DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “upon the waste level reaching close to the junction, enabling the controlled installation of the root pipe for gas extraction”. This limitation renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear as to a) if the sensor and software is doing this, and if so, b) how that is even possible.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein the method for optimizing methane gas extraction in a landfill comprises the steps of”. This limitation lacks a proper antecedent basis, making it unclear if the claim is a method requiring the apparatus or if the apparatus is required to be functionally capable of performing the method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gettys et al. (WO 2013/175287 A2) in view of Quigley et al. (US 2022/0176422).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 7 and 8, Gettys discloses A system and method for landfill gas extraction from inaccessible methane-rich pockets in the landfill and reducing atmospheric emissions, the system [100] comprising: a. a plurality of root pipes [102] configured to extract methane gas from one or more landfill regions, wherein the root pipes extend to reach remote areas within the landfill; b. a plurality of stems [104, 108] vertically extending from the base to the top of the landfill [Figures 1 & 2], providing a network of channels for gas collection; c. a plurality of junctions [106, 110, 111, 124] integrated with the stem, wherein the junction facilitates connection between the root pipe and the stem, where the junction further comprises a detachable cap [111] facilitating attachment of said root pipes.
Gettys fails to disclose the use of ultrasonic sensors.
Quigley teaches a system/method of extracting gas from landfills comprising the use of ultrasonic sensors to monitor waste emissions levels in real time [Paragraphs 54 & 59].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Gettys by adding the ultrasonic sensors as described by Quigley to determine and adjust the well flow rate and valve openness levels to optimize gas recovery and minimize uncontrolled emissions into the neighborhood.
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Quigley further discloses the ultrasonic sensor facilitates providing alert to the operator through a software integrated with the system [Paragraphs 41-53], upon the waste level reaching close to the junction, enabling the controlled installation of the root pipe for gas extraction [inherent to raise vertical landfill gas collection pipes when trash levels support doing so].
Regarding claims 4 and 5, the junction is horizontally aligned with the stem and is configured to allow extension of the gas extraction by attaching at least one additional root pipe; and the detachable cap of the junction is configured to be removed and reinstalled without disrupting the ongoing landfill operations, allowing for continuous waste disposal during the installation process [Figures 1 & 2].
Regarding claims 9 and 10, although the Gettys-Quigley combination is silent as to the specific efficiency increases the system and method provide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that they could achieve small and large scale gains in the region of 79% and 37% respectively depending on a number of factors including well size, vacuum flow rates, the type of trash and landfill cover etc. Subsequently, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (FR 2600372) and (EP 2361698 A1) disclose apparatus/methods of raising a landfill gas collection pipe similar to that of the claimed invention. (US 2020/0122208) discloses a landfill gas collection system with a series of main and branch pipes connected via a junction similar to that of the claimed invention.
KYLE ARMSTRONG, P.E.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3678
/KYLE ARMSTRONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619