DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This is a first action on the merits. This application is a continuation (CON) of application 17/274,884, now U.S. Pat. 12,116,509. Claims 1-6 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12 September 2024 and 05 November 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 12 September 2024 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by, or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017/037525 A1. Takei (U.S. Pub. 2019/0001634) was relied upon as the translation of WO ‘525.
Regarding claim 1, Takei discloses a hot melt adhesive resin film which has an “excellent” adhesive force to various planar adherends such as metal. See abstract and p. 1, [0002]. The adhesive composition used to form film includes an acid-modified polyolefin resin (reading on Component A modified polyolefin as claimed), a phenol novolak epoxy resin which is solid at ambient temperature (reading on Component B phenol resin as claimed), see p. 5, [0087]. An additional resin can be included, see p. 6, [0105]. Using two phenol novolak epoxy resins allows one to be considered the crosslinking agent Component C and one to be considered the solid phenol resin Component B.
Takei teaches that the adhesive has “excellent” adhesive force, and tests the durability of the adhesive bond when laminated to aluminum foil, see p. 1, [0002] and p. 10, [0171] and [0177] and [0182]. Excellent results mean that peeling at an adherend surface did not occur until an aluminum foil was ruptured, see [p. 10, [0174], 0178], and [0185] as well as the Table 1 results on p. 11. Testing was performed with a pull rate of 300 mm/min in a 90° direction (see p. 10, [0172]). While Takei does not provide an objective value of the adhesive force in units of N/15 mm or equivalent, it is clear that a sufficiently high adhesive force is present since the aluminum fails before the adhesive bond fails.
An aluminum plate may be used as the adherend, see p. 3, [0049].
The limitations “in a laminate which is obtained by laminating an aluminum plate having a thickness of 100 μm on a film obtained by applying said hot-melt adhesive composition to a substrate layer having a thickness of 75 μm in a dry film thickness of 20 μm, and hot pressing them at a temperature of 170°C under a pressure of 0.4 MPa for a pressing time of 10 minutes, when said aluminum plate and film are fixed respectively, and said film is peeled at a tensile speed of 300 mm/min under the condition of a peeling angle of 180°” are limitations referring to the method of testing the adhesive , and do not determine the patentability of the product. The method of testing the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself. Cf. MPEP § 2113 in regards to products made by different processes in which the product is the same or obvious over the product of the prior art, and MPEP § 2111.02(II) regarding preamble statements reciting the purpose or intended use of a product. Using any accurate method to determine the adhesive strength of the adhesive composition can demonstrate the claimed property, unless the claimed process produces unexpected results.
Thus, the Examiner has considered the adhesives of Takei to either anticipate the claims or render them obvious.
Regarding claim 2, Takei uses a maleic anhydride-modified polypropylene as component (A), see p. 9, [0161].
Regarding claim 3, Takei teaches that the phenol novolak epoxy resin is solid at ambient temperature and can be melted at the melting temperature of the (A) component, see p. 5-6, [0090], thus the (B) component is thermally meltable as claimed.
Regarding claim 4, the (B) component of Takei is a phenol novolak epoxy resin. Commercially available products are disclosed at p. 6, [0103]. Using a blend of two or more such epoxy resins allows one of them to be considered as the (C) component of the claims, in which case the (C) component is an epoxy resin as claimed.
Regarding claim 5, Takei teaches applying the adhesive composition to a substrate layer, see p. 2, [0022].
Regarding claim 6, Takei teaches that suitable substrate layers include polyester resins including polyethylene terephthalate (PET) or polyolefin polymers or cyclic olefin polymers or methylpentene polymers, see p. 2, [0023], which are among the specified substrate resins.
Prior Art of Record
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
WO 2017/025787 A1 is similar to WO 2017/037525 A1.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/Scott R. Walshon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759