [0008]-[0010]).
The motivation to maintain and output independent mode based last processing cycle when there is no input is that, as indicated by Kumon, this would allow for improved operability and convenience of two display vehicle interface through having a user operate one display independently while maintaining information on the other display in a visually recognizable state (see [0009]-[0010).
Regarding claim 4, modified Rush in view of Lee, Jiyama, and Kumon teaches the vehicle display system according to claim 1, wherein
the switching controller is configured to perform switching to the asynchronous mode, in response to an operation of changing the display setting under the synchronous mode (see Rush [0072]-[0080], [0096], [0114], and Fig. 15C where each virtual display is a logical subdivision of the dashboard screen and can have its own display setting which can be adjusted through one or more control display, and where a control display can operate in a casting mode or another control mode, i.e. switching from casting, or synchronized, display operation to independently controlled display operation in response to changing the display control mode.).
Regarding claim 5, modified Rush in view of Lee, Jiyama, and Kumon teaches the vehicle display system according to claim 1, wherein
the switching controller is configured to, in response to the synchronization instruction, set the passenger display region as a master for synchronizing the driver display region with the passenger display region (see Rush [0073]-[0074], [0079]-[0084] and Figs 8-9 where control display B is operated by a passenger and it controls virtual display C, a display bundle also includes a source display identification (ID) and a target ID, and when the same application is launched through the other control display, the previously launched information maintain its progression state on a combined display, i.e. the passenger controlled virtual display is the source, or master, for synchronizing the other display region.)
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3661 /MATTHIAS S WEISFELD/Examiner, Art Unit 3661