DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12 September 2024 and 29 October 2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0122891 to Wang et al. (“Wang”) in view of US 2006/0127578 to Lei et al. (“Lei”).
With regard to Claims 1 and 4-7, Wang teaches a method of forming a metal silicate layer for controlling threshold voltage of a metal-oxide-semiconductor field effect transistor comprising forming a metal silicate threshold voltage shifting layer on a substrate featuring a treated dielectric surface (see Abstract; FIGs. 2A-2C, 3; ¶¶ [0002], [0007], [0016]-[0019], [0032]). Wang teaches forming aluminum silicate, titanium silicate, hafnium silicate, and zirconium silicate (see ¶ [0019]). Wang refers to deposition techniques within the context of semiconductor fabrication processes; however the reference does not expressly teach forming layers via precursors in a reaction chamber. Lei is directed to precursor compositions for forming metal silicate layers in semiconductor fabrication processes, and teaches the claimed organosilanol precursors for use in vapor deposition processes (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0012]-[0015], [0028]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have deposited metal silicate films using the organosilanol precursors taught by Lei in a vapor deposition reaction chamber in the method of Wang.
With regard to Claim 2, Wang teaches silicon oxide dielectric surfaces (see ¶ [0022]).
With regard to Claim 3, Wang teaches steps of treating an underlying silicon oxide dielectric surface via contacting with a Zr, Al, Ti, Mg, Hf, Ta, Sr, or Ba metal prior to additional formation of a metal silicate layer (see FIG. 3 steps 124, 126, 128).
2. Claims 1-3 and 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of US 6,399,208 to Baum et al. (“Baum”).
With regard to Claims 1-2 and 8-19, Wang teaches a method of forming a metal silicate layer for controlling threshold voltage of a metal-oxide-semiconductor field effect transistor comprising forming a metal silicate threshold voltage shifting layer on a substrate featuring a treated dielectric surface (see Abstract; FIGs. 2A-2C, 3; ¶¶ [0002], [0007], [0016]-[0019], [0032]). Wang teaches forming aluminum silicate, titanium silicate, hafnium silicate, and zirconium silicate (see ¶ [0019]). Wang teaches silicon oxide dielectric surfaces (see ¶ [0022]). Wang refers to deposition techniques within the context of semiconductor fabrication processes; however the reference does not expressly teach forming layers via a precursor in a reaction chamber. Baum is directed to single source metal siloxide precursors for forming zirconium and/or hafnium silicate films on semiconductor substrates in vapor deposition manufacturing of microelectronic devices, and teaches the claimed single source precursor compositions, including homoleptic and heteroleptic siloxide compositions (see Abstract; Col. 1, Lns. 31-43; Col. 4, Lns. 22-26; Col. 8, Lns. 16-29; Claims 1, 18, 22, 24). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have deposited metal silicate films using the single source metal siloxide precursors taught by Lei in a vapor deposition reaction chamber in the method of Wang.
With regard to Claim 3, Wang teaches steps of treating an underlying silicon oxide dielectric surface via contacting with a Zr, Al, Ti, Mg, Hf, Ta, Sr, or Ba metal prior to additional formation of a metal silicate layer (see FIG. 3 steps 124, 126, 128).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2004/0044163 to Clark et al. teaches organosilanol precursors to form metal silicate layers which read upon Claims 4-7 (see Clark at Abstract; ¶ [0013]).
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712