DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in these following issues
Issues : (1) There is no teaching in Bertollini of a transitional or unique mode that is triggered specifically when objects are detected on adjacent sides of the vehicle to coordinate warning.
(2) Applicant argues that he disclosed a corner set of lights that operates in a corner mode of operation that is different from the first and /or second modes of operation. Further states that the inter object notification logic is a key technical distinction that is neither present nor inherent in the vehicle to object warning logic of Bertollini.
(3) The obviousness rational made by examiner has been rejected by applicant and argues that it is an impermissible hindsight and lacks the required rational under pinning.
(4) Since claim 1 was not properly addressed by examiner it is allowable and hence depending claims also allowable but do not make any specific arguments on the depending claims or other independent claim 10 and its dependent claims.
Examiners reply to the issues raised by applicant.
Issue 1:
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Independent claims, Claim 1 or Claim 10 does not recite any transitional or unique mode that is triggered specifically when objects are detected on adjacent sides of the vehicle to coordinate warning. However, Bertollini reference teaches all the limitations of claim 1 which is a computer system is comprising. Bertollini teaches all the warning lighting systems and their modes of operation according to the claim 1 limitations and an ordinary skill in the art can easily fabricate a computer system with Bertollini’s teaching and operate according to the teachings of instant application and claimed limitations. Hence, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Issue 2:
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies in issue 2 arguments are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Hence, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Issue 3:
In response to applicant's argument that examiners rationale to obviousness is impermissible hindsight, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Here, examiner has mentioned the intended use in the rationale after teaching the claimed limitations in various embodiments of the prior art. Hence, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive with respect to the intended use rational.
Issue 4:
Examiner respectfully disagree to the argument that claim 1 limitations are not met by the Bertollini’s prior art. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Hence, applicants arguments ae not persuasive
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Moreover, examiner has followed the compact prosecution proceedings and reached out to the applicant’s attorney in order to discuss the rejection and understand the novelty of this particular invention for further consideration of examiner’s amendments. But applicant’s attorney is not agreed to examiners explanation or proposals. However, in the current rejection, examiner has made efforts to explain more in detail and in depth using the same reference. Since applicants arguments are not persuasive, examiner is issuing final rejection notice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20180361918 A1 by Bertollini et al (Bertollini).
Referring to the claim 1 Bertollini Fig 1A- 4 teaches a computer system (Fig 1 item 100 a warning system paragraphs [0018] [0026]) comprising processing circuitry (item 34 and its components constitutes processing circuitry) configured to:
obtain sensing data from a sensor (See Fig 3 item 28 sensor system paragraph [0020]) of a vehicle (Fig 1 item 10 vehicle; paragraph [0018]), the sensing data being indicative of a first object and a second object within a predefined area of the vehicle (See paragraphs [0042] [0043] where Bertollini teaches several objects around the vehicle vicinity in a predetermined manner), and comprising first positional information of the first object in relation to the vehicle and second positional information of the second object in relation to the vehicle (See abstract, Fig 1A, 1B and paragraphs [0016]-[0021] where Bertollini); and
control a plurality of exterior lights based on the first positional information (controller 34 and warning system 100, processor 44 detects objects in vicinity to the vehicle 1 paragraph [0028] provides information related to everything including vehicle position and objects) and the second positional information such that : a first set of the exterior lights closer to the first object operate by a first mode of operation, the first set of the exterior lights being at a first side of the vehicle (See Fig 1B and paragraphs [0021] - [0023]);
a second set of the exterior lights closer to the second object operate by a second mode of operation, the second set of the exterior lights being at a second side of the vehicle and adjacent to the first side (See Fig 1B and paragraphs [0021] -[0023]);
a corner set of lights at a corner portion of the vehicle operate by a corner mode of operation (See Fig 1B item corner lights), the corner set of lights extending from the first side of the vehicle to the second side of the vehicle, the corner mode of operation being different from the first and/or second modes of operation (see abstract and paragraphs [0021]-[0023]); and .
a default set of the exterior lights (see Fig 1B item 31b regarded as default mode here and paragraph [0022]) farther from the objects operate by a default mode of operation, the first mode of operation, the second mode of operation, and the corner mode of operation being different from the default mode of operation. (see paragraphs [0021] -[0027] where Bertollini in a broader way explains how the vehicle warning system operates using the processing circuitry and logical operations in various modes based on the sensing system 28 data and can be avoided or results of the impeding event can be reduced)
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to use a computer system to control the vehicle mode of operation with warning systems/lighting systems for a safe operation of the vehicle while in motion from any object within the vicinity of the vehicle by specifically addressing each mode of operation of lighting units around the vehicle (see paragraph [0023]).
Referring to claim 2 Bertollini modified reference teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the first mode of operation includes at least one of a flashing frequency, an optic light guide, a flashing duration, a light color, a light intensity, a light intensity shift, and/or an indicia projection. (see paragraph [0048] where Bertollini teaches frequency of flashing color changing sound etc., based on severity or probability).
Referring to claim 3 Bertollini modified reference teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to filter the sensing data based on at least one of dimensions of the first and/or second object(s), an object class of the first and/or second objects, a movement status of the vehicle, a distance between the first and/or second object(s) and the exterior lights, a motion and/or speed of the first and/or second objects, a reflectivity of the first and/or second object(s), ambient conditions, time of the day, sound or noise level, and/or energy consumption requirements. (See paragraph [0020] [0026], [0041] -[0045] and claim 8, 9). Hence, it is obvious to an ordinary skill to adapt any limitation in order to make the vehicle completely automated for a safe operation.
Referring to claim 4 Bertollini modified reference teaches the computer system of claim 3, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to dynamically adjust a size of the predefined area based on the filtered sensing data. (see paragraph [0029] and [0030] where Bertollini teaches using the sensor data and calculates the pre-defined area etc.). Hence, it is obvious to a person with ordinary skill to incorporate these instructions in to the computer and adjust the predefined area dynamically accordingly for the computer to operate the vehicle accordingly.
Referring to claim 5 Bertollini modified reference teaches the computer system of claim 3, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to dynamically adjust a sensing responsiveness of the sensor based on the filtered sensing data. (see paragraph [0029] and [0030] where Bertollini teaches using the sensor data and calculates the pre- defined area etc.). Hence, it is obvious to a person with ordinary skill to incorporate these instructions in to the computer and adjust the predefined area dynamically accordingly for the computer to operate the vehicle accordingly.
Referring to claim 6 Bertollini modified reference teaches the computer system of claim 3, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to disable or enable one or more of the exterior lights based on the filtered sensing data. (Bertollini suggests that using the computer controlling with the warning systems it is an autonomous operating vehicle and hence enabling or disabling is within the scope of the invention see claims 1- - 20).
Referring to claim 7 Bertollini modified reference teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause concurrent control of the first, second, default and corner sets of lights (Fig 1B paragraph [0021] -[0023] claim 1).
Referring to claim 8 Bertollini modified reference teaches the vehicle (Fig 1A, 1B and paragraphs [0016] - [0021]) comprising the computer system of claim 1.
Referring to claim 9 Bertollini modified reference teaches : An LED belt (See Fig 1B item 31 a -h LED belt) comprising a plurality of LEDs, wherein the LED belt is adapted to be arranged at an exterior of a vehicle, wherein the LED belt is configured to be controlled by the computer system of claim 1 (See Fig 1A, 1B and paragraph [0021] - [0023]).
Referring to claim 10 Bertollini teaches: A computer-implemented method for notifying others of detection status (Fig 1A, B abstract item 100 warning system paragraph [0018], [0026]), comprising:
obtaining sensing data from a sensor (See item 28 paragraph [0020]) of a vehicle( item 10 paragraph [0018]), the sensing data being indicative of a first object and a second object within a predefined area of the vehicle (paragraphs [0042], [0043]), and comprising first positional information of the first object in relation to the vehicle (See Fig 1B) and second positional information of the second object in relation to the vehicle (paragraph [0044]); and
controlling a plurality of exterior lights (Fig 1B item 31 a, b based on the first positional information and the second positional information such that: a first set of the exterior lights closer to the first object operate by a first mode of operation, the first set of exterior lights being at a first side of the vehicle (controller 34 and warning system 100, processor 44 detects objects in vicinity to the vehicle all sides 1 paragraph [0028] provides information related to everything including vehicle position and objects).
a second set of the exterior lights (Fig 1B item 31 d etc.) closer to the second object operate by a second mode of operation, the second set of the exterior lights being at a second side of the vehicle and adjacent to the first side; (See Fig 1B and paragraphs [0021] -[0023])
a corner set of lights (Fig 1B corner set of lights 31 C i j etc) at a corner portion of the vehicle operate by a corner mode of operation, the corner set of lights extending from the first side of the vehicle to the second side of the vehicle, the corner mode of operation being different from the first and/or second modes of operation (see Fig 1B abstract and paragraphs [0021]-[0023]); and
a default set of the exterior lights (see Fig 1B item 31b regarded as default mode here and paragraph [0022]) farther from the objects operate by a default mode of operation (see Fig 1B and paragraph [0022]), the first mode of operation, the second mode of operation, and the corner mode of operation being different from the default mode of operation. (see paragraphs [0021] -[0027] where Bertollini in a broader way explains how the vehicle warning system operates using the processing circuitry and logical operations in various modes based on the sensing system 28 data and can be avoided or results of the impeding event can be reduced).
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to use a computer system to control the vehicle mode of operation with warning systems/lighting systems for a safe operation of the vehicle while in motion from any object within the vicinity of the vehicle (see paragraph [0023]).
Referring to claim 11 Bertollini modified reference teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the first mode of operation includes at least one of a flashing frequency, an optic light guide, a flashing duration, a light color, a light intensity, a light intensity shift, and/or an indicia projection (see paragraph [0048] where Bertollini teaches frequency of flashing color changing sound etc).
Referring to claim 12 Bertollini modified reference teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising filtering the sensing data based on at least one of dimensions of the first and/or second object(s), an object class of the first and/or second object(s), a movement status of the vehicle, a distance between the first and/or second object(s) and the exterior lights, a motion and/or speed of the first and/or second object(s), a reflectivity of the first and/or second object(s), ambient conditions, time of the day, sound or noise level, and/or energy consumption requirements. (see Fig 1A, B and paragraphs [0043] - [0045] where9 Bertollini teaches the sensing data and three dimension information etc see claims 1-9).
Referring to claim 13 Bertollini modified reference teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising dynamically adjusting a size of the predefined area based on the filtered sensing data. (see paragraph [0029] and [0030] where Bertollini teaches using the sensor data and calculates the pre-defined area etc). Hence, it is obvious to a person with ordinary skill to incorporate these instructions in to the computer and adjust the predefined area dynamically accordingly for the computer to operate the vehicle accordingly.
Referring to claim 14 Bertollini teaches: A computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by processing circuitry, the method of claim 10. (See Fig 1A,B processor 44 and memory devices such as programmable memories in to the circuitry of the autonomous vehicle. Paragraphs [0026] [0027]).
Referring to claim 15 Bertollini modified reference teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by processing circuitry (See Fig1A item 34 controller has the media 46 paragraph [0026]), cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 10. (See claim 10).
Conclusion
Claims 1-15 are rejected over prior art.
The prior of art made of record and not relied upon is considered to pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
21. Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the notice of references cited PTOL 892 attached here with. The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. See for example: WO2022010686 US11158488, US20140306754 US20220028659.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SRINIVAS SATHIRAJU/ 06/06/2026
SRINIVAS . SATHIRAJU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845